Customer Reviews for Toshiba 10,000 BTU (7,000 BTU, DOE) 115-Volt Portable AC with Dehumidifier Function and Remote Control in White

Internet #303408306

Model #RAC-PD1011CRU

Store SKU #1002811135

  • Perfect for a small or 300 sq. ft. room
  • 3-in-1 comfort - cools, dehumidifies and ventilates
  • Light and mobile with 4 wheels for easy mobility

Customer Reviews

  • 946 Customer Reviews
  • 3.8 out of 5 stars overall
58% of customers recommended.
Overall Ratings
5star-icon(429)
4star-icon(202)
3star-icon(93)
2star-icon(92)
1star-icon(130)
Attribute Ratings
Quality
2.6
Value
2.5
Sort By:
Not happy
Quality :
1
Value :
1
Bought 2 months ago. Stopped cooling. Cleaned all filters, turned back on, compressor runs for abt 10 secs, turns off. Took front and rear covers off, cleaned coils, turned back on, compressor still turns off. Noticed exhaust fan wasn’t running when compressor was on. I’m an electronics tech, so I went digging into it. Found burned connection at the main board. Shouldn’t have happened after only 2 months.
Was this helpful?
3
0
Response from Toshiba Lifestyle TeamOctober 12, 2020
Hello Joeymc13. Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Toshiba 10,000 BTU (7,000 BTU, DOE) 115-Volt Portable AC. We're sorry to hear that your unit is not cooling and the compressor is shutting off. To better understand the situation, we kindly ask that you give us a call at 855-204-5313 and reference case number 111172546. -Toshiba Customer Care. (BBB A+ Accredited Business) toshibalifestyle
Great AC for about 5 months, then fan blade had enough.
Quality :
3
Value :
4
Purchased in April and it kept our upstairs office cold for the whole summer. It's now fall and temps have dropped but the one day it's required my wife fires it up and it's making a horrendous noise. Upon inspection the internal fan blade for the compressor has shattered. Pieces are in the rear vent tube as well as scattered around the inside of the unit. There is no visible fan blade left on the motor. Currently working with Toshiba to get it repaired/replaced. Not sure what happened or how as the unit is sealed and has not moved since installed, but for pieces to be in the rear vent the fan blade must have literally exploded. Let the record show the a/c worked great though.
Was this helpful?
0
0
Response from Toshiba Lifestyle TeamSeptember 22, 2020
Hello Tony. Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Toshiba 8,000 BTU (6,000 BTU, DOE) 115-Volt Portable AC. We're happy to hear that you're satisfied with your unit's performance. However, we're sorry to hear that you experienced an issue with your unit's fan blade. To better understand your situation, we kindly ask that you give us a call at 855-204-5313 and reference case number 111163412. -Toshiba Customer Care. (BBB A+ Accredited Business) toshibalifestyle
IM HAVING BAD ODOR .
THE A.C. DEFINITELY KEEPS THE ROOM COOL ESPECIALLY IF HAVE A CEILING FAN. I BROUGHT ABOUT 5 MONTHS AGO. I'M NOW HAVING A FILE SMELL IN MY ROOM WHEN I TURN IT ON; THE CONFUSION THING ABOUT IT IS; I DON'T SMELL THE BAD SMELL FROM THE VENT. I ALWAYS EMPTY THE WATER EVERY MONTH.
Was this helpful?
1
0
Response from Toshiba Lifestyle TeamSeptember 8, 2020
Hello DEDE. Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Toshiba 8,000 BTU (6,000 BTU, DOE) 115-Volt Portable AC. We're sorry to hear that you experienced an issue with your unit. To better understand your situation, we kindly ask that you give us a call at 855-204-5313 and reference case number 111156167. -Toshiba Customer Care. (BBB A+ Accredited Business) toshibalifestyle
Toshiba portable AC 10,000 btu
Quality :
3
Value :
2
I bought this from Home Depot a few months ago and I don’t think there worth the money. The temp goes low as 62 and it don’t push a lot of cold out unless your face it up to it. It helps lil but had to get two more window ac’s and I live in a 1,177 foot apartment. But would be great for a club house size.
Was this helpful?
0
0
Response from Toshiba Lifestyle TeamAugust 24, 2020
Hello Dstan79. Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Toshiba 10,000 BTU (7,000 BTU, DOE) 115-Volt Portable Air Conditioner. We're sorry to hear that you're less than satisfied with your unit's cooling performance. To better understand the situation, we kindly ask that you give us a call at 855-204-5313 and reference case number 111148496. -Toshiba Customer Care. (BBB A+ Accredited Business) toshibalifestyle
Makes a horrible loud noise while in coolong mode
Unit makes a loud noise which prevents me from sleeping I use it to cool my bedroom because it’s so hot but I’m not able to sleep due to the noise when you compare the price I don’t believe it’s worth it it’s almost unacceptable how loud the unit is
Was this helpful?
2
0
Response from Toshiba Lifestyle TeamAugust 24, 2020
Hello Ekanne. Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Toshiba 10,000 BTU (7,000 BTU, DOE) 115-Volt Portable Air Conditioner. We're sorry to hear that you're less than satisfied with your unit's sound level. To better understand the situation, we kindly ask that you give us a call at 855-204-5313 and reference case number 111149047. -Toshiba Customer Care. (BBB A+ Accredited Business) toshibalifestyle
Noisy, inefficient, high condensate and useless window exhaust adapter.
Quality :
3
Value :
2
I'm renting a duplex that doesn't have central air and had hoped to move before my second summer - but covid-19 changed my plans. As I work from home, I bought this unit for my 9' x 12' office. I also bought the larger 12,000 BTU unit (model RAC-PD1212CRRU), for my kitchen/dining room, which adjoins my living room. These units perform completely differently, despite being visually identical. Setting up the basic unit is easy - takes about 10-15 minutes. The issue is the window adapter - it really doesn't work with most vertical slider windows. Too short and very flimsy - requires tons of tape to keep it in place. The adapter for the outlet hose is a very poor design and falls off at the slightest breeze. I built several custom window adapters from plywood and storm window clips - the adapters are non-permanent and I've made four, so I can quickly move the air conditioning units between rooms. I can also open the window at night to cool off the house. This unit struggles to keep a small room cool, especially in high humidity. 98 degrees outside today and it runs constantly to keep this small office at 75 degrees. As opposed to it's 12K BTU big brother, this unit generates massive amounts of condensate - I empty the 2-1/2 gallon bucket 1-3 times a day. I got caught out shopping longer than expected and the bucket overfilled and flooded my carpet. As noted by just about everyone, the compressor motor and exhaust fan are insanely noisy. It is impossible to sleep with this unit running and it drowns out the audio during Skype/Teams meetings. I wish I had purchased the LG Dual Inverter, which is 80% more expensive, but far more quiet and more energy efficient. I'm so lucky that this has been a very mild summer. I cannot recommend this air conditioner.
Was this helpful?
7
0
Response from Toshiba Lifestyle TeamAugust 26, 2020
Hello Asphinctersayswhat.

Thank you for contacting Toshiba Customer Care and for your review of the 8,000 BTU (6,000 BTU, DOE) 115-Volt Portable AC. We're sorry to hear of the inconvenience you faced. Kindly contact us at (855) 204-5313 and provide the case number 111150336.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Toshiba Customer Care.
BBB A+ Accredited Business toshibalifestyle
Cools the room but extremely noisy
Quality :
1
Value :
1
I got this from Home Depot yesterday since it was getting extremely hot. It takes a while to cool my small room which is less than 200sqft although 10000 BTU is supposed to work for rooms upto 300sqft. Though the room is cooler but still can’t sleep due to the very loud noise which I think is unacceptable. Overall, I don’t think it’s worth the price especially of the loud noise and not so effective even cooling smaller rooms. I am disappointed and will be on the lookout for better portable air conditioners.
Was this helpful?
2
0
Response from Toshiba Lifestyle TeamAugust 19, 2020
Hello DeepaReddy. Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Toshiba 10,000 BTU (7,000 BTU, DOE) 115-Volt Portable Air Conditioner. We're sorry to hear that your less than satisfied with your unit's cooling performance and sound level. To better understand the situation, we kindly ask that you give us a call at 855-204-5313 and reference case number 111146408. -Toshiba Customer Care. (BBB A+ Accredited Business) toshibalifestyle
Comfy level 100
We bought this unit for our bedroom. Works perfectly! Cooled the room fast.. were in a heat wave this week 110 degrees and you wouldnt know it. Its quiet also. I've seen reviews of people complaining about noise on portable ac's. Not ours. Its quieter now then when we had 2 fans running. The price of $329, $355 with tax is reasonable as well. Double thumbs up with a goofy face!!
Was this helpful?
5
0
Response from Toshiba Lifestyle TeamAugust 14, 2020
Hello Daniel.

Thank you for contacting Toshiba Customer Care and for your review of the 8,000 BTU (6,000 BTU, DOE) 115-Volt Portable AC with Dehumidifier Function. We're happy to hear that you enjoy its performance.

Toshiba Customer Care.
BBB A+ Accredited Business toshibalifestyle
Extremely Noisy
I live in downtown and once I have my windows closed, I don’t need the excess noise from outside. I spent last weekend shopping for portable AC’s and I went to two different Home Depot to get this but I am very disappointed. I chose this because it said “best seller”. It’s very hot in my apartment building during the summer and I got this installed yesterday (08/13/2020) and would like to return it as it is extremely noisy. I could not sleep due to the noise till I turned it off. Room wasn’t even cold afterwards. I can’t even record for my YouTube channel with that much noise.
Was this helpful?
5
0
Response from Toshiba Lifestyle TeamAugust 14, 2020
Hello. Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Toshiba 10,000 BTU (7,000 BTU, DOE) 115-Volt Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifier Function. We're sorry to hear that your unit is making a loud noise. To better understand the situation, we kindly ask that you give us a call at 855-204-5313 and reference case number 111143548. -Toshiba Customer Care. (BBB A+ Accredited Business) toshibalifestyle
Horrible screeching when compressor turns on
Quality :
1
Value :
1
We purchased this unit in Late March/early April. It was always a very loud unit (cannot watch TV with it running) but now a screeching noise has started when the compressor kicks on. It starts as a rattle and within 10 minutes it is a full blown scream. Woke me up in the middle of the night. Heart pounding I couldn't get back to sleep it scared the life out of me. Filters are all clean. Noise does not happen with just the fan. Haven't even had it six months. No clue what to do.
Was this helpful?
2
0
Response from Toshiba Lifestyle TeamAugust 7, 2020
Hello Czaedyn. Thank you for posting your review of the Toshiba 10,000 BTU (7,000 BTU, DOE) 115-Volt Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifier Function. We're sorry that you experienced an issue with your air conditioner. Please give us a call at 855-204-5313 and reference case number 111139584 and we will gladly assist you.-Toshiba Customer Care toshibalifestyle
Review this Product
Share your thoughts with other customers