#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet #203074619

Model #204256

4 ft. x 100 ft. Landscape Fabric

  • Assists in controlling weeds and reducing soil erosion
  • For use in plant, shrub beds and hardscapes
  • Keeps your garden looking beautiful
  • See More Details

Frequently Bought Together


Product Overview

Scotts Pro Landscape Fabric is a 1.5 oz. product for use in plant, shrub beds and in hardscapes. The Scotts Landscape Fabric assists, controlling weeds and reducing soil erosion. Saves you time weeding and keeps your garden looking beautiful. Spend less time weeding and more time enjoying your gardens. The fabric should be covered with 2 to 3 in. of mulch or stone.
  • Allows air, water and nutrients to penetrate to plants and soil
  • Weed and erosion control
  • Lightweight easy to install
  • For use on landscapes and flower gardens
  • How to Use Landscape Fabric



Product Depth (in.)
Product Height (in.)
Product Length (ft.)
100 ft
Product Length (in.)
4 in
Product Thickness (mm)
Product Width (in.)


Hardware Included
Landscape Supply Type
Weed Barrier
UV Protected

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
15 year

Questions & Answers


can this fabric be cut? I only need 16" wide (which would allow me to get 3- 100' in one roll)

Asked by mary May 12, 2020

My experience with this product allowed me to cut it easily with a sharp quality utility cutter. In my case I only needed to cut across the entire width to make adjustments to length of my pieces. You could most likely cut your roll into the desired width strips as you go OR possibly cut the desired width on the roll before you separate it from the 100 foot roll.

can i put sand on top of this?

Asked by yuwen June 18, 2019

yes, you can put sand on top of it.

Would this STOP the weeds from growing back once it’s applied??

Asked by AfwauN May 30, 2018

For a while. Some of those suckers are persistent little things and they force their way through. I'd say it reduces the unwanted growth by about 85%. Eventually Mother Nature always wins. Always.

Is this product appropriate to place under 3" of river rock? Will I have weed issues as the rive...

Asked by Devohomey August 30, 2017

I generally overlap by 6" or so and staple it in the middle of the overlap. And I think you already know the answer on river rock - blown-in dust carried on the wind will eventually create a fertile soil for weeds. So every 5 to 10 years I've had to make a pass through screening my rock to remove the built-up soil. I fabricated a wooden box with a 1/4" square mesh metal screen on the bottom to fit over my garden wheelbarrow to shovel the rocks into and let the accumulated soil fall through. It's tedious but you don't have to do it every year, only something like 5 to 10 or more years depending on how windy your area is. The finer the rock the less likely the blown-in soil will create a fertile opportunity for weeds - but eventually it will. But the finer rock is harder to screen since it will fall through the mesh of the screen. As you can see in the photo I have a mix of pea gravel for walkways (reinforced by a fine gray sand so you can run a wheelbarrow over it) along with mulch and rocks for ground cover. I also have some walkways with 16" square pavers and 1 to 2" river rock as accent filler. I think I prefer the 1 to 2" river rock as it is the easiest to cycle through the screening process.

Do you still carry the rubber mulch matt that fits around trees? It is circular and thick rubber.

Asked by ddd August 29, 2017

when will I be able to get a McRib sandwich year round ? Just my sarcastic way of saying both your question & mine are not in the appropriate place.

Is this the appropriate product for drainage applications (french drains et. al.)?

Asked by Nick August 9, 2017

I think it is. I've used both this and the grey paper type. The grey paper is less permeable and water will travel on top of it whereas this black stuff is more like a loose weave cloth that lets water soak through.

Do you need to apply any weed killer on the ground before placing this?

Asked by asere July 17, 2017

You can remove the weed before placing it, but as soon as you will staple it to the ground so no sun coming through it will dyi.

Is this woven or non-woven?

Asked by quitosky June 9, 2016



Asked by NATALIA November 6, 2015

Do not use this product. Weeds grow right through it. It serves no purpose. Just read the review of others who fell into this trap. I wished I had known before I used this product. Was a waste of my money and time.

What is this made of?

Asked by diane September 15, 2013

Heavy plastic that provides complete coverage and blocking of sun, great under pine straw.

4 ft. x 100 ft. Landscape Fabric - page 2

Customer Reviews

  • 4.1
    out of 173 reviews
  • 79% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-10 of 173 reviews
Beware - not even remotely porous
Beware! Claims to be porous, but after 30 minutes, water still not seeping through
by GardenLocal
Response from Consumer ServiceSep 10, 2020
We apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced with Scotts Pro Landscape Fabric. We are very interested in supplying consumers with a quality product that delivers the expected performance. You may contact us if you are not completely satisfied and want to know more about our product guarantee. We ask that you contact us at your convenience at https://tinyurl.com/y8nvfsca.
Bought Scott's weed fabric in May 2017 for the landscaping. I remember spending hours moving rock...
Bought Scott's weed fabric in May 2017 for the landscaping. I remember spending hours moving rocks to apply this. This July was off on vacation fir 2 weeks and when I returned I saw tons of grass growing where I had set the fabric. It's funny how the rogue grass only grew in the areas where I had installed this fabric. So I'll have to do this work again. I will never use Scott's brand again.
by dissatisfied
The product was very easy to use. I simply laid fabric down and covered with mulch. No more weeds...
The product was very easy to use. I simply laid fabric down and covered with mulch. No more weeds and the bed looks fantastic. The material allows the rain to flow through but no weds. Great .
by Yardman
Works great keeps weeds out.
Works great keeps weeds out.
by Mark
3 people found this helpful
This came highly recommended by a neighbor who is an avid gardener. I bought this product, along ...
This came highly recommended by a neighbor who is an avid gardener. I bought this product, along with Greenes Fence 2 ft. x 8 ft. x 10.5 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed (also from Home Depot), to create a spring bulb garden in a limited area (I live in a trailer park). We laid a double layer of the landscape fabric down first, then assembled the garden bed frame on top, put a layer of pebbles both inside & around the frame, then added potting soil & planted my bulbs ... I expect to have a weed free spring flower crop!
by moonsbeam
Grass coming up thru the fabric after 6 weeks
Cleaned up the area before I put the landscape fabric down. Then added 3 inches of rocks on top of the fabric. 6 weeks later we got grass coming up thru the fabric everywhere. Not happy with it! See attached picture.
by Imponert
9 people found this helpful
Good value - no weeds.
I bought two rolls of this fabric and covered with mulch 3" deep to create walkways around raised planter boxes. Beats trying to kill weeds and unwanted grass with wet newspaper!
by robinsonth
Landscape fabric
You had it in stock!the roll was enough for my need,it was easy towork with
good product for the price
good product for the price, a little on the thin side
by mike
Works well under mulch
Worked well my only recommendation is to install first thing in the morning before the wind picks up.
by Kart
Showing 1-10 of 173 reviews