#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Enhance Basics Composite Decking Board

  • Authentic wood grain look in a range of monochromatic colors
  • Simple installation; no specialty tools necessary
  • High -performance shell is fade, stain, scratch & mold resistant
  • View More Details
How to Get It

Frequently Bought Together

+
+
Price:

Product Overview

When wood has outworn its welcome, choose Trex Enhance Basics as a long-lasting, worry-free alternative. Available in three classic monochromatic colors, Trex Enhance Basics is designed to complement every home and budget.
  • Made of high-perforamnce composite; won't rot, warp or splinter, unlike wood
  • Protective outer shell for durability; resists fading and staining
  • Quality low-maintenance material; cleans easily with soap and water
  • Backed by a 25-year limited residental and fade & stain warranties
  • Trex decking installation is simple; no specality tools required
  • Use grooved-edge boards and Trex hidden fasteners for a screw-free surface and swuare-edge boards for traditional applications, edging and stairs
  • Made of 95% recycled materials in the USA
  • ![Trex Decking Board][2]
  • [1]: https://www.homedepot.com/hdus/en_US/DTCCOM/common/images/layout/angled-arrow.png
  • [2]: https://homedepotmarketingimages.s3.amazonaws.com/Decking+Boards/trex-home-depot-a_2B-content-august2020-650x1014_(1).jpg



  • California residents

Additional Resources

From the Manufacturer

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Actual Product Length (ft.)12-20Actual Product Thickness (in.).94-.94
Actual Product Width (in.)5.5-5.5Nominal Product Length (ft.)12-20
Nominal Product Thickness (in.)1-1Nominal Product Width (in.)6-6

Details

Color FamilyAssorted ColorsColor FamilyAssorted Colors
Edge TypeSingle EdgedFastener RecommendationTrex approved fastener
FeaturesWater ResistantMaterialComposite
ReturnableNon-Returnable

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer WarrantyTrex 25-Year Limited Residential Warranty and the Trex 25-Year Limited Residential Fade & Stain Warranty

Questions & Answers

Typical questions asked about products:

  • Is the product durable?
  • Is the product easy to use?
  • What are the dimensions of the product?

Customer Reviews

  • 4.3
    out of 168 reviews
  • 69%recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-10 of 168 reviews
Ordered Clamshell color and it is not remotely close to past order
I wanted to add a ramp to a porch with Trex Clamshell. I placed the order and after I received and started cutting realized how lighter it was. The order had said 'no returns' and I figured it was a new color now anyway. They should've changed the name though if this is the case.
by
Response from TrexSupportJan 19, 2022
Hello, we do apologize for the situation going on. We did change the product a few years back but they were never intended on being used together because of the different profiles. Thank you, -Trex Customer Care Trex
    4 found this review helpful
    bad material does not lay flat
    These boards are cheaply made, hidden fastners (when screws don’t break) are not holding anything flat. Avoid these decks. Go with other brands
    by
    Response from TrexSupportFeb 5, 2021
    Hello, and thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. Foremost we want to extend our sincerest apologies concerning any issues that you have faced during installation. Regarding boards laying flat, Trex is a composite board made up of recycled wood and plastic so like all composites the Trex boards naturally expand and contract which means slight curvature and subtle bowing is a typical characteristic with these materials up to an extent. When the boards are fastened as recommended they are typically drawn down flat to the joists. However if the boards do not go flat after being properly fastened it is possible you could have a warrantable condition. With that said please contact our customer care team at 1-800-289-8739 at your earliest convenience and one of our customer service representatives will be happy to review. We look forward to speaking with you. Thanks, - Trex Customer Care Team Trex
      17 found this review helpful
      Disaster with tree sap
      Nice looking and seems to be durable. The HUGE negative is that it will not release tree sap. I have contacted technical support and used their recommended methods with no avail. When the sap is removed, there is a white stain that is left. What should have been a wonderful looking deck now looks like a flock of birds is always releasing on it. Trex did not seem overly interested in helping me resolve what probably is a quite common issue with their product. With cedar, I would just apply stripper, power wash and refinish. I changed to composite to eliminate this maintenance and have found that I have spent at least five times the time on my hands and knees scrubbing the deck with no visible success.
      by
      Response from TrexSupportFeb 3, 2021
      Hello Chuck, We’re so sorry to hear about your experience with our product. We aim to offer 100% customer satisfaction to all of our customers, and would like the opportunity to discuss this further. Please contact us at 1-800-289-8739, and someone from our customer care team will be happy to assist. Thank you, -Trex Customer Care Team Trex
        17 found this review helpful
        This was my first experience with composite decking but the end result was beautiful and will be ...
        This was my first experience with composite decking but the end result was beautiful and will be maintenance free for decades. The gray Trex was used as border trim for a brown composite deck with white PVC rails and caps. Very gorgeous.
        by
        Response from TrexSupportDec 21, 2020
        Hello, and thank you for choosing Trex for your project! We are very happy to hear that you are enjoying the look of your new deck and railing, and thank you for your feedback. We hope you enjoy your deck for many years to come, and please feel free to contact us if you ever have any questions or concerns. Thanks again, -Garrett Felix -Trex Customer Care Team. Trex
        • Verified Purchase
        • Recommended
        3 found this review helpful
        Used this product for a pool deck. Looks beautiful, was easy to work with and seems like it will ...
        Used this product for a pool deck. Looks beautiful, was easy to work with and seems like it will be durable. Let’s see how it stands up to the test of time. It’s only been installed a couple of weeks now.
        by
        Response from TrexSupportDec 16, 2020
        Hello, and thank you for your kind review. We're excited to know that you have chosen Trex for your project. We hope that you enjoy your pool deck for years to come! Thanks, - Trex Customer Care Team Trex
        • Verified Purchase
        • Recommended
        2 found this review helpful
        start off nice, then worthless and no back up by company
        I have a 10' X 20' front porch with hidden attaching. Looked great the first 2 years. Then came the shrinking of the boards, exposing large gaps. Then the cupping of the edges. Now they are splitting on the sides apart. 4 years after installing a board broke. Actually broke with walking on it by a delivery service. I have contacted home depot and they refer to manufacturer and they say "yep it happens." I followed manufacturers direction for proper instillation. Never will I buy again. I do not recommend you either unless you want to spend the money for just couple years.
        by
        Response from TrexSupportJun 15, 2020
        Hello Doc, We are sincerely sorry to hear about the issues you are experiencing with the product and would recommend filing a claim online on Trex's website for review of your concerns. Please visit our webpage at trex.com and go to our warranty claim link to get started, or if you need assistance please reach out to our customer care team at 1-800-289-8739 and one of our customer service representatives will be happy to assist. We look forward to speaking with you. Thanks, Tori - Trex Customer Care Team Trex
          61 found this review helpful
          Easy install. Very much a novice DIY and this stuff...
          Easy install. Very much a novice DIY and this stuff went together great. I used the hidden fasteners and did a picture frame outside with the straight edge pieces. If I can use these, you can. Great product.
          by
          Response from TrexSupportJun 2, 2020
          Hello, and thank you for choosing Trex materials. We appreciate your business and the time you took to write this kind review. We hope you enjoy your new deck for years to come. Kindly, Elisabeth-Trex Customer Care Trex
          • Verified Purchase
          7 found this review helpful
          The new Trex is completely different and inferior to their previous generation of product. Would ...
          The new Trex is completely different and inferior to their previous generation of product. Would have been better with any other company's product. Am trying to add to our current deck. Figured I would go with Trex (8yrs old) since that worked out well. The new Trex is completely different and insanely inferior to their previous generation of product. Might as well have gone with any other company's product. See the attached picture for the difference between the Old (top) and new solid Trex (bottom) - different dimensions, veneer finish (rounding looks bad), cupped (rain won't drain off), and wavy along length.
          by
          Response from TrexSupportMay 29, 2020
          Hello, and thank you for your feedback. We’re sorry this product isn’t working for you. However we’d like to learn more about your situation and what exactly happened. If you can contact us at 1-800-289-8739 from there we can hopefully find a solution. We look forward to serving you! Kindly, Elisabeth-Trex Customer Care Trex
            36 found this review helpful
            Easy to work with, solid construction, did a 20x14 deck and it looks like a million dollars! I lo...
            Easy to work with, solid construction, did a 20x14 deck and it looks like a million dollars! I love the idea of not having to paint it every other year too..
            by
            Response from TrexSupportJun 3, 2019
            Hello, and thank you for your review of Trex! We are glad to hear that the material worked well for you and we hope you continue to enjoy your decking for years to come. Thank you, Bradley, Trex Customer Care Trex
            • DIY
            • Verified Purchase
            • Recommended
            9 found this review helpful
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            Showing 1-10 of 168 reviews