#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for Hampton Bay 11 ft. Aluminum and Steel Cantilever Solar LED Offset Outdoor Patio Umbrella in Midnight Navy Blue

Internet #305779761

Model #YJAF052-MI

Store SKU #1003472369

  • Solar-powered LED lights for a well-lit ambiance
  • Manual tilt and the crank-lift system allow easy setup
  • Polyester-Olefin blend and aluminum pole ensure durability

Customer Reviews

  • 4.4
    out of 5,367 reviews
  • 73% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 5,367 reviews
Fabric does not last or hold up
I’ve had this umbrella for several years The fabric has a disgusting algae color all over the underside- I am in Southern Ca and weather is NOT an issue - when it rains - we close it up New another fabric replacement- the “manufacture response is not good - was told basically “what do you expect “ from a rude rep - what I expect was a material to withstand a mild climate and not grow “algae” looking dirty spots all over the fabric -see my photos !!!
by
Response from Product ManufacturerFeb 13, 2024
Dear NDDd, thank you for sharing your concerns with us. We are extremely disappointed to read that you had such an upsetting experience and we sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you had with the product. We would like to have the opportunity to help you resolve this issue in a timely manner. We will have one of our customer service representatives contact you, so that we may hope to resolve this issue. For any questions or concerns, please give us a call at (866) 602-1800. We hope to have the opportunity to restore your faith in our products and serve you again to change your perception of our products.
    Defected material
    This is my second one, and the same exact thing happened. It's not the weather it's the material. I contacted customer service a couple of times with no results.
    by
    Response from Product ManufacturerDec 27, 2023
    Dear MarkZ, thank you for sharing your concerns with us. We are extremely disappointed to read that you had such an upsetting experience and we sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you had with the product. We would like to have the opportunity to help you resolve this issue in a timely manner. We will have one of our customer service representatives contact you, so that we may hope to resolve this issue. For any questions or concerns, please give us a call at (866) 602-1800. We hope to have the opportunity to restore your faith in our products and serve you again to change your perception of our products.
      Dangerous if not secured properly
      Loved the umbrella for the exactly 91 days since purchased until this happened. It was closed and full retracted but strap seemed to come un done and the main support sheared nearly in half.
      by
      Response from Product ManufacturerSep 5, 2023
      Hello Andrew, thank you for writing this review and letting us know about this issue. We are sorry to hear that the product did not meet your expectations. We would like to offer to help you resolve the issue; however, if you are considering an alternative and if you purchased it recently, please note that with Home Depot, there is an after-purchase 90-day store warranty, in which you may either get a full refund or store exchange at your local Home Depot store by visiting their customer service care; you can also contact them and arrange a pick-up at your residence for your convenience. For any questions, comments, or concerns, you can give us a call at (866) 602-1800.
        Not worth purchasing
        Had this umbrella for two years now. Just noticed the fabric tearing at the end of several of the ribs. Upon inspection it's clear that it is dry rotting. I live in Arizona so it is obviously hot in the summer but the umbrella only gets morning sun and I have followed all care and maintenance instructions since purchase. Closed during winter months. It is now just past warranty period (figures) which is only 2 years on frame and fabric. No other issues other than cheap fabric. Can't see how an outdoor item only lasts 2 years outdoors. Wish I had known about the warranty prior to purchase. Would have spent that money on different umbrella.
        by
        Response from Product ManufacturerAug 14, 2023
        Hello Disappointed, thank you for your detailed review. I am sorry to hear about the fabric on your 11ft. Cantilever Outdoor Umbrella. Our goal is to provide quality products and a service that exceeds any expectations. Please contact us at (866) 602-1800 Monday thru Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. PST. We would like to provide our utmost support to ensure your satisfaction with product you purchased.
          Useless Umbrella “Sculpture”
          The addition of this umbrella to our pool deck is an extreme disappointment. Will never purchase another. Cord broke and for the price of this umbrella you might think it can be repaired but not the case. Have contacted tech support via chat and the store where purchased and checked all the online possible umbrella repair videos. New cord will not feed to the hand crank mechanism to open the umbrella. We will probably have to pay to get someone to haul it away. Poor Quality. Do Not Purchase!
          by
          Response from Product ManufacturerJul 31, 2023
          Hello Able, thank you for sharing your concerns with us. We are deeply concerned to read that you had such an upsetting experience and we sincerely apologize on behalf of the customer service providers for your inconvenience. We would like to have the opportunity to help you resolve this issue in a timely manner. We will have one of our customer service representatives contact you, so that we may hope to resolve this issue. For any questions or concerns, please give us a call at (866) 602-1800. But we appreciate your feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to restore your faith in our products and serve you again to change your perception of our products.
            2 found this review helpful
            200 lbs is marginal at best
            The unit went together easy, but because of the large sail area it has tipped over once and almost a second time. We have to secure with a second canopy line. We package it and store inside during the winter months so there’s virtually no fading. We also grease and cover the foundation tube with plastic, no rust. Still going after 4 seasons.
            by
              • Recommended
              1 found this review helpful
              It cannot stand the elements
              The base will soon rot (a year of so make sure you isolate it).The cover will not enclose the the X shape base from the bottom so as you can expect, rain or garden hose water will be in touch with it.
              by
              Response from Product ManufacturerJul 18, 2023
              Hello Theoutdoorguy, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It is in our best interest to ensure our customer’s satisfaction. As stated in your review, however, it is apparent that you were not satisfied with our product, and we deeply regret this occurrence. We apologize for your inconvenience. Please contact us at (866) 602-1800 to discuss your experience further, so that we may help you.
                Love this umbrella! Nice shade and sturdy! A little tricky to assemble but did it fairly quickly
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                Easy to set up. Sturdy and nice.
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                Rusted Base
                Bought this a few years ago and this year when we went to open the umbrella we realized that the base was rusted to the point that it would not continue to hold the umbrella pole. Unfortunately the rest of the umbrella was in great shape. A bit disappointed and not to excited about having to replace it in such a short amount of time.
                by
                Response from Product ManufacturerJun 30, 2023
                Hello Jenna, thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate and want to thank you for sharing your concerns with us. We are extremely disappointed to read that you had such an upsetting experience and we sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you had with the product. We would like to have the opportunity to help resolve any issues that you are having with umbrella, to ensure that you are satisfied with the product but most of all able to enjoy using it. We will have one of our customer service representatives contact you. For any questions or concerns, please give us a call at (866) 602-1800. We hope to have the opportunity to restore your faith in our products and serve you again to change your perception of our products.
                  1 found this review helpful
                  Returned
                  Stitching began to fail within first 30 days. Nice little hole appeared. 🤬🤬🤬 Glad I noticed while I was still within the return period.
                  by
                  Response from Product ManufacturerJun 28, 2023
                  Dear Disappointed, thank you for taking your time to share your experience with us. I read in your review that the product did not meet your expectations and that you plan on or have returned the product. I apologize for this concerning issue that you encountered and I hope to have the opportunity to serve you for any future purchases.
                    1 found this review helpful
                    LED lights are not bright
                    So this unbrella is very nice but, the only thing I am not a fan of is how dim The LED lights are. Other than that it is very nice. It also requires 220 pounds of sand.
                    by
                      • Recommended
                      1 found this review helpful
                      OMG! You Need This!
                      I was so tired of every year buying new umbrellas because they were always broken by end of season. We have quite a bit of wind and it would always destroy the umbrellas. My husband convinced me to purchase 2 of these on sale and i could not be more ecstatic!!! They are heavy duty on the base…and 11 foot umbrella! You can swivel the umbrella, you can move the umbrella fully opened up or down! If i see rain coming, i open it wide and it covers all of my chouch
                      by
                        • Recommended
                        1 found this review helpful
                        Very stylish, functional umbrella!
                        Easy to assemble, lights are really nice in the evening. Highly recommend for the price!
                        by
                          • Recommended
                          exactly what we needed!
                          The umbrella with base, was easy to put together. (The required 220 lbs of sand, is not included.) it looks great on the deck,
                          by
                            • Recommended
                            1 found this review helpful
                            This is a beautiful umbrella! This size was perfect and covers a large area. It is extremely sturdy and we added the sandbags. Confident it won’t budge in a storm. The lights at night are so pretty. It arrived in good condition and on time. Very pleased.
                            by
                            • Verified Purchase
                            Durable!
                            Super durable and lots of options to move it in different directions and angles. Didn’t even realize it had lights that are solar powered double bonus. Only used 200lbs of sand and it works great.
                            by
                              • Recommended
                              2 found this review helpful
                              wonderful umbrella
                              We enjoy the shade this umbrella provides us in our backyard. I want to purchase another one!
                              by
                                • Recommended
                                Great Sun Protection
                                Easy to put together and enjoyed that same afternoon. Loving the solar lights, nice ambient lighting.
                                by
                                  • Recommended
                                  Love it!
                                  I'm so happy with this purchase. The umbrella is very high quality and with the sand in the base, it's very sturdy. The lights are beautiful. We can eat & play games at the patio table after sunset. I bought an umbrella cover separately to protect the fabric and I think it will last a long time.
                                  by
                                    • Recommended
                                    1 found this review helpful
                                    For $250, It’s a great value!
                                    I purchased two of these a couple weeks ago. They have been great on our large deck. They are easy to assemble. There were no issue at all. You will need to purchased the 220 pounds of sand needed for inside the base. The solar light feature is an added bonus, but wasn’t a dealbreaker for us. It adds some light, but just enough for atmosphere. Yes, I read all the reviews before purchasing. I am glad I made the purchase. They were on sale for $250 and well worth the price.
                                    by
                                      • Recommended
                                      1 found this review helpful
                                      Pathetic canvas
                                      I own 2 of this exact umbrella in sand that are about 4-5 years old. I wanted to replace with the navy color so I bought new. The 2 new navy canvases are very thin, completely see through and do not fully block the sun like the old do. I’m returning and keeping the old until I can find something comparable.
                                      by
                                      Response from Product ManufacturerMay 30, 2023
                                      Hello Unhappycustomer, thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Hampton Bay 11ft. Cantilever Solar LED Offset Outdoor Patio Umbrella in Midnight Navy Blue. It is in our best interest to provide you with customer service that exceeds your expectation; however, it is apparent that you have returned the 2 Cantilever Solar Umbrellas back to Home Depot. We are very sorry that the canvas on the umbrellas did not fully meet your needs. We hope we have the opportunity to provide you with the product and service you expect with future purchases.
                                        5 found this review helpful
                                        Awesome
                                        Great umbrella, easy to put together
                                        by
                                        • Verified Purchase
                                        • Recommended
                                        1 found this review helpful
                                        broken string
                                        i bought this more than 2 year with around 500$ now they broke so how i can do give me idea we can replace or trash
                                        by
                                        Response from Product ManufacturerMay 22, 2023
                                        Dear LienLe, thank you for the detailed review of our product, which you took your time to write. It is apparent in your review that you were not satisfied with our product. Please know that we will be addressing these pressing issues with our team, and we are very much appreciative of your comments, so that we may improve our shortcomings. It is unfortunate that we were unable to help provide you with an opportunity to restore your faith in the product you purchased. However, for the future, we would like to help you with our products the best we can to ensure your satisfaction. We can only hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you once again.
                                          5 found this review helpful
                                          Hampton Bay Offset Umbrella
                                          My Wife and I love this and best deal ever I got it for finally and had it in stock, These are very pricey but worth the Quality 👍 The only hard part was putting in the sand for the Base and everything else was Easy Peasey.
                                          by
                                            • Recommended
                                            1 found this review helpful
                                            No spare parts sold except for canopy!
                                            Worked great until it didn't. Got locked up and couldn't get it down during a windstorm. Weld broke on handle and plastic piece on the inside during the process. Simple Parts but the manufacturer refuses to sell to customers. They only will do warranty replacements. My opinion is they just want folks to buy new umbrellas rather than buying parts for older ones. We spent like $500 on this one still in good shape frame and everything but of course they want folks to buy new.
                                            by
                                            Response from Product ManufacturerApr 26, 2023
                                            Dear valued customer, thank you for sharing your concerns with us. We are deeply concerned to read that you had such an upsetting experience and we sincerely apologize on behalf of the customer service providers for your inconvenience. As the product manufacturer, we would like to have the opportunity to help you resolve this issue in a timely manner. For any questions or concerns, please give us a call at (866) 602-1800. But we appreciate your feedback as it is a way to take note and improve our products of its shortcomings. We hope to have the opportunity to restore your faith in our products and serve you again to change your perception of our products.
                                              8 found this review helpful
                                              solar charger
                                              When putting together the umbrella one of the last steps was to screw in the solar charger and it broke right off. Had to glue it on.
                                              by
                                              Response from Product ManufacturerApr 17, 2023
                                              Dear valued customer, thank you for the review of our product. It is apparent in your review that you are having technical difficulties. We would like to help you with our products the best we can to ensure your satisfaction. For any questions, comments, or concerns, please contact us at (866) 602-1800, so that we can connect you with our tech support.
                                                2 found this review helpful
                                                Crank handle broke--can't get replacement parts
                                                Bought 2014, and got ~9 yrs out of it. The lights stopped working after the 1st summer, but whatever... In general, it worked well. Then, this spring, I was closing it up and the crank handle (which opens & closes the umbrella by turning a reel & spooling/unspooling a cord attached to the umbrella) broke. It is metal, but I guess it corroded over time. I called the co. to see if I could get a replacement, but they don't sell replacement parts--"throw it away & buy a new umbrella". What a waste.
                                                by
                                                Response from Product ManufacturerApr 12, 2023
                                                Dear valued customer, thank you for taking the time to review our product. As you can well imagine, I am deeply concerned after having read your review and apologize earnestly for the shortcomings you have experienced. It is our goal to ensure your satisfaction. As the manufacturer, we aim to satisfy our customers with our utmost customer service. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you, so that we may restore your faith in our products. For any questions, comments, or concerns, please give us a call at 866-602-1800, so that we can further assist you.
                                                  • Recommended
                                                  12 found this review helpful
                                                  Fabric Flaw
                                                  I purchased this umbrella 04/07/2023. Got it assembled & erected on 04/10. Not an EASY task! It's a very large & heavy umbrella with a 200+ lb base. When it was time to open the canopy, I was disappointed to see discoloration in one of the fabric panels. The color of my umbrella is light so it is not a horrible flaw but had it been a darker color, it would have been. The product is too large, heavy & difficult to return plus who's to say another one might not be flawed as bad or worse.
                                                  by
                                                    • Recommended
                                                    4 found this review helpful
                                                    Fabric Deteriorated
                                                    Purchased this umbrella at the regular price of $699.00 we had the same issues as the post from Michael dated February 22nd, 2023. We value Home Depot and its products over any of its competitors. I'm totally dissatisfied with the look of my umbrella...
                                                    by
                                                    Response from Product ManufacturerMar 6, 2023
                                                    Dear valued customer, thank you for taking the time to review our product. It is apparent in your review that you were not completely satisfied with our product, and we apologize for the inconvenience you have been experiencing. We are appreciative of your comments because it allows us to see and improve our shortcomings. We can only hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you. If you have any questions, comments, or concerns, please give us a call at (866) 602-1800, so that we can assist you.
                                                      11 found this review helpful
                                                      Showing 1-30 of 5,367 reviews

                                                      Frequently Bought Together

                                                      Top Rated
                                                      ++
                                                      Price:
                                                      $59900

                                                      Compare Similar Cantilever Umbrellas

                                                      current product
                                                      Top Rated11 ft. Aluminum and Steel Cantilever Solar LED Offset Outdoor Patio Umbrella in Midnight Navy Blue
                                                      Top Rated11 ft. Cantilever Solar LED Offset Outdoor Patio Umbrella in Chili RedExclusive10 ft. Commercial Aluminum Cantilever Square Offset Patio Umbrella in Cafe Tan with Base Included12 ft. Octagon High-Quality Wood Pattern Aluminum Cantilever Polyester Patio Umbrella with Base Plate, Navy Blue
                                                      BrandHampton BayHampton BayHampton BayPURPLE LEAF
                                                      Name11 ft. Aluminum and Steel Cantilever Solar LED Offset Outdoor Patio Umbrella in Midnight Navy Blue11 ft. Cantilever Solar LED Offset Outdoor Patio Umbrella in Chili Red10 ft. Commercial Aluminum Cantilever Square Offset Patio Umbrella in Cafe Tan with Base Included12 ft. Octagon High-Quality Wood Pattern Aluminum Cantilever Polyester Patio Umbrella with Base Plate, Navy Blue
                                                      Price
                                                      $59900
                                                      $59900
                                                      $62910
                                                      $83998
                                                      /set
                                                      Ratings
                                                      (5361)
                                                      (5361)
                                                      (12)
                                                      (0)
                                                      Umbrella Canopy Diameter (ft.)11 ft.11 ft.10 ft.12 ft.
                                                      Canopy ShapeOctagonRoundSquareOctagon
                                                      Umbrella StandWith StandWith StandWith StandWith Stand
                                                      Patio Furniture FeaturesFade Resistant, Rust Resistant, Solar Lighted, UV Protected, Weather ResistantRust Resistant, Solar LightedCanopy Included, Fade Resistant, Rust Resistant, Weather ResistantFade Resistant, Tiltable, UV Protected
                                                      TiltNo TiltNo TiltManual TiltRotational
                                                      Opening MechanismCrank lift systemCrank lift systemCrank lift systemCrank lift system
                                                      Pole MaterialSteelSteelAluminumAluminum
                                                      PatternSolidSolidSolidSolid
                                                      View ProductView ProductView ProductView Product