#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet # 206184822

Model # 100522290

Store SKU # 1001469058

35 lb. One Step Complete for Tall Fescue with Smart Seed, Mulch, Fertilizer Mix

$51.98
Apply Now
Pay $26.98 after $25 OFF your total qualifying purchase upon opening a new card. info
Apply for a Home Depot Consumer Card
  • Grow a thick lawn in both shady and sunny areas
  • Contains a combination of grass seed, mulch and fertilizer
  • Covers up to 500 sq. ft. with 7-14 day seed germination
  • View More Details
Store
0 in stock
icon
Free & Easy Returns In Store or Online
Return this item within 90 days of purchase. Read Return Policy

Product Details

Pennington One Step Complete for Tall Fescue Areas

Pennington One Step Complete for Tall Fescue Areas

Repair bare spots in two weeks or less in areas of your yard that receive full sun to medium shade.

Pennington One Step Complete for Tall Fescue Areas Repairs Bare Spots

Repair Bare Spots

Pennington One Step Complete Seeding Mixture system makes it easy to grow beautiful, thick, water-saving grass.

Pennington One Step Complete for Tall Fescue Areas Pre-Mixed and Ready to Use

Pre-Mixed and Ready to Use

Our super absorbent seeding mixture holds and maintains moisture around the seed while providing the essential nutrients needed to grow lush, thick grass.

Pennington One Step Complete for Tall Fescue Areas How to Apply

How to Apply

Follow these guidelines to patch bare spots.

Pennington One Step Complete for Tall Fescue Areas Preparation

Prepare

Remove debris, then rake the soil to loosen and smooth the top layer.

Pennington One Step Complete for Tall Fescue Areas Application

Apply

Spread the seeding mix approximately 1 cup per sq. ft. everywhere thick, beautiful grass is desired.

Pennington One Step Complete for Tall Fescue Areas Water

Water

This is the most important step! Keep the soil moist by watering daily (twice a day if you have to) until grass sprouts and reaches about 3 inches tall. The mulch turns a lighter color when it's dry indicating that it's time to water again.

Pennington One Step Complete for Tall Fescue Areas Where it Grows

Where It Grows

Northern and transition zones

Pennington One Step Complete for Tall Fescue Areas Light Requirements

Light Requirements

Full sun to medium shade (4 to 8 hours of daily sun)

Pennington One Step Complete for Tall Fescue Areas Seedling Emergence

Seedling Emergence

7 to 14 days

Pennington One Step Complete for Tall Fescue Areas Traffic Tolerance

Traffic Tolerance

Good

Pennington One Step Complete for Tall Fescue Areas Drought Tolerance

Drought Tolerance

Very Good

Pennington One Step Complete for Tall Fescue Areas Planting Rate

Planting Rate

1 cup per 1 sq. ft.

About This Product

With Pennington, your lawn will get the love and attention it deserves. Pennington One Step Complete Fertilizer Mix makes it easy to grow a beautiful, dark green, fine textured Tall Fescue lawn. Everything you need is pre-mixed in one bag: premium Smart Seed grass seed, mulch and professional-grade fertilizer. Simply apply, water, and watch it grow. Perfect for patching or repairing problem spots in your lawn. This super-absorbent seeding mix holds and maintains moisture around the seed while providing the essential nutrients to help grass grow healthy and strong.

Highlights

  • Contains a combination of grass seed, mulch, and fertilizer
  • Ideal for new lawn growth and spot repair
  • Contains stabilized-release fertilizer that feeds your lawn for up to 8 weeks
  • Grows grass 80% thicker with half the water of ordinary grass seed in just 32 days
  • Superior drought, heat, and disease resistance
  • Saves up to 30% more water each year versus ordinary grass seed
  • Penkoted technology protects the seed from deadly fungus during the early growth period when grass is most susceptible to disease
  • Best for full sun to medium shade (four to eight hours of sun per day)
  • Germinates in 7 to 14 days
  • Covers up to 500 sq. ft.
  • Not recommended for use in warm season lawns
  • Return Policy

Product Information

Internet # 206184822

Model # 100522290

Store SKU # 1001469058

Additional Resources

Shop All Pennington
From the Manufacturer

Specifications

Dimensions: H 24 in, W 16 in, D 4.75 in

Dimensions

Coverage Area (sq. ft.)

500 sq ft

Product Depth (in.)

4.75 in

Product Height (in.)

24 in

Product Size

35 LB-Pound

Product Width (in.)

16 in

Details

Drought Tolerance

Medium Drought Tolerance

Foot Traffic Tolerance

Medium Traffic Tolerance

Grass Climate

Transition Zone

Grass Seed Use

Patch & Repair

Grass Type

Fescue

Landscape Supply Type

Seeds

Max New Lawn Seeding Coverage Area (sq. ft.)

500

Max Overseeding Coverage Area (sq. ft.)

500

Organic

No

Pack Size

1

Product Weight (lb.)

35 lb

Region

Appalachians, Mideast Central, Midwest, Northeast Central, Northwest Coast, Northwest Mountain

Returnable

90-Day

Seed Type

Grass

Questions & Answers

69Questions
caret
Q:My lawn is weedy and has bare spots. Do I need to get rid of the weeds before applying this?
by|Apr 28, 2021
3 Answers
Answer This Question

A:  I would because weed killer will impede your newly sprouted grass plants.

by|Apr 28, 2021

A:  Hello, we recommend weeds are removed prior to planting grass seed so the grass seed is not competing with weeds.

by|Apr 28, 2021

    A:  Good morning Yes better get rid of weeds and rake very good before applying Good luck

    by|Apr 28, 2021
      caret
      Q:Do you recommend a layer of straw on top of the One Step Complete application as a deterrent to birds and other critters?
      by|Apr 5, 2021
      5 Answers
      Answer This Question

      A:  No.

      by|Apr 11, 2021

      A:  BIRDS WERE NOT A PROBLEM. STRAW WOULD NOT HURT. MOST IMPORTANTLY - KEEP IT WATERED. NEEDS IT DAILY UNTIL IT IS ESTABLISHED.

      by|Jul 17, 2021

      A:  It’s a great product and very easy to install.

      by|May 18, 2021

      A:  Winnworld, we do not recommend putting a layer of straw or other dressing on top of the One Step products as the mulch that is in the package will provide the same dressing. Thank you.

      by|Apr 6, 2021

        A:  I raked up all my pine needles and put the one step complete on top of the soil. No bird issues. So, for me, no

        by|Jul 28, 2021
          caret
          Q:Hello how good is this for areas being driven on?
          by|Jan 5, 2021
          5 Answers
          Answer This Question

          A:  Terribleter, Scotts makes a specialized blend of grass seed mix that is designed for high traffic areas. You can find it here on Home Depot by searching for the following: Scotts 7 lbs. Turf Builder Grass Seed High Traffic Mix

          by|Apr 28, 2021

          A:  Wasn’t driven on

          by|May 3, 2021

            A:  Not recommended

            by|May 4, 2021

            A:  Hi Terribleter, We only recommend driving on any lawn minimally and when the soil is dry, as tire treads damage grass and can tear up soil. Thank you.

            by|Jan 6, 2021
              1 found this answer helpful

              A:  NO GRASS CAN SURVIVE BEING DRIVEN ON FOR AN EXTENSIVE PERIOD BUT IT WILLNHOLD UP FOR A WHILE....

              by|Jun 9, 2021
                caret
                Q:This states all in one, Does this mean I don't have to cover with topsoil to keep the bird from eating it.
                by|Aug 27, 2020
                5 Answers
                Answer This Question

                A:  Yes. But you have to keep it moist about twice a day. Dampen it when it turns pale.

                by|May 17, 2021

                A:  You do not cover it. Whether the birds eat or not, I cannot give you that information.

                by|Aug 28, 2020
                1 found this answer helpful

                A:  The seeds seem to be pretty well beneath the surface and we did not have any problem with birds or the seeds blowing away.

                by|Aug 28, 2020

                A:  I would cover it cloth

                by|May 4, 2021

                A:  Hi Shooter, this product doesn't have to be covered with topsoil. Just be sure to follow the directions on the backside of the packaging and you'll be set. Thanks!

                by|May 20, 2021
                  1 found this answer helpful
                  Showing 1-4 of 69

                  Customer Reviews

                  3.2 out of 5

                  • 3.2 out of 2,814 reviews
                  • 52% recommend this product
                  Filter by:
                  Showing 1-10 of 2,814 reviews
                  Don’t waist your money
                  I brought two bage of Pennington grass seed and I ended up growing crabgrass too. I contacted Pennington about this and they said they would check it out and get back with me. It’s been two months and no one has contacted me about this. Buy Scott’s!
                  by
                  Response from Pennington TeamDec 14, 2021
                  Hello, I have forwarded this information to the appropriate people. Please reach back out to us at 1-800-285-7333 so we can fix this situation. Thank you. pennington
                    Disappointing results
                    Applied as directed and watered as directed and gave it a couple weeks and there's barely any grass poking through. I used it on about seven or eight random small areas and only one has any real appreciable grass growth. The majority of the spots are just leftover "mulch" which is basically just wood pellet papier-mâché.
                    by
                    Response from penningtonpwrApr 21, 2022
                    Hello! Tall Fescue is a cool season grass and while we are almost into October, the temperatures have still been high for fall so that can be affecting germination. Please reach out to Customer Service at 1-800-285-7333.
                      Did not work at all...
                      Did not work at all
                      by
                      Response from Pennington TeamSep 13, 2021
                      We are sorry to hear that! Please reach out to Customer Service at 1-800-285-7333 for assistance regarding your concern. pennington
                        Despite following instructions and repeated watering, the grass is growing...
                        Despite following instructions and repeated watering, the grass is growing weakly and unevenly, still leaving some bald spots. Not the same as before-and-after picture comparison on the bag ...
                        by
                        Response from Pennington TeamJun 14, 2021
                        Hello, we apologize for your negative experience with our product. Please contact our customer service department toll-free at 1-800-285-7333 so we may assist you further. Thank you. pennington
                        • Verified Purchase
                        Used this product to repair a small bare spot the size of a large frying pan and a larger area wi...
                        Used this product to repair a small bare spot the size of a large frying pan and a larger area with several bare spots. The small area grew grass, the larger area did not. It has been 5 weeks since I seeded both areas. Maybe I did not seed correctly? I am disappointed with the results.
                        by
                        Response from Pennington TeamJun 7, 2021
                        Thank you for your review! Should you have any questions or require additional assistance, please contact our customer service department toll-free at 1-800-285-7333. pennington
                        • Verified Purchase
                        2 found this review helpful
                        I just used the product and I am waiting to see if it works. Then I will do another review.
                        I just used the product and I am waiting to see if it works. Then I will do another review.
                        by
                        • Verified Purchase
                        • Recommended
                        The WORST!!! 1 out of maybe 200 seeds actually grew.
                        1 of of every 200 seeds grew at best NOT GOOD. The ratio of what grows compares to how many seeds you put down even if you overseed it is not good. Maybe got 50 cents worth of what I paid for.
                        by
                        Response from Pennington TeamApr 22, 2021
                        Hrc2, we're sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with our product. Thanks for letting us know. Hearing about your experience is important to us. We hope you'll consider giving us a call at 1-800-285-7333 so we can learn more. pennington
                          • Recommended
                          3 found this review helpful
                          Amazing, I was able to grow a beautiful lush green lawn under our huge pine tree, where grass nev...
                          Amazing, I was able to grow a beautiful lush green lawn under our huge pine tree, where grass never grew before. I definitely Recommend Pennington Smart Seed
                          by
                            Great For Small Spots
                            I wouldn't use this on a large area but for little spot treatments, it seems to be pretty nice. I typically stray from combination products because I can never be sure of how well mixed it is. I fear that I might get a ton of seed in one spot but only Fertilizer and soil in another spot. But since I only needed to cover about 30 sq ft, I figured I would give it a shot. I shook up the bag spread this evenly but there are definitely dense patches in some spots and little to no growth in others but the good outweighs the bad enough to where I'm glad I tried it. I applied the product on September 18th and my results pic is after the 2nd time I've mowed which is October 14th. I must also add that I did throw a light coating of Lesco Starter Fertilizer on top of this as well to give it a little extra help.
                            by
                            Response from Pennington TeamDec 9, 2020
                            Hi CJackson, We appreciate you taking the time to share your review! pennington
                              • Recommended
                              1 found this review helpful
                              I am not impressed. Weed killer left brown areas in the yard, which was the reason I purchased th...
                              I am not impressed. Weed killer left brown areas in the yard, which was the reason I purchased this. It especially looked bad, considering about one-third of the lawn had new soil and new grass seed. So one glance at the yard looks like two different lawns are in the same place. I purchased this in hopes that the situation would be rectified. Two weeks later, and it just looks like smashed dog food in areas where there are still the same patches. Bunny rabbits and birds are about the only thing that enjoy this stuff. I considered one of those nets to stop wild animals from eating the fertilizer/grass seed, but that didn't stop the new grass seed from growing in less than a week. I would never buy this again.
                              by
                              Response from Pennington TeamDec 4, 2020
                              Hi Montie, We certainly wouldn't expect this product to cause an experience like this, so we'd like to chat further with you about this. When you have a moment, please give our consumer care center a call at 1-800-285-7333. Thank you. pennington
                                1 found this review helpful
                                Showing 1-10 of 2,814 reviews

                                Compare Similar Items

                                current item

                                Grass Type

                                Fescue

                                Fescue

                                Sun and Shade

                                Rye

                                Region

                                Appalachians, Mideast Central, Midwest, Northeast Central, Northwest Coast, Northwest Mountain

                                Appalachians, California Coast, Mideast Central, Midwest, Northeast Central, Northwest Coast, Northwest Mountain, South Florida, Southeast, Southeast-Central Texas, Southwest, Southwest Mountain

                                Appalachians, California Coast, Mideast Central, Midwest, Southeast, Southeast-Central Texas, Southwest, Southwest Mountain

                                Appalachians, California Coast, Mideast Central, Midwest, Northwest Coast, Northwest Mountain, Southeast, Southwest Mountain

                                Grass Seed Use

                                Patch & Repair

                                Grass Thickener, Overseeding

                                New Lawn, Overseeding

                                New Lawn, Overseeding

                                Foot Traffic Tolerance

                                Medium Traffic Tolerance

                                Medium Traffic Tolerance

                                Medium Traffic Tolerance

                                Medium Traffic Tolerance

                                Drought Tolerance

                                Medium Drought Tolerance

                                Medium Drought Tolerance

                                Medium Drought Tolerance

                                Medium Drought Tolerance