#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet # 205811176

Model # XG55T12EC50U0

Store SO SKU # 1001231052

Performance Platinum 55 Gal. Tall 12 Year 50,000 BTU Natural Gas Tank Water Heater

$1149.00
Apply Now
$undefined.00 /mo† suggested payments with months† financingApply Now
  • Designed for easy replacement and high-demand applications
  • 55-Gallon tank provides hot water for households with 5+ people
  • Restricted in CA and UT – see disclaimer below
  • View More Details
icon
Free & Easy Returns In Store or Online
Return this item within 90 days of purchase. Read Return Policy
Product Details

About This Product

The Rheem Performance Platinum 55 Gal. Natural Gas Tall Water Heater comes with a 50,000 BTU/hour environmentally friendly Low NOX burner that provides ample hot water for households with 5 or more people. The push button ignition system ensures safe and easy startup. Its maintenance free combustion air intake system means there are no filters to clean and replace. The self-diagnostic gas control valve monitors system performance. A premium grade anode rod provides long lasting tank protection. Factory installed temperature and pressure relief valve and 3/4 in. water connections are included with the water heater for easy installation.

Highlights

  • California and Utah Residents (Utah Effective 7/1/18): This Water Heater Does Not Meet Ultra LOW NOX (ULN) emissions requirements. Regulations prohibit the sale, shipment or installation of this water heater in any air quality district that requires ULN water heaters, please refer to the maps below to confirm if your home is in a district that requires ULN emission water heaters, and if so please select an approved ULN model
  • 55 Gal. tank provides ample hot water for households with 5 or more people
  • Natural gas water heater costs less to operate than electric models
  • Delivers 97 Gal. of hot water in the first hour
  • 55 Gal. tank provides hot water for high demand applications and is ideal for large families
  • 12 year limited warranty on tank and parts for your convenience
  • 3 year in home labor warranty for peace of mind
  • 0.62 energy factor indicates an energy efficient water
  • Maintenance free - no filter to clean or replace
  • Push button ignition system simplifies the startup process
  • Self-diagnostic gas valve monitors system performance
  • Rated for installations up to 5,200 ft.
  • Designed for easy replacement of your existing water heater
  • Call 1-855-400-2552 before noon for same-day installation service in most areas, or visit our Water Heater Installation page for more information.
  • Meets 2015 NAECA Standards
  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs
  • Return Policy
  • California residents
     see Prop 65 WARNINGS

Product Information

Internet # 205811176

Model # XG55T12EC50U0

Store SO SKU #1001231052

Specifications

Dimensions: H 55.875 in, W 23.75 in, D 23.75 in

Dimensions

Product Depth (in.)

23.75 in

Product Height (in.)

55.875 in

Product Width (in.)

23.75 in

Tank Valve Size (in.)

0.75 in

Vent diameter (in.)

3 in

Water Connection Size (in.)

3/4 in

Details

Application Type

Residential

BTU Rating

50000

Efficiency Level

High

Finish Family

Gray

First Hour of Delivery (gallons/hr)

97

Fuel Type

Gas

Gas Connection Size

1/2 in

Gas Type

Natural Gas

Household Size

5+

Indoor/Outdoor

Indoor

Maximum Temperature (F)

160 F

Minimum Temperature (F)

45 F

Nominal Tank Capacity (gallons)

55 gal

Pack Size

1

Product Weight (lb.)

175 lb

Rated Tank Capacity (gallons)

55 gal

Recovery Rate at 90F Rise (gallons/hour)

51

Returnable

90-Day

Tank Lining Material

Glass

Tank Warranty

12 Year

Uniform Energy Factor

0.62

Vent Type

Atmospheric

Water Heater Features

Overheat Protection, Temperature Pressure Relief Valve

Water Heater Profile

Tall

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings

CSA Certified, FVIR Certified

Labor Warranty

3 Year

Part Warranty

12 Year

Questions & Answers

723Questions
caret
Q:Can change to lp
by|Apr 13, 2024
0 Answer
Answer This Question
caret
Q:What is the sku number for this item
by|Apr 11, 2024
1 Answer
Answer This Question

A:  Hi Marcus and thank you for your question. The numbers are at the top of the page you linked: Internet # 326590285 Model # XG50T06EC38U1 Store SKU # 1001300139

by|Apr 12, 2024
    caret
    Q:If I have a Rheem 75 gal short water heater, can I replace it with a tall model? --Natural gas installation.
    by|Apr 11, 2024
    1 Answer
    Answer This Question

    A:  Kyle, We are unable to determine this with you since we do not know your homes set up. You may want to reach out to a local installer.

    by|Apr 11, 2024
      caret
      Q:What size is the vent?
      by|Apr 10, 2024
      1 Answer
      Answer This Question

      A:  Hi Shawn thank you for your question. Venting Vent connectors must be attached to the draft hood (3") outlet to connect the water heater to the gas vent or chimney. The vent connectors must be the same size (diameter) as the draft hood or larger, never smaller. For proper venting in certain installations a larger vent connector size may be needed. Consult the Vent Tables in Appendix G of the latest version of the National Fuel Gas Code (ANSI standard Z223.1 or NFPA 54.) Horizontal vent connectors must be pitched upward to the chimney at least 1/4” per foot of length. Single wall vent connectors must be at least 6” from adjacent unprotected combustible surface. Vent joints must be securely fastened by sheet metal screws or other approved method. Test for spillage at the draft hood relief opening after 5 minutes of main burner operation. Use a flame of a match or candle or smoke. The flame or smoke should be pulled into the draft hood’s relief opening(s).

      by|Apr 10, 2024
        Showing 1-4 of 723

        Customer Reviews

        4.3 out of 5

        • 4.3 out of 6,919 reviews
        • 79% recommend this product
        Filter by:
        Showing 1-10 of 6,919 reviews
        Drain Valve Failed
        I, like you, thought the overwhelming 5 star reviews meant I wouldn’t have any issues with this water heater. I read the warnings about the plastic drain valve, but ignored them. And then I woke up with a flooded basement. About 18 months after a seamless install, the plastic drain valve failed without warning, gushing water into my basement for hours before I noticed. If Rheem cared about their customers, they would install a proper, brass valve on every unit. If you buy this, do that yourself.
        by
          This hot water heater is premium for sure! I was already happy that it is a 12-year unit, but the higher BTU rating permits it to heat faster and support a bath in our large rub while someone else is using the shower or washing clothes. Good stuff!!
          by
          Response from RheemApr 2, 2024
          Hello David,

          Thank you for choosing Rheem Water Heating for your home and we appreciate you taking the time to write this 5-star review! We are glad to hear that this water heater has met your needs and expectations. If you have any further feedback or questions, feel free to reach out to our dedicated Technical Support Team at 866-279-4566 during the hours of 7 A.M. to 7 P.M. CST.

          Isaiah rheem
          • Verified Purchase
          terrible shipment
          Completely damaged unit. Very disappointed in home depot for trying to sell me this product. Had to be reordered less than one star
          by
          Response from RheemApr 4, 2024
          George,

          We are really sorry to hear about the condition of your water heater when it arrived. It’s unfortunate that it was damaged and had to be reordered. We understand how disappointing this can be, especially when you’re expecting a new product. Please contact HomeDepot.com customer service department at 1-800-466-3337 any day between 6 A.M and 2 A.M. EST. Home Depot Customer Service will be able to assist you with this issue or transfer you to your local store for more assistance.

          Derius rheem
            • Recommended
            2 found this review helpful
            Gas valve damaged when I unboxed it. No hot water for a week now. Waiting on new part from Rheem. Unit never lit. Sitting in my basement fully installed and filled with cold water. Wished Rheem had shipped part overnight knowing our family had no hot water.
            by
            Response from RheemMar 1, 2024
            William,

            Thank you for this review. We apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced because of the damage discovered on the gas valve of your recently installed water heater. As a manufacturing partner with Home Depot, we take strides to provide you with excellent customer experience and water heating products. The water heater you have reviewed includes a 12-year parts and tank warranty, as well as 3-year full in-home labor warranty. To better assist you, please contact our Technical Support team at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST. Our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you with parts warranty coverage, and information on shipping.

            Derius rheem
            • Verified Purchase
            2 found this review helpful
            Not even 4 months old
            This water heater is creating a dangerous condition in my home! Thank goodness the safety shut-off is functioning. I posted what the gas flame should look like, and what I have in this brand new water heater. Scary!!! Only one service company returned my call out of the 5 I contacted. They want me to pay as well. A 4 month old water heater should be 100% covered!!! Now it's cold water until I can get someone to actually come out and repair it.
            by
            Response from RheemFeb 2, 2024
            Hello,

            We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience, and we would like the opportunity to assist you. If you still need assistance, please call Technical Support at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST and one of our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you.

            Isaiah rheem
              4 found this review helpful
              Warrning
              After I installed it, it worked OK. Month later product is not working. they make me wait 30 minutes online and after that they hang up on me. What are the worst service there is
              by
              Response from RheemJan 26, 2024
              Hi Sammy,

              Thank you for this review. We apologize for the inconvenience and hope the issue has been resolved. The water heater you have reviewed includes a 12-year parts and tank warranty, as well as a 3-year full in-home labor warranty. If you still need assistance, please call Technical Support at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST and one of our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you.

              Derius rheem
                6 found this review helpful
                beware of hone depot special orders
                Special ordered. Had 12 day lead time. Came damaged to the store, but all i received is a notification that it is being reordered with another 12 day lead time. I could kot wait for another 12 days. No expediting or alternatives were offered and when i told them i didnt want it, they couldnt stop the order. In the meanwhile its still on my card, so i guess i own it until the store receives it. All i gotta say is be careful if you want to special order anything from Home Depot
                by
                Response from RheemJan 26, 2024
                Hi,

                Thank you for this review. We apologize for the inconvenience that you have experienced with your Home Depot order. To better assist you with this issue, please contact HomeDepot.com customer service department at 1-800-466-3337 any day between 6 A.M and 2 A.M. EST. Home Depot Customer Service will be able to assist you with this issue or transfer you to your local store for more assistance.

                Derius rheem
                  • Recommended
                  8 found this review helpful
                  Rheem 75 gallon NG water heater defective
                  Purchased the new 75 gal NG Rheem water heater. While driving home, we noticed a rattle in the tank. Got home and aimed a flashlight in the inlet opening and aimed my phone through the outlet fitting. Found that there is a nipple inside the tank. This was dropped or knocked into the tank during assembly and the tank was still welded shut and passed QC. Makes me question Rheem's quality control procedures.
                  by
                  Response from RheemJan 26, 2024
                  Hi Ollie,

                  Thank you for this review. We apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced and hope the issue has been resolved. If you still need assistance, please call Technical Support at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST and one of our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you.

                  Derius rheem
                    7 found this review helpful
                    9 year warranty LOL, didn’t last 7 years!
                    I need a replacement water heater like tomorrow, we all know REHEEM will not honor there warranty, for immediate replacement! There’s 50+ gallons of water covering my basement apartment! I paid $800 for this unit plus $800 for the install! That’s $1600 in the trash! My old AO smith lasted 29 years! Let’s see what Rheem says tomorrow! Look at the date this was made 10/11/2016! It’s a baby! Wow, I’m heartbroken! Even if they replace it, I don’t have installation money! This is bad news!
                    by
                    Response from RheemJan 10, 2024
                    Hello Martin,

                    We apologize for the inconvenience and hope the issue has been resolved. If you still need assistance, please call Technical Support at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST and one of our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you.

                    Isaiah rheem
                      8 found this review helpful
                      Gas leak
                      I bought a tank and had to return it due to a gas leak from the tank itself. Now I will be returning the second tank I purchased and changing companies. I used soapy water and electronic gas tester to test gas lines. The lines were installed good. There has been a leak in the combustion gas inlets. The odor has been pronounced but less the second time. Technically any odor is considered a leaking tank. All and all dissatisfied and wasted valuable time putting in and swapping tanks.
                      by
                      Response from RheemJan 4, 2024
                      Hi,

                      Thank you for this review. We apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced and hope the issue has been resolved. The water heater you have reviewed includes a 12-year parts and tank warranty as well as a 3-year full in-home labor warranty. If you still need assistance, please call Technical Support at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST and one of our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you.

                      Derius rheem
                        4 found this review helpful
                        Showing 1-10 of 6,919 reviews

                        Compare Similar Items

                        current item

                        Nominal Tank Capacity (gallons)

                        55 gal

                        75 gal

                        55 gal

                        75 gal

                        Gas Type

                        Natural Gas

                        Natural Gas

                        Natural Gas

                        Natural Gas

                        Water Heater Profile

                        Tall

                        Tall

                        Tall

                        Tall

                        Vent Type

                        Atmospheric

                        Atmospheric

                        Atmospheric

                        Power Vent

                        Tank Warranty

                        12 Year

                        12 Year

                        6 Year

                        6 Year