#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet # 100355750

Model # 30005

Store SKU # 573309

22.5 lb. 5,000 sq. ft. Starter Fertilizer Plus Crabgrass Preventer

0 in stock
Product Details

About This Product

Create a lush, beautiful lawn or outdoor area with the Scotts Starter Brand 22.5 lb. Fertilizer Plus Crabgrass Preventer. This fertilizer is great for use when planting new grass seed and helps prevent the growth of crabgrass. The All-in-One particles provide consistent coverage and the slow-release formula ensures extended feeding.


  • For use when planting new grass seed
  • Helps grow new, thick grass quickly while preventing the growth of crabgrass, barnyard grass and foxtail
  • All-in-1 particles provide consistent coverage and feeding
  • Covers up to 5,000 sq. ft.
  • Lasts for up to 6 weeks
  • Won't burn your lawn
  • Slow-release formula provides extended feeding
  • 18-23-4 fertilizer analysis provides the ideal balance of nutrients for your plants
  • What is the Best Fertilizer for my Yard?
  • Return Policy

Product Information

Internet # 100355750

Model # 30005

Store SKU # 573309

Additional Resources

From the Manufacturer


Dimensions: H 19 in, W 12.5 in, D 3.75 in


Coverage Area (sq. ft.)


Package Size (lb.)


Product Depth (in.)

3.75 in

Product Height (in.)

19 in

Product Width (in.)

12.5 in


Compatible Grass Type

Bluegrass, Centipede, Fescue, Rye, Tall Fescue

Delivery Method


Dry Fertilizer Type

Dry Lawn Fertilizer

Emergent Type



Kills Crab Grass

Longevity (weeks)


N-P-K Ratio




Season Use


Time release

Slow release

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty

Scotts No-Quibble Guarantee®: If for any reason you, the consumer, are not satisfied after using this product, you are entitled to get your money back. Simply send us evidence of purchase and we will mail you a refund check promptly.

Questions & Answers

Q:what is yhe coverage using a 22.5 pound bag of starter crabgrass preventer
by|Mar 18, 2013
2 Answers
Answer This Question

A:  Hi Derf, this 22.5 pound bag will cover a 5000 square foot area. Great product, just follow the instruction on the back. Spring is here, so enjoy your lawn.

by|May 2, 2023

A:  This is a 5,000 Square Foot Bag.

by|May 2, 2023
    1 found this answer helpful
    Q:Can you apply this to newly seeded and aeriated yard, will the new seed germinate?
    by|Sep 18, 2012
    1 Answer
    Answer This Question

    A:  You can apply this to a newly seeded lawn that has been aeriated. However, this product will not provide crabgrass prevention when applied in the fall. A better option at this time of year is the Scotts Turf Builder Starter Fertilizer.

    by|May 2, 2023
      Q:How much for a smaller bag of grass seed starter with crabgrass preventer?
      by|Mar 1, 2012
      1 Answer
      Answer This Question

      A:  The smallest bag available covers 5,000 square feet. Please check with your local Home Depot store for the price of this product.

      by|May 2, 2023
        Showing 1-3 of 3

        Customer Reviews

        4.2 out of 5

        • 4.2 out of 171 reviews
        • 87% recommend this product
        Filter by:
        Showing 1-10 of 171 reviews
        We bought this seed and planted it 1 week ago. This is what happened to our new seeded lawn. I’m not sure this is what’s supposed to happen— to have an infestation of weeds? Any help?
        Response from Consumer ServicesJul 28, 2020
        We are sorry that you are disappointed with your purchase of Scotts Turf Builder Starter Food For New Grass Plus Weed Preventer. This product is a fertilizer and weed preventer. Listed weeds should sprout white and die quickly after the application. You can contact us if you would like to continue discussing this or if you want to know about our product guarantee. You can reach us here at https://tinyurl.com/y8nvfsca.
          Grass Turning White
          I purchased and applied this product according to the instructions approx. 2 weeks ago, in the 38 years of maintaining my yard I have never encountered anything like this. I hope to hear from scotts to help me remedy this problem.
          Response from Consumer ServicesJun 30, 2020
          We are sorry that you are disappointed with your purchase of Scotts Turf Builder Starter Food For New Grass Plus Weed Preventer. Narrow, light green, or yellowish streaks may be due to not properly overlapping when applying a product that contains fertilizer. Please regularly water the lawn to dilute the fertilizer. We offer a guarantee that extends to all of our products. If this interests you, we ask that you contact us at https://tinyurl.com/y8nvfsca.
            I was a sceptic before buying and so I bought it. I over seeded and used this product. Now, when ever I look out the window I see a beautiful lawn. Providing that the temp. Was fair with alot of rain. Lately it's been up in the 90s. I keep my lawn watered in the morning and when the evening becomes cool. But, it's been nice to see me lawn flourishing. I recommend this product. P.S. I have a front area of 500 sqr feet. I use about 1 to 2 pounds to spread on the lawn. Happy.
              Scott's dedicated
              We were dedicated on fixing our lawn this year. It was uneven, had patches from our dogs and weeds along the edges. After resoiling and then reseeding we purchased Scott's turf builder starter food for new grass plus weed preventer, all in one product! We looked at all our options and most you had to kill off weeds, plant grass and wait until it reaches a certain gestation then weed kill. This product skipped months of waiting which we would have had to do and it worked great. Our lawn is looking better than it has in years.
                New grass is dying, old grass is turning yellow
                We re-seeded some large areas and overseeded the entire lawn in March, then put down this product a month later. About 2 weeks later the new grass is dying and the old grass is turning bright yellow/white. We applied at the recommended Scotts spreader setting. Has anyone else experienced this issue?
                Response from Consumer ServiceJun 25, 2020
                Lynn, we are sorry to hear about your experience with our Scotts Turf Builder Starter Food For New Grass Plus Weed Preventer. The way this product works is the Active ingredient interferes with the Chlorophyll function which can cause the grass to temporarily whiten. The whitening may appear 3 to 7 days after application and last for 14 to 21 days. We are committed to making this right for you. Please contact us at https://tinyurl.com/y8nvfsca and refer to this review so we can further assist you.
                  I tried this product with reservations but am now
                  I started a new lawn last year and fought weeds all summer. This Spring I oversewed my lawn.and applied this product with reservations. Weed preventers with new seeds was always a No No. I always used a standard fertilizer in Spring, waited 6-8 weeks and then tackled the mature,healthy,well fed weeds. At first I was disappointed, the seeds sprouted nicely but so did the weeds. In time, I noticed the weeds were getting pale. Weeks went by and most of the weeds were gone and the lawn was much fuller. I applied a second application 6 weeks later and now have a dark green lush lawn almost totally weed free. Scott’s New grass and weed preventer is now my choice for spring fertilizer. Give it time to work and I think you will like this product
                    This did not work as advertised
                    I bought this Fertilizer a little more than a month ago and applied it on March 28th just after I aerated and seeded the lawn. It claims it helps prevent weeds and will help promote new seeded lawns and green up your lawn. It definitely did not deliver. Not only did I continue to have alot of weeds grow on my lawn for the past 4 weeks but my lawn did not really green up as expected. I have literally been outside every other day pulling out dandelions, and they continue to grow all over my lawn- and crab grass is starting to grow as well! . Buyer beware! Do not waste your time and money on this product. You are better off seeding in the fall before the winter and apply the full strength Crabgrass Preventer or weed preventer late March or Early April.
                    Response from Consumer Services May 22, 2020
                    We are sorry to hear of the difficulties you encountered with Scotts Turf Builder Starter Food For New Grass Plus Weed Preventer. This is not what we expect from this product, and we would be interested in discussing this further so that we can learn more about this issue and extend our product guarantee. At your earliest convenience, please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link: http://tinyurl.com/mds8zo5
                      Inaccurate product description, be careful!
                      I overseeded my lawn with Fine Fescue and Colonial Bentgrass, I made sure to read the packaging as Bentgrass is considered a weed for many. This product made no mention of it. Used it, overseed struggled & bentgrass never established. After further research, I found the weed prevention agent in this product is Tenacity! Which absolutely kills bentgrass! Why wouldn't you list that on the back of your product!? 2 stars because the fine fescue was happy...
                      Response from Consumer ServiceMar 25, 2020
                      We apologize for your frustration regarding Scotts Turf Builder Starter Food For New Grass Plus Weed Preventer. The product label list the following grass types this product can be applied to: Kentucky bluegrass, Tall fescue, Perennial ryegrass, Centipedegrass, and Fine, spreading, and creeping red fescues. You can contact us if you would like to continue discussing this or if you want to know about our product guarantee. You can reach us here: http://tinyurl.com/mds8zo5
                        It Did The Job!
                        [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I was a bit skeptical to put a starter food with weed preventer down after I seeded my lawn. I thought for sure it would not work with the seeding. To my surprise my lawn looks great. Knowing how good Scotts products are I should have realized that they have tested it and tested it to make sure it does what it says.
                          My approved review is not posted.
                          My review was approved and I do not see it posted. Why? Also I would like to add it took 3 weeks of high pressure watering on the areas ( 20) to wash off the white/yellow coating from existing bent grass/regular grass. When I get my water bill I will be asking Scotts to pay 50% of the second meter (watering) bill. My sprinkler system was just activated and not used to water the grass. Casual watering does not fix this problem.
                          Response from Consumer ServiceJun 13, 2019
                          We hate to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with Scotts Starter Food For New Grass Plus Weed Prevent. Anytime we hear problems encountered in the use of one of our products, we want to get involved and resolve the difficulties the best we can. We want you to be aware that we do back our product with our product guarantee. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you would like to speak further about this. You can reach us at http://tinyurl.com/mds8zo5.
                            Showing 1-10 of 171 reviews