#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet # 312741454

Model # XE65T10HS45U0

ProTerra 65 Gal. 10-Year Hybrid High Efficiency Smart Tank Electric Water Heater with Leak Detection & Auto Shutoff

$2229.00
Limit 5 per order
Apply Now
$undefined.00 /mo† suggested payments with months† financingApply Now
  • Hybrid electric heat pump saves up to $315 in annual energy costs
  • Built In Leak Detection and Auto Shutoff protect against leaks
  • Demand Response Compliant for States Requiring Utility Management
  • View More Details
icon
Free & Easy Returns In Store or Online
Return this item within 90 days of purchase. Read Return Policy
caret
Product Details
  • Hybrid electric heat pump saves up to $315 in annual energy costs
  • Built In Leak Detection and Auto Shutoff protect against leaks
  • Demand Response Compliant for States Requiring Utility Management
About This Product

This ProTerra Smart Tank Electric Water Heater gives your home hot water, while also saving you on energy costs. It’s highly durable for long-term use with stainless steel elements and an auto shut-off valve to prevent leaking. It's also a smart appliance with built-in EcoNet Wi-Fi. You can manage the heating schedule and track weekly, monthly and yearly energy usage on your mobile device.

  • Provides an estimated energy cost savings of more than $269 per year
  • Pays for itself in energy cost savings thanks to an amazing 3.85 uniform energy factor and features that deliver long-term savings
  • Protects your home from potential water damage with LeakGuard, the 360-degree leak detection system and the auto shut-off valve that shuts off incoming water and locks water in
  • Built-in EcoNet Wi-Fi technology allows you to manage hot water and avoid cold showers, track weekly, monthly and yearly energy usage and manage heating schedule from your mobile device
  • Select the efficiency or performance you want with modes such as High Demand Mode and Vacation Mode
  • ENERGY STAR-certified so it may be eligible for rebates in your area; check for rebates through your state and local government or electric utility provider
  • Reduces carbon footprint with 75% reduction in energy use
  • If your utility requires a grid connection, connect without any additional costs and save more with off-peak scheduling
  • Provides more hot water than many standard residential electric models, providing ample hot water for households with three to five people or homes with three or more bathrooms
  • Easily accessible electrical junction box for convenient hook up and drop-in replacement for nearly any standard electric water heater
  • Duct colder exhaust air into your attic, another room or out of your home
  • Premium brass drain valve for easy draining and stainless steel elements that prevent buildup
  • 10-year warranty with one-year in-home labor warranty
  • Savings and efficiency information is located on product specification documents
  • As with any Wi-Fi connected device, for best performance use your phone or tablet to check the Wi-Fi signal strength in the area where the water heater will be installed prior to purchase
  • Call 1-855-400-2552 before noon for same-day installation service in most areas, or visit our Water Heater Installation page for more information.
  • Return Policy
  • California residents
     see Prop 65 WARNINGS
Product ID #: 312741454Internet #: 020352759425Model #: XE65T10HS45U0
caret

Specifications

Dimensions: H 65 in, W 24.25 in, D 24.25 in

Dimensions

Product Depth (in.)24.25 inProduct Height (in.)65 in
Product Width (in.)24.25 inTank Valve Size (in.)0.75 in
Water Connection Size (in.)3/4 in

Details

Amperage (A)18.75 AApplication TypeResidential
Efficiency LevelSuper HighElectricity PhaseSingle Phase
Finish FamilyGrayFirst Hour of Delivery (gallons/hr)75
Fuel TypeHybridHousehold Size5+
Indoor/OutdoorIndoorMaximum Temperature (F)150 F
Minimum Heat Pump Temperature (F)40 °FMinimum Temperature (F)110 F
Nominal Tank Capacity (gallons)65 galNumber of Elements2
Pack Size1Power OptionsHardwired
Product Weight (lb.)225 lbRated Tank Capacity (gallons)59 gal
Remote AccessRemote AccessRequired Volt Connection240 volt
Requires Hub?No Hub RequiredReturnable90-Day
Smart HomeSmart Home EnabledSmart Home ProtocolWi-Fi
Tank Lining MaterialGlassTank Warranty10 Year
Uniform Energy Factor4.05Voice Control Hub RequiredNo Voice Control
Water Heater FeaturesDemand Response Ready, Overheat Protection, Temperature Pressure Relief ValveWater Heater ProfileTall
Wattage (watts)4500 WWorks WithAlexa

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and ListingsUL ListedLabor Warranty1 Year
Part Warranty10 Year
caret

Questions & Answers

1424Questions
caret
Q:We have a Generac whole house standby generator, 18 K. Would you recommend any of your hybrid water heaters? Thank you.
by|Feb 20, 2024
1 Answer
Answer This Question

A:  Hi Fwen and thank you for your question. Any of our units that require a standard grounded outlet, you would want to check with an electrician for any generators.

by|Feb 22, 2024
    caret
    Q:Does this hot water heater meet tier 3 specifications?
    by|Feb 16, 2024
    1 Answer
    Answer This Question

    A:  Thomas, Thank you for your question. It’s designed to meet Northern Climate Spec (Tier 4).

    by|Feb 16, 2024
      caret
      Q:This hybrid hot water heater is rated 72 gal yet one that is very similar but without leak detector is rated 80 gal. I am thinking the rated 72 gal is a mistake and it should be rated 80 gal. Can someone verify.
      by|Feb 14, 2024
      1 Answer
      Answer This Question

      A:  Hi DonT and thank you for your question. The information is correct. If you need further assistance, please call 800-995-0982 Mon-Fri: 9am-6pm EST.

      by|Feb 15, 2024
        caret
        Q:I have had a 50 installed for 16 months. In the super cold months of the year I switch to Electric mode. But, every once in a while, but itself, the mode changes to Heat Pump. This of course, makes the recover time much longer. Why the auto change?
        by|Feb 14, 2024
        1 Answer
        Answer This Question

        A:  Hi coldshowers and thank you for your question. for technical issues, please call the number on your unit or in your user manual.

        by|Feb 19, 2024
          Showing 1-4 of 1,424
          caret

          Customer Reviews

          4.2 out of 5
          • 4.2 out of 2,854 reviews
          • 66% recommend this product
          Filter by:
          Showing 1-10 of 2,854 reviews
          Performs as advertised.
          Shipping and delivery were uneventful, well packaged. I have been impressed with the performance. The installation is not usual, but not difficult. The area on top of the unit where the wires are connected is tight. The app is straight forward, connection is effortless. By scheduling different temperatures for different times of day I believe additional savings are achievable. The sound level during operation is 64db. Many review photos depict installation that differs from instructions.
          by
          Response from RheemFeb 14, 2024
          Hello Steve,

          We are glad to hear that you are enjoying your new Rheem Hybrid Water Heater! If you ever need assistance or just have questions about your water heater, feel free to reach out to our Technical Support Team at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST and one of our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you. Thank you for choosing Rheem!

          Isaiah rheem
            • Recommended
            2 found this review helpful
            Way too loud!!!
            Was listed at 49db but that has been removed. It's 80db at to the compressor. A Rheem video has it in closet with a louver door next to a kitchen, no way. Downstairs the droning vibrating noise is throughout the house. In the bedroom, it's about 60db in the bathroom, it's closer to 70db. It's louder than standing right next to my refrigerator when it's compressor is running. So far Rheem has been basically ignoring me and will not state how loud it should be.
            by
            Response from RheemFeb 16, 2024
            Hi,

            Thank you for this review. We apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced because of the noise level heard from your water heater. Noise levels can vary depending on installation location, as well as vibrations being able to travel along water lines, and connected plumbing. For additional assistance with your water heater, please contact our Technical Support team at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST. Our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you technical guidance and troubleshooting information.

            Derius rheem
              3 found this review helpful
              Efficient but could still use a little work
              I bought this Water Heater because it was supposed to be much more efficient. Before, I installed it I added power monitoring to my old WH for 10 weeks. It is now 10 weeks after I installed it. From an efficiency standpoint it is doing great. My old unit was averaging 4.6KWh/day. This one 1.1KWh per day. When the heat pump is running it is a bit louder, but not too bad. The app could use a bit of work. The energy info in the app is reporting much higher than it is actually using.
              by
              Response from RheemFeb 15, 2024
              Hi Bruce,

              Thank you for this 5-star review. For additional assistance with your water heater, please call our Technical Support team at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST. One of our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you.

              Derius rheem
                • Recommended
                9 found this review helpful
                Great Water Heater!
                1st Home Depot send me an email at 6:39AM to say my delivery is coming 3 days, Saturday after Thanksgiving, it was supposed to arrive on Tuesday. I was away visiting my mother and would not be home until Monday. The water heater was delivered around 8:45AM and the HD driver left the water heater in front of my garage!!!! Rheem you need to make sure your fittings are tight and please use Teflon tape or thread sealant. Shutoff valve pipe was leaking, had to drain and remove valve to fix!!!!!!!!!!
                by
                Response from RheemDec 10, 2023
                Hi George,

                Thank you for this 5-star review. For additional assistance with your water heater, please call our Technical Support team at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST. One of our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you.

                Derius rheem
                  • Recommended
                  3 found this review helpful
                  Very Happy
                  I’m writing my first ever product review because I’m so happy with this water heater. It was installed a couple months ago and it’s been smooth sailing. The noise level is about as loud as my refrigerator. I’m not sure about the app because I don’t need another one on my phone. And I just finished using vacation mode which worked like a charm. I was hesitant to buy one of these but a friend of mine who installed one a year ago told me to make the switch and don’t look back. Glad I did.
                  by
                  Response from RheemDec 10, 2023
                  Hi Jack,

                  Thank you for this 5-star review. We are glad you are enjoying your new water heater. For additional assistance with your water heater, please call our Technical Support team at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST. One of our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you.

                  Derius rheem
                    • Recommended
                    3 found this review helpful
                    Reliable
                    Its been almost 3 years since I installed my Rheem heat pump hot water heater, so far been great, the app for monitoring recently changed and I liked the original app more, it displayed more info, but nonetheless I would purchase again
                    by
                    Response from RheemDec 10, 2023
                    Hi Wayne,

                    Thank you for this 5-star review. For additional assistance with your water heater, please call our Technical Support team at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST. One of our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you.

                    Derius rheem
                      • Recommended
                      Poorly engineered, marketed, and operational
                      3 to 4 hours to recovery time in energy saver (or any) mode. Depletes in approx. 10 min. Since installation 4/21 have not had more than two consecutive months without alarms or malfunctions. HOURS on the phone with CS. Replaced all 4 thermistors, myself 3 times (due to 1 yr labor warranty). Running the unit, either in electric or alternative mode because energy saving/heat pump is inoperable. Great purchase…if you enjoy cold showers and electrical engineering projects.
                      by
                      Response from RheemDec 1, 2023
                      Hi,

                      Thank you for this review. We apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced because of the performance of your water heater and hope the issue has been resolved. If you still need assistance, please call Technical Support at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST and one of our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you.

                      Derius rheem
                        18 found this review helpful
                        Spectacular heater run by a dumpster fire app
                        The heat pump is as spectacular as the Carnot cycle would have you expect it to be. When it works, even without ducting and in a 65-70F laundry room, it cuts 70% of our electric usage. The problem is that the app has a scheduler/controller that is beyond glitchy. Sometimes it randomly erases the schedule you set to maximize solar energy use. Sometimes it kicks you into vacation mode that can't be shut off remotely. There is no other way to program it.
                        by
                        Response from RheemNov 14, 2023
                        Hi,

                        thank you for taking the time to write this review. We apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced, and we would like to opportunity to assist you with any questions or concerns you have about the application. Please call our dedicated EcoNet Support Team at 800.255.2388 between the hours of 8 AM and 8 PM EST and one of our analysts will be happy to help you.

                        Derius rheem
                          9 found this review helpful
                          Issues upon issues
                          Had multiple issues during 2 years and 2 weeks I’ve had it so far. The technical support sent the parts out immediately and I was able to install them but unfortunately this time replacing parts did not solve the A004 error. I was instructed to do a warranty replacement which means a pro rated refund and purchase of a new water heater at current prices. And I’ll be responsible for installation costs as well. Which means I’ll be out at least another 1500-2000 dollars out of pocket. So watch out
                          by
                          Response from RheemNov 10, 2023
                          Hi,

                          Thank you for this review. We apologize for the inconvenience you have encountered with both your water heater and your Home Depot experience and hope the issue has been resolved. To better assist you with this issue, please contact HomeDepot.com customer service department at 1-800-466-3337 any day between 6 A.M and 2 A.M. EST. Home Depot Customer Service will be able to assist you with this issue or transfer you to your local store for more assistance. If you still need assistance with your water heater, please call Technical Support at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST and one of our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you.

                          Derius rheem
                            23 found this review helpful
                            Some issues, but immediately saving money.
                            Good delivery. Smooth install until element leaked and was found to have somehow been spread open in the tank as if a tester found the leak, bent it from failing to remove it right, and then just put it back in as if "not my problem". Cut the element, replaced it, unit fired up no problem. When running full speed, it gets up to about 60 decibels but can't hear it in the house. Day one it used 11KWH less power than my electric normally consumed in a day. App is great.
                            by
                            Response from RheemOct 25, 2023
                            Hello James.

                            Thank you for the 4-star review! We hate to hear you had an issue with your water heater but are glad that you were able to quickly resolve it and be back with hot water. If you ever need assistance or just have questions about your water heater, feel free to reach out to our Technical Support Team at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST and one of our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you.

                            Isaiah rheem
                              • Recommended
                              4 found this review helpful
                              Showing 1-10 of 2,854 reviews

                              Compare Similar Items

                              current item

                              Nominal Tank Capacity (gallons)

                              65 gal

                              40 gal

                              80 gal

                              80 gal

                              Required Volt Connection

                              240 volt

                              240 volt

                              240 volt

                              120 volt

                              Water Heater Features

                              Demand Response Ready, Overheat Protection, Temperature Pressure Relief Valve

                              Demand Response Ready, Overheat Protection, Temperature Pressure Relief Valve

                              Demand Response Ready, Overheat Protection, Temperature Pressure Relief Valve

                              Demand Response Ready, Vacation Mode, WiFi

                              First Hour of Delivery (gallons/hr)

                              75

                              60

                              87

                              72

                              Wattage (watts)

                              4500 W

                              4500 W

                              4500 W

                              0 W