#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for KitchenAid 6.0 cu. ft. Double Oven Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Convection Oven in Stainless Steel

Internet #205998253

Model #KFGD500ESS

Store SKU #1001378086

  • EVEN-HEAT True Convection helps keep the perfect temperature
  • 6.0 cu. ft. capacity, perfect for cooking multiple dishes at once
  • 5 burners provide the perfect range of power from 5000-17000 BTU

Customer Reviews

  • 4.6
    out of 1,044 reviews
  • 91% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 1,044 reviews
Still getting to know it
[This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I have always enjoyed Kitchenaid appliances. There are some things that I don't like on this range. The cooktop surface; I prefer the ceramic surface. Sure you only have to use glass cleaner on this surface; it just looks cheap to me. The double oven is great but the bottom oven is sooooo low, I have to get down on the floor to use it.
by skinieminnie257
    • Recommended Product
    Stove
    [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I love the stove. Just wish I could find the model number
    by Dd070857
      • Recommended Product
      I love the features they’re user friendly
      [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I purchased this is November 2020. Love cooking healthier meals that was my reason for selecting this model.
      by Meechee
        • Recommended Product
        Worth the wait!
        [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Worth the wait is all I can say. So far making meals and baking has been wonderful. I am still working my way around using all the functions. I will keep this updated as I go along and use this product. This oven was my Christmas gift that was ordered in Nov 2020; the store itself did not have it in stock and stated I would have to wait for the manufacturer. Now being without a stove since Nov 2020 until Feb. 2021 was a feat (it was quite disappointing this could not be in stack, and we were never told why)! We were cooking on a hot plate until this came in; in February 2021. My husband wanted to settle for just a basic oven; I did not. I almost folded around Christmas time when I could not make cookies, and other items (but a neighbor came to my rescue). Pros: So far baking has been even, no uneven baking of cakes or brownies. I used the broiler and that was with ease. People were reporting about the knobs; they are also ok. I bump into them from time to time and do not find that they turn on my gas. I have made sauce on top and that has turned out perfect. Learning about the features is also easy; I am still reading about all of the ovens functions, but they are clear and should be no problem navigating. Cons: I would love for burner shields to be sold with this type of oven, this is just cosmetic. But would be a nice feature. Lastly, ovens used to come with a broiler pan, now they sell them, I thought that was odd. Honestly for the cost of this oven the customer should not be nickeled and dime just to get more money on the product. That is what will keep loyal patrons. All in all this product was worth the wait, no matter if I had to wait three months to get it.
        by Clavon
          • Recommended Product
          Great Range!
          [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I have stand alone range that is terrific! 5 burners with griddle in the middle that I use much more than I thought I would. Racks slide easily It’s a joy to use- highly recommended this model.
          by Snazzy Sue
            • Recommended Product
            Convection Stove
            [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Like the oven. However, there have been a few times all ready that we've bumped up against the knobs and turned the gas on. It took a bit to notice the gas smell and then turn the knob back. These should be a little more resistance to turning the gas on.
            by Rocket78
              • Recommended Product
              Upper oven
              [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I wish the upper oven had a option for the rack to be equally distant from the upper and lower burners. When in the upper position you can only get a cookie sheet on there and on the lower position, it is so close to the burner that things tend to burn on the bottom before they are done.
              by SLMTX
                • Recommended Product
                Be aware of the power outage feature.
                This stove does not work if you have a power outage. I live in TX and I could NOT use this during the ice storms when I needed hot food. This will NOT work without electricity! This stove also is difficult to clean the ovens as the doors cannot be removed for cleaning. I guess they expect that you will always use the oven self cleaning setting. Other than these two things the stove works great and cooks nicely. I love the heavy grates and they clean up easily. I also use the top smaller oven 10 times more than the bottom larger one. It is very convenient and comfortable to use. I love Kitchenaid products and have other products of theirs, but I wish I could send this one back, I've only had it for 6 months. Hope this helps someone who's considering buying this stove.
                by Maggie Bee
                  Areal pleasure to use.
                  [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] The recess in the back of the range should be larger. The range has to sit further out from the wall then other ranges I have had The double oven is fantastic.
                  by Wwwwww
                    • Recommended Product
                    Great design!
                    [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] The cooktop and ovens are beautifully designed and I love the 2 ovens...so handy. The ovens don't hold their temperature as well as they should, but overall ok.
                    by Sparky66
                      Loose burner knobs
                      [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Frequently, after leaning gently on the burner knobs, they turn on slightly, leaving the smell of gas in the kitchen. I wish they were tighter so that didn't happen. Fortunately we have been home when it happens, but I worry that one day we will leave and the house will fill up with gas.
                      by Kay Beth
                        Amazing in every way!
                        [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I am so thrilled to get another KitchenAid appliance at a great price. I have had both ovens and a couple top burners going at the same time with no trouble. I did have to order a silicon mat for around the burners to catch splashes, but that's my OCD and normal. I've used slow-cook and bread proofing already and love it. The controls are easy to use. The bottom oven is a bit low, but I just don't have room for a wider format...this was the only way to get two ovens in the space I have available.
                        by DDD1
                          • Recommended Product
                          My first guest stove!
                          [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] My first guest stove! I absolutely love it, it Cooks very well, heats up fast. Love the grill on the top it’s a beautiful piece for my kitchen.
                          by Loricotner281
                            • Recommended Product
                            Good product
                            [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Love everything about this range. It's easy to use and I love the middle burner.
                            by Golf21
                              • Recommended Product
                              Disappointed in Quality
                              [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I bought this a year and 3 months ago. I loved the look and wanted a double oven. I had a Maytag before that was terrible. Although in performance this stove and double oven cook great and the extra features work well. My complaint is, every time I turn either oven on the bottom floor cover warps with the heat and will suddenly go bang. Scares the heck out of everyone. Once the floor warps, it’s moved out of place and needs repositioning with mitts on. My other complaint is the shiny chrome knobs for the stove top burners. The knurling and heat settings are a cheap sticker. After a year they are all pealing off making my upper end stove look like garbage. Really? You couldn’t mold the knobs and chrome it, you had to use stickers? So Kitchen-Aid cheapened out on the burner knobs and used too thin of a gage steel for the floor covers in the dual ovens. What else did they cut corners on?
                              by Mark1408
                                Baking is a dream now
                                [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] we purchased this 3 months ago setup was easy. this is the best range ive ever had in my 62 years its so easy to bake with and prepare wonderful roasts i can feel the pounds adding on already
                                by Steve62
                                  • Recommended Product
                                  LOVE IT, BUT TAKES SOME JUGGLING TO CLEAN SURFACE
                                  [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] love the double oven. the stainless finish is great, but the grate is heavy and it has to be removed in order to clean the surface. It's awkward because the two sides of the grate hook together making it hard to remove just one side. Don't want to put the grate on the countertop or floor because it will scratch...so what do you do with it while cleaning the surface? that's my only complaint...otherwise: LOVE MY NEW STOVE.
                                  by naj51
                                    • Recommended Product
                                    Range
                                    [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Love everything about it. Awesome having the option of using the smaller oven.
                                    by kbwells89
                                      • Recommended Product
                                      Great stove. Easy living. No issues.
                                      [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] We’ve had this stove for 14 months. No issues. Love the convection oven.
                                      by JohnnyRay
                                        • Recommended Product
                                        Love the double oven!
                                        [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] This is the second KitchenAid range I have purchased. The first one I sold with my previous home (and I know that was a selling feature). I couldn't wait to buy another for my new home. What I love most is that I can bake in the smaller oven using less gas and not heating up the whole house. The griddle is great, too, for pancakes and grilled sandwiches. I highly recommend this range!
                                        by PennyGPV
                                          • Recommended Product
                                          Absolutely fantastic
                                          [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Purchased so we could do multiple dishes at the same time and the design and function is perfect
                                          by Johnw66
                                            • Recommended Product
                                            Love the double oven feature and convection option
                                            [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] The issues I have is stainless steel is very difficult to clean and scratches very easy.
                                            by SUSAN4U2
                                              • Recommended Product
                                              ❤️double oven
                                              [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I have only had my oven available to use for two weeks and I love it. I bake a lot and the double oven is so convenient and heats evenly. I’m excited to learn more things about it.
                                              by Les01
                                                • Recommended Product
                                                Awesome Gas Range
                                                [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] We had been wanting to switch from electric to gas for cooking for a couple years. My wife is an excellent cook and she always wanted a gas range to create her fantastic meals. We finally ran a new gas line and started looking at gas ranges. We read great reviews about Kitchenaid and went to our appliance dealer and looked the different models over. We decided on this model the price was in our range and the features were what we wanted. We couldn't be happier with our purchase. Love the range and we are finally cooking with gas!
                                                by JandA
                                                  • Recommended Product
                                                  Pretty happy with our stove
                                                  [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] We bought this range about 5 months ago. There is so much we like about it: it functions great, the gas burners are strong and the top grates are really sturdy. Both ovens maintain their temperature well. And we love the look of the stove. There are a few things that could be better for us. The stainless steel scratched fairly easily and I wish it were a better grade of stainless. Also it’s a bit difficult to clean the top surface because the grate is in two pieces (rather than 4) and it’s bulky and a little heavy. But we have gotten used to it so it’s not a deal breaker. Would much rather have the sturdy grates than flimsy ones.
                                                  by Cookiesandra
                                                    • Recommended Product
                                                    Great features
                                                    [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Had one for 15 years and when we remodeled and went stainless, I bought the same model. Live the upper oven broiler.
                                                    by JinB
                                                      • Recommended Product
                                                      Awesome Gas Stove!
                                                      [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I bought this stove almost a year ago and absolutely love it! My favorite part is the convection baking. It makes all the difference in the world for quality of food!
                                                      by Dukes2Rus
                                                        • Recommended Product
                                                        Excellent range with one concern
                                                        [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] We bought our range over a year ago and it has been great overall. We don’t use the double-oven much but it is fantastic when you do need it. This range has excellent features and is easy to use. It is also very easy to clean thanks to the stainless steel design around the burners. It’s a great looking range that fits perfectly into our KitchenAid kitchen. The only problem we have had is with the left front burner, which takes a long time to light. We frequently listen to the clicking igniter for more than 10 seconds before it finally lights the burner. This ignition, once successful, is a bit violent for my taste. All of the other burners come right on. We have called KitchenAid and had two service techs look at this issue on two separate occasions. They did some modifications to the spark channel the first time and then replaced a bunch of parts on the second visit. It may be a bit better now but that front left burner still takes significantly loner than the others to ignite and it is scary sometimes.
                                                        by
                                                          Love my kitchen for the first time!
                                                          [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I upgraded all appliances to the black stainless KitchenAid with chrome bar handles with red medallions end caps. I am cooking more then ever and just love when I walk into my kitchen.
                                                          by MrMaricopa
                                                            • Recommended Product
                                                            Nice double oven
                                                            [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Two ovens are good. Was hoping for dual fuel but couldn’t do electrical. Smaller oven great for all the stuff you always make. Thanksgiving was a snap. Careful with install Measurements. Gas stub from Floor could interfere with smaller sheet metal alcove on back of range.
                                                            by dmizo
                                                              • Recommended Product
                                                              Showing 1-30 of 1,044 reviews