Internet #206431517

Model # 81008A

Store SKU #1001549155

0023883810085

Chapin

80 lbs. Assembled Ice Melt Broadcast Spreader

  • Rugged powder coated steel frame with 80 lb. hopper
  • Enclosed gear system to withstand the elements
  • Front/side baffles for precise control of spread pattern
$ 119 99
store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

  • Rugged powder coated steel frame with 80 lb. hopper
  • Enclosed gear system to withstand the elements
  • Front/side baffles for precise control of spread pattern
This residential duty salt and ice melt spreader features a 360° baffle system to control the spread pattern. The spreader comes assembled, simply attach the handle and secure bolts. The ergonomic bail system allows user to open and close gate. The heavy-duty steel frame directly supports the hopper. Included with spreader is a spiked salt auger which helps to break up clumps and allow smooth flow through the gate. The unit is fitted with 10 in. pneumatic tires and comes standard with rain cover and grate.
  • Rugged poly hopper to withstand tough winter conditions
  • Spiked salt auger helps to break clumps for a smoother flow of product
  • 360° baffle system for precise control of spread pattern
  • Ergonomically designed bail system
  • Adjustable gate settings
  • Wide tread 10 in. pneumatic tires for stability on uneven terrain
  • Powder coated steel frame
  • Enclosed gear box to protect the gears from debris
  • Grate and snow/rain cover included
  • Easy assembly, just flip up the handle and secure
  • California residents see Prop 65 WARNINGS

Product Overview

  • Rugged powder coated steel frame with 80 lb. hopper
  • Enclosed gear system to withstand the elements
  • Front/side baffles for precise control of spread pattern
Model #: 81008A
Sku #: 1001549155
Internet #: 206431517

This residential duty salt and ice melt spreader features a 360° baffle system to control the spread pattern. The spreader comes assembled, simply attach the handle and secure bolts. The ergonomic bail system allows user to open and close gate. The heavy-duty steel frame directly supports the hopper. Included with spreader is a spiked salt auger which helps to break up clumps and allow smooth flow through the gate. The unit is fitted with 10 in. pneumatic tires and comes standard with rain cover and grate.

  • Rugged poly hopper to withstand tough winter conditions
  • Spiked salt auger helps to break clumps for a smoother flow of product
  • 360° baffle system for precise control of spread pattern
  • Ergonomically designed bail system
  • Adjustable gate settings
  • Wide tread 10 in. pneumatic tires for stability on uneven terrain
  • Powder coated steel frame
  • Enclosed gear box to protect the gears from debris
  • Grate and snow/rain cover included
  • Easy assembly, just flip up the handle and secure
  • California residents see Prop 65 WARNINGS

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar

Compare Similar Products
Brand Bare Ground Chapin Chapin SaltDogg
Name BareBlaster Propane Ice Torch 80 lbs. Assembled Ice Melt Broadcast Spreader 80 lbs. Capacity Professional Contractor Broadcast Salt and Ice Melt Spreader 31.5 in. 100 lbs. Walk Behind Broadcast Salt Spreader
Price
$27.96
$119.99
$218.90
$360.18
Ratings (52) (88) (26) (10)
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Hose Length (ft.)
0
Product Depth (in.)
19
Product Height (in.)
22.25
Product Width (in.)
24

Details

Adjustable nozzle
No
Capacity (gallons)
0
Outdoor Living Product Type
Ice Melt
Product Weight (lb.)
26lb
Returnable
90-Day
Shoulder strap
No

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
2 year limited warranty

Specifications

Dimensions

Hose Length (ft.)
0
Product Depth (in.)
19
Product Height (in.)
22.25
Product Width (in.)
24

Details

Adjustable nozzle
No
Capacity (gallons)
0
Outdoor Living Product Type
Ice Melt
Product Weight (lb.)
26lb
Returnable
90-Day
Shoulder strap
No

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
2 year limited warranty

Questions & Answers

Does it include the rain cover. And. Will it spread strait sand

Asked by: Tum
Yes it came with the rain cover. Yes it will spread anything from salt to seed.
Answered by: Sshep19
Date published: 2019-03-06

I want to cover a standard sidewalk can this be adjusted to only a 4 foot spread?

Asked by: Kim
Hi, all products spread differently and depending on the product, you should be able to adjust the front and two side baffles to meet your four foot spread. These baffles work on a movable hinge that allows you to set to the desired angle. We recommend testing a small area and adjust the baffles accordingly before use. If we can be of any further assistance please give our technical Customer Service Team a call at 800-444-3140 and they will be happy to assist you. Thank you for your question and for your interest in Chapin Spreaders.
Answered by: Chapin International Support
Date published: 2019-02-06

Can this unit be used with standard rock salt?

Can this unit be used with standard rock salt?
Asked by: Rick
Rock salt works very well. Set you control dial to the minimum, then turn it up slowly after you get a feel for the hopper opening.
Answered by: Bob
Date published: 2019-01-22

Does this spreader come with a cover for the top of it so the salt does not get wet

Yes or no
Asked by: Snowplow
Yes, it has a cover.
Answered by: Royce
Date published: 2018-03-01
  • y_2019, m_7, d_16, h_22CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_13
  • loc_, sid_206431517, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 5ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

80 lbs. Assembled Ice Melt Broadcast Spreader is rated 3.1 out of 5 by 88.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This thing never worked properly from day 1! Firstly the spring did not have the right tension a... This thing never worked properly from day 1! Firstly the spring did not have the right tension and so it would either not open the hopper or not close and I would have to do it by hand. The auger would then get stuck on and again I would have to reach in there to help or ultimately pick up the salt or ice melt and just throw it by hand. The flaps wont stay in position. That was just the first season I had it and used for about 2 snow storms with total usage being maybe 5 very aggravating instances. Now I pulled this thing out of my garage and it is all rusted and everything that was already wrong with it is even worse! this thing is a lemon! I don't know how it made sense to anyone to build something that handles corrosive materials with components that corrode easily. This is a very expensive spreader and I don't mind the price if it worked but it does not and is a very cheap product! Home Depot wont even take it back! I went to the store trying to simply replace it because I need a working one (not get $ back) but they wouldn't do anything about it. Actually the folks there let me know that they have heard other customers complain about these, and they suggested I reach out to the manufacturer, which I have but doubt anything will come of it. If I hear anything I'll update folks on here but likely is I'm out my $100 on this disposable spreader. Do yourself a favor and avoid this thing buy a regular lawn spreader at least those can be cheap if not try and find any other salt/melt spreader because this one is bad perhaps works better in areas where it barely snows but for me in the northeast where we get a couple feet a season this is terrible!
Date published: 2017-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Built to last,sturdy, I will buy several more for my shop Built to last,sturdy, I will buy several more for my shop
Date published: 2018-12-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from trash Broke after only a few uses. Parts started falling off.
Date published: 2018-11-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Maybe I am being unfair with my rating because I was hoping the spreader would spread sand and sa... Maybe I am being unfair with my rating because I was hoping the spreader would spread sand and salt mix, but it does not do so. I realize the spreader is identified as a salt spreader and it is not promoted by the manufacturer to spread sand, but I was hopping it would. Also, the mechanism to open and close the slots on the bottom of the spreader do not work very well.
Date published: 2017-01-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice. Just needs a taller handle :) Nice. Just needs a taller handle :)
Date published: 2019-01-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Product was exactly as ordered. Product was exactly as ordered.
Date published: 2018-12-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from VERY DISAPOINTED!!! Comes assembled, except for folding up handle. Used it once- worked well, second time ice melt would not come out of chute! After close examination bolts were all missing along axle that locks mechanism that makes the "paddle" spin. Needed to salt the walkway, didn't have any bolts so ended up using wire through bolt holes to make it work. Very bad experience.
Date published: 2016-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Box came damaged spreader partially dissembled a not was missing... Box came damaged spreader partially dissembled a not was missing no big deal had one took 5 minutes to fix spreader works great doesn't feel cheap love the deflectors keeps salt on the walk not in the garden
Date published: 2017-01-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from STAY AWAY FROM THESE!!!! I bought this 1 New England winter ago and it worked pretty well, but the auger inside the tub isn’t up to the job. Expect to end up with a hole in the center and walls of salt all around with nothing coming out. I found I had to adopt a new walk and take a few steps and then bounce the spreader really hard up & down to jar the salt loose. Not great, but better than the old bucket & cup method of spreading. At the end of the season I emptied the unit out and hosed it clean before putting it away, good to go for next winter, or so I thought. Winter is officially back so last night we had the need to salt the driveway and so I pulled out the spreader. The spreader wouldn’t move. The wheels were locked in place. There’s no brake on this so I suppose I should be using the word “seized” to be more accurate. I worked on it in the cold, wet, dark for a few minutes and saw that all of the “power coated steel” was completely covered in rust under the spreader, including the entire wheel shaft. Out came the bucket & cup, away went the spreader until the light of day. I *think* there are about 5 screws that hold the plastic gearbox enclosure together, but they’re so rusted out that I can’t even tell what kind of head they had before most of the metal screw head completely rusted away after a single season. There’s no way I’m getting all of those almost gone screws out without cracking the plastic Gear box cover. After much use of WD-40 the wheels are kind of moving but without getting into the gear box to address the problem that’s going to be very temporary. I’d like to leave as many stars on this review as I have working ice melt spreaders- zero- but the website won’t allow that. DO NOT BUY ANY OF THESE SPREADERS!!!! They weren’t built to withstand their functionality of spreading salt or ice melt and corrosion will leaving you with a giant paper weight and $$$ missing from your wallet.
Date published: 2017-12-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Spreads icemelt but you have to shake it constantly to... Spreads icemelt but you have to shake it constantly to get the material to flow to the auger.
Date published: 2017-02-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from this product broke after 3 uses this product broke after 3 uses
Date published: 2017-01-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't waste your money on this. It doesn't work as designed. You think you're going to pour salt ... Don't waste your money on this. It doesn't work as designed. You think you're going to pour salt and pull the handle and away you go - ain't happening! Clogs, return spring isn't strong enough. Doesn't like bulk rock salt. Basically it's a $100 bucket on wheels!
Date published: 2016-12-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from the sprayer drops too much product or not enough. there is no in-between. This would be great f... the sprayer drops too much product or not enough. there is no in-between. This would be great for a parking lot. do not purchase this item for sidewalks.
Date published: 2017-02-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from unit wont salt in low or medium, you need to open the spreader in full for the salt to go down, n... unit wont salt in low or medium, you need to open the spreader in full for the salt to go down, not worth it, $100.00 in the water
Date published: 2017-03-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from THE SALT DOES NOT FEED, YOU HAVE TO KEEP BEATING THE SIDES OF IT TO GET THE SALT TO FALL DOWN ONT... THE SALT DOES NOT FEED, YOU HAVE TO KEEP BEATING THE SIDES OF IT TO GET THE SALT TO FALL DOWN ONTO THE SPREADER. I WILL RETURN THIS UNIT.
Date published: 2017-01-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Doesn't spead even amounts of product. Waste more than old... Doesn't spead even amounts of product. Waste more than old speaders have.
Date published: 2017-01-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worthless piece of junk I got this December 2017 I have to clear 5 apartment buildings for the company I work for. how it spreads is terrible its all to one side and doesn't spread evenly. It leaves a trail 2 inches wide and 1/8 inch thick on the left side and hardly anything in the middle or right side. The bolts don't stay tight they need lock washers but the way it throws calcium chloride flakes and pellets is HORRIBLE. It leaves a 2 inch wide trail an 1/8 inch thick at the left edge and then 18 inch wide swath of salt under the width of the hopper . It spreads very meagerly beyond 18 inches wide on the right as if accidentally throwing it there but the main concentration is only 18 inches wide. I originally had the spiral pulley agitator in the hopper and after reading the reviews after the fact, I got the asterisk agitator piece sent to me and I installed it. Still no difference. Probably needs an L shaped fence where the part that spins underneath to distribute the salt is to make it even out the salt spreading. It is absolutely worthless junk. The construction of it is great its the DESIGN OF HOW IT SPREADS THAT'S ABSOLUTELY Worthless. Very very poorly designed. Buy a different brand this one is garbage and I do this for a living so every snowfall I'm salting and shoveling 5 huge buildings. I have better luck with the 10$ used grass seed spreader I got at a flea market. The design of how it spreads is terrible its all to one side and doesn't spread evenly. And after changing the center piece from spiral pulley to the star shaped one it doesn't do any better. It's the spinning disk that must be bad design.
Date published: 2018-01-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from product came assembled other then handle which was very easy to install. worked well with ice mel... product came assembled other then handle which was very easy to install. worked well with ice melt and blue bag solar salt "what I use". Tires Spun well even over ice. I have seen better units but were well over twice the cost.
Date published: 2018-01-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Poor quality for the price. Hopper bottom is not... Poor quality for the price. Hopper bottom is not steep enough and ice melt doesn’t slide easily. Control trap door jambs constantly.
Date published: 2018-01-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from All the bolts came loose after only one day. ... All the bolts came loose after only one day. Had to replace with lock washers. I do not recommend for commercial use.
Date published: 2018-02-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I supposedly purchased an assembled unit, but that is far... I supposedly purchased an assembled unit, but that is far from the truth.
Date published: 2018-01-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from the auger is more difficult to adjust than the instructions... the auger is more difficult to adjust than the instructions say.
Date published: 2018-01-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 4 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2018-02-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from 3 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2018-02-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from 1 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2018-02-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from 3 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2018-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product. Great product.
Date published: 2018-01-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Product just falls out. It doesn't evenly disperse the material coming out. You end up with a tr... Product just falls out. It doesn't evenly disperse the material coming out. You end up with a trail behind you. We bought 7 of them. We are returning them tomorrow.
Date published: 2018-01-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from What a waste of one hundred dollars ... What a waste of one hundred dollars good thing I kept the receipt this is going back, broke the first time using it , salt spread uneven,
Date published: 2017-12-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from it needs to come with operating instructions, so you know... it needs to come with operating instructions, so you know how the settings work, and it takes a while for the salt to start distributing.
Date published: 2018-01-16
  • y_2019, m_7, d_16, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_88
  • loc_, sid_206431517, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 148ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT