#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for Columbia Forest Products 3/4 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. PureBond Birch Plywood

Internet #100077837

Model #165921

Store SKU #165921

  • Soy-based PureBond adhesive is formaldehyde-free
  • Hardwood plywood strength, performance and durability
  • Easily create lasting, beautiful furniture, cabinets and more

Customer Reviews

  • 3.8
    out of 515 reviews
  • 67% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-10 of 515 reviews
Can not work with it. Not durable
1.The birch veneer is thinner than cigarettes paper. 2.Chip very easy. 3.It's softwood so you can not finish it without preparing it. I had fill the edge with wood filler. Too many gap in plys. They also use weak glue or not glued all over so you may have to glue the veneer on some area on edge. Will not buy it again and will not suggest it for any kind of work.
by Vafa
Response from CFP Customer ServiceApr 14, 2021
I apologize for the issues you had with our product. I would like to discuss this with you in more detail and see what we can do to make it right. Please contact me at mhale@cfpwood.com or call 800-637-1609. Thanks - Michael
Built a master closet...
Built a master closet
by HomeDepotCustomer
be sure to inspect carefully
I use this plywood for cornhole boards and purchase roughly 4 sheets per month, i have normally been very pleased but have had 2 pieces that looked fine until they were cut and 1 set that seperated once finish was applied. was told that once cut it cant be refunded but the issues did not show until the product was cut. i will continue to purchase as is the best quality that i can find in my area, but if you choose be sure to feel for any possible voids.
by JWWoodworks
5 people found this helpful
ATROCIOUS
Bought 7 sheets of this stuff for $60 each, from the first rip, every thing started de-laminating, everything. This is THE worst plywood I have ever seen, and Home Depot should be ashamed for stocking such a poor quality item.
by Alex
Response from CFP Customer ServiceDec 6, 2020
I apologize for the issues you had with our product. You should not have had the issues you describe here. I'd like to discuss this with you in detail and see what we can do to make it right. Please contact me at mhale@cfpwood.com or 800-637-2609. Thanks -- Michael
7 people found this helpful
beautiful look, horrible quality
I bought a sheet of this to make some corn hole boards because the official specs for them call for birch plywood. This wood is absolutely beautiful, BUT... I spent a day cutting the wood to proper sizes, assembling it and then came time to paint. For my design, I wanted a 1" border around the outside edge, then would leave the inside of that bare wood, apply a monogram and then varnish it. So I used the regular painters tape and taped it off. When I removed the tape, pieces of the birch veneer came out. I'm not talking about some great powerful tape here, just regular old painters masking tape. I knew going in this was a veneer and not birch all the way through, but expected it to hold together using such a weak tape for painting purposes attaching pictures to show what it did to this. very disappointed that this would come apart like this, having to putty these places killed the look of these beautiful boards,
by papachaz
3 people found this helpful
beautiful look, horrible durability
I bought a sheet of this to make some corn hole boards. I do that as a hobby. I had someone contact me who specifically wanted birch plywood instead of the typical radiata pine cabinet grade I usually use. The only birch plywood available in my area, is this, and yes I knew when I bought it, that it's just a veneer. That veneer is thinner than paper though. The grain pattern and the look of the wood is amazingly pretty! so I bought a sheet. His pattern is a black 1" border, 1" from the edge around the outside of the board. Then leaving the wood plain, putting a vinyl monogram decal in the middle. I'll then apply 5 coats of polyurethene on top. That's my typical way of doing boards. So I got this sheet, cut it down to size. Used the blue scotch painters tape to mark off and paint the border. When I pulled the tape off, the birch veneer pulled off with it in several places. now my morning will have to be spent trying to putty and sand those areas and HOPE they look close enough to satisfy him. I'm not talking about gorilla tape, or duct tape or some super sticky tape, I'm talking about 'won't leave a mark on the wall when you take it off' PAINTERS tape. My next issue is that decal, if that painters tape pulled the wood apart, I KNOW the transfer tape from the decal will as well. I'm going to wind up either not making his boards and just using these boards for a paintable set to hopefully not have to waste the $55 I spent on this junk. photos attached to review...
by papachaz
Response from CFP Customer ServiceDec 6, 2020
I apologize for the issues you had with our product. I'd like to discuss this with you in detail and see what we can do to make it right. Please contact me at mhale@cfpwood.com or 800-637-2609. Thanks -- Michael
2 people found this helpful
First Time user
I was trying to decide between Birch plywood and poplar plywood. Did some research and decided to go with the birch plywood. This is my first time working with birch plywood. The folks at Home Depot were able to cut the boards lengthwise so I could fit it in my vehicle. I Purchased two 4 x 8 sheets. I used 140 tooth blade on my Skil saw and can say there was no splintering and very neat smooth cuts. They were only two little pockets in the ply that I noticed during cutting. No problem with horizontal or vertical cuts. The surface of the plywood is very smooth, no divots or no patches. I cut the plywood on the ground raised with two by fours which made handling a lot easier for me than using saw horses. Having a good blade and a long level made the long straight cut very easy.
by Gemini525
Used This for a bathroom counter top good quality finished nicely
Used This for a bathroom counter top good quality finished nicely
by Oldfart
5 out of 6 not too bad
I bought 6 sheets to make kitchen cabinets. The finish is really great and examination of the edges show very precise layers without and variation. This was true for 5 of the sheets. On one sheet in the middle of the project while sawing with plywood blade on table saw I had tear out. Since this was my large rough cut I just assumed I mishandled the piece. When I went for my final cut the tear out was worse. That is when I realized I had a huge void in the middle of the plywood. Approximately 12" by 5". This was a real bummer since I was in the middle of the project and needed the large pieces. I was not in a position to return it so the void on two of the pieces is now in the back section of the cabinet.
by Keith
8 people found this helpful
Great plywood with little to no voids. Used it to...
Great plywood with little to no voids. Used it to construct a closet system in my master closet. Stained very nicely
by Kirch
Showing 1-10 of 515 reviews