#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet # 204318409

Model # XG40T12DM40U0

Store SKU # 1000034937

Store SO SKU #1001020819

Performance Platinum 38 Gal. Tall 12 Year 40,000 BTU Natural Gas Tank Water Heater

$949.00
Buy 3 or more $854.10
Apply Now
$undefined.00 /mo† suggested payments with months† financingApply Now
  • Power Damper keeps more heat inside the tank, raising efficiency
  • 40-Gallon tank provides hot water for households with 2-4 people
  • Restricted in CA and UT – see disclaimer below
  • View More Details
Store
0 in stock
icon
Free & Easy Returns In Store or Online
Return this item within 90 days of purchase. Read Return Policy

Product Details

About This Product

The Performance Platinum 40 Gal. Tall 12 Year 40,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater is a great investment and value. It provides ample amount of hot water for households with 2 to 4 people. This energy-efficient water heater features a damper design, vacation setting and reduced setpoint setting for energy savings, and a warranty that is six years longer than standard models for added savings. Plus, it includes features like Leak Detection and WiFi/smart home compatibility for added peace-of-mind and flexibility (required WiFi kit sold separately). Please note: Standard, 110V outlet required. Power cord included.

Highlights

  • California & Utah residents (utah effective 7/1/18): this water heater does not meet ultra low nox (ULN) emissions requirements, regulations prohibit the sale, shipment or installation of this water heater in any air quality district that requires ULN water heaters; please refer to the maps below to confirm if your home is in a district that requires ULN emission water heaters, and if so, please select an approved ULN model
  • Cost savings: efficient damper design, vacation setting and reduced set point setting save energy (required Wi-Fi kit sold separately)
  • Mobile alerts for peace-of-mind: leak detection alerts and other notifications are sent straight to your mobile device so you don't have to worry about your water heater (required Wi-Fi kit sold separately)
  • Easy to adjust and view status: change settings, adjust temperature and view system status information from your mobile device (required Wi-Fi kit sold separately)
  • Delivers 66 Gal. of hot water in the first hour
  • 12-year limited warranty on tank and parts for your convenience
  • 3-year in home labor warranty for peace of mind
  • 0.68 uniform energy factor indicates a high efficiency gas water heater
  • Maintenance free - no filter to clean or replace
  • Electronic ignition system simplifies the startup process and eliminates the need for a pilot light
  • Electronic diagnostic gas valve monitors system performance
  • Rated for installations up to 10,100 ft.
  • Wi-Fi compatible with the purchase of Rheem EcoNet Home Comfort Wifi Module (sold separately) for gas water heaters (Wi-Fi model # REWRA631GWH)
  • Designed for easy replacement of your existing water heater
  • Call 1-855-400-2552 before noon for same-day installation service in most areas, or visit our Water Heater Installation page for more information.
  • Click here to learn more about Eco Options and Energy Efficiency
  • Meets 2015 NAECA standards
  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs
  • Return Policy
  • California residents
     see Prop 65 WARNINGS

Product Information

Internet # 204318409

Model # XG40T12DM40U0

Store SKU # 1000034937

Store SO SKU #1001020819

Specifications

Dimensions: H 57.75 in, W 19.75 in, D 19.75 in

Dimensions

Product Depth (in.)

19.75 in

Product Height (in.)

57.75 in

Product Width (in.)

19.75 in

Tank Valve Size (in.)

0.75 in

Vent diameter (in.)

3 in

Water Connection Size (in.)

3/4 in

Details

Application Type

Residential

BTU Rating

40000

Efficiency Level

High

Finish Family

Gray

First Hour of Delivery (gallons/hr)

85

Fuel Type

Gas

Gas Connection Size

1/2 in

Gas Type

Natural Gas

Household Size

2-4

Indoor/Outdoor

Indoor

Maximum Temperature (F)

160 F

Minimum Temperature (F)

45 F

Nominal Tank Capacity (gallons)

38 gal

Pack Size

1

Product Weight (lb.)

140 lb

Rated Tank Capacity (gallons)

38 gal

Recovery Rate at 90F Rise (gallons/hour)

40.4

Returnable

90-Day

Tank Lining Material

Glass

Tank Warranty

12 Year

Uniform Energy Factor

0.7

Vent Type

Atmospheric

Water Heater Features

Overheat Protection, Temperature Pressure Relief Valve

Water Heater Profile

Tall

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings

CSA Certified, FVIR Certified

Labor Warranty

3 Year

Part Warranty

12 Year

Questions & Answers

205Questions
caret
Q:Is this unit convertible to propane ?
by|May 13, 2024
1 Answer
Answer This Question

A:  James, Thank you for your question. This unit is not convertible.

by|May 13, 2024
    caret
    Q:I understand that this model has heat traps. I have a "passive recirculation" loop (a return line to the hot-water tank provides natural circulation (thermosiphon). Will the heat trapss in the hot outlet and cold inlet prevent the circulation"
    by|Apr 25, 2024
    1 Answer
    Answer This Question

    A:  RonA, Thank you for your question. Yes heat traps may affect the functionality of a recirculation system as the flapper is meant to only move in one direction.

    by|Apr 25, 2024
      caret
      Q:How many years warranty?
      by|Apr 6, 2024
      1 Answer
      Answer This Question

      A:  Hi GloC, this model has a 12 year warranty on the tank and parts, and a 3 year warranty on labor services.

      by|Apr 7, 2024
        caret
        Q:Does it support the ‘Home comfort WiFi module for gas water heaters’?
        by|Apr 1, 2024
        1 Answer
        Answer This Question

        A:  Hi Blwf and thank you for your question. This Rheem Performance Platinum model is Wi-Fi compatible allowing for remote monitoring of the water heater's operation (Wi-Fi Module REWRA631GWH sold separately).

        by|Apr 3, 2024
          Showing 1-4 of 205

          Customer Reviews

          4.2 out of 5

          • 4.2 out of 1,143 reviews
          • 79% recommend this product
          Filter by:
          Showing 1-10 of 1,143 reviews
          Shipping damage
          Item arrived damaged. Had to be returned………………………………………………………………………..
          by
          Response from RheemMay 23, 2024
          Hi,

          We are sorry to hear that your water heater you ordered arrived damaged. It’s understandable that this would be a frustrating experience.

          According to the product details, this water heater comes with a 12-year limited warranty on tank and parts. Additionally, it also offers a 3-year in-home labor warranty.

          The Home Depot generally allows returns within 90 days of purchase1. If the product is damaged, they may make exceptions to this policy. We would recommend reaching out to Home Depot’s customer service for assistance with the return process. They should be able to guide you through the process and address any concerns you may have.

          Remember, it’s important to have all relevant documents handy, such as your purchase receipt and warranty details, as these will likely be required during the process. We hope this helps in resolving this issue. If you have any other questions or need further assistance, feel free to call 1-800-466-3337 any day between 6 A.M and 2 A.M. EST. Home Depot Customer Service will be able to assist you with this issue or transfer you to your local store for more assistance.

          Derius rheem
            • Recommended
            Avoid this pile!!
            I bought this water heater thinking buying the top of line rheem water heater would be the way to go, Completely Wrong! It worked fine for almost a year and then it stared giving me an error code 6-3, requiring a restart. You can't just take the pile into home depot and return it, you have to talk to customer service and go through the steps to fix it. Which, each call will last your well over an hour. I've now replaced several pieces on the heater and the thing still doesn't work.
            by
            Response from RheemJan 26, 2024
            Hi,

            Thank you for this review. We apologize for the inconvenience and hope the issue has been resolved. The water heater you have reviewed includes a 12-year parts and tank warranty, as well as a 3-year full in-home labor warranty. If you still need assistance, please call Technical Support at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST and one of our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you.

            Derius rheem
              2 found this review helpful
              Lasted 13 months
              Lasted just long enough to be out of the labor waranty. (12mo labor/3yr parts) I should also mention Rheem prorated the parts cost witch is laughable. My issues are the same as everyone else on here. Multiple issues with gas valve, vapor sensor etc. After contacting Rheem and learning I’d have to pay for the service call, I instead had a local Plumming company come to check it out. Only Rheem sells parts for their products. Will tell everyone I know to stay away from Rheem.
              by
              Response from RheemNov 7, 2022
              Hi Nate,

              Thank you for this review. We apologize for the inconvenience that you have experienced with the performance of your water heater. The water heater that you have reviewed includes a 12-year parts and tank warranty, as well as a 3-year full in-home labor warranty. Please call our Technical Support team at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST at your earliest convenience. One of our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you with you warranty coverage information.

              Derius rheem
                7 found this review helpful
                Don’t get rheemed
                My family owns rental properties. We have replaced four water heaters made by Rheem over the last few years and all of them have stopped working. The quality of Rheems gas water heaters is horrible.
                by
                  12 found this review helpful
                  I now have 2 of these in my house. As a DIY guy I liked the 12 year warranty and the smart home ...
                  I now have 2 of these in my house. As a DIY guy I liked the 12 year warranty and the smart home connection. I can lower the temp during the night and raise it in the am to be ready for showers. I haven’t taken data, but the ability to reduce the temp has to save energy.
                  by
                  • Verified Purchase
                  • Recommended
                  5 found this review helpful
                  Will not run without AC power. No way to light the pilot light or keep the pilot light lit witho...
                  Will not run without AC power. No way to light the pilot light or keep the pilot light lit without house power. This should have been made clear by HD or Rheem. I turned off the power while it was running and it immediately went out. When I powered up I got 3 blue lights = flu stuck open. Cycling the on off fixed that problem and it is running fine now. My old gas heater ran without power. This new one is computerized and I'm a bit concerned about ongoing problems that will require service, service I likely won't be about to do. I replaced a 25 year old Rheem. The switch out was easy enough. The new one has much better insulation, my old one was always hot to the touch. I bought the Wifi module. Set up instructions were not good relating to the app and adding a device. I had to call for help. When adding a device the app takes you to your wifi networks, select the Econet one, then the back key. The pipe insulation provided is flammable. With my gas water heater I'm a bit concerned having it near the exhaust. The wall transformer wants to be permanently plugged in / attached via the center screw of the outlet cover, to prevent its unintentional removal. This basically prevents plugging in another 3 prong / grounded device plug. The ground portion of the other plug will not go all the way in. I may just cut the tab off and strap it. Knowing all this, if I had it to do it over, I would have stuck with my old dumb water heater that would run without AC power. Guess I have to buy a generator now in case I ever have no house current. :(
                  by
                    3 found this review helpful
                    what you should know first.
                    The flame vapor sensors are shipped out bad. I found out on Youtube that this is comon problem that obviously Reheem choses not to adress. Mine brand new never ran only test 8kohmes. I cant tell you how jacked up this is. PS don’t add the EcoNet I have leak probe elevated and has never touched any moisture but it always reports lead. Second iPhone app is worthless, it lets you set temp remotely but didn’t work. It says a temp so increases it by over ten degrees then wait the water heater doesn’t respond. Only way to get temp you want it unplug the EcoNet unit completely and uses dial. Glad I wasted extra money on this crap. Shame on HomeDepot not making their main product provider live up to the quality they promote
                    by
                    Response from RheemJan 6, 2020
                    Hi Howard,

                    We are sorry to hear you are not completely satisfied with your water heater. Please call Technical Support at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST and one of our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you with any questions or concerns you have.

                    Jennifer rheem
                      • Recommended
                      15 found this review helpful
                      Do not buy this Rheem. I installed on July 1st. The unit is now leaking water into the pan. E...
                      Do not buy this Rheem. I installed on July 1st. The unit is now leaking water into the pan. Every time the burner starts up you can hear a drip and sizzle. So much for 12 year tank. I will update if Home Depot or Rheem remedy this issue.
                      by
                      Response from RheemOct 17, 2019
                      Hi,

                      After reviewing your customer service request it looks like we advised to have the water pressure checked. I will have one of our analysts reach out to you to follow-up.

                      Jennifer rheem
                        19 found this review helpful
                        I installed it 7 days ago, it works as expected and the best part is it's an energy star appliance.
                        I installed it 7 days ago, it works as expected and the best part is it's an energy star appliance.
                        by
                        • Verified Purchase
                        • Recommended
                        4 found this review helpful
                        Just had this product installed less a week and very impressed with the performance and SMART fea...
                        Just had this product installed less a week and very impressed with the performance and SMART features. My Kenmore corroded from the bottom and the replacement was on backorder. Sears allowed me to purchase another product and I chose the Rheem Platinum. I liked the gas saving feature of heating as needed and pilot shutoff. The other feature to protect the home is the water leak sensor which shuts the unit down until the issue is resolved. It also supports wifi for remote monitoring and leak alert. I'm very pleased with the hot water performance...it's hot and I've had to drop the setting down to the next lowest temperature which is hot but not scalding. So far I couldn't have made a better decision with this product. ⁰
                        by
                        • Verified Purchase
                        • Recommended
                        9 found this review helpful
                        Showing 1-10 of 1,143 reviews

                        Compare Similar Items