#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet #100638161

Model #U712A

Store SKU #941656

Store SO SKU #1000316131

3/4 in. Push-to-Connect Disconnect Clip

$227
  • Removes SharkBite Push to Connect fittings from pipe
  • Reusable on multiple same size quick connect fittings
  • Disassembly is fast and easy using the disconnect clip
Store
0 in stock
Text to Me
caret

Product Details

Make a mistake; No problem with SharkBite. Disassembly is fast and easy using the disconnect clip. SharkBite Push-to-Connect fittings connect copper, PEX and CPVC in any combinations and the Disconnect Clip makes it easy to take the connection apart when needed.

Additional Resources

From the Manufacturer

caret

Specifications

caret

Questions & Answers

9Questions
caret
Q:How does sharkBite disconnect clip work .?
by|Feb 16, 2022
2 Answers
Answer This Question

A:  Hi, The SharkBite 3/4 in. Push-to-Connect Disconnect Clip goes on the pipe and you push the clip in to the fitting so you can release the stainless steel grip ring. This will allow you to remove the fitting. If you would like more help or an explanation you can call tech support at 877-700-4242. (Kind regards,)

by|Feb 17, 2022

    A:  You slide it onto the pipe, flat side away from the shark bite connector, and push it up into the shark bite and it releases the clip inside and pushes the shark bite off the end of the pipe

    by|Feb 21, 2022
      caret
      Q:WILL THIS WORK ON PCV
      by|Feb 24, 2021
      2 Answers
      Answer This Question

      A:  This item depresses the collar to remove the fitting from the pipe. If you installed it on PVC you can remove it. Just be sure to use the proper pipe for your application.

      by|Feb 25, 2021

      A:  It works on any 3/4 Sharkbite regardless of the pipe material.

      by|Feb 25, 2021
      caret
      Q:How does this work?
      by|Jan 30, 2019
      9 Answers
      Answer This Question

      A:  If you're using sharkbite connectors this tool will help you remove the sharkbite from the pipe. Just make sure that you're using the right size, so if it's a ½ inch pipe use a ½ inch disconnect clip. You would put this on the pipe just at the edge of the sharkbite connector and push towards the sharkbite as you're pulling on the pipe. This tool will press against the sleeve at the edge of the sharkbite that disconnects the teeth that hold the it to the pipe. It's very simple to use.

      by|Jul 28, 2021

        A:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9FDBaXBUPNg

        by|Jan 31, 2019

        A:  Easy to use and no leaks. I used it with copper (old pipe) and SharkBite pipe. Connector pushes onto pipe about 1". If old copper, clean the cut edge make sure on rough edges. I used cloth pipe sandpaper. Used wire pipe cleaner the first time. I left is a little rough (like you do for soldering) and it leaked. Used the removal tool and pulled it off. Put the cilp over the pipe and pull it against the connect first. Then twist and pull the cilp and connector off the pipe. Then sanded and pushed it back on. No leak.

        by|Jul 13, 2021

        A:  Simple, each connection has a spring type fitting on one or both ends that grips the pipe making the connection. That being said you must follow the guidelines as to the preparation of the pipe(s) to be inserted, specifically amount of pipe to be inserted in the fixture, but also insure no burrs, debris or “goop” are on the pipe to be used at the connection point.

        by|Jan 31, 2019

        A:  This is very simple system to use but you must have sufficient pipe, that is you need to fully insert both sides of the (cleaned) pipe for this to work properly. If you do not, pressure pulses in the water system may cause a leak at the connector.

        by|Oct 20, 2022
        1 found this answer helpful

        A:  It works great for removing a fitting from the tubing. It compresses against the guide on the end of the fitting that keeps the fitting engaged to the tubing. The clips only work on one size tubing but are available to work on different sizes of tubing so you have to check what diameter tubing you have.

        by|Jan 31, 2019

        A:  Simply insert the pipe into the connector then slip this over the pipe and firmly press in while you fully insert pipe. Great price to quicken the job and get it done the first time and great for removal. It aligns the joint quite well but may take a try or two to master. This is an inexpensive tool that really assists in the connection of the Shark-Bite connections, especially in close quarters. P.S. My neighbor used slip joints and had troubles with leaks, broken connectors and scraping copper pipe all to save a few dollars.

        by|Jan 31, 2019

        A:  Just push on the "U" over the pipe and slide it towards the SharkBite fitting. By pulling it hard toward the body of the SharkBite you push the plastic bushing into the body, releasing the fitting's teeth and it will slide off the pipe. If you are still not clear, search YouTube for videos of removing SharkBite fittings.

        by|Oct 20, 2022
          1 found this answer helpful

          A:  We have several short training videos on SharkBite.com that can help you with the products. If you have further questions, please contact Customer Service M-F, 8am-5pm at (877) 700-4242.

          by|Jan 31, 2019
            caret
            Q:Can a Sharkbite fitting be reinstalled after removing with the clip?
            by|Nov 3, 2018
            10 Answers
            Answer This Question

            A:  Yes. All SharkBite push to connect fittings can be reinstalled if removed and installed properly. If you have further questions, please contact Customer Service M-F, 8am-5pm at (877) 700-4242.

            by|Jan 25, 2020
              1 found this answer helpful

              A:  Simple answer yes but care must be taken to ensure pipe(s) to be reinserted are clean. I have only needed to undo a couple of fittings and never had leaks but made sure I always had enough pipe to do this and/or replaced a section to ensure full insertion of the pipe(s).

              by|Jan 31, 2019

              A:  Not sure what you deem “clip”, but yes, I have removed the fitting after initial installation using this tool with no problems, but make sur you clean the pipe before re installation.

              by|Feb 3, 2020

              A:  Of course

              by|Nov 4, 2018

                A:  Yes, but I do recommend that you clean the surface of the pipe before reinstalling.

                by|Jan 31, 2019

                A:  The sharkbite fitting can normally always be be reinstalled.

                by|Nov 4, 2018

                  A:  Yes.

                  by|Nov 4, 2018

                    A:  Yes I have done this many times........ Wait. I hear water running....... Oh just the kids

                    by|Jul 27, 2020
                      5 found this answer helpful

                      A:  Yes, it can be reinstalled after removing using this clip.

                      by|Nov 4, 2018

                        A:  Yes, it can. There’s a special tool for compressing the collar to remove the fitting, but after you do that the fitting can be reused.

                        by|Nov 4, 2018
                          Showing 1-4 of 9
                          caret

                          Customer Reviews

                          4.1 out of 5
                          (241)
                          • 4.1
                            out of 241 reviews
                          • 73%recommend this product
                          Filter by:
                          Showing 1-10 of 241 reviews
                          Do not rely on this. Yesterday my friend and I wasted at least an hour trying to remove a fitting...
                          Do not rely on this. Yesterday my friend and I wasted at least an hour trying to remove a fitting with this. Then as an experiment we connected a spare fitting to a length of Pex and out in the open tried again and again, using bare hands and even pushing against the clip with channel locks. At times using both of us, 4 hands. Finally we drove to Home Depot and bought the $8-and-change removal tongs which worked. 2 grown men with fairly strong hands trying again and again to use this little clip. Nearly impossible unless you get really lucky. My hands are still sore.
                          by
                          Response from SharkBite SupportAug 4, 2017
                          We are sorry you had trouble using the disconnect clip. Yes the disconnect tongs are easier to use for removal due to having more leverage. If you have further questions, please contact Customer Service M-F, 8am-5pm at (877) 700-4242. SharkBiteCashAcme
                            13 found this review helpful
                            Waste of Time and Money
                            I was almost sold on Sharkbite, until I was forced to "undo" a fitting, using the disconnect clips. The in store demonstration of the removal process was nothing like my personal experience. In real life, I found myself in a cold and muddy 26" crawl space cutting the fitting off, like I've done, for the last two decades, except at four times the cost.
                            by
                            Response from Technical SupportNov 28, 2016
                            Good morning, We are sorry to hear about the issues you experience when trying to remove our products. Our main design for SharkBite is to stay on the pipe. Removing them can be difficult. The difficulty can only increase as you install them in difficult locations. If you are using SharkBite products often, you could look at getting disconnect tongs. These could allow you better grip and easier removal.
                              Very difficult to use, hard to catch the ridge of a part, with its tiny body the clip is not easy...
                              Very difficult to use, hard to catch the ridge of a part, with its tiny body the clip is not easy to hold and apply a force to disconnect a part, especially in a limited working area; also it's broken easily.
                              by
                              Response from SharkBiteProductExpertNov 27, 2016
                              We are sorry you had difficulty using the disconnect clip. We also have disconnect tongs available both in store and online that make disconnecting a fitting a little easier. We would be happy to send you a set of 1/2" disconnect tongs if you would like to try them. If so, please send an email to THDStoreSupport@SharkBite.com and reference this review, along with your name and ship to address. SharkBitePlumbingSolutions
                              • DIY
                              10 found this review helpful
                              sharkbite makes plumbing easy
                              Easy to use. This tool is to remove sharkbite fittings.
                              by
                              • Verified Purchase
                              • Recommended
                              2 found this review helpful
                              Works as usual.
                              Lost mine. This is the replacement. Works as usual.
                              by
                              • Verified Purchase
                              • Recommended
                              Include this with expensive valves
                              These should be included when you purchase your expensive valves...if not, just find an alternative way to remove online.
                              by
                              Response from RWC SupportNov 17, 2022
                              Hello, we are sorry to hear about the difficulty you experienced with the SharkBite 1/2 in. Push-to-Connect Disconnect Clip and we understand your frustration. We will take this feedback into consideration when reviewing the product for updates. If there is anything we can do to improve your experience, please reach out to our Customer Service Team at 1-877-700-4242 so we can assist. SharkBiteCashAcme
                              • Verified Purchase
                              by
                              • Verified Purchase
                              poor
                              Almost worthless or the SharkBite is bad
                              by
                              Response from RWC SupportNov 8, 2022
                              Hello, Rich. We apologize for the inconvenience you are experiencing with the SharkBite 1/2 in. Push-to-Connect Disconnect Clip. We understand your frustration with the outcome. We encourage you to contact our Customer Service Team at 1-877-700-4242 so we can learn more about your installation and help troubleshoot. SharkBiteCashAcme
                              • Verified Purchase
                              Difficult to maneuver...
                              Difficult to maneuver
                              by
                              • Verified Purchase
                              Tried it, did not work...
                              Tried it, did not work
                              by
                              Response from RWC SupportNov 7, 2022
                              Hi, Terry. We apologize for the difficulty you had with the SharkBite 1/2 in. Push-to-Connect Disconnect Clip and we understand your frustration. We do offer a SharkBite product that would better suit your application, 1/2 in. Disconnect Tongs, Home Deport # 206697672. We would be happy to learn more about your application and help with a solution. Please reach out to our Customer Service Team at 1-877-700-4242 so we can assist. SharkBiteCashAcme
                              • Verified Purchase
                              Showing 1-10 of 241 reviews

                              Frequently Bought Together

                              Top Rated
                              +
                              +
                              Price:
                              $227

                              Compare Similar Disconnect Clips

                              3/4 in. Demount Clip
                              current product
                              Top Rated3/4 in. Push-to-Connect Disconnect Clip
                              Top Rated3/8 in. Push-to-Connect Disconnect ClipTop Rated1 in. Push-to-Connect Disconnect Clip
                              BrandTectiteSharkBiteSharkBiteSharkBite
                              Name3/4 in. Demount Clip3/4 in. Push-to-Connect Disconnect Clip3/8 in. Push-to-Connect Disconnect Clip1 in. Push-to-Connect Disconnect Clip
                              Price
                              $217
                              $227
                              $227
                              $227
                              Ratings
                              (4)
                              (241)
                              (241)
                              (241)
                              MaterialPlasticPlasticPlasticPlastic
                              THD SO SKU 1000316131
                              View ProductView ProductView ProductView Product