No Results Found

Refine by Rating

Customer Images (12)
  • Sky Lights and Blinds
  • September 29, 2014
  • Recommended Product

My wife and I decided to replace old sky lights while new roofing was replaced. We also decided to install blinds. Several reviews indicated difficulty to assemble and install the blinds. One in particular indicated extreme difficulty to assemble and install after sky light was in place. Based on that one review, we almost decided not to buy the blinds. But the blinds looked "cool". My wife wanted them. We were going to hire someone to install the blinds. We purchased the blinds and associated "trays". Most of the time we are D.I.Y. (Do It Yourselfers). We opened the boxes and found the plans and instructions were easy to read. We decided to do it. The first blind took us a little time to put together and install in the sky light ( about 45 minutes). The second blind went in about 15 minutes. The roofers were familiar with the Home Depot sky lights and blinds. They told us that we did a fine job. They installed the sky lights easily. Oh, I forgot to tell you my wife is 83 years young, and I am 87.

Pros Energy Efficient, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Beautiful Appearance, Lots of Features, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Great Detail
  • DIY

Tony

Tacoma, WA 984454, USA
65 or over, Male
38 out of 38 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Tony
  • Great replacement for a bubble style skylight
  • March 03, 2013
  • Recommended Product

We bought these skylights to replace the plastic style skylights with the aluminum flange that screw into the roof. We had so much trouble with the old ones leaking. These were a bit more involved as you have to make a wooden frame (or your husband does!) for them to sit on. The instructions explain what size to make the frame and once this was done (about a morning's work), the skylights drop straight on. I love being able to look at the stars at night through the clear glass (the old ones had white translucent plastic panels). They're easy to clean and the low E glass keeps the room warmer in winter and cooler in the summer. We'll probably buy the skylight blinds sometime this year.

Pros Energy Efficient, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Functional, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Fit Cons Quality, some dents in the metal frames
  • DIY

13thJuror

Los Angeles, CA, USA
55 to 64, Female
26 out of 26 people found this helpful
more details...
By: 13thJuror
  • Good replacement for plastic domes skylights
  • October 22, 2012
  • Recommended Product

We re-roofed our home earlier this year and removed three of the aluminum framed plastic dome skylights that we'd had all sorts of trouble with leaking. The roofer recommended that we raise the skylight 4-6" above the roof level so we built a frame from 2" x 10". Making the framing was the most difficult part, but the instructions indicate what dimensions to build the frame. Once the framed kerb was mounted to the roof deck, fitting the skylights was simple. My only complaint is that QA at Velux is hit and miss since despite being well packaged in carboard and styrofoam inserts, the metal frame of the skylight was dented on a couple of corners, requiring me to straighten it back out before it would mount properly on the kerb. Once fitted, the skylights work very well and the temperature difference in our rooms in both winter and summer is noticeable.

Pros Energy Efficient, Easy to Install, Good Size & Fit Cons Quality, metal frame was dented on 2 out of 3 units
  • Top 50 Contributor
  • DIY

LosRubios

Agua Dulce, CA
45 to 54, Male
11 out of 11 people found this helpful
more details...
By: LosRubios
  • Very good product, easy to install, cost effective. Strongly recommend it to replace plastic lights!
  • April 28, 2015
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

Bought these to replace old plastic ski lights. I also bought the flashing and curb installation kits that go with them (strongly recommended!). To install them properly you will need to strip the shingles down to the deck and install the step flashing integrating with the new shingles. I consider myself handy and it was no problem. The actual sky light installs on top of the opening and flashing system in less than 10 minutes. I would plan on 4 hours to replace the light assuming your deck and curbing are in good shape. If its a new opening, it will take longer as you will have some carpentry work to do.

Pros Energy Efficient, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
  • DIY

ASW123

Murrells Inlet, SC
45 to 54, Male
11 out of 11 people found this helpful
more details...
By: ASW123
  • Great upgrade from traditional acrylic bubble skylights...
  • October 29, 2013
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

I was pleasantly surprised at just how easy this skylight was to install. It is very well made, attractive and efficient. I spoke with Velux before ordering to determine the proper size to replace my old acrylic bubble skylights. FYI: the sizes in the description are the measurements of the glass opening in the skylight not the outside dimensions. Overall I am exteremely pleased with this product!

Pros Energy Efficient, Beautiful Appearance, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Easy to Install

Video & Photo

  • DIY

scubaok

Edmond, OK
25 to 34, Male
10 out of 10 people found this helpful
more details...
By: scubaok
  • Wow just wow easy install
  • June 12, 2016
  • Recommended Product

I am amazed how easy this skylight was to install. I replaced my "bubble" type plastic ones that came with this house. These are an easy plug and play it even says it on the box. . All I did extra was a bit of weather stripping on my curb to stop any air that may try and sneak in during our frequent wind storms. I love their weight the most. Just dropped on it feels you wouldn't need to do anything else. I did like the YouTube vid said and had my helper push down on them while I drilled the screws in. They snugged right in with a great seal. They are a HUGE improvement over the old plastic bubble ones. I just wish I had done it sooner.

Pros Beautiful Appearance, Easy to Install, Energy Efficient, High Quality, Well Made
  • DIY

Couver

Oak Harbor, Wa
45 to 54, Male
8 out of 8 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Couver
  • Replacement of existing unit, no problem.
  • September 16, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

I used this to replace another skylight and it was one of the few available that would work with the existing curb. Installation was a breeze other than having to remake part of the light well due to a slight difference the old one and this new one. This is a manually opening model. One small negative is that it takes 35 cranks to fully open the Velux. The old one took 18. It seems this one does open a bit farther though, so it's a fair trade. My one and only complaint is that Velux does not offer this skylight, indeed any other the VCM models, with a manual shade of any sort. If you want a Velux shade (which was the reason I sought out Velux originally) you must buy an electric model with remote control that costs nearly as much or more than the actual skylight. To me, an electric shade, or for that matter an electrically opening skylight, is just one more thing to go wrong. My actual curb dimensions are 26" X 38" which are a bit larger than the stated size for this unit, but it fit with no difficulty. Otherwise, it is a great product which I'm hopeful will give many years of service.

Pros Energy Efficient, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Functional, Fits in Various Rooms, Well Made, High Quality
  • DIY

Carlo

Independence, OR
55 to 64, Male
8 out of 8 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Carlo
  • Very Good Skylight
  • August 13, 2013
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

The Velux skylight is easy to install. No leaks. The installation kit is essential: without it, there is no rain protection.

Pros Well Made, Good Size & Fit
  • Pro

WizardofWid

Frankfort, KY 40601, USA
65 or over, Male
8 out of 8 people found this helpful
more details...
By: WizardofWid
  • skylight is great
  • December 07, 2011
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

i'd recommend this to anyone looking for a cheap replacement. know that it does not come with a crank handle that was 32.00 with shipping.

PAhomeowner1

45 to 54, Male
8 out of 8 people found this helpful
more details...
By: PAhomeowner1
  • Window works as described. Mine came with a split gasket inside the window. I reached out to Velu...
  • April 25, 2017

Window works as described. Mine came with a split gasket inside the window. I reached out to Velux about the issue and have not received an adequate answer as to what should be done after nearly a month. So as with a lot of companies, I will now have to follow up with them again. . The customer service rep could not answer my question which was then forwarded to the QC department which has not responded. Seems like a good product overall but I don't know if the same can be said of the company.

Video & Photo

Robert

6 out of 6 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Robert