No Results Found

Refine by Rating

Customer Images (4)
  • Econo-Heat Wall Board Heater
  • January 20, 2014
  • Recommended Product

Econo-Heat 400 Watt Convection Flat Panel Space Heater with Programmable Thermostat This unit will "Convection" heat your room. You have to leave it on in order for the air to circulate in the room! Immediate heat is not and has never been the intended purpose for this product! I live in Upper Michigan where winters are very cold. These heaters work great! You need to follow the instructions in order for proper operation. Garage applications will not work well. An interior room of a home will work perfect. "TIP" Mount heater to interior wall, not a wall where outside temperatures are on the other side! This unit WILL draw cold air from the floor and heat it causing a natural rotation of air in the room! You will not be disappointed! They do work! especially if you have a "cold" room and are looking to supplement your existing heat source! Keep Warm! Summer will be back soon!

Pros Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, it works!

Video & Photo

  • DIY

Yooper

Calumet, Michigan
45 to 54, Male
76 out of 76 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Yooper
  • excellent for small spaces
  • October 18, 2011

Of all the electric heaters I have tried, this is my favorite. I first tried a couple, then bought several more. The Econo-heater uses only 400 watts, so does not trip breakers on a normal circuit. Yet it seems to heat as well as the bulky radiator-type electric heaters, and the noisy ceramic fan heaters, which will use up to 1500+ watts. It is low profile, fitting close to the wall. It is quick and easy to install, and just plugs into a normal outlet. Plus it can be painted to match a room's decor. It heats both by radiation and convection, and is completely quiet when operating. It is mounted low on a wall and slightly away from the wall, so as it warms up it pulls cool air up from the floor, heats it, and by natural convection the warm air begins to circulate into the room. Also, it is very warm to the touch, so you can stand next to it and really warm up. You won't want to touch it, but if you do it is not so hot it burns skin. If you mount it on a mass wall (brick, stone, adobe, even dry-wall) it will tend to heat the wall, too, over time. This stored heat in a mass material warms objects (like people) also by radiation, in addition to heating the air. I found out that this heater - the Econo-Heater - is made in South Africa, and has had a long R&D history there. It's produced in an integrated factory, and this made me feel even better about the product. Recently I read a couple reviews about a look-alike heater called the "Eco-heater" which sounds like an inferior imitation of this product that people were unhappy with. So be sure you order the original "econo-heater". Two caveats worth mentioning: This heater will not make up for a building with poor insulation (like mine). It has been very useful in bathrooms - but don't hang your towels on it. Also, it has no thermostat, so it must be turned on and off manually. Still, I have found it to be the most cost-effective and aesthetic solution to small room heating I have discovered.

blackcat

49 out of 49 people found this helpful
more details...
By: blackcat
  • What a difference this heater made!
  • December 20, 2011
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

My bedroom, which is in the north west corner of my 1950's brick and cinder block walled home, would never get above 55 to 58 degrees in the winter, unless I put the rest of the house at 80 degrees. With this heater, we are now comfortable around 70 to 72 degrees with only turning it on 2 or 3 hours before bed time and off before we go to sleep. No more ice cold sheets:-) I would highly recommend this to anyone with a cold room in the house. It says for a 10x10 room, but my room is 12x12, and it works well.

  • Pro

Timbo

Denver, CO, USA
40 out of 40 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Timbo
  • Gets the job done
  • November 29, 2011
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

I needed a heat source for a small bathroom with 3 outside walls. The temperature in the bathroom easily dipped into the teens in the winter time since it had no heat source. I bought this because it is efficient and it is low profile. So far, so good. It warms the room to a manageable temp but not anywhere near even 65 degrees b/c of the outside 3 walls. It also doesn't warm up the tile floor because of the nature of the heat. It does get very hot so be careful around it with pets or kids. Some people complain that it cracks but I haven't encountered that yet. Installed and painted in 20 minutes..needed a second person to hold it in place while I screwed it in.

kj1nyc

37 out of 37 people found this helpful
more details...
By: kj1nyc
  • FABULOUS!
  • October 28, 2014
  • Recommended Product

We have had 3 econo-heaters warming up our house for over a year now. Just as they say, they heat up a small to medium sized room by about 10 degrees. They don't produce any dust and don't make any noise! We bought a small home a year and a half ago and the only source of heat is ceiling heat in the living room . We could have spent $5,000 to put in a mini ductless heating system but instead we thought we'd try out the econo-heaters first and save up for the ductless. We have been so happy with the efficiency and heat that we decided not to bother with the heat pump! We even had our first problem today, one of the heaters won't turn on. I called Econo-Heat and they said send me your receipt and address and we will get you a new one shipped in the next day or two. Great company, they really stand by their warranty! Definitely a great option for a small home!!!

Pros Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
  • DIY

Kceug

Eugene, OR
36 out of 36 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Kceug
  • Simple, good looking solution
  • November 26, 2013
  • Recommended Product

After reading through all the reviews, I decided to purchase three of these for areas of the house that were not well heated. In particular, a couple bathrooms that had no heat. In terms of performance, they do about what I expected of convective type heaters - plug them in and leave them on. These heaters work well for a smaller room, like a bathroom. One of them developed a crack and stopped working. I contacted the company by phone and left a message. the product manager phoned me back the same day. I explained what happened and emailed him some photos. He thought it must have been damaged in shipping and then the heating/cooling cycles made the crack larger which eventually breached the heating element. He immediately sent a warranty replacement. Great customer service.

Pros Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
  • DIY

pdb1

Orange county, california
45 to 54, Male
34 out of 34 people found this helpful
more details...
By: pdb1
  • Works Great
  • December 20, 2011
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

Overall after 3 weeks with this product in early winter temps and I'm happy. I installed the unit in our large tiled bathroom and routed it through a timer that starts it 2 hours before we wake. Bathroom is easily 3-5 degrees warmer and the tile isn't as cold to walk on. I'd recommend this for any room where you want to cost effectively raise the temp a few degrees. I have only two minor draw backs: 1. It is rather large so finding a good place to mount it low to the ground might be challenging depending on the room. 2. The mounting anchors are plastic and will not work if the location ends up being over a stud. I replaced them with nicer metal ones and it installed easily.

Connelly

31 out of 31 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Connelly
  • Excellent product
  • October 24, 2011

I live in Northern NH and have used these heaters for about 4 years. Great for a bathroom or if you want to add several you can heat a larger room. Cheap to operate, each heater will run about 10 to 15 bucks a month to operate. I painted mine and you can hardly see them. Nobody believes they are heaters until they feel the warm glow they emit.......excellent product !

fokkerflyer

21 out of 21 people found this helpful
more details...
By: fokkerflyer
  • Just what I needed
  • January 03, 2012
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

I installed these as supplemental heat in three rooms in my house. They were easy to install and work great. I wired them each into a their own thermostat so I can actually control them. Comfortable heat for a reasonable price.

Gravity

20 out of 20 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Gravity
  • Safe and inexpensive way to heat a room.
  • November 29, 2011
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

I ordered this 400 watt heater from Home Depot on Sunday night and it was delivered on Tuesday afternoon in perfect condition with free shipping.. 48 hours very impressive.. The heater works great in my 12'x14' bedroom that is over a unheated garage. It keeps the room about 6 to 9 degrees warmer(with the bedroom door shut) than the rest of the house when the main thermostat is on 62. Depends on the outside temp and how windy it is. The heat is not a dry heat like the 3 electric heaters I used in the past, plus it takes zero floor space in my crowded room. It screws to the wall and looks nice after I painted it the same color as the walls. The heater takes 2 to 3 hours to heat up the room so I turn it on 7-10pm and shut my bedroom door, again it depends how cold it is outside. This heater does not have any type of fan and uses 400 watts, this is why it's cheaper to use compared to 750/1500 watt heaters that uses any type of fan. It costs me about half of what the old electric heaters did heating the same room. This heater is child and pet friendly, you can touch it and you won't get burnt. I am using a wireless outlet switch ($14) to turn the heater on and off. I installed the switch next to the light switch, it looks good and turning it on and off is convenient. I couldn't be happier with my purchase..

  • DIY

Ancient1one

Syracuse, NY, USA
45 to 54, Male
19 out of 19 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Ancient1one