Customer Reviews for Scotts 7 lb. Turf Builder Kentucky Bluegrass Mix Seed

Internet #203760929

Model #18269

Store SKU #367236

  • Performs well in high traffic, moderate shade and sunny areas
  • Self-repairs from heat, drought and traffic damage
  • 4 in 1 WaterSmart PLUS coating keeps seed moist 2x longer

Customer Reviews

  • 656 Customer Reviews
  • 3.7 out of 5 stars overall
67% of customers recommended.
Overall Ratings
5star-icon(322)
4star-icon(107)
3star-icon(37)
2star-icon(31)
1star-icon(159)
Sort By:
Grand Junction, Colorado
Fantastic Grass
Customer review from logo
Bought and seeded this grass on September 19th, 2020. It was a little slow to start, but boy did it grow well! I used starter fertilizer and watered 5 times a day for 5-10 minutes depending on the section until October 7th because my irrigation water was shut off. After that, I watered once a day with a movable sprinkler for another week and a half. Would buy this grass again. Last pictures are from today, October 30th, 2020.
Was this helpful?
0
0
Did everything suggested, didn't work.
I did exactly as the bag recommends. Watered consistently, soil was warm. It's been a month and I still have blue sprinkles in my dirt beds (see pic). Not to mention, I reached out for a refund, they claim to have a 'money back guarantee' but they refuse to give me a refund. Very disappointing.
Was this helpful?
1
0
Response from ScottsCustomerCareOctober 15, 2020
We are sorry that you did not get any germination from Scotts Turf Builder Kentucky Bluegrass Mix Seed. Bluegrass can take up to 28 days to germinate and requires temperatures to be between 65-85 degrees. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please contact us and refer to your review to see what can be done. We can be reached at 877-220-3089. Scotts
Great seed... KEEP IT WET
Works for me everytime I use it for bare spots. You MUST keep it wet though. Light, frequent watering is key. I watered 3, sometimes 4 times a day, for a minute or two at a time. I saw germination in 6 days.
Was this helpful?
2
0
Deer Park, NY
Excellent Grass Seed
Customer review from logo
I normall do not write reviews, but I feel I needed to with this success I have with these seeds. The norm for KBG germination is between 14-30. With the right prep work and I was able to get these seeds to germinate in 6 days. I just did a compete renovation of my front and back lawn 3 weeks ago covering 7500sqft and I would definitely use these seeds and recommend them.
Was this helpful?
0
0
Illinois
Solid grass
Customer review from logo
This seed is slow to germinate, but WILL germinate when given proper conditions. Soil temperature needs to be between 50 and 65 for best results with frequent watering. This is a hardy grass. I planted in late March in Illinois And it germinated and two days later, survived 5 consecutive nights in the 20’s and 6 inches of snow. Then it started growing again as temperatures rebounded. It is very very slow to establish but with proper care it will fill in to form a very thick lawn. I’ve been mowing at less than an inch and it has handled that cut just fine. It does seem susceptible to leaf spot when cut that low, however a simple fungicide program ( Scott’s Disease Ex ) when symptoms first show up fixes the problem with in days. It seems very drought resistant. The picture of this grass is with little irrigation. About 2” of rain over a 28 day period and full sun. In late afternoon or early morning When the sun is low, the light produces a nice emerald/blue hue. You really need about a year for this grass to fully establish.
Was this helpful?
0
0
New Baltimore, MI
Bag of weeds
Customer review from logo
I purchased this product through Lowes this spring. Planted and watered the seed as directed on the bag. Only thing that grew....weeds! What a waste of my time and money.
Was this helpful?
0
0
Response from Consumer ServiceAugust 1, 2020
We are sorry that you are disappointed with your purchase of Turf Builder Grass Seed Kentucky Bluegrass Mix. All Scotts seed is thoroughly cleaned and is 99.9% weed-seed free, weeds are removed from our crops by filtering Scotts seed 3 times. We want you to be confident in our products; therefore, we offer a guarantee. To receive more details about this, please contact us at http://tinyurl.com/mds8zo5 and refer to this review.
KINGSTON MA
Good if you like a lot of crabgrass
Customer review from logo
Large section of lawn needed to be replaced after a water main break; started from scratch: watered faithfully twice a day for a month after fully fertilizing, liming, top soil,etc. All that came in is mostly crabgrass, overshadowing the few bluegrass seeds that survived. (photos attached)
Was this helpful?
0
0
Response from Consumer ServicesJuly 29, 2020
We are very sorry that Scotts Turf Builder Grass Seed Sun & Shade did not perform as expected. Soil preparation tends to bring the weed seeds closer to the surface allowing them to germinate in ideal conditions. We offer a guarantee that extends to all of our products. If this interests you, we ask that you contact us at http://tinyurl.com/mds8zo5
Very little grass
I decided to redo my lawn this spring. I got very little actual grass. I got a lot of two different types of weeds. At least I think they're weeds. It's definitely not grass. Very disappointed.
Was this helpful?
0
0
Response from ScottsCustomerCareAugust 17, 2020
We are sorry to hear that Scotts Turf Builder Kentucky Bluegrass Mix did not germinate as expected. All of our Scotts seeds are thoroughly cleaned and is 98.9% to 99.9% weed seed free. Natural soil contains thousands of seeds and when soil is disturbed, such as by rototilling, seeds that were deep in the soil may be brought to top of soil where growing conditions are better allowing them to germinate. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please contact us and refer to your review to see what can be done. We can be reached at 877-220-3089. Scotts
It's been about a week and a half and we are already seeing tall grass pop out from under the str...
It's been about a week and a half and we are already seeing tall grass pop out from under the straw in some places and it's been very dry weather so just relying on the hose in the mornings. So I would say it's doing well. Can't wait till it comes in fully.
Was this helpful?
0
0
Expected better from Scotts product
Planted grass seeds this past Memorial Day. Followed the directions to a tee. I reseeded the whole lawn and 18 days later...NOTHING.
Was this helpful?
0
0
Response from ScottsCustomerCareJuly 17, 2020
We are sorry to hear about your experience with Scotts Turf Builder Kentucky Bluegrass Mix Seed. Both excessive watering and not enough watering may slow down or even stop the germination of the product. The warmer the soil, the faster the germination. We want you to be confident about our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please call 877-220-3089 for assistance. When calling, please refer to this review. Scotts
Review this Product
Share your thoughts with other customers