#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for BEHR Premium DeckOver 1 gal. #SC-105 Padre Brown Solid Color Exterior Wood and Concrete Coating

Internet #204226880

Model #500001

Store SKU #1000060373

  • Rejuvenates properly prepared old, dull wood and concrete
  • Solid color creates a natural, smooth, slip-resistant finish
  • Easily applied using brushes, rollers, or sprayers after prepping

Customer Reviews

  • 3.3
    out of 774 reviews
  • 58% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 774 reviews
Complete disappointment and waste of money
After replacing some wood and following all the instructions on cleaning and preparing the surface with the recommended products by the company, I find myself frustrated by the unappealing look of peeling paint and the thought of having to redo the entire deck. The product is really expensive and I thought the cost would justify having the deck look nice and that would last a few years. Not even a full 24 months later and my deck is a mess!
by CK1451
Response from Sara, Behr Customer CareSep 15, 2021
Hi CK1451 - Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear about the peeling on your deck after only 24 months! To fix the finish, I recommend sanding down the peeling areas to remove the loose coating, cleaning the bare wood, then touching up with more DeckOver (or applying 2 new coats if the peeling is happening to most of the surface). I've also reached out to you via email to make sure your project is taken care of. Thanks again for sharing your experience with us, and I hope to hear back from you soon! - Sara
    Do not buy this product unless you like extra work
    We followed the instructions to the “T”. It did what it said. Filled crackes and made the deck look smoother. Looked great. Even got my brother to do his deck too with this product. After a few months it started to bubble and peel. Now I need the try and power wash all this stuff off my deck. I hate wasting money but I hate wasted time even more. You buy a superior product thinking that is what you are getting. My brother’s deck is doing the same thing.
    by Sep13
    Response from Doris, Behr Customer CareJun 14, 2021
    Hi Sep13,

    Thank you for reviewing Behr DeckOver. I'm terribly sorry to hear about the bubbling and peeling issues you and your brother are having, as it certainly isn't what we want our customers to go through. I'd love to help as best as possible.

    The loose DeckOver can be removed with a floor sander/grinder or a power washer. Home Depot usually has great options available. After removing the loose areas and cleaning with Behr All-in-One Wood Cleaner, the surface should dry for at least 24 hours in dry weather before recoating. If there are DeckOver remnants left, they can be topcoated.

    I emailed you directly to follow up and I look forward to assisting you.

    Kindest regards,

    Doris
      THE WORST
      If you can imagine trying to apply toothpaste with a paint roller, you'll have a pretty good idea of what it's like to use this product. Kelly Moore, here I come.
      by Deck Job
      Response from Sara, Behr Customer CareApr 9, 2021
      Hi Deck Job - Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that this product was difficult to work with! The Advanced DeckOver should have a very thick consistency (similar to brownie batter) but should still be easy to roll onto your project. I've reached out to you via email to learn more about your project and the DeckOver you purchased so I can help you get your deck back on track. Thanks again for taking the time to submit a review, and I look forward to hearing from you. - Sara
        Great Coverage
        [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Made my 25 year old deck look Great! Covered the cracks & checks in wood better then any other product I tried. It is a little thick and does dry quick.
        by RCW4
          Deckover makes deck look like new!
          [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I have an older deck and have maintained it over the years using many products. When I first tried Deckover, many years ago, it was great! I have continued to use it and my deck looks like it is brand new every time I put down the Deckover. (Usually very 3-4 years). It is easy to use and covers and protects with a good solid coat. This is an excellent product and I highly recommend it.
          by Gordie
            • Recommended Product
            Did not last
            [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] The reason this product is called deck over is because you're gonna have to do your deck over if you use it. Sanded it, cleaned surface before applying and one year later paint peeled off in large sections. Not worth it at all.
            by Wasted
            Response from Sara, Behr Customer CareApr 1, 2021
            Hi there - Thank you for reviewing our Advanced DeckOver. I'm so sorry to hear about the peeling on your deck. To fix the finish, I recommend removing the loose DeckOver, preparing the surface with our wood cleaner, then applying 2 new coats to the whole area for a uniform finish. I've also reached out to you via email to help you with this further. Thank you again for taking the time to share this with us, and I look forward to hearing back from you. - Sara
              Looks great at first but peels after 2 years
              We obsessively prepared the surface according to directions. We applied Deckover on large deck as directed, allowing drying between the two coats. After 2 years, it looks awful. It is peeling wherever there is any traffic. The areas on top of a bench where no one has walked looks good. It also leaves dirt marks that will not come off. We did a chocolate brown color and it looks dirty all the time because I cannot get dirt marks from footprints off. I would not recommend this product.
              by MattandSam
              Response from Joanne, Behr Customer CareMar 29, 2021
              Hi MattandSam, thank you for your review. I'm so sorry our DeckOver is peeling and that the dirt marks aren't coming off. I recommend removing any loose coating, cleaning the surface, letting the surface dry, then touching up and recoating as needed. Customer satisfaction is important to us, and we appreciate your feedback. I'll reach out to you directly to assist you with this further. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience with us, and I hope to hear from you soon! -Joni
                Peeled off
                [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] After following proper deck prep. It peeled off in less than a year
                by Pikepole
                Response from Joanna, Behr Customer CareMar 21, 2021
                Hi Pikepole, thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear our DeckOver didn't last as long as expected; that's not the experience we want our customers to have with our products.

                To get your project back on track, we'd recommend removing all the peeled and loose coating from your wood, cleaning it with our All-In-One Wood Cleaner, allowing it to dry for at least 24 hours, and touching up the affected areas. An overall recoat may be needed to uniform your finish.

                Customer satisfaction is important to us. So, we've reached out to you directly to assist you further. We hope you have a great rest of your day.
                  Holds water & rots the wood.
                  After using this product 2 years later most the would that I had covered with this paint held water and rotted the wood paint is peeling up would not recommend this product to anybody And now I'm in the process of replacing my deck boards
                  by
                  Response from Doris, Behr Customer CareFeb 12, 2021
                  Hi Joey,

                  Thank you for sharing your experience with DeckOver. I'm incredibly sorry to hear about the condition of your deck, as it certainly isn't what we want our customers to go through. I understand how disappointing this must be, and I want to find a way to help.

                  I know you're in the process of replacing your wood boards. For best results when sealing the new wood, I recommend coating all six sides of the boards to help prevent moisture from seeping in.

                  I have emailed you directly and look forward to assisting you.

                  Kindest regards,

                  Doris
                    Not worth your time or the price!
                    [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] 6/2018 applied, doing everything recommended. Followed instructions exactly. Deck boards were solid. Looked great for about 8 months. 2019 comes along and huge chunks are flaking off and weak spots developing in deck boards. Sadly I was unaware of the only 1 year only guarantee till it was too late. Our deck is unusable & an embarrassment. Many deck board that were 100% solid are so weak you can put your foot though. My opinion is, if you don't paint BOTH SIDES of your deck boards, moisture gets trapped. This is evident from removing boards, THAT WERE 100% SOLID, and seeing the boards still wet underneath DAYS after it rained. There is absolutely no solution or advice you can give to repair the damage. About $600 and countless hours totally wasted. Husband was in construction (start to finish) and would never recommend this product.
                    by Becs
                    Response from Sara, Behr Customer CareDec 3, 2020
                    Hi Becs - Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that the finish on your deck flaked off in big chunks after only 8 months and how the wood underneath is weak! I've reached out to you via email to learn more about your project and make this right. Thank you again for taking the time to submit a review, and I hope to hear back from you soon! - Sara
                      Absolute Sham!
                      Followed prep instructions TO THE LETTER. Applied Deck Over carefully and to spec. Surface was dry and rain free for just over 5 days during June in New England. Surface lasted just about one year before cracking and bubbling. One year later the surface had failed completely and nearly every square foot of our deck had missing patches of deck over. Have spent the last 2 summers trying to scrape and sand to remove this stuff. It is an absolute nightmare! I found out just recently that there had been a class action suit and settlement regarding this junk - of course we missed that deadline and it’s now too late to recover. I can’t believe that a Behr has the audacity to still sell this stuff. Home Depot offered to give me more of this junk as a solution. Say what?? I expect the remaining deck over on our deck will outlive me and the only alternative to dying disappointed with a ruined deck will be to spend $5000 and replace the decking. I’ve already spoken to our state attorney general’s office about initiating a deceptive practices complaint. Hopefully that will offer some hope for compensation and resolution for others in my state. Please DO NOT use this junk. DON’T be fooled by the advanced version either. Same junk different package. Save yourself the heartache and stick with penetrating oil based stains. Learn from my pain!
                      by Furiously Disappointed
                      Response from Sara, Behr Customer CareOct 23, 2020
                      Hi Furiously Disappointed - Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I'm sorry to hear about the bubbling and cracking on your deck after only a year, and how difficult it's been to remove the rest of the coating! To fix the finish, we recommend removing anything that's loose, cleaning the surface with our wood cleaner, then applying 2 new coats of Advanced DeckOver. Alternatively, our solid color wood stains can be applied on top if the wood boards are in good condition. If you prefer to remove the DeckOver completely so you can re-stain with an oil-based finish, this product can be removed with a power sander and coarse grit sandpaper. I've also reached out to you via email to help you get your deck back on track. Thank you again for your review, and I hope to hear back from you! - Sara
                        Poor quality product
                        [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] We stripped our deck and sanded it down. Prepped the entires deck per the directions and put two coats on. What we noticed after a few months is the deck pealing and also the railing seemed to erode rather quickly. Maybe it cause the wood to hold moisture. All I can say is that I’ve tried this product 2x so far and it looks great at first and then Jist completely fails after a season. I would recommend not painting your deck ever. Stain it if you can.
                        by Jamest25
                        Response from Doris, Behr Customer CareMar 10, 2021
                        Hi Jamest25,

                        Thank you for reviewing Behr DeckOver. I'm terribly sorry to hear about the peeling issue you're having, as it certainly isn't what we want our customers to go through. I'd love to help as best as possible.

                        The loose DeckOver can be removed with a floor sander/grinder. Home Depot usually has great options available. After removing the loose areas and cleaning with Behr All-in-One Wood Cleaner, the surface should dry for at least 24 hours in dry weather before recoating. If there are DeckOver remnants left, they can be topcoated.

                        I emailed you directly to follow up and offer further assistance. I look forward to hearing back from you.

                        Kindest regards,

                        Doris
                          Get ready to be exhausted
                          This deck stain is awful to apply. It is as thick as mud. I did some spindles with a brush & it was taxing. I was miserable. My husband is having to use a paint brush to apply it on the flat surface. A roller will never work b/c it is so thick. We tried. The more interesting part?? I used to be a paint/deck stain rep for another great company a few years back. I thought this would be similar, great quality & a normal application. I was wrong!!! Absolutely run from this product! Awful.
                          by MKateTN
                          Response from Doris, Behr Customer CareMar 10, 2021
                          Hi MKateTN,

                          Thank you for reviewing DeckOver. I'm very sorry to hear about the consistency issues experienced. We take these matters very seriously and will be sure to forward the information provided to our Quality Assurance Team for further review. The typical consistency should feel like creamy peanut butter and be generally easy to apply. I understand this must've been disappointing and frustrating, which is why I want to help.

                          I emailed you directly to follow up and offer further assistance. I look forward to hearing back from you.

                          Kindest regards,

                          Doris
                            impossible to apply as directed
                            [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I am writing this review so that others may be spared both time and cost wasted with this product. First, I followed the directions exactly. When I first opened the product, the day after I purchased it, the paint was the consistency of thick pudding. When stirred nothing happens and the clumps remain These clumps are transferred to the wood when you apply the paint, and the paint dries within seconds so even more clumps begin to form which you can’t do anything about. The paint instruction forbid any thinning so its a useless product. Literally you have around 5 seconds OR less from applying paint before it begins forming dried clumps: I repeat stirring does nothing so you apply a product with clumps and then it creates more clumps making it a horrible mess. I am sanding it off now and will never again use BEHR paint, nor Home Depot as neither can provide any explanation but both were quick to focus on ensuring I understood there is no refund. I didn’t even ask for that I just wanted a product that performed as advertised. BEHR DECKOVER does not. In fact it can’t even be applied and neither the company nor Home Depot offer any suggestions as to just how to get the product to performe as advertised.
                            by Paintergal04
                            Response from Doris, Behr Customer CareAug 19, 2020
                            Hi mamarosie,

                            Thank you for reviewing DeckOver. I'm very sorry to hear about the consistency issues experienced. We take these matters very seriously and will be sure to look further into this. The typical consistency should feel like creamy peanut butter and be generally easy to apply. I understand this must've been disappointing and frustrating, which is why I want to help as best as possible. I noticed you mentioned being denied for a refund by Behr. However, I was unable to find any record of you previously contacting Behr. I'd like to gather more information about this.

                            I emailed you directly and look forward to hearing back from you.

                            Kindest regards,

                            Doris
                            Web Care
                            BEHR
                              Long lasting, worth the time and money
                              [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] We bought a house with an old deck and didn't have the funds to rebuild, so we gave this paint a shot. Best decision we made! Not only did it come out looking like a new deck, but it bought us 6 years before we finally rebuilt the deck, allowing us time to save for the new one. At 6+ years, even the paint on the posts was still in great shape. I would recommend this paint all day long. Worth the price and time, you won't be disappointed.
                              by FeliciaB
                                • Recommended Product
                                Good results. Lots of work
                                [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] My only major criticisms of deckover are 1) if it sits (yes I stored it according to instructions) it is really difficult to re-mix and has clumping issues and 2) due to its consistency it is nearly impossible to roll and when painting a large deck, using a paintbrush takes FOREVER. But overall I am happy with the results and how my deck looks.
                                by Alexfromoly
                                  • Recommended Product
                                  Terrible Product
                                  Invested money in a deck. Went with deck over for our coverage on that investment. The product did not last an entire year. We have peeling and some board damage because of product. We are currently power washing finish off. It leaves large chunks of stain in the yard. Some areas still have a significant amount of stain remaining. We will have to buy/rent a sander to completely start over because the product was so thick. I had high hopes for the product but now I’m more concentrated in preserving our investment for future use. I will not use Behr again and cannot recommend product because of our experience.
                                  by Hogan30
                                  Response from Edith, Behr Customer CareJul 21, 2020
                                  Hi Hogan30, thank you for your review, and I am sorry to hear about the peeling issue. It does sound like the best option is to remove the product by sanding it off instead. Afterward, make sure to use our cleaner to help promote adhesion. Once dry, apply the product of choice. To help with this, I am going to be sending you an email. Please keep an eye out for it, as it may go to your "Spam" folder. -Edith
                                    awful
                                    It's like painting with brownie batter. In the beginning, it seemed fine and I liked the results. These results don't last long. It wasn't worth the cost or the extra effort to paint with this. We followed all the prep work but at the year mark it started to peel at my house and my mom's house. Once it starts to peel, it just keeps going. I have to replace a panel on my deck and I'm mad I have to buy more just to make it match.
                                    by Kathy0220
                                    Response from Doris, Behr Customer CareJun 29, 2020
                                    Hi Kathy0220,

                                    Thank you for reviewing DeckOver. I'm terribly sorry to hear about the peeling issue experienced so soon after application. That's never what we want our customers to go through, and I completely understand your disappointment. I definitely want to help as best as possible.

                                    The loose DeckOver can be removed with a floor sander/grinder. Home Depot usually has great rental options available. After removing the loose areas and cleaning with Behr All-in-One Wood Cleaner, the surface should dry for at least 24 hours in dry weather before recoating. If there are DeckOver remnants left, they can be topcoated.

                                    I emailed you directly and look forward to assisting you.

                                    Kindest regards,

                                    Doris
                                    Web Care
                                    BEHR
                                      Peels in less then 3 months
                                      Cleaned, prepped and applied the Behr Deckover. Within 2 months it was starting to peel. It has not stopped and just comes right off. It doesn't stick to the wood at all. The filled cracks pull right out as well. Behr hasn't responded to multiple inquiries and photos.
                                      by DeltaE
                                      Response from Edith, Behr Customer CareJul 1, 2020
                                      Hi DeltaE, thank you for your review, and I am sorry to hear about the peeling issue you're experiencing even more for not hearing back from us. Either way, to fix the peeling, we'd recommend removing as much of the loose coating by sanding it off or using a pressure washer. Afterward, use our cleaner to help promote adhesion. When dry, reapply the product. To help with this, I will be sending you an email. Please keep an eye out for it, as it may go to your "Spam" folder. -Edith
                                        Do not use this product!
                                        This ruined my deck. It’s been on for only 3 years, it’s peeling, cracked, holds in water and gets extremely hot!!! My dog can’t even walk on it. I’d give zero stars if I could.
                                        by Reeseydog
                                        Response from Doris, Behr Customer CareJun 22, 2020
                                        Hi Reeseydog,

                                        Thank you for reviewing DeckOver. I'm very sorry to hear about your experience, as it certainly isn't what we want our customers to go through. I completely understand your disappointment and would love to help.

                                        The loose DeckOver can be removed with a floor sander/grinder. After removing the loose areas and cleaning with Behr All-in-One Wood Cleaner, the surface should dry for at least 24 hours in dry weather before recoating. If there are DeckOver remnants left, they can be topcoated. Going with a lighter color would help decrease heat absorption.

                                        I emailed you directly and look forward to hearing back from you.

                                        Kindest regards,

                                        Doris
                                        Web Care
                                        BEHR
                                          Do not waste your money
                                          Five years ago I bought this to put on my front porch. Did all the prep work exactly as was instructed to do. The part of the porch that is covered is ok but the stairs are not. Every year I have to sand and prep and coat! I am now going to strip the entire porch and use a different product that does not require so much exhausting work.
                                          by DBDenny
                                            Very dissatisfied
                                            Purchase and applied this product in August 2017. Meticulously followed prep and application instuctions. After 1 year paint began to peel off deck. Now at 2 year 10 month mark and deck is in terrible shape. I'm now faced with a major task of scraping or somehow removing the paint that has adhered to the deck so I can refinish it. I would rate this product less than 1 star if I could. Do not use this product!
                                            by JDPissed
                                              Great Product for outdoor decking.
                                              [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Painted our deck over a year ago and it still looks fabulous!!
                                              by Suzie2
                                                • Recommended Product
                                                Exceeded all expectations!
                                                [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Decks were badly in need of staining. I cleaned them thoroughly and next day applied the Behr product - went on like a dream and after two coats and an hour-and-a-half dry the patio furniture was back in place and all looked great. Three decks on three level condo total 330 sq. ft.
                                                by chickenman
                                                  • Recommended Product
                                                  Very dissapointed!
                                                  I applied this product to pressure treated lumber that had been aged for over a year. So I was confident that the wood was well dried and would accept the product. Two years later, cracks are evident throughout all of the horizontal surfaces, with large patches peeling off everywhere. Meanwhile, the vertical surfaces (spindles) still look new. So my choices are recoat with the Deckover or strip the entire deck and start from scratch with a new product. So basically I'm screwed. No wonder you offer only a 1 year warranty (pathetic). The hope was to get at least 5 years before I had to deal with this again!
                                                  by John7
                                                  Response from Doris, Behr Customer CareMay 26, 2020
                                                  Hi John7,

                                                  Thank you for reviewing DeckOver. I'm terribly sorry to hear about the peeling issue experienced after two years. That's never what we want our customers to go through, and I completely understand your disappointment. I definitely want to help as best as possible.

                                                  The loose DeckOver can be removed with a floor sander/grinder. Home Depot usually has great rental options available. After removing the loose areas and cleaning with Behr All-in-One Wood Cleaner, the surface should dry for at least 24 hours in dry weather before recoating. If there are DeckOver remnants left, they can be topcoated.

                                                  I emailed you directly and look forward to hearing back from you.

                                                  Kindest regards,

                                                  Doris
                                                  Web Care

                                                    Awesome paint
                                                    [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I used this on my deck 4 years ago and it held up beautifully. Prep is important. I am only repainting because I got grey paint on my deck. I will definitely use again.
                                                    by Colnewhouse
                                                      • Recommended Product
                                                      Frustrating Experience
                                                      [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I bought this product in hopes of bringing my old deck and new addition to it into one matching deck. It did match but was very clumpy and pealed off later. I did use the deck cleaner before so I am not sure what went on. One problem may be that I bought the product about a year before application as I took a little longer on the project than I should have so to be fair I gave it two stars. Wish I had it to do over again.
                                                      by Earl the Pearl
                                                      Response from Roxana, Behr Customer CareMay 20, 2020
                                                      Hello Earl the Pearl,

                                                      Thanks for reviewing our solid color concerete and wood coating. I’m sorry to hear it was clumpy and that it peeled a year later. That can be a disappointing experience, and I assure you it’s not the one we want our customers to have.

                                                      To fix, I recommend removing the loose coating, cleaning the surface, and touching-up or re-coating as needed.

                                                      I’ve sent you an email for further assistance, and I look forward to hearing from you soon.

                                                      Warm Regards,

                                                      Roxana N.
                                                      WebCare
                                                      Behr
                                                        Waste
                                                        I wish I would have never used it. It looked great at first then the next year+ it started peeling up. This was just the paint I picked off with my hands. It comes up in big sections. Disappointing.
                                                        by MJE1201
                                                        Response from Roxana, Behr Customer CareMay 7, 2020
                                                        Hello Maranda,

                                                        Thanks for reviewing the DeckOver. I’m sorry to hear it started peeling up after a year, and I can assure you it’s not the experience we want any of our customers to have.

                                                        To fix, I recommend removing the loose coating, cleaning the surface, and re-coating.

                                                        For further assistance, I sent you a direct email and look forward to hearing from you soon.

                                                        Warm Regards,

                                                        Roxana N.
                                                        WebCare
                                                        Behr
                                                          renewed a thirty-one year old deck
                                                          Applied to a deck that really needed replacement with splinters, cracks and ugly even with some paint remaining from about 5 years before. The deck was pressure treated 5/4x 6 pine, sound but I was afraid of splinters in children's feet and had severe splitting of wood. The deck was cleaned with TSP and bleach, pressure washed the width of one board to remove most of the stain remaining, then painted in small sections in mid-summer before or after deck was in sun. Large splintering was removed and in more than one case, I used a staple gun to stabilize when painting (overlooked earlier). Outcome was and is very good after two winters. Perfect deck:NO. But usable and a lot cheaper than a new deck.
                                                          by Grayghost71
                                                            • Recommended Product
                                                            Horrible product
                                                            I bought this 4 years ago to treat my deck. I followed the instructions to the 'T'. Deck had been dry for at least 2 weeks and was summer where I live. It looked great for the 1st summer. Then it started to peel like crazy. Eventually my deck suffered bad dry rot as this product was peeling in places and not in others. I can literally peel the strips off by hand now and snap getting my entire deck replaced as a result of this horrible product. Do not waste your time it will cost you dearly in the future.
                                                            by Dawnday40
                                                            Response from Joanna, Behr Customer CareApr 24, 2020
                                                            Hi Dawnday40, thank you for your feedback. Sorry to hear our DeckOver coating peeled off your deck; that's not the experience we want our customers to have with our products. To get your project back on track, we would recommend removing all the loose coating and replacing any unstable boards before cleaning your surface with our All-In-One Wood Cleaner, allowing it to dry for at least 24 horus, and applying two full coats to reseal your surface. Customer satisfaction is important to us. So, we've reached out to you directly to assist you further. Have a great day.
                                                              Showing 1-30 of 774 reviews