Internet #202213700

Model # 3006HDK

Store SKU #725559

0851890000539

30 Amp 250-Volt 7500-Watt Non-Fuse 6-Circuit Transfer Switch Kit

  • Run up to 6 circuits in your house during a power outage
  • Includes a 10 foot generator cord and outdoor plugin box
  • Easy to install and easy to use
$ 299 00
store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Frequently Bought Together

+
+

Product Overview

  • Run up to 6 circuits in your house during a power outage
  • Includes a 10 foot generator cord and outdoor plugin box
  • Easy to install and easy to use
The Reliance Controls 30 Amp 250-Volt 7,500-Watt Non-Fuse 6-Circuit Transfer Switch Kit includes the necessities to make a professional transfer switch installation in a home, office or small business. The transfer switch enables the electrical system of the building to accept the power of a portable generator to run up to 6 single-pole circuits or 4 single-pole circuits and one 20 Amp 2-pole circuit. It allows you to power electrical appliances, devices and lighting during a power outage.
  • Installs a transfer switch to enable the electrical system of a building to accept the power of a portable generator
  • Pre-wired design to install quickly
  • 30 Amp inlet box mounts outdoors
  • 10 ft. 30 Amp cord goes from the generator to the inlet box
  • Transfer switch uses interchangeable circuit breakers. One 2-pole 20 amp and four single pole 15 amp circuit breakers are provided
  • Runs up to 6 single-pole circuits or 3 double-pole circuits during a power outage
  • Keeps the generator power isolated from the utility power at all times
  • UL listed
  • Instructional installation video available online
  • California residents see Prop 65 WARNINGS

Product Overview

  • Run up to 6 circuits in your house during a power outage
  • Includes a 10 foot generator cord and outdoor plugin box
  • Easy to install and easy to use
Model #: 3006HDK
Sku #: 725559
Internet #: 202213700

The Reliance Controls 30 Amp 250-Volt 7,500-Watt Non-Fuse 6-Circuit Transfer Switch Kit includes the necessities to make a professional transfer switch installation in a home, office or small business. The transfer switch enables the electrical system of the building to accept the power of a portable generator to run up to 6 single-pole circuits or 4 single-pole circuits and one 20 Amp 2-pole circuit. It allows you to power electrical appliances, devices and lighting during a power outage.

  • Installs a transfer switch to enable the electrical system of a building to accept the power of a portable generator
  • Pre-wired design to install quickly
  • 30 Amp inlet box mounts outdoors
  • 10 ft. 30 Amp cord goes from the generator to the inlet box
  • Transfer switch uses interchangeable circuit breakers. One 2-pole 20 amp and four single pole 15 amp circuit breakers are provided
  • Runs up to 6 single-pole circuits or 3 double-pole circuits during a power outage
  • Keeps the generator power isolated from the utility power at all times
  • UL listed
  • Instructional installation video available online
  • California residents see Prop 65 WARNINGS

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Key Features

Product Overview
Key Features
  • Run up to 6 circuits in your house during a power outage
  • Includes a 10 foot generator cord and outdoor plugin box
  • Easy to install and easy to use
The Reliance Controls 30 Amp 250-Volt 7,500-Watt Non-Fuse 6-Circuit Transfer Switch Kit includes the necessities to make a professional transfer switch installation in a home, office or small business. The transfer switch enables the electrical system of the building to accept the power of a portable generator to run up to 6 single-pole circuits or 4 single-pole circuits and one 20 Amp 2-pole circuit. It allows you to power electrical appliances, devices and lighting during a power outage.
  • Installs a transfer switch to enable the electrical system of a building to accept the power of a portable generator
  • Pre-wired design to install quickly
  • 30 Amp inlet box mounts outdoors
  • 10 ft. 30 Amp cord goes from the generator to the inlet box
  • Transfer switch uses interchangeable circuit breakers. One 2-pole 20 amp and four single pole 15 amp circuit breakers are provided
  • Runs up to 6 single-pole circuits or 3 double-pole circuits during a power outage
  • Keeps the generator power isolated from the utility power at all times
  • UL listed
  • Instructional installation video available online
  • California residents see Prop 65 WARNINGS

Product Overview

  • Run up to 6 circuits in your house during a power outage
  • Includes a 10 foot generator cord and outdoor plugin box
  • Easy to install and easy to use
Model #: 3006HDK
Sku #: 725559
Internet #: 202213700

The Reliance Controls 30 Amp 250-Volt 7,500-Watt Non-Fuse 6-Circuit Transfer Switch Kit includes the necessities to make a professional transfer switch installation in a home, office or small business. The transfer switch enables the electrical system of the building to accept the power of a portable generator to run up to 6 single-pole circuits or 4 single-pole circuits and one 20 Amp 2-pole circuit. It allows you to power electrical appliances, devices and lighting during a power outage.

  • Installs a transfer switch to enable the electrical system of a building to accept the power of a portable generator
  • Pre-wired design to install quickly
  • 30 Amp inlet box mounts outdoors
  • 10 ft. 30 Amp cord goes from the generator to the inlet box
  • Transfer switch uses interchangeable circuit breakers. One 2-pole 20 amp and four single pole 15 amp circuit breakers are provided
  • Runs up to 6 single-pole circuits or 3 double-pole circuits during a power outage
  • Keeps the generator power isolated from the utility power at all times
  • UL listed
  • Instructional installation video available online
  • California residents see Prop 65 WARNINGS

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar

Compare Similar Products
Brand Reliance Controls Reliance Controls Reliance Controls Generac
Name 30 Amp 250-Volt 7500-Watt Non-Fuse 6-Circuit Transfer Switch Kit 7,500-Watt 30 Amp 6-Circuit Outdoor Transfer Switch 30 Amp 10-Circuit Manual Transfer Switch with 2-Pole 30 Amp Breaker 200 Amp 120/240 Single-Phase NEMA 3R Smart Transfer Switch
Price
$279.00
$345.99
$367.62
$587.00
Ratings (214) (19) (41) (2)
Number of Phases 1 1 1 1
Maximum Amperage (amps) 30 30 30 200
Power Distribution Features No Additional Features No Additional Features No Additional Features No Additional Features
Voltage (volts) 250 125/250 125/250 120/240
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Product Depth (in.)
4.75
Product Height (in.)
11.25
Product Width (in.)
7.75

Details

Automatic/Manual
Manual
Electrical Product Type
Transfer Switch
Features
No Additional Features
Maximum Amperage (amps)
30
Maximum Wattage
7500 W
Number of Phases
1
Power Distribution Features
No Additional Features
Product Weight (lb.)
11.5lb
Returnable
90-Day
Voltage (volts)
250

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings
1-UL Listed
Manufacturer Warranty
5 years

Specifications

Dimensions

Product Depth (in.)
4.75
Product Height (in.)
11.25
Product Width (in.)
7.75

Details

Automatic/Manual
Manual
Electrical Product Type
Transfer Switch
Features
No Additional Features
Maximum Amperage (amps)
30
Maximum Wattage
7500 W
Number of Phases
1
Power Distribution Features
No Additional Features
Product Weight (lb.)
11.5lb
Returnable
90-Day
Voltage (volts)
250

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings
1-UL Listed
Manufacturer Warranty
5 years

Questions & Answers

Is this a 'switched neutral' transfer switch?

I am installing back-up power for my home and am trying to determine if I need to drive a ground rod to 'earth ground' the chassis of my generator which has its neutral bonded to the chassis ground.
Asked by: brown
I did not have to drive an additional rod. I have an upgraded electrical that already has two rods in the ground. I have had this system now for at least 3 years and used back up power about 9 or 11 times. Works like a charm. Also bought the 6500 rigid generator from HD. The only thing you need to add is the wire between the box and the plug, expensive but smart, so I could run it further out as the generator is very noisy.
Answered by: Gary
Date published: 2019-02-27

can i run 6 single pole 20 amp breakers in this box

can i run 6 single pole 20 amp breakers in this box
Asked by: Timothy
You can do anything you want, however based on my understanding of this product, my answer is no. Mechanically you can substitute similar brand and make breakers, but if you respect the National Electrical Code, the purpose of the circuit breaker is to protect the electrical wire from overheating and starting a fire. You should only run two single pole 20 amp circuits, provided you use the single pole circuit breakers on A and B circuits of this particular transfer switch. The other four circuits C,D,E,F are reportedly wired for 15 amp circuits (14 gauge wire), and therefore should not be used on 20 amp circuits (12 gauge wire).
Answered by: Morty
Date published: 2019-02-27

One reviewer wrote that the inlet box is not all-weather. Will the included inlet box withstand ...

One reviewer wrote that the inlet box is not all-weather. Will the included inlet box withstand all weather conditions or does a higher quality more all-weather box have to be purchased?
Asked by: Natedaug
This is a Raintight NEMA 3r power inlet box, suitable for outdoor or indoor use. The transfer switch box that houses your breakers themselves needs to be mounted indoors.
Answered by: BillD
Date published: 2018-08-13

will it run and oil furnacel

will it run and oil furnacel
Asked by: coco
The Unit is rated for 7500 watts, if your furnace operates with in that range this item will work.
Answered by: CommunityAnswer
Date published: 2019-01-24
  • y_2019, m_10, d_15, h_3CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_108
  • loc_, sid_202213700, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 50ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Reliance Controls 30 Amp 250-Volt 7500-Watt Non-Fuse 6-Circuit Transfer Switch Kit is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 214.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value kit, Super easy install I bought this unit before hurricane Irene. It works really well and makes setting up my 5000W portable generator safe and simple. During the recent October snow storm here in CT, my wife was confident enough to set up our generator when I was gone. I installed this in about 1 hour. The DVD is great and made the installation a snap. I added up the cost of cords, wire and plugs I would have needed to feed my panel through my dryer outlet, and this was almost the same price and now I know its safe and easy to set up. Great product.
Date published: 2011-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth any price when you need it! A nice little product. I installed mine in the middle of an ice storm and no power. It took about an hour and a half to mount, wire, and test with a volt meter. I then had to modify and extend the cord for my generator (120v only generator). The switch works great, and the watt meters are great to not only help balance loads, but monitor your energy needs and not overload the generator. If I were to do it over, I would install this first, then RENT or BORROW a friends generator, hook it up and use the watt meters to see exactly how much generator I ACTUALLY needed. Also worth noting, I eliminated the outside box and mounted the twistlock plug on the transfer switch itself since my panel is in the garage anyway. Easy, factory approved conversion, and I didn't have to drill through the house, or extend more power cables to the remote inlet box.
Date published: 2011-02-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from READ THIS REVIEW! I love this product, but you need to know if it is right for you. I recommend this unit for anyone who does NOT have a well or has a generator 5000watts or less. Main limiting factor is the 6 circuits. In my situation, I have a 7500 running watt generator (9350 surge) and I have a sump pump and a well pump. I wish I had bought a unit with at least 8 circuits. I had to choose, and I ended up wiring the living room tv / lights, the furnace, the sump pump, the well pump (2 circuits!) and the kitchen fridge. When everything is running, I surge to about 4500 watts (sump takes up 1000). The only reason I dont have lights on in the bedrooms, the cellar, and the bathroom is because I dont have enough circuits. If you have a smaller generator, 5000 or less, this is a good size unit. If you have no well pump taking 2 of the circuits, this still would be a good choice. But for me, I wish I realized how much more Id have liked to have paid $100 more before I installed. All that being said, the unit is easy to set up. I have never wired anything into the circuit box before, and it was easy. Took me about 2 hours, but 1 hour was just planning. And my electric box was installed in 1962. Newer boxes will be easier to wire. Since I have a portable generator with extra watttage, I can still run an electric cord from the generator to run my 2nd fridge, or any other items for an extended power outage, but this will keep my family comfortable during most outages. Heat, Dry Basement, Warm Water, Cold food, TV, Coffee Maker, most lights. Thats what this unit gives me.
Date published: 2012-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick and easy to install. I know all about how bad things get during power outages. I just retired after 37 years of working the lines in all sort of weather etc. There is nothing worse for someone to be powerless during a outage in winter time. I went out and bought a portable generator and this transfer switch as soon as I retired. The video was important to watch before installing anything. It took me 2 hours to do the job. Saved $300 by doing it myself. I asked around for pricing with some electricains I know. The 10 ft 30amp cord was included, which made things easyier.Everything is prewired and clearly marked. The only thing I would change is the whip. It was barely long enough to reach my panel box.It would have been nice to see a few more inches to play with. But all said I am pleased with its operation, after a test run. So now I can't wait for the next storm to hit. Cause I know that I will be warm inside my own house as the linemen working the lines will be safe from any backfeed from my NEW generator and transfer switch.
Date published: 2013-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is simply awesome!!!! I installed this yesterday in a few hours. This is the best thing I've ever bought. And it worked perfectly. It's weird to think that I'm looking forward to a power outage! We just got past Hurricane Sandy during which we had the generator outside with a bunch of extension cords coming into the house. Never again with this product! Simply perfect!
Date published: 2012-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pretty easy to install - Follow the DVD I picked up this switch kit in-store after purchasing a portable generator in anticpation of Irene knocking out the power. Watching the DVD immediately put my mind at ease about doing it myself. If you have replaced wall outlets or 3-way switches, you can do this. The dual watt meters were a great help balancing the load. Also appreciated the bonus 20' power cable. You will need a bolt cutter to cut of the 30 amp twist plug if you need to install the 20 amp plug to match your generator. My only complaint is the short connector cable. Due to limited box space, it was barely long enough to reach the only available 3/4" knock out in my breaker box and still mount on the wall. The kit gives you all the wiring hardware you need for the connections. You will need to supply your own mounting screws (7), wall anchors, enough 10/3 romex cable & staples for your wire run to the remote plug-in box and 2 knock out collars (5/8"). The instructions say the install takes about an hour but that is if all goes perfectly. Give yourself up to 3 hours depending on your comfort with electrical work. GIve yourself additional time if you have wire runs through walls or have an old or crowded breaker box. Be sure to tie in the 18" flex cable first, then mount the tranfer switch to the wall as shown on the DVD. Also a heads up for the less experienced the DVD doesn't cover installing the remote plug-in box but don't let that stop you.
Date published: 2011-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy install - safe and legal way to run a portable generator during power outages. Straight forward installation; no surprises. Should take about two to three hours to install if you have a surface mounted panel and surface mount this switch and conduit. I decided to flush mount the switch since the subpanel I was connecting to was flush mounted. I opted not to purchase the flush mount kit; instead I recessed the switch using a 1X backer board. I then brought the sheetrock right to the box and finished it. This is a great kit for the DYIer, as long as you got a basic understanding and respect of your electrical system.
Date published: 2014-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent customer service I live in North Idaho, a windstorm devistated our community resulting in prolonged power outages (up to 2 weeks) and desperate, I purchased this switch as our water source is dependent on our well pump. I did run into one issue following installation involving a disconnected lead wire inside the unit which I had to hire an electrician to diagnose, however I immediately contacted Reliance Controls customer service department, spoke with Nick who was able to rectify the situation. Since installation, I have been without power approx 15 times in the last 2 months and this switch has been a gem! Enables for me to effortlessly fire up the generator and have power to my well pump, furnace, kitchen lights, hot water heater, microwave and refridgerator during these outages. I deffinetly recommend this product for areas prone to power outages. Due to only 6 switches, you won't be able to run everything, just essentials which works for us! Thanks Nick Schmal at reliance controls for your assistance.
Date published: 2015-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A must-have if you own a portable generator! This is a perfect solution to having extension cords running all over the place if you have a portable generator. I'm a fairly-skilled DIY'er. If you have a basic understanding of electrical wiring, this should not be a problem for you to install. I installed this in a finished basement, and it took about 5 hours.I probably could have cut that in half in an unfinished area, as I had to cut an opening in the drywall, install mounting blocks, fish wires behind the walls, etc. The wiring is straight-forward - if you've ever installed a circuit breaker, you should be able to install this. Once finished, I connected my generator to it and flipped the switches, and everything ran as expected, except for 2 circuits that were on AFCI-protected breakers (see note below). I had a furnace, a tv, a refrigerator, several lights, and a pc/modem/wireless router running, and I was only pulling ~2000 watts, according to the built-in watt meter. My generator pushes 6000W, so I should be able to run all the necessities. A few notes/suggestions: This transfer switch will be MUCH easier to install in an unfinished area. I installed this in our now-finished basement, which added several steps to the installation (removing drywall, fishing wires behind walls, etc). If you are thinking about installing this unit at some point in the future, plan accordingly if you are going to finish the area before you get to this. I wish I would've spent the $$$ at the time and saved some hassle. This unit is ~4.5" deep, due to an angled "hood" at the top of the unit, so it will not fit in standard 2x4 walls, without protruding out past the finished drywall surface. The unit comes equipped with a metal-sheathed whip that carries the wires over to the breaker box - think about switching this out with an approved, flexible, non-metalic conduit. I had to trim mine to length, and it is not very flexible. If you are going to install the outdoor power inlet, consider using braided 10-3 wire instead of solid copper. Much more flexible and easier to run thru conduit, etc. If you plan on connecting the transfer switch to branch circuits with AFCI or GFCI breakers, the AFCI or GFCI protection will be lost when trying to power these circuits from the transfer switch - my breakers tripped immediately (2 bedroom circuits). To get AFCI or GFCI protection when running on generator power, it must be provided at the outlet instead. (This note was not in my installation guide, but I found it on their website)
Date published: 2012-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ready for the Next Blackout! bring it on :) After Hurricane Sandy, and losing power for 9 days we decided to order this (having found nothing but good reviews online) This is by far the best and safest way to transfer power from your Generator to your home. I have watched the videos from youtube and reliance website several days before my kit came so I was ready. Install was a breeze, only snag I got was having to cut a few inches of drywall so I can install the conduit on the side of my breaker panel. Followed the wiring instructions and done! For the DIY'ers make sure you have enough 10/3 building wire with ground and 3/8 connectors/wire clamp as these were not included in the kit. Overall the build and quality is worth the money spent. The built in watt meters were a plus also. I tested it today for several minutes (using Champion 7500 watts generator also from Home Depot) and it ran our furnace, fridge, living room, kitchen and 1st and 2nd floor select outlets. ( I chose 6 circuits to run our 120v essentials in case of power outage) I would definitely recomend this Reliance product to to anyone, esp friends and family. Watch the install videos and see if this is something within your capacity to do yourself or hire an electricitan to do it. Either way you wont regret the purchase!
Date published: 2012-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy For DIY's - HDK Model Recommended NOTE: If you have a generator that only puts out 120 volts, only 3 of the 6 circuits can be used (you can't split 120v) or power a 240v circuit in your home . An output option of 240v must be available from your generator, which is usually marked on a switch. When Superstorm Sandy hit I was without power for 5 days and vowed, "Never again," so I purchased a generator, but extension cords running everywhere during a 1-day power outage the following summer was a problem and I realized it wouldn't help my furnace, if it were winter. There are two versions of this 6-circuit transfer kit. The CRK and HDK models are identical with the exception of the circuit breakers. The CRK model uses round breakers provided by Reliance, while the HDK model uses standard breakers found in any hardware store. If a breaker went bad (no matter how unlikely) I wanted to be able to have a standard breaker replaced in minutes, rather than days waiting for a replacement breaker from Reliance. Therefore, I recommend purchasing the HDK model. I have an older home (purchased a few months before Sandy arrived), with 100 amp service, and I use a 5000W generator. Most of my time was spent checking the main panel to verify the outlets and lights corresponding to the circuits as marked on the panel (not all were correctly marked). I also had to change the plug on the 10' cord to the 20 amp, which is provided in the kit. After installing another small backer board to the wall, on which to mount the Reliant Transfer Panel, I was ready to proceed. Measuring twice (often, 3 times) and cutting once made mounting the outside service box a simple task. I have no 240v circuits, so I separated the two switches on the transfer panel that were tied together, No instructions for that - you rotate the "sleeve" in the middle of the switches and the threaded bar will exit out one end. A FEW TIPS: 1. Have a light source ready when you turn off the main breaker, if your installation area isn't really well lit from natural light. 2. REMEMBER! Your house service panel isn't completely safe even when you turn off the main breaker. Those two thick wires coming into the panel are from the outside. They are still "live" and can kill you. Respect them. 3. Have all the tools you'll need with you. 4. Double check your connections BEFORE turning the power back on. The wiring instructions are ALMOST idiot proof if you aren't color blind, but if your eyesight isn't great, finding the corresponding letters on each of the red and black wires can be daunting - especially the "E" and "F" wires. I got out my reading glasses and taped together each corresponding pair down low inside the main panel box after running the wires into it. I realized that after I trimmed some to the length I needed, the marked portion of the wire would end up on the floor. The actual wiring and wire nutting inside the panel took less than a 1/2 hour. Overall, I spent about 5 hours getting everything installed from start to finish. The power meters on the Transfer Panel that show the draw from each of the circuit splits (A-C-E and B-D-F) are useful and clued me in that I was too heavy on one side (I forgot a freezer unit was plugged in on the same side as my refrigerator). I just switched it with a circuit from the other side that was drawing far less power. I'm extremely satisfied with this kit. A friend spent over $7000 for an automatic, self-diagnosing system that he had to have a professional install, but I'm willing to spend the two minutes starting my generator and flipping switches manually for only $300.
Date published: 2015-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from QUALITY PRODUCT Made in the U.S.A., Good installation instructions made the job easy. The only thing I had to buy was the 10 ga. building wire that ran from my transfer switch to the outside receptical. It also came with a dvd. I use this with my 6000 watt portable generator. The two watt meters made it easy to balance the load. Its really nice not having to run extension cords throught the house.
Date published: 2011-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product, really well thought out I purchased this and a 5500/6500 watt generator on Thursday 10/25/2012 prior to Hurricane Sandy arriving. I tested and ran the generator while I completed the wiring of the switch. The instructions were thorough and accurate. The work only took a couple of hours including time to chase my toddler (helper). If you can wire a light switch you can complete this work. The only parts not included in the kit are the 10/3 wire from the inlet plug to the transfer switch and the required cable adapters. Once the storm hit and the power went out it was one pull to start the generator and 30 sec. to flip the transfer switches. I am running on generator power as I type this and have been since Monday night with no problems at all.
Date published: 2012-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product Installation requires someone handy with tools. It took me 4 hours to install, most of the time was spend drilling/sawing/hammering a 1" hole into the back of the existing panel mounted in an outside wall, with the transfer switch mounted on the inside, behind the power panel. When wiring make sure the power is off, I even taped over the screws that are on the hot side, at the box input from the power company. Since my generator is 120V only both circuits are in parallel, there was no need to balance.Gen output is 4KW max, a Sportsman LP. Power for a handful of lights, all LED plus 2 refrigerators is under 500 watts down to less than a hundred when both fridges are cycling. Had to extend some of the wires.
Date published: 2016-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for those times the lights go out. It was really simple to set up. The hardest part was deciding which circuits I needed and how to balance the load. Tried a Gen-Test and everything was going fine until I ran out of gas. It will be a real blast keeping warm, watching the TV, and having hot coco when the ice storms knock the power off. Use this to be the envy of the neighborhood.
Date published: 2011-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from As a former Boy Scout, the motto is Be Prepared After losing power during the October 2011 snowstorm, I scored a generator after waiting 2 hours in line at a local home center and did not get to use it as the power came back on an hour after I unboxed it. So to prepare for the next outage, I purchased a Reliance Transfer switch at Home Depot as the one carried at Home Depot includes the inlet box where it is sold separately at competitors. The install was easy and I am not even an electrician but I am very familliar with electrical wiring. I purchased it when there was no bad weather forecast during the summer. I put it in to be prepared for the next outage which meant I installed it before I needed it. Fortunately it was in place before Superstorm Sandy formed. When Superstorm Sandy formed these were in short supply. I have tested it out and it worked fine. I also used the double pole 20 amp circuit to power the electric baseboards. As for the device itself, it is well built, the instructions are clear, and best of all it is made in the USA at the Reliance facility in Racine, WI.
Date published: 2013-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I bought this transfer switch just prior to Hurricane Matthew. Having just moved into a new home,... I bought this transfer switch just prior to Hurricane Matthew. Having just moved into a new home, I forgot that this house didn't have a transfer switch like our previous home did. That one was installed by an electrician friend and as a handyman (not a licensed electrician), I always tell clients that any work in the box is "above my pay grade" not to mention, Illegal for me to perform. But given that we were under a hurricane warning, getting an electrician to the house would have been next to impossible. I had read the reviews and at the risk of being repetitious, all the reviewers who said it couldn't have been easier were right on the money. Clear directions, anyone with a basic understanding of home improvement/d.i.y. can handle this. Good exercise too in understanding just how many watts I'm pulling on each circuit (when you are asked to balance the load). The hurricane came and went, we were lucky, only lost power for about 15 minutes so I never had the chance to "battle test" it, other than after installation I did check it's operation and everything went smooth as silk. Did take me about 3 hours, but that was from start to finish - including identifying every outlet/receptacle/appliance on each circuit PLUS running the wires in the wall for a cleaner look install. Can't say enough good things about this product. Wish Home Depot carried the next size up (8 circuits) as that would have served my needs better. With Energy Smart lights/appliances/electronics, my generator rating of 7000 could have easily handles the additional 2 circuits. Great buy though, ready for next time!
Date published: 2016-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I was considering a generator interlock kit. By the time I added all the extra items I needed to install, my total cost was about the same as this transfer switch kit. This kit is easy to install, works exactly as advertised, and I couldn't be more pleased! Thanks for an excellent product.
Date published: 2011-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I purchased a new backup generator that has a 30 amp, 240 volt output to use to power several cri... I purchased a new backup generator that has a 30 amp, 240 volt output to use to power several critical circuits during power outages in our house. I found this transfer switch kit online in Home Depot's site and it looked like it would provide what I needed without having to figure out every separate component needed. I got the kit, read through the instructions, identified the specific circuits that needed to be connected and installed the kit. I wouldn't recommend installing this kit to everyone - if you don't have experience with wiring and working inside the main circuit breaker panel you should really have an electrician do the work. That said, this kit is very well laid out and the internal wiring in the switch panel is already complete so you only need to make the connections in the circuit breaker panel and out to the outside connection box. The wiring is very well labeled and it's pretty easy to identify exactly which wire is which. I think the price of the kit might even be a little less than buying the components needed separately. We've had one overnight power outage so far this winter and it was very nice to be able to connect the generator, start it up and switch on the circuits needed to power the refrigerator, freezer, small heat pump and circulation pumps, some limited lighting, etc. This was so much easier and safer than the old routine of running a smaller generator and dragging extension cords around to keep the appliances running enough to save the food.I should have done this several years ago.
Date published: 2018-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to install, now no more trying to run extension... Easy to install, now no more trying to run extension cords. Now I can run my whole house,except for my central HVAC system.
Date published: 2019-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Don't know why I didn't do this sooner! Go to the Reliance Controls website and download the installation videos for this product and you CAN NOT go wrong! I was a bit intimidated about working directly on the main circuit box but the videos showed very simply how to go through the installation. I under 2 hours I had it completely installed, and with my 5550 watt generator I'm able to run practically my whole house, including heat and/or central A/C with the flip of a switch!! I really should have done this years ago.
Date published: 2016-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really good setup I thought it would be ok, but it was much better than ok. I'd buy this again if I needed to set one up at another house
Date published: 2018-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good product This kit was complete and even had an outstanding DVD tutorial to aid in the installation.I was extreamly satisfied and would recomend this kit to anyone.
Date published: 2011-11-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for occasional use but cord is too short! This transfer switch is easy to install by the average handyman. The DVD video is a great step by step set of instructions. The inlet is for an L14-30 cord that is included in the kit. Also includes an adapter if you are using just a 20 amp service from your generator..If there is one downfall it's the length of the cord that is supplied to go from the generator to the inlet box mounted on the outside of your house. The cord is just 10 feet long so it means your generator will have to be pretty close to your house. A 20 foot or longer cord would be desirable.
Date published: 2011-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Bought this in store, had my breaker panel replaced and this installed at the same time. Very happy with the look and function. I also bought the flush mount kit from HomeDepot.com looks great!
Date published: 2011-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reliance Controls 30Amp 250volt 7500watt Non-fuse 6 Circuit Transfer Switch Excellent Product. Complete kit for installation of transfer switch. Only needed component is the 10/3 cable to custom install outside receptacle to the transfer switch panel which is readily available at any home depot stores. Very easy to install, instructions provided are clear and easy to understand but does require some prior knowledge and understanding of basic electrical wiring.
Date published: 2011-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to install Easy to,follow instructions. Put inside above my Main CB Panel. Took about an hour to mount box and run wires. Ran 6/4 Romex NM from outside plug. Easy to understand operation of transfer switches. Marked everything well. My wife even understands it. Test with generator for 30 min. No issues........
Date published: 2015-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product and company I am very impressed with this Reliant Transfer Switch Kit. Kit has everything the DIY needs. The product seems well made, wires are all clearly identified (on the wire), online instalation videos are professional and clear (kit also contained a dvd). I took my time, identified and clearly labeled the circuits in my main panel which I want to transfer in a blackout, and identified where outside my house I wanted to locate the power inlet box (included in kit). Everything worked great and I was able to power everything I wanted on those 6 circuits with my newly purchased Westinghouse WH5500 generator (I love this generator, see my review). The only small issue was one of the two wattage meters on the Reliant Transfer Switch wasn't working. This did not affect performance at all. I called the company, they walked through some questions and are sending me a replacement meter.
Date published: 2014-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to install, good features, works well Installation instructions are very good, you will still have to do some work to get it installed properly. I like the features on the transfer switch, specially the current display that allows you to determine if you have your loads balanced from both phases of generator.
Date published: 2013-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Safe back up POWER This was not easy to install. The wiring of the breaker box was simple. The hard part was installing the "plug in box" on the outside wall. Then I ran the main wires behind the drywall under my main breaker box then up into the bottom of the main breaker for connections. List of items that were also needed to complete the job. One 3/4 strait connector for knock out at bottom of main breaker box $3.00 One 30A Twist-Lock Female Connector (For Power Cord to generator) $30.00 My generator came with a 30 AMP male plug end. 40 foot of Carol 10/4 soow cord ( my choice to get the generator to the back of my home) $92.00 One tube of silcone caulk (for around top and two sides of outdoor plug in.) With everything installed and wired, I tested the Transfer box out. I have a 8,000 watt generator that ran a balanced load of my refrigerator, small kicthen appliances, central air, living room, and upstairs bedroom. I heat with wood so there was no need to hook up my furnace. It amazed me that the box balanced it all out. You need to try to have the six different breakers to balance out close has possible. This will help your generator live much longer. It's comforting to know I wont have a bunch of extention cords running outside in the bad weather leaving a door or window open for security reasons. Clean set up for safe emergency power. Well worth the expense and time to install. Power outages no longer a problem!!!
Date published: 2011-09-28
  • y_2019, m_10, d_16, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_214
  • loc_, sid_202213700, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 69ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT