#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for Backyard Discovery 8 ft. x 8 ft. Prefab Wooden Storage Shed with Floor Decking, Shingles and All Hardware Included

Internet #301948102

Model #817210011com

  • Easy DIY project, installation not included online
  • One hammer, one drill, one person, one day
  • Arrives curbside in our patent pending self-contained crate

Customer Reviews

  • 3.8
    out of 58 reviews
  • 87% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 58 reviews
Soooo, Great shed in the end, however, it took some effort to end with that result. The joist ma...
Soooo, Great shed in the end, however, it took some effort to end with that result. The joist material, uhhh waaaarpy (spelled it that way with purpose, oh and see photo) substitute material was required and a combination of Redwood 4x4 and pressure treated 2x4 and 3/4 one side sanded exterior plywood resulted in a proper base for the shed. The remaining construction of the shed was highly successful based upon this early and 120$ decision. I could upgrade to recommend status if some of the non-discretionary purchases were to be compensated 120ish. I have a foundational belief that the “organization”, in this case Home Depot, should be in the “know”! and thus attempt to test each product and to build each product kit it markets, more importantly to master that products interactions or possible interactions with the customers. In this way, the “organization” will be positioned such that vendors/suppliers may be challenged with respect to quality, functionality, safety, innovation, usability, durability, and price point. This process should be systematic and relentless. If someone bothers to read this, I relish the opportunity to discuss the topic further. And so in conclusion, the product is adequate when augmented, however, has the potential in the current market, to wow the customer. And why not do that in a competitive market!
by
    Very good value - relatively easy installation
    ingeniously engineered from a packaging standpoint, took about 3 hours too unpackage, could have been much less however the packaging screws were broken in numerous areas which necessitated vice grips to extract.... the quality of the wood is certainly not a- grade but it is only a shed... no tar paper under payment for roofing...weird... instructions easy to understand.. leveling took about 2 hours... construction took about 3 hours... roof about the same as I used after market cedar roof.. fitment overall very good.. Very nice looking end result.. just have patients...
    by
      • Recommended
      This is pretty easy product to put together. I went with this over the plastic or aluminum sheds...
      This is pretty easy product to put together. I went with this over the plastic or aluminum sheds because those bend or dent really easily. No big issues building it, only had to re drill two holes that didn't line up. I have had this for two weeks and looks like it should last a really long time. This took about 8 hours to build and paint with one helper. I am happy with this product and would recommend.
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      • Recommended
      1 found this review helpful
      Arrived undamaged and placed where I wanted it. Pretty straightforward to build but you do have t...
      Arrived undamaged and placed where I wanted it. Pretty straightforward to build but you do have to follow the instructions exactly as they are given. There is a reason it has to fit together per directions. Turned out very nice
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      • Recommended
      2 found this review helpful
      backyard discovery 8x8 shed
      This is a great product. I was able to put it together in minimal time almost by myself, my son did helped me out a little. The instructions are to the point and easy to understand. Its a great looking shed, i am extremely happy with the choice, the quality of the material is just excelent for the price, love it.
      by
      Response from BYDSalesSep 20, 2017
      Hi Jrdeme, We are pleased to hear that you are happy with your new outdoor Ready Shed and that your installation was a breeze! Thank you for your great review! BackyardDiscovery
        • Recommended
        6 found this review helpful
        Great product. I was amazed by the quality of the materials and how easy it was to put everything...
        Great product. I was amazed by the quality of the materials and how easy it was to put everything together. It took myself and one other person 1.5 days and that includes the extra (and highly recommended) step of painting all the siding and trim. We did end up being a few shingles short though a quick trip to the home improvement store and we were back in business. Once we squared up the roof we did have to rehang the door (or rather the trim piece the door hangs on) but again, this was not a huge deal and it was quickly remedied. The kit comes with everything including TWO bits for driving in the wood screws! They are also high quality bits that don't feel like they will break at the slightest tweak of the wrist. The included instructions are well written and the pictures make it easy to understand how the shed goes together. I would recommend painting all trim pieces before they go up, like the instructions say. I would also recommend unscrewing the doors and door trim from the panel in order to paint them. One other note, the shingles were numbered but the instructions didn't line up with the numbering scheme. It was easy to figure out which shingles go where and this wasn't a big issue. I love this shed and am definitely recommending. This is the kind of shed that will last years and years. This would be a great investment and one would be hard pressed to purchase these high quality materials separately, let alone all the design and forethought that goes in to creating a shed by yourself. 5 stars!
        by
          • Recommended
          8 found this review helpful
          its not completely finished yet...Quality is ok.. some boards was...
          its not completely finished yet...Quality is ok.. some boards was warped.. no time to return them for new. When the delivered crate was opened there was a rush of BUGS that ran all over..this concerns me. It said it came from Kansas city.. but I dunno. I think they need to spray a shot of bug spray before crate is assembled.... I am so not happy about that
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          4 Star Review
          Rating provided by a verified purchaser
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          5 Star Review
          Rating provided by a verified purchaser
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          Half the screws in where broken off. Trimm was not cut right
          Half the screws in where broken off. Trimm was not cut right
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          • Recommended
          Many warped parts
          Had this shed less than a year. When it arrived it had 5 warped pieces of wood. I had to go to the store and buy to replace..
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          This shed will take you a good 12 hours to put together. Probably less with 2 people. With one pe...
          This shed will take you a good 12 hours to put together. Probably less with 2 people. With one person it's kind of hard to install the door and back section because of the height. Everything went together fine, but when unpacking, some of the floor joists were pretty bowed (went and bought new pieces) and one of the 4x4 runners was too. No big deal with that. Also the larger pieces of the roof sheathing were deformed with the way it's strapped together. I used additional screws when installing the sheathing and it flattened out ok. Instructions were easy to follow and the kit is complete. You will want to have it delivered, it comes on a pallet about 4x4x8 feet high, so it's top heavy. I bought this shed because I got a good deal on it and the original metal shed I bought never showed up. Now that is all put together I'm really glad I went back with wood. Nice and solid, good design. It's best to take your time and don't worry about spreading it out over a few days to install.
          by
            • Recommended
            First, the shed delivery took over a week after it...
            First, the shed delivery took over a week after it arrived in Columbus.Then, a few items in the package were subpar or damaged, i.e., one of the vents was crushed and one of the 4x4s looks like a pretzel twist so there no way I can use it as a base for the shed.
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            If you think you can get this up in one...
            If you think you can get this up in one day by yourself, think again. This is a project. It took me 3-4 hours just to unpack it. Instructions are pretty good. I was able to follow them with only a few errors. This is more of a two day build and having an extra set of hands really helps.
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            it aint like Ikea
            This was so easy to build, did it in one day with a not so handy helper. painted it the next day. best to paint all the trim before you install. all components fit nicely and the instructions were easy to follow, unlike IKEA. all quality materials, the trim is cedar, so be sure to prime it first. Awesome! also the truck driver was awesome, earned himself a nice tip>
            by
              • Recommended
              Had a few problems along the way with putting this...
              Had a few problems along the way with putting this kit together. There were some pretty warped boards, we were short 4 shingles, and the doors needed to have some tweaking. (They we’re put together rather poorly before being shipped out).
              by
              Response from BYDSalesApr 23, 2018
              Kelli, we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. Please contact us directly at (800) 856-4445. We can send you any replacement pieces that you may need. Thank you for your feedback. BackyardDiscovery
              • Verified Purchase
              assembly was more difficult than thought -- required three people....
              assembly was more difficult than thought -- required three people. After shipment across country, some pieces were a bit warped and required adjustment to get the holes aligned. Plywood on roof had holes. To make the roof more waterproof, had to buy tar paper to place under the shingles, then patch the holes from inside.
              by
              Response from BYDSalesApr 19, 2018
              We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. Please understand you can reach out to us directly at (800) 856-4445 for any issue you have or replacement pieces. We want to make sure you are 100% satisfied with your purchase. Thank you for your feedback. BackyardDiscovery
              • Verified Purchase
              When the shipment arrived some of the floor/roof pieces had...
              When the shipment arrived some of the floor/roof pieces had damaged corners. There were a bunch of screws that had the heads broken off and had to be removed with pliers. The overall quality of the wood is pretty bad. That said, it was easy to build and looks pretty good. You get what you pay for
              by
              Response from BYDSalesApr 17, 2018
              Scott, thank you for your feedback. Please contact us directly at (800) 856-4445 so we may provide any replacement parts that you need. BackyardDiscovery
              • Verified Purchase
              This is a pretty clever system, but there's no way...
              This is a pretty clever system, but there's no way 1 person is putting this together in 1 day unless you're superman. You at least need a 2nd pair of hands to position the walls and hold them steady while connecting them. That said, this is a fairly well thought out system!
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              I like the shed however it has been pretty difficult...
              I like the shed however it has been pretty difficult to put together. One of the 2x4s was split in different places and the roofing did not match up to the frame. It's also not so easy to paint. I like the shed overall but not worth the $1500 I paid for it.
              by
              Response from BYDSalesApr 4, 2018
              Hi RC, Please contact directly at (800) 856-4445 if you are having issues with your shed so we can send replacement parts if needed. BackyardDiscovery
              • Verified Purchase
              What a great project! Put it together by myself ...
              What a great project! Put it together by myself
              by
              Response from BYDSalesMar 26, 2018
              Hi, Thanks for the great review! BackyardDiscovery
              • Verified Purchase
              first one came destroyed and the second one came damaged....
              first one came destroyed and the second one came damaged. very poor process.
              by
              Response from BYDSalesMar 22, 2018
              Thank you for providing this feedback. We apologize for your poor experience. Please reach out to Backyard Discovery directly to see if we can help. (800) 856-4445. BackyardDiscovery
              • Verified Purchase
              Easy to assemble...
              Easy to assemble
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              Arrived with one piece damaged! Still waiting for replacement part. Not assembled...
              Arrived with one piece damaged! Still waiting for replacement part. Not assembled yet.
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              This was a good product for the money. Have to be very careful unpacking the crate as the constr...
              This was a good product for the money. Have to be very careful unpacking the crate as the construction material is also the packing material. I had a bad delivery experience as the local contracted delivery company could not fit in truck standing up straight. It was delivered on it's side which causes a huge problem unpacking it as it is designed to be unpacked standing straight up. It is so heavy that there was no way even 4 guys could lift it to stand up.
              by
                • Recommended
                The shed was easy to put together. It is important...
                The shed was easy to put together. It is important to pre paint the walls and trim during assembly. Following directions is critical. Most of the negative reviews appear to be related to not following instructions properly. A couple of roof panels were damaged during delivery.
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                Some of the woods were broken so that means I...
                Some of the woods were broken so that means I have to buy some parts to replace them.
                by
                Response from BYDSalesMar 12, 2018
                We are very sorry for the inconvenience. However before you purchase new parts please reach out to us directly so we can send you replacements free of charge. BackyardDiscovery
                • Verified Purchase
                The Product was shipped right but the over all of the individual parts was not the best ... cause...
                The Product was shipped right but the over all of the individual parts was not the best ... cause of light dqamage to some piece's and also some pieces that were prefabucated were also not done right ... so had to go back and correct some of the mistakes made from it.. to make sure that it would last and not fall apart..
                by
                Response from BYDSalesMar 12, 2018
                Hi Eugene, Thank you making us aware of your experience. Our goal is to ensure you are happy with your end product. Please contact directly at (800) 856-4445 so we can help correct any issues. BackyardDiscovery
                  • Recommended
                  2 found this review helpful
                  For the price it is a good value. Does not compare to my current Tuff-Shed in quality. However, T...
                  For the price it is a good value. Does not compare to my current Tuff-Shed in quality. However, Tuff-Shed was over twice the price. Screw bag identification did not match the instructions and some screws were missing. Not a big deal. Some of the sheeting was not cut to proper size which I cut down. Biggest complain was the claim that one person can complete the assemble in one day. Not possible unless you have put many together before. Highly recommend a helper and plan on several weekends to complete the shed. I was an industrial arts instructor so I am no newby to construction work. That said, I would still buy one again if needed. Time will tell if it is going to hold up in my snow country.
                  by
                  • Verified Purchase
                  • Recommended
                  Every thing was included!!! Looks great....
                  Every thing was included!!! Looks great.
                  by
                  • Verified Purchase
                  Showing 1-30 of 58 reviews