#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet # 326433976

Model # XE50M09EL45U1

Store SKU # 1001301869

Performance Plus 50 Gal. 4500-Watt Elements Medium Electric Water Heater w/9-Year Tank Warranty LED Indicator & 240-Volt

Buy 3 or more $575.10
Apply Now
Pay $589.00 after $50 OFF your total qualifying purchase upon opening a new card. info
Apply for a Home Depot Consumer Card
  • Electronic LED system indicates element and thermostat operation
  • 50-Gallon tank provides hot water for households with 3-5 people
  • Restricted in Demand Response States: See below before purchasing
  • View More Details
0 in stock
Free & Easy Returns In Store or Online
Return this item within 90 days of purchase. Read Return Policy

Product Details

About This Product

The Rheem Performance Plus 50 Gal. Medium 9-Year 4500/4500-Watt Elements Electric Water Heater with LED Indicator provides ample amount of hot water for households with 3-people to 5-people. It provides more hot water and includes a self-cleaning feature for added convenience. Plus, it's perfect for replacement of an existing water heater and takes up less space than competing models.


  • Washington residents (effective 1/1/23): this water heater does not meet demand response requirements. regulations prohibit the sale, shipment or installation of this water heater in a state that requires demand response water heaters
  • Your home is in a state that requires demand response water heaters, please select an approved demand response model available
  • Great investment and value: warranty lasts 3-years longer and the water heater includes added features
  • Reliable hot water: delivers 62 Gal. of hot water in the first hour making it ideal for households with 3-people to 5-people or homes with 3 plus bathrooms
  • Perfect for replacement: this water takes up less space than competitive models making it a great choice for replacing an existing water heater
  • Easy to maintain: self-cleaning feature improves tank longevity and maintains efficiency by preventing sediment buildup
  • Easy to see status: simple LED system on the water heater makes it easy to ensure your water heater is performing at its best
  • Longer lasting: high-quality components backed by a 9-year warranty and a 2-year in-home labor warranty
  • Reliable hot water solution from Rheem, the global leader in water heating
  • Call before noon for same-day installation service in most areas or visit our Water Heater Installation page for more information.
  • Delivers saving and efficiency: consider both initial cost and lifetime savings
  • Can't see the graphics above, visit us on a computer or tablet
  • Enough hot water: choose a water heater that meets the highest demands of your household
  • Now features a brass drain valve for added resiliency & durability
  • Return Policy
  • California residents
     see Prop 65 WARNINGS

Product Information

Internet # 326433976

Model # XE50M09EL45U1

Store SKU # 1001301869


Dimensions: H 48 in, W 23 in, D 23 in




Product Depth (in.)

23 in

Product Height (in.)

48 in

Product Width (in.)

23 in

Tank Valve Size (in.)

0.75 in

Water Connection Size (in.)

3/4 in


Amperage (A)

18.75 A

Application Type


Efficiency Level

Super High

Electricity Phase

Single Phase

Finish Family


First Hour of Delivery (gallons/hr)


Fuel Type


Household Size




Maximum Temperature (F)

150 F

Minimum Temperature (F)

90 F

Nominal Tank Capacity (gallons)

50 gal

Number of Elements


Pack Size


Product Weight (lb.)

132 lb

Rated Tank Capacity (gallons)

45 gal

Required Volt Connection

240 volt



Tank Lining Material


Tank Warranty

9 Year

Uniform Energy Factor


Water Heater Features

Overheat Protection, Self Cleaning, Temperature Pressure Relief Valve

Water Heater Profile


Wattage (watts)

4500 W

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings

UL Listed

Labor Warranty

2 Year

Part Warranty

9 Year

Questions & Answers

Q:How much space (clearance) do you need for this heater
by|May 20, 2024
1 Answer
Answer This Question

A:  The water heater is is 48.5 in in height and 20.25 in in width. Locate the water heater in a clean dry area as near as practical to the area of greatest heated water demand. Long un-insulated hot water lines can waste energy and water. Place the water heater in such a manner that the thermostat and element access panels can be removed to permit inspection and servicing such as removal of elements or checking controls. The water heater and water lines should be protected from freezing temperatures. DO NOT install the water heater in outdoor, unprotected areas.

by|May 21, 2024
    Q:Is there a valve to drain the tank
    by|May 19, 2024
    1 Answer
    Answer This Question

    A:  Charlie, Thank you for your question. This unit does come with a drain valve.

    by|May 20, 2024
      Q:What’s included is the supply lines and everything I need to hook up include?
      by|May 18, 2024
      1 Answer
      Answer This Question

      A:  Sully, Thank you for your question. Just the water heater is included in the purchase.

      by|May 20, 2024
        Q:Where are they made
        by|May 13, 2024
        1 Answer
        Answer This Question

        A:  Glenn, Thank you for your question. Rheem uses manufacturing resources from around the world to deliver the best quality product at the best value.

        by|May 15, 2024
          1 found this answer helpful
          Showing 1-4 of 249

          Customer Reviews

          4.3 out of 5

          • 4.3 out of 8,048 reviews
          • 73% recommend this product
          Filter by:
          Showing 1-10 of 8,048 reviews
          Does not honor warranty
          I bought a Rheem Performance Electric Hot Water heater 40 gallons. At the end of year 5, it failed. After many phone conversations, emails, pictures of the burned out wire and a receipt Home Depot said I had to deal with Rheem directly. Again after several emails and phone calls to Rheem they stated all I need to do was to give them the serial number, pictures, and date of purchase receipt I would be given a refund. So I emailed it all in and went and had another hot water heater installed. A few days later they said they would no honor it because I did not return the water heater back to the Home Depot store. Home depot said I needed to work directly with Rheem. So, I never received a refund or a credit with Rheem or Home Depot.
            Will not last
            Worked great for 3 years and 9 months from the day it was made 3 years from the install date. After that leaked everywhere even with a whole-house water filter. Warranty Ha Ha HA...guess again
              DON'T have this shipped to point of use!!!
              Order Ship to Store and and when you go to pick it up, OPEN THE CARTON and INSPECT it BEFORE ACCEPTING IT. The packaging on these things is totally inadequate. There was a moderately thick cardboard bottom on the box, and two half-pieces of pool noodle in two corners, which were loose and did nothing to fill the space. There were styrofoam corners at the top. There is NO protection for the sides of the heater from dents, and very little to protect it from damage if it falls
              Response from RheemMay 21, 2024

              Rheem appreciates your review and feedback. We regret any inconvenience you may have encountered with our product. Our commitment is to deliver a high-quality product and customer experience. Your feedback will help current and future customers have a better experience and product.

              Isaiah rheem
                • Recommended
                2 found this review helpful
                Didnt Last - No Warrenty Acknolwedged
                Unit failed under 6 years, unit was warrantied for 9. Rheem was not helpful.
                Response from RheemMay 15, 2024

                We appreciate your review and feedback. Our sincere apologies for any inconvenience our product may have caused you. Rheems goal is always to deliver a high-quality product and customer experience. If you require help, please reach out to our Technical Support at 866-279-4566. They are available from 7 A.M. to 7 P.M. CST and our skilled analysts will be able assist you.

                Isaiah rheem
                  1 found this review helpful
                  Met the needs for this cabin with a quick recovery time, acceptable warranty and was the size needed. Have only had it for a couple of months at this point so no issues to report.
                  Response from RheemMay 14, 2024

                  That’s great to hear! It sounds like the Performance Plus 40 Gal. Electric Water Heater is working well for your cabin. Its quick recovery time, acceptable warranty, and suitable size seem to be meeting your needs effectively. It’s always good when a product lives up to expectations. Please don’t hesitate to share if you have any more experiences or questions in the future!

                  Derius rheem
                  • Verified Purchase
                  Response from RheemApr 30, 2024

                  Thank you for this review. If you need assistance, please contact our Technical Support team at 888-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST.

                  Derius rheem
                  • Verified Purchase
                  1 found this review helpful
                  Just installed. Looks nice and well put together. Hopefully it lasts a long time.
                  Response from RheemApr 18, 2024
                  Hello Jeffery,

                  We are glad to hear that you’ve successfully installed your new water heater and that you’re pleased with its appearance and construction. Here’s hoping it serves you well for many years to come! Remember, regular maintenance can help extend the lifespan of your water heater. Enjoy your new appliance!

                  Derius rheem
                  • Verified Purchase
                  It came was damaged. I’m having to pay installation cost twice To my Plumber
                  Response from RheemApr 17, 2024

                  We are really sorry to hear about your experience with the water heater. It’s certainly frustrating to receive a damaged product and then have to pay for installation twice.

                  If you haven’t already, we would recommend reaching out to Home Depot’s customer service with your feedback. They may be able to offer some assistance or at least take your feedback into consideration for future product improvements.

                  Again, we are sorry for the trouble you’ve experienced, and we hope your situation gets resolved soon.

                  Derius rheem
                  • Verified Purchase
                  Excellent experience
                  The service at Home Depot was great. Installed it myself. Working as advertised. Water heated within 20 minutes of reconnecting power. Love the LED lights. No leaks, no damage, no issues. We love it so far.
                  Response from RheemApr 16, 2024

                  It’s great to hear that you’re satisfied with your Performance Plus 50 Gal. 4500-Watt Elements Medium Electric Water Heater. It sounds like it’s working perfectly for you. The quick heating time, the LED lights, and the absence of any leaks or damage are indeed signs of a good product.

                  The 9-Year Tank Warranty and 240-Volt power are excellent features that add to the reliability of the water heater. Remember to follow the manufacturer’s guidelines for maintenance to ensure its longevity.

                  Enjoy your new water heater.

                  Derius rheem
                    • Recommended
                    1 found this review helpful
                    Damaged equipment right out the box New
                    I purchased this Rheem Performance 40 Gal. 4500-Watt Elements Medium Electric Water Heater with 6-Year Tank Warranty and 240-Volt. Got it home and installed it and hooked the electricity after dilling the 40 gallon tank up. Just to find it had a short in the wiring. After having to get an electrician on a Sunday ($240) to find a pinched wire causing the large sparks once powered on. Really so im submitting for the extra cost of installation due to manufacturing defects
                    Response from RheemApr 16, 2024

                    We are sorry to hear about the issues you’ve encountered with your water heater. It’s unfortunate that you had to incur additional costs due to a manufacturing defect.

                    It’s a good idea to reach out to our Technical Support team or Home Depot’s customer service about this issue. They may be able to assist you with the extra costs incurred due to the manufacturing defect. Make sure to keep all your receipts and any documentation related to the repair.

                    Remember, it’s important to always have a professional install such appliances to avoid potential issues and ensure safety. We hope this helps and your issue gets resolved soon. Please call 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST.

                    Derius rheem
                      • Recommended
                      1 found this review helpful
                      Showing 1-10 of 8,048 reviews