#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for Kwikset Home Connect 620 Keypad 869 Traditional Satin Nickel Connected Smart Lock Deadbolt with Z-Wave-700 Feat SmartKey

Internet #318548587

Model #869HC620TRZ715

Store SKU #1007097234

  • Works with Z-Wave 700 and Z-Wave 500 hubs
  • Up to 250 users codes with a 10-button keypad
  • Extended wireless range and battery life

Customer Reviews

  • 4
    out of 41 reviews
  • 64% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 41 reviews
Problem to connect with Kwikset APP, update please
Additting to Kwikset APP not fonctionnal. The guide won't load it's realy a big problem. Must be update...
by
Response from Consumer ServiceJan 30, 2024
Hello Ixs, We're here to help! The Home Connect 620 features Z-Wave technology that only connects to Z-Wave hubs and Security Systems. Some examples of Z-Wave compatible systems are the Samsung SmartThings, Ring Alarm, Wink, and ADT. The Kwikset app only works with the Halo and Aura locks. Should you need any further help, please reach out to our Support Team here: https://www.kwikset.com/support/customer-service Thank you, Kwikset
    Works Flawlessly with my Ring Alarm System!
    I'm glad I ignored the comments here and bought the Kwikset 620 Z-wave to use with my Ring Alarm System. Once I installed the 620 and got the green light after it finished the handing cycle, I was able to set up the 620 lock using the Ring app by entering the alarm tab and going to "set up a device/security/locks/add manually/Z-wave" and then scanning the 620 QR code located behind the battery pack cover. The Ring system immediately recognized the 620 lock and added it to the alarm system with full functionality. I don't understand why this affordable 620 Z-wave lock is not listed in the Ring compatibility list. Mine works as if it were made for the Ring Alarm System.
    by
      • Recommended
      Works like a charm.
      Everything went as planned. I just had an old door so it took a little longer to drill and place the lock and accessories.
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      • Recommended
      Product clicks repeatedly when locking and there are no instructions on how to trouble shoot or configure so it doesn’t do that
      by
      Response from KwiksetFeb 8, 2024
      Hello Judah,

      We're happy to help you resolve this! Please open the door and manually lock the deadbolt. Next, complete the manual door handing process with a fresh set of batteries: https://www.kwikset.com/support/answers/my-smart-lock-is-giving-me-a-jam-error
      In addition, check your door alignment: https://www.kwikset.com/support/answers/how-do-i-check-door-alignment-for-my-smart-lock

      Should you need any additional support, please reach out to us here: https://www.kwikset.com/support/customer-service

      Thank you,
      Kwikset kwikset
      • Verified Purchase
      Garbage
      If I could give this zero stars I would. This product is absolute garbage I have read and tried to reprogram it for 2 hours the only thing I can get it to do it factory reset and program the user code. But then the user code will not work and pressing the lock button will not lock it.
      by
      Response from Consumer ServiceJan 24, 2024
      Hello Noo, We're here to help! To fix this, please try recalibrating the latch with a fresh set of batteries. Here's a link the the Manual Door Handing process video: https://youtu.be/jhE5Nilog54 If the lock is still not responding after trying this step, we are happy to assist you further here: https://www.kwikset.com/support/customer-service Thank you, Kwikset
        Poor security and user experience
        I don't have any Z-Wave powered hubs, so can't use the smart features. Because it's battery powered, it's run out of batteries multiple times where I couldn't get back in or I left the door unlocked inadvertently. The instructions were pretty poor - I had to find videos on YouTube and look through the FAQs to understand how to do things like remove an access code. Worst of all, the security is poor: anyone who has been inside your house can add their own code and enter your house later.
        by
        Response from KwiksetJan 3, 2024
        Hello jongleberry,

        We appreciate your feedback and your experience with our products is very important to us. We would like the opportunity to assist you further with the correct solution. Can you please call our Support Team at 1-800-327-5625? We hope to hear from you soon!

        Thank you,
        Kwikset kwikset
          Does the job without any bells & whistles
          I put this on my Christmas wish-list and Santa obliged me with two of them. I installed the first one on my back door. Everything went well and I was up and running in about 20 minutes, But, as I fiddled around with it I was somewhat disappointed to learn that the overall functionality is average. I did not read too many of the reviews, although it was recommended in its category. It works with my smart home hub, which is a lesser known company but fits well with my idea of a smart home system. But I was disappointed to learn that I could only lock/unlock the deadbolt lock. I could not find out which code was used to manually open the door nor could I set up any lock codes through the hub. The reality is that I didn't do enough research. It's a Kwikset, so I feel secure, I just wish it had a bit more "ease of use."
          by
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            Does what I need it to
            Great dead bolt easy installation had some trouble getting it to work properly but eventually I got it to work. The door orientation was giving me trouble. Setup my lock with my adt alarm system easily.
            by
              • Recommended
              Works great with Ring Alarm
              I have two of these in my house, replaced a couple of Yale smart locks that were going through a set of batteries every 6 weeks. I was able to add them to my Ring alarm very easily, the 620 is on Rings list of supported devices, very happy with both performance and looks of these locks. I have no idea why this lock has such a low rating here when the two 620’s in my house have been just fine and so much better than what I had with the older version of Z-wave.
              by
                Easy to install and set up. Written directions were clear.
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                Does not work with smart things. They say it does but it shows up as a switch. Smart things v3 hub which is latest
                by
                Response from KwiksetOct 26, 2023
                Hello Adrian,

                We're here to help! The Home Connect 620 is compatible with Z-Wave compatible hubs. or security systems to then connect with an app for remote access to the lock. A few examples of Z-Wave compatible systems are the Samsung SmartThings, Ring Alarm, Wink, and ADT. To help you pair your lock, please contact our Support Team here: https://www.kwikset.com/support/customer-service

                Thank you,
                Kwikset kwikset
                • Verified Purchase
                Works Flawlessly with my Ring Alarm System!
                I'm glad I decided to ignore the advice given here and try the Kwikset 620 z-wave lock with my Ring Alarm System for myself. Once I got the lock installed and passed the handing sequence successfully. (It took four or five resets and handing cycles to finally get the green light!) After that I was able to use the Ring App by going into the Alarm tab: "set up a device/security/locks/add manually/Z-wave" then scan the QR Code on the 620. The Ring Alarm System immediately recognized the 620 lock and added it to my system flawlessly! I'm not sure why this affordable lock is not listed as compatible with Ring, because it works with mine as if made for it!
                by
                  by
                  • Verified Purchase
                  by
                  • Verified Purchase
                  It is marketed with z-wave connectivity and says it can...
                  It is marketed with z-wave connectivity and says it can connect to smart-home devices but it won’t connect to a google hub or Alexa hub. You’ll have to buy another completely separate device to allow it to connect
                  by
                  Response from KwiksetJun 21, 2023
                  Hello Jerry,

                  The SmartCode 620 must be paired to a Z-Wave-compatible hub first to use Google Assistant or Alexa app. Once the lock is paired to a Z-Wave hub, you can use the lock remotely through the app that pertains to the system it's paired to. The 620 lock is compatible with the following Z-Wave hubs: SmartThings hub, Wink, Honeywell, ADT Alarm, Vera, Vivint, or Ring Alarm System. We also have a team of lock experts here to assist you with anything from installation, to troubleshooting, to warranty support when needed. Should you need assistance, we ask that you please call our Support Team at 1-800-327-5625.

                  Thank you,
                  Kwikset kwikset
                  • Verified Purchase
                  I bought this lock to add to an existing system....
                  I bought this lock to add to an existing system. It’s the 2nd one we have. Installation was very easy. Has some trouble connecting but learned it was too far away for initial set up. Once I took it closer to the main panel it worked perfectly.
                  by
                  • Verified Purchase
                  Nice idea but did not meet expectations. Started malfunctioning after...
                  Nice idea but did not meet expectations. Started malfunctioning after 2nd or 3rd use on day 2. Have kept it locked (no use) ever since then and battery has been blinking to be replaced for weeks now. It’s okay but disappointing especially considering the price. Was going to purchase for back door as well but I won’t now
                  by
                  Response from KwiksetApr 27, 2023
                  Hello Amber,

                  We appreciate your feedback and your experience with our products is very important to us. To better understand what you are experiencing and assist in finding the best solution for you, we’d like to gather additional details. We ask that you please contact our Support Team at 1-800-327-LOCK (5625). We hope to hear from you soon!

                  Thank you,
                  Kwikset kwikset
                  • Verified Purchase
                  Instructions to Program Code NOT Correct
                  I purchased and installed this quickly with a baby strapped to my chest crying. The issue is the instructions hardly cover how to program the program code. Followed the instructions to a T and now I'm locked out of the key pad.
                  by
                  Response from KwiksetMar 24, 2023
                  Hello BarLo,

                  We're here to help! To reset and program your 620 deadbolt, please complete the Factory Reset on the lock on Page 18, followed by the Manual Door Handing on Page 19. Next, add a user code on Page 17: https://kwiksetprodstorage.blob.core.windows.net/documents/kw_is_5069371_869[eng-spa].pdf For further support please contact us here: https://www.kwikset.com/support/customer-service

                  Thank you,
                  Kwikset kwikset
                    Very happy with purchase. The 620 works with our...
                    Very happy with purchase. The 620 works with our alarm system that can be operated from Apple Watch and iPhone. Includes entry key pad and smart lock deadbolt that is keyed to match our other entry doors. The satin nickel finish matched our existing door hardware very well.
                    by
                    • Verified Purchase
                    1 found this review helpful
                    Works as long as you don't mind constant beeping
                    So this is the 2nd replacement I have recieved as my original lock is no longer an option. I have followed all of the installation instructions and called support and we still have beeping. Just random consecutive beeping. The lock works kinda. Followed all the troubleshooting instructions and now I have the same beeping and it won't communicate with my alarm panel. I have reset it twice. So if you want a smart lock that beeps randomly with 4-5 consecutive beeps constantly throughout the day and doesn't want it to communicate with an alarm panel, this is the lock for you.
                    by
                    Response from Customer CareDec 9, 2022
                    Hello rwynia, We're here to help! To fix the beeping sound, please check your door alignment and that the door jamb hole is at least 1 inch deep for the latch to fully extend into. Next, please ensure you are using name-brand alkaline batteries and perform the manual door-handing process to recalibrate the latch: https://youtu.be/jhE5Nilog54 For further assistance, please call our Support Team at 1-800-327-LOCK (5625). Thank you, Kwikset
                      by
                      • Verified Purchase
                      Best investment and the convenience is amazing. My only...
                      Best investment and the convenience is amazing. My only regret I waited too long to get one. Highly recommend…paid to have it installed but definitely worth it….
                      by
                      • Verified Purchase
                      Works great, programming instructions need update
                      Lock replaced Kwikset WiFi model, straight forward replacement, works beautifully. Instructions for Auto-Handing were clear, lock did not do what instructions said, called customer support, they agreed that some models are not following what the instructions say exactly. Easy fix, support stayed on the line to ensure connection to smart hub and individual code programming were seamless. This lock has already saved us while on travel and house sitter was injured, friends given individual codes they could use had no problems entering and exiting.
                      by
                      • Verified Purchase
                      • Recommended
                      by
                      • Verified Purchase
                      1 found this review helpful
                      Ring integration is a joke, save money.
                      It says it works with Ring alarm. It connects, you can unlock/lock sometimes. That's it. Nothing more. Lock/unlock status is glitchy so can't trust whether it's really locked or unlocked. Connection constantly dropped. If you contact Ring they will say this is not under their compatible lock list. So you have to add it manually and this is what you get.
                      by
                      Response from KwiksetSep 29, 2022
                      Hello SHJJ,

                      Your experience with our products is very important to us. The Ring Alarm System will connect directly to this Z-Wave lock. Please follow the pairing instructions within the Ring app and check for available features, like adding codes remotely. We also have a team of lock experts here to assist you with anything from installation, to troubleshooting, to warranty support when needed. Should you need assistance, we ask that you please call our Support Team at 1-800-327-5625.

                      Thank you,
                      Kwikset kwikset
                        Works well as Non connected. Z wave is joke
                        Works well as stand alone unit. Connection with Ring is a joke. No status update constant drop connection. And you can only lock and unlock. No other features are accessible through Ring.
                        by
                        Response from Customer CareSep 29, 2022
                        Hello shj, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. The Home Connect 620 lock is not compatible with the Ring Alarm System at this time. For fully compatible Z-Wave locks, please see our SmartCode 910, 914, 916, and Obsidian Z-Wave electronic deadbolts. If there's any further assistance we can provide, we are more than happy to help you at 1-800-327-LOCK (5625). Thank you, Kwikset
                          by
                          • Verified Purchase
                          by
                          • Verified Purchase
                          Love this lock, no keys with kids is the best....
                          Love this lock, no keys with kids is the best. My neighbor brings in packages and I can unlock remotely with my phone. Or if someone forgets yo lock the door, I can do that too!
                          by
                          • Verified Purchase
                          Showing 1-30 of 41 reviews

                          Frequently Bought Together

                          +
                          +
                          Price:
                          $16473

                          Compare Similar Electronic Deadbolts

                          current product
                          Home Connect 620 Keypad 869 Traditional Satin Nickel Connected Smart Lock Deadbolt with Z-Wave-700 Feat SmartKey
                          HALO Venetian Bronze Keypad WiFi Electronic Single-Cylinder Smart Lock Deadbolt featuring SmartKey SecurityHALO Satin Nickel Single-Cylinder Keypad Electronic Smart Lock Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey, Touchscreen and WiFiHALO Venetian Bronze Single-Cylinder Keypad Electronic Smart Lock Deadbolt featuring SmartKey, Touchscreen and WiFi
                          BrandKwiksetKwiksetKwiksetKwikset
                          NameHome Connect 620 Keypad 869 Traditional Satin Nickel Connected Smart Lock Deadbolt with Z-Wave-700 Feat SmartKeyHALO Venetian Bronze Keypad WiFi Electronic Single-Cylinder Smart Lock Deadbolt featuring SmartKey SecurityHALO Satin Nickel Single-Cylinder Keypad Electronic Smart Lock Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey, Touchscreen and WiFiHALO Venetian Bronze Single-Cylinder Keypad Electronic Smart Lock Deadbolt featuring SmartKey, Touchscreen and WiFi
                          Price
                          $16473
                          $18116
                          $19900
                          $19900
                          Ratings
                          (41)
                          (1848)
                          (1944)
                          (1944)
                          FeaturesAdjustable Backset, Automatic Relocking, Delay Timer, Easy Installation, Fail-Safe, Kwikset SmartKey, Low Battery Indicator Light, RekeyableAdjustable Backset, Automatic Relocking, Delay Timer, Easy Installation, Fail-Safe, Kwikset SmartKey, RekeyableAdjustable Backset, Automatic Relocking, Delay Timer, Easy Installation, Kwikset SmartKey, RekeyableAdjustable Backset, Automatic Relocking, Delay Timer, Easy Installation, Fail-Safe, Kwikset SmartKey, Rekeyable
                          Lock TypeDeadboltDeadboltDeadboltDeadbolt
                          Security/ANSI GradeANSI Grade 2 (Better)AAAAAAAAA
                          Deadbolt TypeSingle Cylinder DeadboltSingle Cylinder DeadboltSingle Cylinder DeadboltSingle Cylinder Deadbolt
                          Smart TechnologyKeypad, Z-WaveKeypad, WiFiWiFiWiFi
                          Finish FamilySatin NickelVenetian BronzeSatin NickelVenetian Bronze
                          Works WithAlexa, Alexa, Google, Google AssistantAlexa, Alexa, Google, Google AssistantAlexa, Alexa, Google, Google AssistantAlexa, Alexa, Google, Google Assistant
                          Commercial/ResidentialResidentialResidentialResidentialResidential
                          Door Lock StyleClassicClassicClassicClassic
                          KeywayKW1KW1KW1KW1
                          View ProductView ProductView ProductView Product