#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for Andersen 2000 Series 36 in. x 80 in. White Universal Full View Interchangeable Aluminum Storm Door with Nickel Hardware

Internet #202528714

Model #20FVN-36WH

Store SKU #791977

  • Prepped for easy installation in about 2 hours
  • Simple Step Closer keeps your door open with a tap of your toe
  • Universal handing accommodates left and right hand installation

Customer Reviews

  • 4.3
    out of 1,667 reviews
  • 80% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 1,667 reviews
Looks great, but.....'
I love the color of my door. I just wish that this color was available with the 3000 series which is why I settle for the 2000 series. After waiting for a month to be delivered, there are flaws with the manufacturing. The molding around the window is peeling. Second the door frame at the corners seems to be separating. Third, the hinge plate that you screw into the frame is not drilled right. the door would not close properly and I seen a few complaints online about this. I found that the screws that attach unit to the door sill were rubbing on the door frame and causing it to not fully close. So I redrilled the screw holes more towards the center and it closes now.
by
    • Recommended
    Horrible door
    Door is very cheaply made and not the correct size. The door is 1/2” smaller than the frame. Wouldn’t latch without adding extra padding under the frame latch!
    by
    Response from AndersenMay 5, 2023
    We sincerely apologize about the size issue. Please call us at 1-855-337-8822 when you are near your door and we will be happy to help. Kindly have the serial number of the storm door ready. You will find it anywhere on the hinge part, on a white or silver sticker. - Charmaine AWEMCOMarketing
      • Recommended
      2 found this review helpful
      Cheap and shoddy manufacture
      This is a light weight door poorly constructed. In the four corners where the frame joins together there are gaps letting in weather, dirt and insects. With time it can only get worse The screen is useless also
      by
      Response from AndersenMay 1, 2023
      We sincerely apologize about the issues with the storm door. Please call us at 1-855-337-8822 when you are near your door and we will be happy to help. Kindly have the serial number of the storm door ready. You will find it anywhere on the hinge part, on a white or silver sticker. - Charmaine AWEMCOMarketing
        2 found this review helpful
        Great storm door for low budgets!
        I installed this door and I had trouble interpreting their illustrations. I finally figured it out and this door is pretty easy to install. I like the fact that it also included a door handle with it which is a plus. The door is made well.
        by
        Response from AndersenOct 27, 2022
        Thank you for your review. We apologize for the inconvenience that you have experienced with the illustrations, but we are happy to learn you are very satisfied with the door. Enjoy your new door! - Noel AWEMCOMarketing
        • Verified Purchase
        • Recommended
        3 found this review helpful
        Meh
        Manufacturing Quality is subpar, better to open in store and check every corner and spot.
        by
        Response from AndersenOct 21, 2022
        Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the inconvenience that you have experienced. Our storm doors are backed by a Limited Warranty. We want to assist you with your concern. Please contact the Andersen Storm Door Solution Center at 855-337-8822 if you need assistance about your door. Please be ready with the serial number when you call. - Noel AWEMCOMarketing
        • Verified Purchase
        1 found this review helpful
        The plastic strips just partially come off
        We've had this happen twice now, where the plastic strips that hold the glass in place will start to come off the door and they'll just hang there. We had to buy the plastic stripping and replace one side, only for the other side to start doing it 6 months later. Once we get the extra money, we're buying a completely different screen door, we hate this one.
        by
        Response from AndersenAug 1, 2022
        We apologize for the inconvenience this might have caused you. We would like to help you with the window retainer, please contact the Andersen Storm Door Solution Center at 855-337-8822. Please be sure to have the serial number handy when you call for faster assistance. –Paul AWEMCOMarketing
          3 found this review helpful
          Made of quality materials and looks great!...
          Made of quality materials and looks great!
          by
          Response from AndersenMay 6, 2022
          We are glad to hear that you are satisfied with the quality and the appearance. Thank you for the perfect rating and for the review. Have a great day! -Paul AWEMCOMarketing
          • Verified Purchase
          Straight forward installation
          Straight forward assembly and installation. Replaced existing door with a white one.
          by
          Response from AndersenApr 6, 2022
          We are pleased to hear the installation went well. Thank you for the excellent rating and for the review. Enjoy your new door and have a good day! -Paul AWEMCOMarketing
          • Verified Purchase
          • Recommended
          1 found this review helpful
          Great door, great price
          This door is very much worth the money we paid. Installation took about 2.5-3 hours, but this was our first time doing a project like this and we wanted to take our time. The door tuned out to be beautiful. I would definitely purchase again if needed. My cats also love it.
          by
          Response from AndersenApr 4, 2022
          Thank you for your feedback and for sharing your installation experience. We are happy to hear you are satisfied with the door. Enjoy your door and have a nice day! - Arnie AWEMCOMarketing
            • Recommended
            2 found this review helpful
            Cheap terrible design
            Cheap junk. The cheap tacky looking plastic that holds the glass broke in 1 yr. I have the same style Larson door and have had no issues after 6 years. I should have bought another Larson but I'm cheap. Shame on me.
            by
            Response from AndersenNov 8, 2021
            Thank you for your question. We are sorry to learn about the broken retainer. We want to assist you with your concern. Please contact our Solution Center at 855-337-8822 from Mondays - Saturdays. Please have the serial number of your door ready when you call. It is located anywhere on the hinge part, in a white or silver sticker. - Irene AWEMCOMarketing
              8 found this review helpful
              Perfect for pet sight lines.
              Wonderful door. I knew the screen would be difficult to change prior to purchasing. However I never intend to since this went on our enclosed front porch. Easier to open the windows. The door latch is great for the dogs. It flips up to prevent then from pulling it down and opening the door on their own.
              by
              Response from AndersenOct 7, 2021
              Thank you for the great rating. It is great to know that you are very satisfied with your new Andersen 2000 Series Fullview Storm Door. Have a great day! - Joseph AWEMCOMarketing
              • Verified Purchase
              • Recommended
              1 found this review helpful
              I love this storm door. It's made really well and looks amazing! I will warn you though. I'm a ...
              I love this storm door. It's made really well and looks amazing! I will warn you though. I'm a visual learner so I searched YouTube for videos on how to install this door and barely found any. One that I did find was very long and in the end he put his hinge in backwards... so beware. It took me, alone, about 5 hours to install it because the directions can be confusing. All I can say is watch as many videos as you can and read the directions very very carefully, then trust the process. When you are done you will be pleased!
              by
              Response from EMCOApr 14, 2021
              Thank you for taking time in posting your review. We apologize for the inconvenience that you have experienced in installing the door, but we are glad to hear you love the door. The advertised timeframe of 2-Hour Easy Install is tested and is based on time-study conducted from different people and skill set. Some outside factors can affect the success of the installation. Thank you for your feedback and review on our product. Have a good day! - Noel AWEMCOMarketing
              • Verified Purchase
              • Recommended
              4 found this review helpful
              Happy with my door
              Happy with my door. Closes nicely and I like that it has a lock.
              by
              Response from EMCOSep 25, 2020
              Thank you for your purchase. We appreciate your feedback. Enjoy your door! - Irene AWEMCOMarketing
                • Recommended
                3 found this review helpful
                Iam very pleased with my storm door.. it’s the best
                Iam very pleased with my storm door.. it’s the best
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                • Recommended
                1 found this review helpful
                This door was very easy to hang, the hardware included in the box was easy to install and the ent...
                This door was very easy to hang, the hardware included in the box was easy to install and the entire end product is beautiful.
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                • Recommended
                2 found this review helpful
                The door is nice looking and works well UNTIL you need to change out the glass for the screen. Be...
                The door is nice looking and works well UNTIL you need to change out the glass for the screen. Before I attempted to make the change, I watched the video which made this seem relatively simple. It was not! I and another person worked for almost an hour to try to make this happen. The retainer strips from the top and bottom came off without too much effort, but the two long side strips were another story. They were either glued or cemented to the door. We tried the method shown in the video but ended up with a torn strip. We could never get off the bottom part of the left strip. The top part torn off as we tried to remove it. And it is still stuck in there now. (See attached picture.) Luckily we pried the glass out and slid the screen in. And although we got the right strip off in one piece, now it will not fit back on the door. After all the struggle with the retainer strips, my door is now scratched/damaged. When I called Customer Service, I was told I should have warmed the strips up with a hair dryer before attemping to remove them-it supposedly makes them pliable. The video should have shown that! The only thing CS offered was to send a replacement kit for the strips. And when I complained about the damage to my door, she also offered to send a paint touch up kit. I'm really disappointed seeing the cost of the door and the price I paid for installation. I recalled during installation, I asked the installer if it was easy to change to the screen - he actually said no, but because it was in November, I decided to leave the glass in. Now he's a professional door installer by trade AND he said it wasn't easy, so you can clearly understand how it was not easy for me. I only wished I had gotten him to do it anyway. This is a DEFECTIVE PRODUCT or at the very least a HORRIBLE DESIGN! Changing out the glass for the screen SHOULD NOT BE THIS HARD!!!
                by
                  25 found this review helpful
                  Looks nice and closes every time.
                  I jut installed this door last night. The place I installed this door is basically a wind channel between the house and the fence and I've lost many storm doors and had many storm door closers damaged by the wind ripping the door open when people don't ensure the door latches. Hopefully that won't be a problem this time, as this door seems to close every time. I've installed a crash chain as well to protect it further. I like how the door latches on a strike plate that Andersen provides that mounts to one of the aluminum trim pieces, and not to a small latch you have to screw into the door frame like older doors do. One critique: Andersen, I installed this door in the "right hinge" configuration, and the instructions provided were confusing on page 9, steps B&C. If I followed the instructions as to how to mount the hinge to the door, the hinge would overhang on the BOTTOM of the door, whereas the instructions said it should overhang on the TOP. However, in the next step (C), it shows the overhang on the BOTTOM of the door. Which is correct?? I installed the hinge so that the overhang was on the bottom of the door and I could compensate for the gap with the adjustable sweep. I've included a picture of what I'm talking about. From one engineer to another, please fix this for customers in the future.
                  by
                  Response from EMCOMay 13, 2020
                  Thank you for your purchase of Andersen storm doors. We apologize for the inconvenience that you have experienced with the installation. The Andersen 2000 Series Fullview Aluminum Storm Door is from bottom to top as indicated on the installation manual. There should be no gap at the bottom. The gap should be at the top and it can be covered using the rain cap and rain cap extender. If you still need assistance about your door, please contact the Andersen Storm Door Solution Center at 855-337-8822. - Noel AWEMCOMarketing
                    • Recommended
                    8 found this review helpful
                    Door was easy to install and great look. Excellent hardware too.
                    Door was easy to install and great look. Excellent hardware too.
                    by
                    Response from AndersenJan 16, 2020
                    Thank you for your feedback and for sharing your installation experience. We are happy to hear you are very satisfied with the door. Have a great day! - Noel Andersen
                    • Verified Purchase
                    • Recommended
                    1 found this review helpful
                    Love this storm door, good quality door and love the nickel hardware it came with. Direction can...
                    Love this storm door, good quality door and love the nickel hardware it came with. Direction can be a little intimidating if you dont know a little about what your doing. Other then that it looks great, opens up the entry and brings in so much light.
                    by
                    Response from EMCOOct 25, 2019
                    Thank you for the perfect rating! - Charmaine AWEMCOMarketing
                    • Verified Purchase
                    • Recommended
                    1 found this review helpful
                    Nice door. Installation took longer because several holes needed to be drilled.
                    Nice door. Installation took longer because several holes needed to be drilled.
                    by
                    Response from AndersenOct 21, 2019
                    We apologize if it took longer for the installation of the door, but we are happy to learn you find the door nice. Should you need assistance in the future about your screen door, please contact the Andersen Solution Center at 855-337-8822. We appreciate your business! - Noel Andersen
                    • Verified Purchase
                    • Recommended
                    3 found this review helpful
                    I liked it so much once I installed one I got another one for my other door. I've only had them a...
                    I liked it so much once I installed one I got another one for my other door. I've only had them about a month, but so far they seem to be performing well. My complaints are that most of the holes were not predrilled and the ones that were had very sharp pieces of metal left behind. This did delay the installation some. Getting it to close and latch at a speed that is good for when the inside door is open or closed isn't the easiest adjustment.
                    by
                    Response from AndersenOct 21, 2019
                    Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced, but we are happy to hear the door is performing well. The Andersen 2000 Series Fullview Storm Door does not come pre-hung and requires drilling of holes when installing the frames. Have a good day! - Noel Andersen
                    • Verified Purchase
                    • Recommended
                    3 found this review helpful
                    Door was easy to install. Even though on sale, it would have been a great buy at regular price. I...
                    Door was easy to install. Even though on sale, it would have been a great buy at regular price. Is good quality, has a nice handle set that includes a keyed dead bolt. Very pleased with it. Would buy again.
                    by
                    Response from AndersenSep 18, 2019
                    Thank you for purchasing our Andersen 2000 Series Storm Door. We appreciate your kind comments. - Irene Andersen
                    • Verified Purchase
                    • Recommended
                    1 found this review helpful
                    This door was much easier to install than many of the storm doors I have installed in the past. I...
                    This door was much easier to install than many of the storm doors I have installed in the past. If you've never Installed one but thought about it the instructions were very clear, very easy to understand and follow. The installation aids that are included allow you to get a perfect placement in the jamb opening the first try. The latch/deadbolt assembly was installed in minutes, and the closer installed almost as quickly. When done the door worked great, closing and latching perfect every time. I was very impressed with this door, and my customer loved how much it improved the appearance of her entryway.
                    by
                    Response from AndersenSep 9, 2019
                    Thank you for taking time in posting your review. We sincerely appreciate hearing from satisfied customers such as you. Enjoy your new door! - Noel Andersen
                    • Pro
                    • Verified Purchase
                    • Recommended
                    1 found this review helpful
                    After we finally got it in, we love it..but instructionsand video were not very clear. #1..love t...
                    After we finally got it in, we love it..but instructionsand video were not very clear. #1..love the full veiw..didnt realize that screen was not self storing #2 Since Im short, I love being able to prop door open with foot latch. #3 comes with nice door handle and key #4. door is very heavy! the main problem was figuring out how to attach the hinge. Instructions are for left or right door..hubby didnt realize that...so he kept trying to rearrange the instructions..finaly turned more pages and saw instructions for right hand door..this was several hours later..and the video didnt go over any of that.. One of the suggestions was for the cedar shims....VITAL! I couldnt hold the door in position while hubby was drilling, the cedar shims helped keep the door in position. Some parts were shown, but we had to figure out where they went, and how. Came with necessary equipment..really easy after we got it done...but instructions werent clear and video was useless.
                    by
                      • Recommended
                      3 found this review helpful
                      The contractor that installed this door said it was the easiest door he has installed and he has ...
                      The contractor that installed this door said it was the easiest door he has installed and he has installed lots of doors! It looks nice and I really like the full view and the warranty. I have a great view of the backyard.
                      by
                      Response from AndersenMar 4, 2019
                      Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear you are very satisfied with the door. Kudos to the installer for doing a great job. Enjoy your new door! - Noel Andersen
                      • Verified Purchase
                      • Recommended
                      1 found this review helpful
                      This door is very easy to install. It took about 2 hours. If you have a sidelight you may have to...
                      This door is very easy to install. It took about 2 hours. If you have a sidelight you may have to install brickmould behind the storm door for clearance. Instructions and the material in the boxes were labeled great. The quality of the door and products is above what I expected. The only issue was the 8 screws (that are provided) you have to install on the hinge side jamb will make the door hinge bound. I used bugle head screws instead because the door was hitting the head of the screws keeping it from closing all the way.
                      by
                      Response from AndersenDec 21, 2018
                      Thank you for purchasing our Andersen 2000 Series Fullview Storm Door. We are pleased that the met your expectation. We are sorry to learn about the issue on the screw. Have a great day ahead! - Irene Andersen
                      • Verified Purchase
                      • Recommended
                      2 found this review helpful
                      Two days but worth it!
                      For starters, I’m a woman, baby boomer category, on my own and a dedicated renovator. Also two years post-op double hip replacements. This thing is heavy! Just getting it from the store, to the car, out of the car, up the front steps and in and out of the house during installation was challenging. Also terrifying perching on a ladder on the front landing, see photo. You also can’t predicit if it will hit the doorknob or overhead light. Both turned out OK with less than the required clearance. SO, after intense study of the directions (confusing but OK), I spent 4 chilly hours on Saturday and finally achieved a working door with a large gap at the bottom. Got up to finish it on a freezing cold Sunday and realized I had installed it inside out. Directions about the hinge rail not very clear! So I had to take it off, redo it, remove the handle and lock and reinstall everything. This meant redrilling the hinges into the door and reinstalling the strike side attach rail as well. Four more hours! Also now required the “rain cap extender”. It finally made sense and now it fits perfectly. If you have a gap at the top or bottom, figure this additional piece out. This photo is without the plastic strips that will cover the screws. It was just too cold. I’ll add the closer and strike plate next weekend, paint the surround and pop on those strips next sunny day. It closes and locks without the plate at the moment. It’s a quality product with readable but dense instructions. I love it so far!
                      by
                      Response from AndersenNov 20, 2018
                      We apologize for the inconvenience that you have experienced, but we are glad to know you successfully installed the door. The advertised timeframe of 2-Hour Easy Install is tested and is based on time-study conducted from different people and skill set. Some outside factors can affect the success of the installation. Should you need assistance about your door, please contact the Andersen Solution Center at 855-337-8822 and we would be happy to assist you. - Noel Andersen
                        • Recommended
                        5 found this review helpful
                        The strips that hold the glass/screen inserts rip apart in your hand when you try to remove them....
                        The strips that hold the glass/screen inserts rip apart in your hand when you try to remove them. Very disappointed!!! It is now pretty much useless. The door I had in my last house was much easier to switch out.
                        by
                        Response from AndersenNov 12, 2018
                        We are sorry to hear about what happened to the window retainer. We want to assist you with your concern. Please contact the Andersen Solution Center at 855-337-8822 for assistance about your door. Please be ready with the serial number upon your call. - Noel Andersen
                          28 found this review helpful
                          the contruction of the door is great, and the installation too much longer than 2 hours.. But Im ...
                          the contruction of the door is great, and the installation too much longer than 2 hours.. But Im no professional.. My only issue are the plastic brackets that hold the glass panel, or the screen panel into the door frame.. they are extremely difficult to snap in.. and hash temperatures has made them weak and brittle.. Id recommend installing braces you can screw in to hold in the panels, or save your self the hassle and get a door with sliding panels, with the screen function already a feature thats part of the door.
                          by
                          Response from AndersenNov 8, 2018
                          Thank you for your review. We apologize for the inconvenience. Please be informed that the advertised timeframe of 2-Hour Easy Install is tested and is based on time-study conducted from different people and skill set. Some outside factors can affect the success of the installation. Also, you may watch this installation video on YouTube for instructions on how to properly snap the retainers: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r7Hazlfzzrg - Charmaine Andersen
                            1 found this review helpful
                            The view is great. Now I can look outside. Can't wait for Spring and Summer to look at my flowers...
                            The view is great. Now I can look outside. Can't wait for Spring and Summer to look at my flowers. Thank you
                            by
                            Response from AndersenNov 1, 2018
                            Thank you for posting your feedback. We are happy to hear you are satisfied with the door. Thank you for the five star rating! Have a good day! - Noel Andersen
                            • Verified Purchase
                            • Recommended
                            1 found this review helpful
                            Showing 1-30 of 1,667 reviews

                            Frequently Bought Together

                            +
                            +
                            Price:
                            $26900