#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet #309254965

Model #543970100

Store SKU #1004253461

Trex 1 in. x 6 in. x 1 ft. Enhance Basics Clam Shell Composite Deck Board Sample

$715
/piece
  • Efficient shell technology protects against warp, rot, and more
  • Low-maintenance material cleans effortlessly with soap and water
  • UV-protected composite construction ensures durability
  • View More Details
Store
0 in stock
Text to Me

Frequently Bought Together

+
+
Price:
$715

Product Overview

There's just something about having the real thing in your hands. Or in your yard. Or up against your siding. With a full-size sample, you can choose what board complements your space best, from color to grain pattern right down to the way it reflects the sunrise between coffee #1 and coffee #2.
  • Find out which color is the perfect fit for your deck with this 12 in. board sample
  • Clam shell is an easy-to-match shade of medium grey, featuring a low-maintenance, wood-like grain pattern
  • Quality low-maintenance material, cleans easily with soap and water
  • High-performance shell technology protects against rot, warp, splinters and termites and wont need sanding, staining or painting
  • Made with 95% recycled materials
  • Backed by a 25-years limited residential fade and stain warranty
  • California residents

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar Deck Board Samples

Top RatedTrex 1 in. x 6 in. x 1 ft. Enhance Naturals Foggy Wharf Composite Deck Board Sample
current product
Trex 1 in. x 6 in. x 1 ft. Enhance Basics Clam Shell Composite Deck Board Sample
Trex 1 in. x 6 in. x 1 ft. Transcend Gravel Path Composite Deck Board SampleTrex 1 in. x 6 in. x 1 ft Select Winchester Grey Composite Deck Board Sample
BrandTrexTrexTrexTrex
NameTrex 1 in. x 6 in. x 1 ft. Enhance Naturals Foggy Wharf Composite Deck Board SampleTrex 1 in. x 6 in. x 1 ft. Enhance Basics Clam Shell Composite Deck Board SampleTrex 1 in. x 6 in. x 1 ft. Transcend Gravel Path Composite Deck Board SampleTrex 1 in. x 6 in. x 1 ft Select Winchester Grey Composite Deck Board Sample
Price
$686
/piece
$715
/piece
$715
/piece
$777
/piece
Ratings
(105)
(178)
(57)
(94)
FeaturesHidden Fasteners Compatibility,Prefinished,UV ProtectedHidden Fasteners Compatibility,Prefinished,UV ProtectedHidden Fasteners Compatibility,Prefinished,UV ProtectedHidden Fasteners Compatibility,Prefinished,UV Protected
MaterialCompositeCompositeCompositeComposite
Edge TypeGroovedGroovedGroovedSquare
View ProductView ProductView ProductView Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Actual Product Length (ft.)
1
Actual Product Thickness (in.)
.94
Actual Product Width (in.)
5.5
Approximate Weight (lb)
4

Details

Color Family
Gray
Color/Finish
Gray
Edge Type
Grooved
Features
Hidden Fasteners Compatibility,Prefinished,UV Protected
Material
Composite
Returnable
90-Day

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
Backed by a 25-Year Limited Residential Fade & Stain Warranty

Questions & Answers

Typical questions asked about products:

  • Is the product durable?
  • Is the product easy to use?
  • What are the dimensions of the product?

Customer Reviews

  • 4.3
    out of 178 reviews
  • 83% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 178 reviews
Boards have different widths
The quality control manager must have taking the liberal “stay at home paycheck.” Some boards are 5.5” and others are 5-3/8”. This becomes a problem when butting two boards together.
by
Response from TrexSupportOct 12, 2021
Hello, we're sorry to hear your decking didn't come as expected. We'd like to learn more about your situation and make things right. If you wouldn't mind giving us a call at 1-800-289-8739 at your earliest convenience, it would be greatly appreciated. We look forward to speaking with you. Have a great day -Nikolai, Trex Customer Care team Trex
    bad material does not lay flat
    These boards are cheaply made, hidden fastners (when screws don’t break) are not holding anything flat. Avoid these decks. Go with other brands
    by
    Response from TrexSupportFeb 5, 2021
    Hello, and thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. Foremost we want to extend our sincerest apologies concerning any issues that you have faced during installation. Regarding boards laying flat, Trex is a composite board made up of recycled wood and plastic so like all composites the Trex boards naturally expand and contract which means slight curvature and subtle bowing is a typical characteristic with these materials up to an extent. When the boards are fastened as recommended they are typically drawn down flat to the joists. However if the boards do not go flat after being properly fastened it is possible you could have a warrantable condition. With that said please contact our customer care team at 1-800-289-8739 at your earliest convenience and one of our customer service representatives will be happy to review. We look forward to speaking with you. Thanks, - Trex Customer Care Team Trex
      11 people found this helpful
      Disaster with tree sap
      Nice looking and seems to be durable. The HUGE negative is that it will not release tree sap. I have contacted technical support and used their recommended methods with no avail. When the sap is removed, there is a white stain that is left. What should have been a wonderful looking deck now looks like a flock of birds is always releasing on it. Trex did not seem overly interested in helping me resolve what probably is a quite common issue with their product. With cedar, I would just apply stripper, power wash and refinish. I changed to composite to eliminate this maintenance and have found that I have spent at least five times the time on my hands and knees scrubbing the deck with no visible success.
      by
      Response from TrexSupportFeb 3, 2021
      Hello Chuck, We’re so sorry to hear about your experience with our product. We aim to offer 100% customer satisfaction to all of our customers, and would like the opportunity to discuss this further. Please contact us at 1-800-289-8739, and someone from our customer care team will be happy to assist. Thank you, -Trex Customer Care Team Trex
        8 people found this helpful
        Sturdy
        [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] My husband and I are in the process of revamping our backyard so we’ve looked at various decking options. This decking is very sturdy, appears easy to clean and waterproof. The product looks like a lifetime product. It looks low maintenance and the color is great, no repainting needed every few years. This is one of the finalist for us, we will be requesting a quote / more info once we finalize the design. I think if this product fits with our budget, this is definitely the product we will go with.
        by
          • Recommended
          Nice!
          [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I recently tried the Clam Shell Trex 1 foot sample and was very pleased. The sample size is large enough that I can get a good idea and picture of the what the entire product would be like. The quality is very nice and appears to be very sturdy. I also liked that I could compare it to other colors. The coloring of this sample is a dark gray. I would recommend this product!
          by
            • Recommended
            Excellent
            [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I was lucky enough to receive two samples from This company to be able to compare. I received rocky harbor and clam shell. I’ll be honest it’s very hard to pick one favorite the two were beautiful colors. Rocky harbor being lighter almost taupe and clam shell being a darker grey color. I must also admit they are heavy and super sturdy. Both would look excellent on a home and definitely give it that modern upgraded feel. Not only that you would even need to paint or stain it. I like the lock system too. I think it’s an excellent high quality product. If I had to pick one for my home it would definitely be the clam shell. I absolutely love that dark grey feel! Would go well with white trims or even light grey. Anything low maintenance for the home is always a great option. Will save you money in the long run no doubt!
            by
              • Recommended
              Highly recommended
              [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Trex has my approval !!!!! Beautiful faux wood grain finish and amazingly easy to clean! Being made from 95% recycled materials is a big plus for me. I really like it is also splinter free. Beautiful color too!
              by
                • Recommended
                This was my first experience with composite decking but the end result was beautiful and will be ...
                This was my first experience with composite decking but the end result was beautiful and will be maintenance free for decades. The gray Trex was used as border trim for a brown composite deck with white PVC rails and caps. Very gorgeous.
                by
                Response from TrexSupportDec 21, 2020
                Hello, and thank you for choosing Trex for your project! We are very happy to hear that you are enjoying the look of your new deck and railing, and thank you for your feedback. We hope you enjoy your deck for many years to come, and please feel free to contact us if you ever have any questions or concerns. Thanks again, -Garrett Felix -Trex Customer Care Team. Trex
                • Verified Purchase
                • Recommended
                2 people found this helpful
                Love this Trex decking!
                [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Our deck is in desperate need of repair so we are shopping for decking materials. I love this sample piece of Trex decking. It is strong, sturdy and very nice looking. It is soft to the touch-no more splinters from the deck! It is very easy to clean. It sprays right off with a hose. I wasn't able to scratch it, no matter how hard I tried. Trex says you never need to stain again. What a relief that would be! It is made of 95% recycled material so it's easy on the environment. Although I only have a sample, I am very impressed. I gave this review 5 stars but if I could, I would give it 10!
                by
                  • Recommended
                  Tough stuff
                  [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I received a sample of this product in the mail and I will say I'm pretty impressed. Not only could you build a deck with this I'm sure you could probably drive a semi on it! It feels tough enough to build a house with!
                  by
                    • Recommended
                    Used this product for a pool deck. Looks beautiful, was easy to work with and seems like it will ...
                    Used this product for a pool deck. Looks beautiful, was easy to work with and seems like it will be durable. Let’s see how it stands up to the test of time. It’s only been installed a couple of weeks now.
                    by
                    Response from TrexSupportDec 16, 2020
                    Hello, and thank you for your kind review. We're excited to know that you have chosen Trex for your project. We hope that you enjoy your pool deck for years to come! Thanks, - Trex Customer Care Team Trex
                    • Verified Purchase
                    • Recommended
                    2 people found this helpful
                    start off nice, then worthless and no back up by company
                    I have a 10' X 20' front porch with hidden attaching. Looked great the first 2 years. Then came the shrinking of the boards, exposing large gaps. Then the cupping of the edges. Now they are splitting on the sides apart. 4 years after installing a board broke. Actually broke with walking on it by a delivery service. I have contacted home depot and they refer to manufacturer and they say "yep it happens." I followed manufacturers direction for proper instillation. Never will I buy again. I do not recommend you either unless you want to spend the money for just couple years.
                    by
                    Response from TrexSupportJun 15, 2020
                    Hello Doc, We are sincerely sorry to hear about the issues you are experiencing with the product and would recommend filing a claim online on Trex's website for review of your concerns. Please visit our webpage at trex.com and go to our warranty claim link to get started, or if you need assistance please reach out to our customer care team at 1-800-289-8739 and one of our customer service representatives will be happy to assist. We look forward to speaking with you. Thanks, Tori - Trex Customer Care Team Trex
                      52 people found this helpful
                      Easy install. Very much a novice DIY and this stuff...
                      Easy install. Very much a novice DIY and this stuff went together great. I used the hidden fasteners and did a picture frame outside with the straight edge pieces. If I can use these, you can. Great product.
                      by
                      Response from TrexSupportJun 2, 2020
                      Hello, and thank you for choosing Trex materials. We appreciate your business and the time you took to write this kind review. We hope you enjoy your new deck for years to come. Kindly, Elisabeth-Trex Customer Care Trex
                      • Verified Purchase
                      6 people found this helpful
                      The new Trex is completely different and inferior to their previous generation of product. Would ...
                      The new Trex is completely different and inferior to their previous generation of product. Would have been better with any other company's product. Am trying to add to our current deck. Figured I would go with Trex (8yrs old) since that worked out well. The new Trex is completely different and insanely inferior to their previous generation of product. Might as well have gone with any other company's product. See the attached picture for the difference between the Old (top) and new solid Trex (bottom) - different dimensions, veneer finish (rounding looks bad), cupped (rain won't drain off), and wavy along length.
                      by
                      Response from TrexSupportMay 29, 2020
                      Hello, and thank you for your feedback. We’re sorry this product isn’t working for you. However we’d like to learn more about your situation and what exactly happened. If you can contact us at 1-800-289-8739 from there we can hopefully find a solution. We look forward to serving you! Kindly, Elisabeth-Trex Customer Care Trex
                        34 people found this helpful
                        Easy to work with, solid construction, did a 20x14 deck and it looks like a million dollars! I lo...
                        Easy to work with, solid construction, did a 20x14 deck and it looks like a million dollars! I love the idea of not having to paint it every other year too..
                        by
                        Response from TrexSupportJun 3, 2019
                        Hello, and thank you for your review of Trex! We are glad to hear that the material worked well for you and we hope you continue to enjoy your decking for years to come. Thank you, Bradley, Trex Customer Care Trex
                        • DIY
                        • Verified Purchase
                        • Recommended
                        9 people found this helpful
                        Easy to work with and a quality product. It was...
                        Easy to work with and a quality product. It was easy to register product for warranty as well
                        by
                        Response from TrexSupportOct 21, 2021
                        Hello, and thank you for choosing Trex! We appreciate your remarkable review. Hearing that you love our products is the best thing we could hope for. We hope you enjoy your brand new deck for many years to come! Thanks, - Trex Customer Care Team Trex
                          At 16 ft long and over a ton, needed delivery...
                          At 16 ft long and over a ton, needed delivery and they brought the materials to our driveway access backyard next to job site. Perfect, exactly what we needed on time.
                          by
                          Response from TrexSupportOct 6, 2021
                          Hello, thank you for leaving this kind review! Thank you, - Trex Customer Care Trex
                            It turned out great! Our deck looks awesome, everyone is...
                            It turned out great! Our deck looks awesome, everyone is impressed. The hidden fasteners were easy to use. It's easy to cut and install. Does scratch fairly easy, but we expected that. And the dark color gets hot in the sun, but we're mostly in shade. Love it!
                            by
                            Response from TrexSupportOct 6, 2021
                            Hello, thank you for leaving this amazing review! We hope you enjoy your new deck for many years to come! Thank you, -Trex Customer Care Trex
                              by
                                Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
                                Rating provided by a verified purchaser
                                by
                                  Will never rot!
                                  Beautiful and long-lasting.
                                  by
                                  Response from TrexSupportSep 23, 2021
                                  Hello Nancy, Thank you for your lovely review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us as well. We hope you continue enjoying your brand new, low-maintenance Trex Decking for many years to come! Thanks, Jessica- Trex Customer Care Team Trex
                                  • Verified Purchase
                                  • Recommended
                                  It took 4 months to come in and I was...
                                  It took 4 months to come in and I was not notified when it came in.
                                  by
                                  Response from TrexSupportSep 22, 2021
                                  Hello, thank you for reaching out to us with your concerns. We do apologize of the experience you had obtaining Trex materials. Due to our high demand, we are facing extended lead times on almost all of our materials. As we know this is less than ideal for your project, we truly do apologize and appreciate your patience throughout this process. If you have any questions about this, please call us at 1-800-289-8739 as we are happy to listen to your concerns. Thanks - Paul, Trex Customer Care Trex
                                    don’t buy it
                                    After 1 year boards have shifted leaving large gap and when is hot you can’t step in the deck because boards get really hot, it should come with a warning and if you have allergies stay away from this product, after a year and all the work i have to take my loss, i will be removing it and install a wood product
                                    by
                                    Response from TrexSupportSep 20, 2021
                                    We'd like to extend our sincerest apologies concerning all the issues that you have faced. We pride ourselves in providing industry leading products to our customers, so we hope you will give us an opportunity to do the same for you. For immediate assistance you can reach our customer care team at 1-800-289-8739. We look forward to speaking with you! - Alecia, Trex Customer Care Team Trex
                                      • Recommended
                                      1 person found this helpful
                                      Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
                                      Rating provided by a verified purchaser
                                      by
                                      Response from TrexSupportAug 31, 2021
                                      Thank you for your review. If you experience any issues you can feel free to contact us at 1-800-BUY-TREX (1-800-289-8739). Have a great day, Amanda - Trex Customer Care Trex
                                        We love our new porch! It is very easy to...
                                        We love our new porch! It is very easy to maintain with the composite decking boards! Would highly recommend!!
                                        by
                                        Response from TrexSupportAug 31, 2021
                                        Hello, and thank you for sharing this great review! We are thrilled that you love our products and hope that you continue to enjoy your Trex porch for years to come! Thank you and have a wonderful day! Justin - Trex Customer Care Trex
                                          Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
                                          Rating provided by a verified purchaser
                                          by
                                          Response from TrexSupportAug 16, 2021
                                          Thank you so much for the great review! We are glad that we were able to hit the mark for you! Have a great day. - Trex Customer Care Trex
                                            1 person found this helpful
                                            Love this product, easy to use and color is great...
                                            Love this product, easy to use and color is great
                                            by
                                            Response from TrexSupportJul 28, 2021
                                            Hello Dan, Thank you for your positive feedback. We are so happy to hear that we hit the mark for you and hope you love your new Trex deck for many years to come. Thank you. -Jessica, Trex Customer Care Team Trex
                                            • Verified Purchase
                                            Material is strong and cuts easily. Down side is that...
                                            Material is strong and cuts easily. Down side is that the bottom is grooved and the ends show those grooves. So you either live with the grooved edges or try to cover them up. A solid board would be easier to install and take less work. The attachment technique (clips in slots on the boards) are not as strong as screwing the boards directly to the joists. In fact the boards are not connected to the joists at all and can be slid out. This reduces the rigidity of the overall deck.
                                            by
                                            Response from TrexSupportJul 19, 2021
                                            Hi Jim, thank you for your review and for sharing your experience. While the Rocky Harbor material is part of our Enhance profile boards, which have the scallops on the underside of the board, we do have solid profile boards as well if you did want to go that route. Our solid profile boards are the Select and Transcend lines. You are correct in that the hidden fasteners provide an installation that does not need the boards to be screwed through the material, but rather holds them from the grooved sides. When installed and fastened down tight, there won't be any issues with the hidden fasteners holding the boards to the joists. Please give us a call if you have any additional questions 1-800-289-8739. Thank you, Trex Customer Care Team Trex
                                            • Verified Purchase
                                            1 person found this helpful
                                            Most of the boards curve up at the end and...
                                            Most of the boards curve up at the end and hope it doesn’t affect the installation!
                                            by
                                            Response from TrexSupportJul 19, 2021
                                            Hi Scott, thank you for reaching out. We would like to learn more about your concerns. Please give us a call at 1-800-289-8739 or send us an email with a few photos of what you're experiencing (customercare@trex.com). Thank you, Trex Customer Care Team Trex
                                            • Verified Purchase
                                            The color wasn’t what I thought it would be and...
                                            The color wasn’t what I thought it would be and I didn’t think it got hot like wood in the sun. Actually hotter.
                                            by
                                            Response from TrexSupportJul 19, 2021
                                            Hi Joelle, we’re sorry to hear the the product didn't come as expected. If you would like to discuss further, please give us a call 1-800-289-8739. Trex, like most outdoor walking surfaces, can get warm when it is in the sun all day. On extremely hot days, we recommend using caution and wearing shoes, spraying down the deck, or covering with awning or umbrella. Please let us know if you have any additional questions. Thanks, - Trex Customer Care Team Trex
                                            • Verified Purchase
                                            Showing 1-30 of 178 reviews