#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for Backyard Discovery 8 ft. x 8 ft. Prefab Wooden Storage Shed with Floor Decking, Shingles and All Hardware Included

Internet #301948102

Model #817210011com

  • Easy DIY project, installation not included online
  • One hammer, one drill, one person, one day
  • Arrives curbside in our patent pending self-contained crate

Customer Reviews

  • 3.8
    out of 58 reviews
  • 87% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 58 reviews
Missing parts and warped pices. ...
Missing parts and warped pices.
by
  • Verified Purchase
Many pieces of the wood were worked. Also for...
Many pieces of the wood were worked. Also for easier assemble it would be helpful if you’re going to name the pieces in the book to also put that on the pieces in the kit
by
  • Verified Purchase
It was easy to install and every facet of the...
It was easy to install and every facet of the building was clear, precise and easy to follow. I would recommend this process to anyone who has the basic skills to read and follow directions, basic tools, and can apply them in the process. My new shed had many surprises when building it. The shelf in the back of the shed, the locking system, the angled brackets and even the leveling blocks were all included. Thank you for the thought process put into this item which made it great for the do-it-yourself person.
by
Response from BYDSalesJan 23, 2018
James, we very happy to hear that you love your new Ready Shed. Thank you for the great review. BackyardDiscovery
  • Verified Purchase
2 found this review helpful
NO...several warped wooden parts. Additional brackets and parts had to...
NO...several warped wooden parts. Additional brackets and parts had to be purchased to make structure complete due to flaws
by
Response from BYDSalesJan 18, 2018
We are very sorry to hear about your experience. Please contact our consumer services team at (800) 856-4445 so we can help remedy any issues that remain. In the future, please contact us first so we can get any damaged pieces to you ASAP at no additional charge. BackyardDiscovery
  • Verified Purchase
1 found this review helpful
Shed was exactly what i expected!!
Shed was exactly what i expected!!
by
  • Verified Purchase
  • Recommended
Two 2x4s were warped as was a 4x4 and another small board. We were able to pound them into submis...
Two 2x4s were warped as was a 4x4 and another small board. We were able to pound them into submission. It took about five hours with three guys building and another interpreting the hieroglyphics that they called instructions. Overall it came together well and seems like it will hold up.
by
  • Verified Purchase
  • Recommended
1 Star Review
Rating provided by a verified purchaser
by
Response from BYDSalesJan 17, 2018
Hello, We see that you are unsatisfied with your purchase of a Backyard Discovery Ready Shed. Our goal is to make sure our customers are happy with what they have received. Please reach out to our consumer services team at (800) 856-4445 to see if we can help resolve any issues you may be having with your shed. Thank you for sharing. BackyardDiscovery
  • Verified Purchase
Missing parts...
Missing parts
by
Response from BYDSalesJan 16, 2018
Hi Chris, I apologize for the missing parts and an delays this may have caused. Please reach out to us at (800) 856-4445 so we can get replacement parts to you as soon as possible. BackyardDiscovery
  • Verified Purchase
We finally had some nice weather to put our shed...
We finally had some nice weather to put our shed together. The instructions were great and it went together with out any problems. All we had to do is shave some off the doors so they would close good. We love our new shed.
by
  • Verified Purchase
Easy to assemble. Some of the 2x4’s were warped
Easy to assemble. Some of the 2x4’s were warped
by
Response from BYDSalesJan 11, 2018
Hi, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that your assembly process was an easy one. Please note if you have any issues with any of your pieces you can always contact Backyard Discovery for assistance with receiving a replacement. BackyardDiscovery
  • Verified Purchase
  • Recommended
Decent shed for the price which (especially the sale price I paid), but as others have said it's ...
Decent shed for the price which (especially the sale price I paid), but as others have said it's more of a 12 hour project not including paint or site prep, and there are a few points where you will need a second pair of hands to do things well, so a little misleading on the advertising here. The Good: Much of the material is of good quality. The pre-assembled components are well built and don't require extra work or fixing. The hardware included is mostly of good quality and easy to use (minus some of the cheap finishing screws which strip easy) and there is plenty of it so you don't have to worry about running out. The instructions are pretty straight forward. Overall it is very nice looking and fits more stuff than I imagined. All in all, it's probably one of the best sheds available for the price. We'll see how it holds up in the wet pacific northwest. The Bad: The shipping was slow and impossible to track (tracking links on HD website and mobile app did nothing), it missed the promise window entirely but HD customer service was great and refunded the cost. Some of the material came warped, especially the OSB for the roofing/floor which makes up the exterior of the shipping "crate" as well as most of the 2x4's for the floor and 4x4 base pieces but were still usable. The shipping crate itself was a bit of a nightmare to disassemble; more than half of the screws holding it together were rusted, stripped, or broken making the process take at least twice as long as it should have. A small section (3"x3") of the siding was compromised and looks like it was patched prior to shipment. Only one of the two required vents was actually included (but HD had the exact same vent for 2 bucks). A couple of the trim pieces were not quite the right size or had bad pilot holes. The shingles included were very brittle (typical of asphalt), many tore while putting the roof on, including a few extra would have gone a long way.
by
Response from BYDSalesJan 8, 2018
Hi, Thank you for sharing your purchase experience. We encourage you to reach out to our consumer services team for anything you may need. You can reach us at (800) 856-4445. We are very happy that you are satisfied with your new shed. BackyardDiscovery
    • Recommended
    Great shed, came as advertised...
    Great shed, came as advertised
    by
    Response from BYDSalesJan 8, 2018
    Hi Mike, Thank you for the great review. BackyardDiscovery
    • Verified Purchase
    Was a lot more difficult to put together. ...
    Was a lot more difficult to put together.
    by
    Response from BYDSalesJan 8, 2018
    Hi Chris, Like all wood construction projects, assembly time can vary greatly depending on skill set, number of helpers, time availability, etc. If there are specific issues that may help us improve in the future, please let us know. Thank you for sharing your experience. BackyardDiscovery
    • Verified Purchase
    1 found this review helpful
    Disappointed in quality of wood for base. Lumber not...
    Disappointed in quality of wood for base. Lumber not straight at all, green & crooked. Difficult to put together Much tweaking to line up properly. Not all panels line up exact-lots of adapting to bring seams together for tight fit. Roofing plywood cut short. Had to fill in with additional pieces not part of kit.
    by
    Response from BYDSalesDec 29, 2017
    Hi Carol, We are very sorry to hear that your are not 100% satisfied with your purchase. We would love to see how we can improve your experience. Please reach out to our customer services team at (800) 856-4445 to see how we can assist with some of your issues. Thank you for sharing with us so we can help make this better you. BackyardDiscovery
    • Verified Purchase
    1 found this review helpful
    All good and exactly what it says!
    I ordered this for my uncle and it delivered to him just like he product said and looked like. I would recommend it
    by
      • Recommended
      Overall very good product. Came as stated except was missing a star bit for the screws, and missi...
      Overall very good product. Came as stated except was missing a star bit for the screws, and missing a package of screws. Luckily, I had some that worked. I planned ahead and used the osb floor boards for shelving and installed treated plywood for the floor. Installed it this past weekend and went together easy in a day and a half. Wish the shingles were slightly longer for a bit more overhang than only 1/4", even the directions said 1/2". There were a few extra various screws and shingles.
      by
      Response from BYDSalesDec 27, 2017
      Hi, Thank you for letting us know about your assembly experience. We apologize for any inconvenience the missing screws and bit may have caused. We will be sure to have this issue fixed in the future. Please note your Ready Shed comes with a quality warranty, be sure to let us know if you have any issues at (800) 856-4445. Thanks for your review. BackyardDiscovery
      • Verified Purchase
      • Recommended
      3 Star Review
      Rating provided by a verified purchaser
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      It is complicated to assemble Need Construction experience to build...
      It is complicated to assemble Need Construction experience to build
      by
      Response from BYDSalesDec 26, 2017
      Hi Ronald, Thank you for sharing your experience. Please understand, due to the size and quality of our Ready Sheds, assembly time can vary based on skill level and your number of helpers. We hope once it is completed you will be fully satisfied with your new outdoor shed. Please let us know if you have any issues as all of our products come with a warranty package. BackyardDiscovery
      • Verified Purchase
      1 found this review helpful
      all good, easy to build. the only issue we had...
      all good, easy to build. the only issue we had was with the shipper because one board was damaged but we were able to use it. It was one of the outside boards that went on the room.
      by
      Response from BYDSalesNov 21, 2017
      HI Sheryl, Thank you for the great review. Please understand if you have any issues at all (even if it is due to the delivery carrier) we will be happy to help remedy the issue. Contact us at (800) 856-4445 if you have any issue now or in the future. BackyardDiscovery
      • Verified Purchase
      I do like the shed but the boards that were...
      I do like the shed but the boards that were the support for the base were all unuseable do to being warped and I had to purchase replacements. Also, we had to make adjustments for a concrete pad that I had setup prior to the purchase and construction. And I think that 2 people putting up this shed in one day may have had to work 12 hours to do it.. unless everything went perfectly without issues. it took 2 people at least 12 hours to put together my shed and we had issues with the warped boards and wanted to secure the shed to the concrete pad which took time as well. But overall, I am pleased with the size, shape, interior and exterior of the shed and after having painted it a couple of coats expect that it will last me a very long time.
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      1 found this review helpful
      Overall good product for the money. A few things needed...
      Overall good product for the money. A few things needed tweaking. The doors were hung a little off and had a eyesore of a gap, but was easy to fix. A few boards were warped but usable. They give you just enough shingles to do the job so don't throw any away unless damaged beyond repair. I am happy with the quality of all materials.
      by
      Response from BYDSalesOct 30, 2017
      Hi Russell, We are pleased to hear you are happy with your new Ready Shed. Please do not hesitate to contact our customer service department if you notice any issues with your product. We would be happy to send you replacement pieces or file a warranty claim if needed. Thank you for the good review. BackyardDiscovery
      • Verified Purchase
      1 found this review helpful
      As the wood does come a little warped, much better quality then the 2x3 shed I have that is very ...
      As the wood does come a little warped, much better quality then the 2x3 shed I have that is very similar. The shed is a no brainer to put together and can be done with one person. I had the shed delivered as it was suppose to be between 9-12 came at four. As I would usually be annoyed the truck/delivery guy was awesome and a beast. Pushed the shed on cart up my driveway highly impressed had to be a football player as my driveway is rough to walk up plus a thousand pounds! Earned a tip! Good experience
      by
        • Recommended
        Parts missing, warped boards were unusable. I would not buy...
        Parts missing, warped boards were unusable. I would not buy another shed from this manufacturer.
        by
        Response from BYDSalesOct 19, 2017
        Hi BB,

        We are very sorry to hear of your issues with your Ready Shed. Please know that our sheds come with warranty. We would be happy to discuss getting you replacement parts and/or material. You can contact our customer service department at (800) 856-4445 to assist you as soon as possible. Thank you for letting us know and giving us the opportunity to help. BackyardDiscovery
        • Verified Purchase
        3 found this review helpful
        DON'T BUY THIS !! Take it from someone who just spend $4000 to install this shed. A) The dimensi...
        DON'T BUY THIS !! Take it from someone who just spend $4000 to install this shed. A) The dimensions in the Home depot website does not match with the shed. Example - sidewall height = 80" but actually 5' 8" B ) The instruction manual is written by someone who has no sense of building code. It comes with no felt or underlayment and does not even mention that you need to buy and put one up yourself. Any person with minimum experience will know this.
        by
        Response from BYDSalesOct 13, 2017
        We are very sorry you had a bad experience with your ready shed. We hope that you give Backyard Discovery another chance in the future. BackyardDiscovery
          2 found this review helpful
          Quality Product at an Affordable Price
          Pros: -Relatively inexpensive -Overall the directions were pretty clear (see con below) -Product is made of good quality -Shipping came quickly Cons: -Our package came damaged; the truck it arrived on was too small to get the package out and the top part, which included pieces making up the roof broke and we had to glue them back together. -The parts were not numbered - as some of the directions indicated. The screws and nails should have been better labeled- I felt like I was cracking the Da Vinci Code and we definitely used the wrong screws/nails at the wrong times. -This is NOT a one person, one day job. We needed at least one or two other people as the pieces are heavy, and in order to assemble properly - you need one or two people to hold the adjoining pieces in place. Overall, we'd buy it again but it's not as easy as it's made out to be.
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          • Recommended
          An outstanding kit! Everything included. Goes together easily...
          An outstanding kit! Everything included. Goes together easily with only a few tools. High quality!! A pleasure to put together. Well worth the cost.
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          2 found this review helpful
          THIS SHED WAS VERY EASY TO PUT TOGETHER EVEN WITH ONE PERSON, I RECOMMEND THIS QUALITY PRODUCT.
          THIS SHED WAS VERY EASY TO PUT TOGETHER EVEN WITH ONE PERSON, I RECOMMEND THIS QUALITY PRODUCT.
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          • Recommended
          2 found this review helpful
          Easy to build
          This shed is advertised as able to be put together in 1 day by 1 person with a drill and a hammer. That proved completely true! I worked on this last weekend for approximately 7.5 hours including a long lunch break but not including painting. The delivery company put it in my driveway and I was able to take it apart and carry each piece to my backyard with no problem. My 7 year old son helped me lay out the floor joists but then I was pretty much on my own so it is totally doable by one person. I've only had it complete for a short time but it appears to be sturdy and well made. It is more attractive than I would have expected for a DIY product. If I had to choose one drawback it would be that the "crate" which is really the floor and roof did get a little beat up during transit/delivery but it did not negatively impact the appearance or function. I couldn't be happier with the end product! I received this product in exchange for my honest review.
          by
            Showing 1-30 of 58 reviews