#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet # 202819560

Model # 56908

Store SKU # 480616

Durable Easy-Read Display Mechanical Timer with Comfort Grip

$12.98
  • Orbit Mechanical Timer saves you water and money
  • Constructed for durability and reliability for outdoor usage
  • Oversized dial provides an easy-read display
  • View More Details
Store
0 in stock
icon
Free & Easy Returns In Store or Online
Return this item within 90 days of purchase. Read Return Policy
Product Details

About This Product

The Orbit Mechanical Watering Timer provides timed watering from 15 to 120 minutes, giving your lawn just the right amount of water. Simply twist the dial to the desired watering duration, and the timer will stop the flow of water upon completion. The mechanical operation requires no batteries and makes for an easy and quick solution for your watering needs. If you don't have a specific timespan in mind, simply use the manual override to keep the water flowing as long as needed. This timer features a comfort grip large dial for ease of use and is constructed of durable high-impact plastic. It comes with an ergonomic swivel for easy hose attachment. Using this timer also saves water by preventing over-watering

Highlights

  • EASIEST TIMER TO USE: Works just like an egg timer. Set the perfect time for your watering needs, anywhere from 15 to 120 minutes
  • High-impact construction for durability
  • Ergonomic swivel for easy hose attachment. Oversized dial with comfort grip for easy use. Durable high-impact construction.
  • Mechanical operation requires no batteries
  • Offers on and off settings or timed watering ranging from 15 minutes to 120 minutes
  • Note: product may vary by store
  • Return Policy
  • California residents
     see Prop 65 WARNINGS

Product Information

Internet # 202819560

Model # 56908

Store SKU # 480616

Specifications

Dimensions: H 3.25 in, W 2.5 in, D 4.5 in

Dimensions

Product Depth (in.)4.5 inProduct Height (in.)3.25 in
Product Width (in.)2.5 in

Details

Commercial/ResidentialResidentialCompatibility TypeDrip and Soaker Hose Compatible
FeaturesBattery Back-up, Digital Display, Hose-End Timer, Manual BypassIncludedNo Additional Items Included
Maximum Cycle Time (min.)1Number of Cycles4
Number of Zones1Pack Size1
Power SourceMechanicalProduct Weight (lb.).35 lb
Program TypeOdd/Even Day Program, ProgrammableReturnable90-Day
Smart TechnologyNo Smart Technology Features

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty7 years

Questions & Answers

44Questions
caret
Q:Does it need water pressure? I want to use it in a rain barrel, would that work?
by|Feb 10, 2024
1 Answer
Answer This Question

A:  Yes, this timer needs at least 20PSI to open the valve inside. Typically the pressure from a rain barrel is not enough to open our Orbit hose timers.

by|Feb 13, 2024
    caret
    Q:Is this an everyday timer. In other words if I'm out of town it will turn itself on every day run 30 minutes and shut itself off without me being home?
    by|Sep 10, 2023
    1 Answer
    Answer This Question

    A:  No, this timer is not programmable in advance and needs to be set each time you water using it. We do have timers available with the capability you're looking for like our One Outlet Single-Dial Hose Faucet Timer (#62056) or our B-hyve XD Smart Hose Timer (#24511).

    by|Sep 10, 2023
      caret
      Q:Will this timer shut itself off if water is running slow at faucet?
      by|Aug 13, 2023
      1 Answer
      Answer This Question

      A:  This timer will open and close the internal valve based on the time you have input on the dial. The timer will not freeze the countdown if the water is turned off or slowed at the faucet.

      by|Aug 15, 2023
        caret
        Q:Can this orbit manual timer work with 90 psi water pressure
        by|Jul 30, 2023
        1 Answer
        Answer This Question

        A:  The maximum recommended pressure for this timer is 80 PSI.

        by|Jul 30, 2023
          Showing 1-4 of 44

          Customer Reviews

          4.1 out of 5
          • 4.1 out of 1,133 reviews
          • 76% recommend this product
          Filter by:
          Showing 1-10 of 1,133 reviews
          Prior review follow-up. Now ZERO stars.
          I can't update my prior review to answer Orbit's response, so I'll do it here: You apparently missed the part of my review where I stated "Attempts to obtain replacement from vendor met with failure." You gave me an number to call and a website, both of which I already had tried prior to leaving the review. The number told me to use the website. I did so, twice now, following all of the instructions, and your support team has never contacted me. Terrible service for a terrible product.
          by
          Response from OrbitIrrigationNov 6, 2023
          Hey Peter, I'm very sorry to hear that you are still facing difficulties in claiming your warranty replacement. We would still be more than happy to assist you with this process. One thing to note is that if you're contacting us via chat or the warranty bot, you are not setting up a callback. Once the bot has collected your information, it will connect you with an agent in the same chat to continue assisting you once someone is available. If you're still unable to claim your warranty replacement, it can be done manually by our agents over the phone. We would love another chance to resolve this for you and can be reached by phone at (800) 488-6156 or online at support.orbitonline.com. Have a great rest of your day and we hope to hear from you soon. OrbitIrrigation
            Connection to faucet burst and flooded my yard and several neighbors. Attempts to obtain replacement from vendor met with failure. Would NOT recommend. I have another one that's lasted for many years, but unfortunately the logo has worn off. They don't make 'em like they used to!
            by
            Response from OrbitIrrigationOct 6, 2023
            Hey Peter, I'm sorry to hear that you ran into difficulties replacing your timer. Our Orbit support team is happy to help you directly and discuss our warranty policy with you. We can be reached by phone at (800) 488-6156 or online at support.orbitonline.com. Have a great rest of your day. OrbitIrrigation
            • Verified Purchase
            2 found this review helpful
            Works Great
            Works great. Sometimes a simple mechanical timer is all u need. Just turn the knob to how many minutes you want to water and your done. Valve will close when done. I wish it were all metal to be more rugged. Other than that it's a good product.
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            • Recommended
            Unreliable, and will lead to a flooded yard!
            as many others have demonstrated, the hose connection is pressure fit and will separate if left with water on up stream (the nominal use case). Happened less than a week after purchase. Never trust this product, it has a proven history of failing the exact same way, leading to a flooded yard.
            by
              10 found this review helpful
              Snapped from the faucet connection
              This is the example of how low the orbit quality goes. Bought 2 about 4 months ago. One snapped from the hose connection after 2 uses. Other one snapped after 4 months of usage. While it worked, it worked good. But, snapping that flooded the yard. How can anything dealing with hose has such a poor quality!! Orbit needs to do quality control. says 7 year warranty on the still on tag!! I wonder if they can replace this broken one under warranty.
              by
              Response from OrbitIrrigationJan 6, 2022
              Hey there, Our Orbit support team would be happy to help you get your Orbit hose timer working correctly or replaced. We can be reached by phone at (800) 488-6156 or online at support.orbitonline.com. Have a great rest of your day. OrbitIrrigation
                10 found this review helpful
                This timer cracked at the spigot connection, flooding my yard for many hours while we were out of...
                This timer cracked at the spigot connection, flooding my yard for many hours while we were out of town.
                by
                Response from OrbitIrrigationAug 5, 2019
                Thank you for the feedback. Please visit https://www.orbitonline.com/help_center or contact our Support team at 1-800-488-6156, and we’d be happy to send you a replacement as quickly as possible. OrbitIrrigation
                  11 found this review helpful
                  I have a whole slew of non-powered mechanical water timers that I bought years ago. They were fin...
                  I have a whole slew of non-powered mechanical water timers that I bought years ago. They were fine for two sets of hoses used for sprinklers along my very long driveway. The other two I used on a side spigot (one for occasional lawn sprinkling and the other to fill my pond. These timers worked by turning a dial by time and as water flows through them, it turned the dial back to zero and shut off. However, these timers need a certain amount minimum water flow them to work properly. Recently, I updated my pond. Before I just had a hose that ran to the pond with a old-type flow timer. However, I recently added a skimmer, and I installed a dedicated line off the spigot running to the skimmer. In the back there is two filling valves. The manual valve will fill at the hose's full potential (4-GPM). However, there is also an auto-fill valve. This works by float. So when the water drops slightly from evaporation, the valve will fill anywhere from 1-GPM to a trickle). There in lies the issue. You can leave the line always on and the auto-fill valve will just keep the water topped off on the pond continuously. However, this is bad practice as if you have a leak, it will mask the leak. As water leaks, the valve will keep refilling!! Therefore, you should always use this valve in conjunction with a timer. This timer at HD was rated very high on multiple websites and has a 7 year warranty! Best of all it is an egg timer type. This means that the timer works not by flow, but rather by a spring. I was unsure after reading that on Orbit's site so I wrote them to ensure that it did work by spring timer and NOT by flow, that it would work in any orientation, and that it did not restrict flow. They wrote back and stated that yes, it was a spring timer, it would work in any orientation and it did not restrict flow. But they also mentioned that it needed 2.7GPM to work???????? I questioned them on this statement which contradicted their spring timer sentence. The person was unsure. So I went to HD, picked it up and did a few experiments. I have a water meter attached to my pond spigot that measures 10ths of gallons. I set the spigot flow on 1/6th GPM - the timer worked and shutoff despite the low flow. I tried it with just a trickle and it too worked. You can set it up to two hours (good enough to top off). And there is a manual setting of always on or off (no timer). This will work wonderfully for my situation and most when watering your yard with a sprinkler (2 hours is adequate). I wrote Orbits with my results as well to tell them to remove the 2.7GPM response. This is likely old data when most older timers worked on water flow and not a spring.
                  by
                  • DIY
                  • Verified Purchase
                  • Recommended
                  15 found this review helpful
                  Good instructions, works as advertised.
                  Good instructions, works as advertised.
                  by
                  • Verified Purchase
                  • Recommended
                  Easy to use and helps prevent water waste.
                  Easy to use and helps prevent water waste.
                  by
                  • DIY
                  • Verified Purchase
                  • Recommended
                  Good product ! All needed is the extra rubber flap washer that needs changing after so many shut ...
                  Good product ! All needed is the extra rubber flap washer that needs changing after so many shut offfs ! If you don’t have the accessories it will leak !
                  by
                  • Verified Purchase
                  5 found this review helpful
                  Showing 1-10 of 1,133 reviews

                  Compare Similar Items

                  current item

                  Smart Technology

                  No Smart Technology Features

                  No Smart Technology Features

                  No Smart Technology Features

                  No Smart Technology Features

                  Compatibility Type

                  Drip and Soaker Hose Compatible

                  No Additional Compatibility

                  No Additional Compatibility

                  Garden Hose Compatible

                  Program Type

                  Odd/Even Day Program, Programmable

                  No Additional Programming

                  Programmable

                  No Additional Programming

                  Number of Zones

                  1

                  1

                  1

                  1