No Results Found

Refine by Rating

  • About 2 years in...
  • December 12, 2013
  • Recommended Product

After roughly 2 years, I can say I really love this product. Installed by myself about 300sq ft in a basement directly over concrete. It's quite durable and feels great under foot. One issue I had was with cat litter - if not swept daily, the litter would put fine scratches in the floor if you did something like slide a box with litter underneath. Switched litter and problem solved. Also, over time those fine scratches seem to disappear! Another note, replacing carpet with this floor reduced humidity levels in my basement noticeably. Air is much lighter and feels cleaner. Floor also accommodates some of the slightly unleveled areas of concrete. Would recommend self leveling concrete if you can do it. Looks great still, would highly recommend!

Video & Photo

tonybony

20 out of 20 people found this helpful
more details...
By: tonybony
  • So far Looking Good
  • December 14, 2010
  • Recommended Product

We chose the Vintage Oak Cinnamin planks and the floor does look like full planks laid out end to end. There is a 22 page detailed instruction booklet enclosed within each box but the installation is not quite as easy as the literature suggests. We ended up hiring an experienced carpenter who nevertheless had never seen this product before (it is so new that as of Dec 2010 the website has nothing about it online). He gradually, through some trial and error, figured out some tricks for handling the material and ended up praising it. Nearly 500 square feet took a day and a half to complete. Perhaps a key issue interfering with simple locking of the planks is the absence of a floor that is really VERY flat! The instructions want a floor flatness tolerence of one eighth of an inch over 4 feet. It helps to lay planks down and give them some time to slowly settle into the floor before trying to lock into place. Also considerable pressure applied at the joint to get the locking mechanism to really lock helps. When completed the floor looks great with considerable character in the grain and a 3D roughness similar to real wood (if that's what you are looking for, other styles are smooth and finely finished looking). Time will now need to pass in order to judge how well this material holds up. Incidentally our experience with Home Depot has always been excellent which is one reason we took a chance on this purchase. The manufacturer has a website (Goggle Halstead Int) where more information on Allure products can be found along with an online warrenty registration process (which curiously did not work for me).

Beaver Falls PA
20 out of 20 people found this helpful
more details...
  • I LOVE MY NEW FLOOR!
  • April 02, 2013
  • Recommended Product

I am a fifty something single woman who decided to tackle installing new flooring in my 1000 sq ft home by myself. After spending a couple months deciding on which product and which color, I selected the Allure Ultra Sawcut Dakota. I am about 2/3 completed with the project and I couldn't be happier with the outcome. It has been a challenge and I had to do a lot of learning as I went, but I will always know that "I DID THIS" when I look at the beautiful floor. I have two very large dogs and a mother in a wheel chair and so far the flooring holds up great to all their activity. I accidentally scraped a pry bar across one of the planks and you can't even see that it is there. Since I had no previous flooring experience, I am very thankful that I had read someone's review suggesting to have a rubber block to tap the seams. Maybe it is because I'm not strong enough, but I found it a bit more difficult to click together than some of the videos show. Also, when you have to place the last plank down under a door jam or around a wall there is often no way to get the 10 degree angle needed. I had to get creative and was able to figure it out. The planks were fairly simple to cut crosswise, but cutting lengthwise was more difficult. I clamped the plank and straightedge to a work table to score it, then used slipjoint pliers to bend the edge to snap the cut. (The pliers didn't leave a mark, either!) Warning - the cartons are HEAVY! I wish I had a helper - just to carry and open the cartons.

Pros High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Comfortable, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern Cons heavy cartons

Video & Photo

  • DIY

chrissiejo

Oklahoma, USA
55 to 64, Female
20 out of 20 people found this helpful
more details...
By: chrissiejo
  • Great product
  • January 30, 2011
  • Recommended Product

This product is easy to install once you get the hang of how the pieces go together. There was no actual "snap" noise, but you could see that it locked together. The pieces have to be scored many times so be sure to have plenty of blades on hand. We put drylock on the concrete as well as a vapor barrier. Looks awesome once finished. Can't believe it's vinyl. Time will tell on how it fares with cats and furniture. I took keys to a left over bit and it did nothing. No scratches (except for one slight mark once I really dug in like I was cutting a steak...haha). That is promising!!!! I just hope it is 100% waterproof like it states. I highly recommend!

FLHome

Florida
19 out of 19 people found this helpful
more details...
By: FLHome
  • “I Love My Floor!”
  • March 11, 2011
  • Recommended Product

My floor has been in about a week now and all I can say is “I Love My Floor!” I picked the “Allure Ultra Clear Cherry” and it’s beautiful. It’s not near as dark the picture on the website. Lucky for me Clear Cherry was an in-stock color at my local Home Depot and was also on display because I probably wouldn’t have picked it based on the on-line color. I had a total of 600 Sq. Ft installed; front-entry, kitchen and family room. I did quite a bit of research on flooring options since I needed to lay it over my concrete slab, have a dog that loves to tip her water bowl constantly and wanted something that would hold up well in the front and back entries to my home. I’m glad I paid the extra and went with Ultra for its 100% waterproofing. Maybe if a flood occurred, then the flooring may lose its locking and/or cause water to pool underneath the flooring for an extended period causing damage to the underlining area….but that to me would be an extreme. That maybe why the owner’s manual states the flooring is waterproof but not flood proof. Tips: Read the on-line manual it’s very helpful and informative. We did use a table saw to cut, went much faster/smoother than scoring all those boards. If you aren’t locking check edges and smooth out ruff spot if found. We did use a square to tap the pieces into place to give them a firm lock.

FixItToday

Bolingbrook, IL
19 out of 19 people found this helpful
more details...
By: FixItToday
  • The very BEST plank flooring you can buy!
  • September 07, 2011
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

After countless trips to flooring contractors show rooms, web search and reviewing review comments on plank flooring--both wood and resilient--we stumbled upon Allure Ultra samples at Home Depot and went ballistic--ordered 53 cases and are amazed with the ease of installation, durability, manufacturing quality control and sound deadening features (installed on wood subfloor) with simple Swifter cleaning--its the BEST plank flooring on the market!!

Firecracker7

Payson, Az
19 out of 19 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Firecracker7
  • Easy to work with and great looking and performing when installed.
  • May 16, 2011
  • Recommended Product

Took a little longer to install that I was led to believe by the advertisement, but it was relatively easy, and is rather easy to work with. My wife loves it, and it takes the stress out of having water on the floor.

Baldwinsville NY
18 out of 18 people found this helpful
more details...
  • Durable resilient flooring
  • September 05, 2011
  • Recommended Product

Although Trafficmaster Allure Ultra flooring is very durable and tough. It's not as easy to install as the video illustrated if you would like to ensure seamless gaps between planks. It's not so easy to slide the planks into place either. Furthermore, there are only four unique patterns (templates). So the downside is many repeats produce a noticeable a fake wood flooring. I wish Trafficemaster provide at least eight different patterns. Overall, the product is comfortable to walk on and. Hope it will last until the new resident take occupation of my house as the manufacture has provided a lifetime warranty.

  • DIY

Chuyen

Duncannon, PA
17 out of 17 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Chuyen
  • Glad i chose this product
  • September 13, 2011

The floor is beautiful and feels good under your feet, even your bare feet. While it lays down easily in large open areas it is a problem around doors going from one room to the next. It makes it hard to keep joints connected from one piece to the next. Of course i've never done this kind of thing before and i'm sure an expert installer would make a big difference.

Rainman

17 out of 17 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Rainman
  • 100% Satisfied - Excellent Product
  • February 22, 2011
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

I have to admit I was skeptical at first with some of the reviews on this flooring from it being difficult to work with to not being as easy to cut and install as others said. However, these reviews were incorrect in my opinion. This flooring not only looks and feels like real wood in texture, it is gorgeous once it is installed on the floor. We put this down in our kitchen and the kitchen now looks like a million bucks! I would highly recommend this flooring to anyone that wants to put flooring in a high moisture area and were always afraid it would get destroyed. I love my flooring and want to put it down in our bathroom next. The only upsetting thing is this flooring wasn't available a year ago when we redid our basement. This would have been perfect. Excellent product. Tips. When scoring the flooring, score from the back, it cuts easier that way. I loved the interlocking pieces. Use the square to tap the pieces into place to give them a firm lock. One observation. The floor is new, which means down the road it could have problems, but it doesn't seem like it will have any. It also doesn't chip like the wood laminate flooring because it is rubber, not wood.

Farnham

Claremont, NH
16 out of 16 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Farnham