Internet #205124380

Model # 7214502

Store SO SKU #1000110673

0320066042463

Rust-Oleum Stops Rust

1 qt. Gray Hammered Rust Preventive Paint (2-Pack)

  • Hide surface flaws, provides rust resistance in a hammered finish
  • Apply over rust on outdoor/indoor surfaces, no primer needed
  • Hammered metal paint with superior protection, seals out moisture
$ 25 96 /case
Loading Options
store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

  • Hide surface flaws, provides rust resistance in a hammered finish
  • Apply over rust on outdoor/indoor surfaces, no primer needed
  • Hammered metal paint with superior protection, seals out moisture
The Rust-Oleum Stops Rust 1 qt. Gray Hammered Rust Preventive Paint (Case of 2) features an oil-based formula that dries to a hammered finish for a unique look. The paint helps prevent rust and can be used both indoors and outdoors for versatility. The paint can be used to hide flaws and imperfections in scratched and rusted metal and can be applied directly over rust for your convenience.
  • Use on metal, wood, concrete and masonry, formula helps protect against corrosion and rust
  • Coverage is up to 100 sq. ft. depending on surface porosity
  • Oil-based formula hides flaws and imperfections found in scratched, rusted or pitted metals
  • Hammered metal finish with a glossy sheen
  • Durable and corrosion-resistant for indoor/outdoor use
  • Helps protect against corrosion and rust to help provide long-lasting use
  • Dries to the touch in as little as 4 hours
  • Superior rust prevention which provides lasting protection and beauty for projects
  • Easy to clean with mineral spirits
  • California residents see Prop 65 WARNINGS

Product Overview

  • Hide surface flaws, provides rust resistance in a hammered finish
  • Apply over rust on outdoor/indoor surfaces, no primer needed
  • Hammered metal paint with superior protection, seals out moisture
Model #: 7214502
Internet #: 205124380

The Rust-Oleum Stops Rust 1 qt. Gray Hammered Rust Preventive Paint (Case of 2) features an oil-based formula that dries to a hammered finish for a unique look. The paint helps prevent rust and can be used both indoors and outdoors for versatility. The paint can be used to hide flaws and imperfections in scratched and rusted metal and can be applied directly over rust for your convenience.

  • Use on metal, wood, concrete and masonry, formula helps protect against corrosion and rust
  • Coverage is up to 100 sq. ft. depending on surface porosity
  • Oil-based formula hides flaws and imperfections found in scratched, rusted or pitted metals
  • Hammered metal finish with a glossy sheen
  • Durable and corrosion-resistant for indoor/outdoor use
  • Helps protect against corrosion and rust to help provide long-lasting use
  • Dries to the touch in as little as 4 hours
  • Superior rust prevention which provides lasting protection and beauty for projects
  • Easy to clean with mineral spirits
  • California residents see Prop 65 WARNINGS

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar

Compare Similar Products
Brand Rust-Oleum Stops Rust Rust-Oleum Stops Rust Rust-Oleum Stops Rust Rust-Oleum Stops Rust
Name 1 qt. Gray Hammered Rust Preventive Paint (2-Pack) 1 qt. Silver Hammered Rust Preventive Interior Paint (2-Pack) 1 qt. Dark Bronze Hammered Rust Preventive Interior/Exterior Paint (2-Pack) 1 qt. Black Hammered Rust Preventive Paint (2-Pack)
Price
$25.96 /case
$25.96 /case
$25.96 /case
$25.96 /case
Ratings (238) (238) (238) (238)
Container Size 1 QT-Quart 1 QT-Quart 1 QT-Quart 1 QT-Quart
Sheen Gloss Gloss Gloss Gloss
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Container Size
1 QT-Quart

Details

Application Method
Brush,Paint Sprayer,Roller
Coating Product Category
Paint
Color Family
Gray
Color Family
Grays
Color/Finish
Gray
Coverage Area (sq. ft)
100
Dry to touch (min.)
30
Interior/Exterior
Exterior,Interior
Number per Package
2
Paint & Primer in One
No
Paint Key Features
Rust Preventative
Paint Product Form
Liquid
Paint/Stain Base Material
Oil
Paint/Stain Clean Up
Mineral Spirits
Paint/Stain/Waterproofer Product Type
Rust Preventative
Returnable
90-Day
Sheen
Gloss
Specialty Finish
Hammered
Substrate/Surface Use Type
Brick,Concrete,Masonry,Metal,Stone,Wood
Time before recoating (hours)
4
Transparency
Solid

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
Satisfaction guaranteed for full refund of purchase price

Specifications

Dimensions

Container Size
1 QT-Quart

Details

Application Method
Brush,Paint Sprayer,Roller
Coating Product Category
Paint
Color Family
Gray
Color Family
Grays
Color/Finish
Gray
Coverage Area (sq. ft)
100
Dry to touch (min.)
30
Interior/Exterior
Exterior,Interior
Number per Package
2
Paint & Primer in One
No
Paint Key Features
Rust Preventative
Paint Product Form
Liquid
Paint/Stain Base Material
Oil
Paint/Stain Clean Up
Mineral Spirits
Paint/Stain/Waterproofer Product Type
Rust Preventative
Returnable
90-Day
Sheen
Gloss
Specialty Finish
Hammered
Substrate/Surface Use Type
Brick,Concrete,Masonry,Metal,Stone,Wood
Time before recoating (hours)
4
Transparency
Solid

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
Satisfaction guaranteed for full refund of purchase price

Questions & Answers

We used the spray version of this paint on a large piece of sheet metal used in front of our outd...

We used the spray version of this paint on a large piece of sheet metal used in front of our outdoor fireplace. The spray can was very difficult to use. It was impossible to get an even coat and we only got the hammered effect in a few places even after using 2 cans. Would like to use the canned version applied with a roller instead. Just wondering if it would adhere.
Asked by: PaintProblem
Thank you for reaching out! Yes, Rust-Oleum Stops Rust Hammered Paint is suitable for use on metal surfaces and can be applied with a roller. If the surface is galvanized, you will first want to prime the surface with a water-based primer to ensure full adhesion. We recommend Rust-Oleum Zinsser Bulls Eye 1-2-3 Water-Based Primer! https://www.homedepot.com/p/Zinsser-Bulls-Eye-1-2-3-5-gal-White-Water-Based-Interior-Exterior-Primer-and-Sealer-2000/100398392 - Rust-Oleum Product Support 3
Answered by: Rust-OleumSupport
Date published: 2019-05-28

can this product be overcoated with polyurethan

Asked by: jerry
I'm sure it would be fine if it has cured. Not 2 component urethane though
Answered by: Edman
Date published: 2018-01-03

Can it be used on a vertical surface such as a garage door?

Can it be used on a vertical surface such as a garage door?
Asked by: Rey
We did not try a door. The paint did not drip for us. However, we did apply two thin coats instead of trying to cover everything with one thick coat.
Answered by: Bella
Date published: 2018-04-26

Can it be used on interior walls

Asked by: JC
I used on aluminum of which the product says it is to be used for metal
Answered by: KT
Date published: 2017-08-01
  • y_2019, m_7, d_22, h_21CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_31
  • loc_, sid_205124380, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 16ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

1 qt. Gray Hammered Rust Preventive Paint (2-Pack) is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 238.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I just wish they made this hammered paint in gallon... I just wish they made this hammered paint in gallon size. This is by far the best durable paint I have ever used! I use it on mainly on trailers, truck beds, and tools! I have never use paint that can take a beating like it can
Date published: 2017-09-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Professional Finish but Unlike some reviews I found this paint to be good. The mailbox and lamppost I painted matched a wrought iron handrail I had installed to a tee. The paint goes on better in drier conditions, dries quickly and doesn't have the same sq. ft. coverage as a regular color of Rustoleum.
Date published: 2016-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great paint This paint is easy to apply both by brush or sprayer. The advantages of it are that no primer is needed, it can be applied over light rust, has a orange peel finish that forgives application errors, and is quite durable. The biggest drawback is that recoat interval is 7 days.
Date published: 2016-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from If you hate rattle cans, then this is the way to spray it. The coverage is about 7 times better ... If you hate rattle cans, then this is the way to spray it. The coverage is about 7 times better with a real spray gun. I figured I need about 10 rattle cans for re-painting a 10 chair patio set, and I did it all with one quart.
Date published: 2017-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This stuff is the best! I have used this paint on several projects that get heavy use and abuse. Here is a shot of the underside of one of my projects, used Rust-o- hammered black and gray on it. Brushed on two coats of each, easy to apply and dried hard as a rock.
Date published: 2014-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product Recently used this to refinish a steel cabinet. Follow the simple instructions on the can and you will be very happy with the results. This is the best paint on a shelf for an industrial look and it's great for hiding imperfections.
Date published: 2015-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Fountain Looks Great I refreshed my water fountain with the hammered silver on each bowl and the background was hammered brown. The paint was very easy to apply and has stood up to the constant water running through the fountain. Looks great.
Date published: 2015-07-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good paint I used it on my 1953 delta unisaw, I sprayed it on with a hvlp gun, I had to thin it a little to spray it. I put 2 coats on using the guide for time on the can. Came out nice. I will use it again.
Date published: 2015-04-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from EASY TO USE The paint looks great on the meter box that was rusting out. If it works as well as other Rustoleum products, I expect it to look good about 2 years even though I painted right over the rust.
Date published: 2014-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great paint One of my favorite paints and is a good deal if you need 2 qt. I prefer to brush it on to get a bettered hammered effect than the rattle can spray paint style.
Date published: 2016-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I saw some bad reviews of this and almost didn't buy it but I'm glad I did. I've always used the ... I saw some bad reviews of this and almost didn't buy it but I'm glad I did. I've always used the spray paint hammered for my projects which is AMAZING by the way, but for this project, spraying wasn't an option. People have mentioned it's hard to work with and stringy. It is stringy, that is part of what gives the hammered look. This is probably not best for someone that works slowly or that is inexperienced at painting. What worked best for me is to use a small roller and pour small amounts in the tray (maybe 1/4 quart at a time). It dries quickly and gets really thick so use small amounts. Roll quickly and keep your roller well saturated, roll forward once and backward once then STOP! If it isn't fully covered, go back later after it's fully dry. Continuing to roll back and forth is what makes the "strings". Roll everything you need first - do not touch a paint brush yet. You do not want to try to keep a brush and roller from drying out. Complete all of the rolling first, then go back and get areas that need to be brushed. This stuff is very thin so it drips easy - make sure you have a lot of mineral spirits to clean yourself up with. Do not wear any clothes or anything you would like to keep because it will never come out of them. When you are done, plan to toss your roller, pan and brush (I bought cheapos at Home Depot so I could toss when done). You'll never get them clean, it's just not worth the hassle. Overall this turned out beautifully and the texture that I needed to cover up some uneven spots due to rust. It actually looks better than it did when it was new to me (it was black which didn't match our house). I would definitely recommend this product and I'm already planning what I'm going to paint with my left over because I love it so much. Just remember, once you start, don't leave the paint sitting or take long breaks because it dries SUPER fast.
Date published: 2017-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product I used a spray to put some of the product on but found that if I used a cheap paint brush it covered Better. Very easy to use.
Date published: 2014-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love it love it! i used paintable wall paper and this product...even a builder was impressed "i can't believe that's wall paper"
Date published: 2013-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product I am so happy I purchased this paint, excellent quality, very nice paint texture and items look like new.
Date published: 2016-01-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great product to cover rust Excellent product to cover rust. No scraping required. Just remove loose scale and then paint.
Date published: 2013-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love the Hammered look this is a great paint it even looked and turn out better than the picture on the can
Date published: 2015-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT PAINT COVERS EXTREMELY WELL COVERS IMPERFECT SPOTS EXCELLENT GREAT PAINT COVERS EXTREMELY WELL COVERS IMPERFECT SPOTS EXCELLENT
Date published: 2016-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks great no rust claim is not accurate. I restore used machinery and have used many, many times for interior applications. Dries fast, very durable. Cold from spray cans will match from one fan to the next but using quarts, to spray with a gun, you need to thin and mix the entire quart. If you try to thin partial amounts of a quart it won't match. I cleaned my spare tire wheel thouroghly with a wire brush on a grinder then lacquer thinner. Sprayed with a can and it started rusting after about 6 months. My spare tire lays in the back on my bed so one side is exposed to the elements all of the time. That's the side that rusted. It was a pain to tape off the wheel and now it rusted anyway. I contacted Rustoleum and they said it was wet (no way in this case) or I didn't spray enough paint on it. Gave it another exterior application chance on my headache rack. Originally it was powder coated. It sandblasted and stripped 99% of the pain off of it. Sprayed 2 heavy coats with a gun. 6 months later it is starting to rust. They even claim you can spray over rust. Not true. I clean and paint metal for a living. This is not an exterior product. If you do use it outside, apply a lot of paint. Too little oxidizes and dulls. Great product but not for exterior. The more even your coats, the better it will look.
Date published: 2015-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The hammered rustoleum paint / gloss finish is perfect!... The hammered rustoleum paint / gloss finish is perfect! I applied this to our outdoor sette! The end result was beyond how I had imagined it! Perfectly beautiful! T.Y.
Date published: 2018-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality Paint Product Had a pair of rusted 30 year old 6ft tall metal cabinets I had planned on getting rid of. After pricing the new ones in the range of $250-$350, I decided to restore the ones I had. A light surface sanding and prep, I applied two coats of this product which were originally a tan color. Talk about a huge difference of appearance and paint durability. The hammered texture gave the cabinets a look that matched the expensive units I had thought about purchasing. I was impressed so I painted an 40 year old refrigerator and other tool storage units that made the garage look customized. Definitely worth the small investment and saved me a ton of money.
Date published: 2016-02-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice paint for exterior use on old, faded glass window frames in my condo. Nice paint for exterior use on old, faded glass window frames in my condo.
Date published: 2018-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product. Covered the old surface much better than I... Excellent product. Covered the old surface much better than I expected.
Date published: 2018-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked good for what we wanted to use it for.... Worked good for what we wanted to use it for....
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product, correct color, looks great... Great product, correct color, looks great
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best paint for restoring light fixtures and outdoor furnishings I just used the hammered products in copper, brown and silver to refinish features in an outdoor fountain. Great results! I also used the copper and silver products to completely restore outdoor fixtures on a house we were selling. Many neighbors asked where we bought the new, upscale fixtures. Best paint product I have used. Today I refinished 9 exterior wall sconces. It made a big difference in the street appeal of our new house. Highly recommend this product. It is oil based, but you probably would not get the color separation for the hammered effect if it were latex. It is well worth the added clean-up effort.
Date published: 2016-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We did our patio table and it came out like... We did our patio table and it came out like new (well almost).We tried spray but it was messy, and did not cover as well.I can't really see the hammered look but it could be that i did not apply it correctly.I need to do a 2nd layer anyway.
Date published: 2018-06-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Unfortunately, this Hammered Copper expensive. I would use for more projects but it cost too much... Unfortunately, this Hammered Copper expensive. I would use for more projects but it cost too much. Was even considering painting my house with it. Would be a nice experiment. But that would be outrageously expensive because of the size of the house. Plus I do not know if it can be sprayed with a gun. It has a great look. I painted some very large exterior window frames (photo attached) and an exterior wall of a new barn. great look and with white trim it look like a cross between rustic and a cool 70's color.
Date published: 2017-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I used black hammered rustoleum to paint a rack on my truck I use to haul an ATV. You need to a... I used black hammered rustoleum to paint a rack on my truck I use to haul an ATV. You need to allow more drying time than you would with a regular oil base paint as it is a thicker paint. The black drys, not a true black, but a bit on the gray side. I like the color as it goes good with my gray truck. Drys to a hard thick finish that I think will be durable. Time will tell. Does not clean up with regular paint thinner . Uses another product, the name I don't recall at this time.
Date published: 2017-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This paint was used on the exterior of an old claw foot bathtub. My daughter, who is very new to ... This paint was used on the exterior of an old claw foot bathtub. My daughter, who is very new to owning and fixing up an old house, applied the paint, following the directions on the label. It dried to a beautiful, high gloss shine. It has a realistic copper color and hammered-looking texture. Very easy to apply and with great results. Note: Make sure to apply this finish in very well ventilated areas, as directed on the label. Fumes are very strong until the finish is dry.
Date published: 2017-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love the finish of this hammered paint. It's easy to apply to horizontal surfaces and can be re... I love the finish of this hammered paint. It's easy to apply to horizontal surfaces and can be recoated seamlessly
Date published: 2018-07-24
  • y_2019, m_7, d_22, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_238
  • loc_, sid_205124380, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 117ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT