#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet # 326434057

Model # XE40M09EL45U1

Store SKU # 1001301867

Performance Plus 40 Gal. 4500-Watt Elements Medium Electric Water Heater w/9-Year Tank Warranty LED Indicator & 240-Volt

$539.00
Buy 3 or more $485.10
Apply Now
Pay $489.00 after $50 OFF your total qualifying purchase upon opening a new card. info
Apply for a Home Depot Consumer Card
  • Electronic LED system indicates element and thermostat operation
  • 40-Gallon tank provides hot water for households with 2-4 people
  • Restricted in Demand Response States: See below before purchasing
  • View More Details
Store
0 in stock
icon
Free & Easy Returns In Store or Online
Return this item within 90 days of purchase. Read Return Policy
Product Details

About This Product

The Rheem Performance Plus 40 Gal. Electric medium water heater provides an ample supply of hot water for households with 2-people to 4-people. This unit comes with two 4500-Watt elements and an automatic thermostat which keeps the water at the desired temperature. An electronic LED system indicates element and thermostat operation. A 240-Volt electrical connection is required for installation. A premium grade anode rod provides long-lasting tank protection. Factory installed temperature and pressure relief valve and 3/4 in. water connections are included with the water heater for easy installation. This model has a 9-year limited tank and parts warranty plus a 2-year in home labor warranty.

Highlights

  • Washington residents (effective 1/1/23): this water heater does not meet demand response requirements. regulations prohibit the sale, shipment or installation of this water heater in a state that requires demand response water heaters
  • Your home is in a state that requires demand response water heaters, please select an approved demand response model available on homedepot.com
  • 40 Gal. tank provides ample hot water for households with 2-people to 4-people
  • Electric water heater is easy to maintain
  • Delivers 54 Gal. s of hot water in the first hour
  • 9-year limited warranty on tank and parts for your convenience
  • 2-year in home labor warranty for peace of mind
  • Automatic thermostat keeps water at your desired temperature
  • Dual 4500-Watt heating elements
  • Designed for easy replacement of your existing water heater
  • Medium tank profile fits in a variety of indoor spaces
  • Requires a 240-Volt connection for installation
  • Uniform energy factor 0.93
  • Call before noon for same-day installation service in most areas or visit our water heater installation page for more information.
  • Now features a brass drain valve for added resiliency & durability
  • Meets 2015 NAECA standards
  • Return Policy
  • California residents
     see Prop 65 WARNINGS

Product Information

Internet # 326434057

Model # XE40M09EL45U1

Store SKU # 1001301867

Specifications

Dimensions: H 48.5 in, W 20.25 in, D 20.25 in

Dimensions

Kilowatt

4.5

Product Depth (in.)

20.25 in

Product Height (in.)

48.5 in

Product Width (in.)

20.25 in

Tank Valve Size (in.)

0.75 in

Water Connection Size (in.)

3/4 in

Details

Amperage (A)

18.75 A

Application Type

Residential

Efficiency Level

Super High

Electricity Phase

Single Phase

Finish Family

Gray

First Hour of Delivery (gallons/hr)

54

Fuel Type

Electric

Household Size

2-4

Indoor/Outdoor

Indoor

Maximum Temperature (F)

150 F

Minimum Temperature (F)

90 F

Nominal Tank Capacity (gallons)

40 gal

Number of Elements

2

Pack Size

1

Product Weight (lb.)

106 lb

Rated Tank Capacity (gallons)

36 gal

Required Volt Connection

240 volt

Returnable

90-Day

Tank Lining Material

Glass

Tank Warranty

9 Year

Uniform Energy Factor

0.93

Water Heater Features

Overheat Protection, Self Cleaning, Temperature Pressure Relief Valve

Water Heater Profile

Medium

Wattage (watts)

4500 W

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings

UL Listed

Labor Warranty

2 Year

Part Warranty

9 Year

Questions & Answers

247Questions
caret
Q:What’s included is the supply lines and everything I need to hook up include?
by|May 18, 2024
0 Answer
Answer This Question
caret
Q:Where are they made
by|May 13, 2024
1 Answer
Answer This Question

A:  Glenn, Thank you for your question. Rheem uses manufacturing resources from around the world to deliver the best quality product at the best value.

by|May 15, 2024
    1 found this answer helpful
    caret
    Q:What size breaker does this use?
    by|May 11, 2024
    1 Answer
    Answer This Question

    A:  Hi Sueo, this unit would require a double 25 amp breaker to operate.

    by|May 12, 2024
      caret
      Q:Is this water heater rated for commercial use?
      by|May 9, 2024
      1 Answer
      Answer This Question

      A:  Joseph, Thank you for your question. This water heater is for residential use.

      by|May 9, 2024
        Showing 1-4 of 247

        Customer Reviews

        4.3 out of 5

        • 4.3 out of 8,029 reviews
        • 73% recommend this product
        Filter by:
        Showing 1-10 of 8,029 reviews
        Will not last
        Worked great for 3 years and 9 months from the day it was made 3 years from the install date. After that leaked everywhere even with a whole-house water filter. Warranty Ha Ha HA...guess again
        by
          DON'T have this shipped to point of use!!!
          Order Ship to Store and and when you go to pick it up, OPEN THE CARTON and INSPECT it BEFORE ACCEPTING IT. The packaging on these things is totally inadequate. There was a moderately thick cardboard bottom on the box, and two half-pieces of pool noodle in two corners, which were loose and did nothing to fill the space. There were styrofoam corners at the top. There is NO protection for the sides of the heater from dents, and very little to protect it from damage if it falls
          by
            • Recommended
            Didnt Last - No Warrenty Acknolwedged
            Unit failed under 6 years, unit was warrantied for 9. Rheem was not helpful.
            by
            Response from RheemMay 15, 2024
            Hello,

            We appreciate your review and feedback. Our sincere apologies for any inconvenience our product may have caused you. Rheems goal is always to deliver a high-quality product and customer experience. If you require help, please reach out to our Technical Support at 866-279-4566. They are available from 7 A.M. to 7 P.M. CST and our skilled analysts will be able assist you.

            Isaiah rheem
              1 found this review helpful
              Met the needs for this cabin with a quick recovery time, acceptable warranty and was the size needed. Have only had it for a couple of months at this point so no issues to report.
              by
              Response from RheemMay 14, 2024
              Julie,

              That’s great to hear! It sounds like the Performance Plus 40 Gal. Electric Water Heater is working well for your cabin. Its quick recovery time, acceptable warranty, and suitable size seem to be meeting your needs effectively. It’s always good when a product lives up to expectations. Please don’t hesitate to share if you have any more experiences or questions in the future!


              Derius rheem
              • Verified Purchase
              by
              Response from RheemApr 30, 2024
              William,

              Thank you for this review. If you need assistance, please contact our Technical Support team at 888-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST.

              Derius rheem
              • Verified Purchase
              1 found this review helpful
              Just installed. Looks nice and well put together. Hopefully it lasts a long time.
              by
              Response from RheemApr 18, 2024
              Hello Jeffery,

              We are glad to hear that you’ve successfully installed your new water heater and that you’re pleased with its appearance and construction. Here’s hoping it serves you well for many years to come! Remember, regular maintenance can help extend the lifespan of your water heater. Enjoy your new appliance!

              Derius rheem
              • Verified Purchase
              It came was damaged. I’m having to pay installation cost twice To my Plumber
              by
              Response from RheemApr 17, 2024
              Hi,

              We are really sorry to hear about your experience with the water heater. It’s certainly frustrating to receive a damaged product and then have to pay for installation twice.

              If you haven’t already, we would recommend reaching out to Home Depot’s customer service with your feedback. They may be able to offer some assistance or at least take your feedback into consideration for future product improvements.

              Again, we are sorry for the trouble you’ve experienced, and we hope your situation gets resolved soon.

              Derius rheem
              • Verified Purchase
              Excellent experience
              The service at Home Depot was great. Installed it myself. Working as advertised. Water heated within 20 minutes of reconnecting power. Love the LED lights. No leaks, no damage, no issues. We love it so far.
              by
              Response from RheemApr 16, 2024
              Hello,

              It’s great to hear that you’re satisfied with your Performance Plus 50 Gal. 4500-Watt Elements Medium Electric Water Heater. It sounds like it’s working perfectly for you. The quick heating time, the LED lights, and the absence of any leaks or damage are indeed signs of a good product.

              The 9-Year Tank Warranty and 240-Volt power are excellent features that add to the reliability of the water heater. Remember to follow the manufacturer’s guidelines for maintenance to ensure its longevity.

              Enjoy your new water heater.

              Derius rheem
                • Recommended
                Damaged equipment right out the box New
                I purchased this Rheem Performance 40 Gal. 4500-Watt Elements Medium Electric Water Heater with 6-Year Tank Warranty and 240-Volt. Got it home and installed it and hooked the electricity after dilling the 40 gallon tank up. Just to find it had a short in the wiring. After having to get an electrician on a Sunday ($240) to find a pinched wire causing the large sparks once powered on. Really so im submitting for the extra cost of installation due to manufacturing defects
                by
                Response from RheemApr 16, 2024
                Hi,

                We are sorry to hear about the issues you’ve encountered with your water heater. It’s unfortunate that you had to incur additional costs due to a manufacturing defect.

                It’s a good idea to reach out to our Technical Support team or Home Depot’s customer service about this issue. They may be able to assist you with the extra costs incurred due to the manufacturing defect. Make sure to keep all your receipts and any documentation related to the repair.

                Remember, it’s important to always have a professional install such appliances to avoid potential issues and ensure safety. We hope this helps and your issue gets resolved soon. Please call 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST.

                Derius rheem
                  • Recommended
                  1 found this review helpful
                  by
                  Response from RheemApr 4, 2024
                  Hello,

                  Thank you for reviewing the Performance 40 Gal. 4500-Watt Elements Medium Electric Water Heater with a 6-Year Tank Warranty and 240-Volt from The Home Depot. If we can assist you, please contact 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST. Thank you for your 4-star review.

                  Derius rheem
                  • Verified Purchase
                  2 found this review helpful
                  Showing 1-10 of 8,029 reviews