#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for Hampton Bay 11 ft. Aluminum and Steel Cantilever Solar LED Offset Outdoor Patio Umbrella in Midnight Navy Blue

Internet #305779761

Model #YJAF052-MI

Store SKU #1003472369

  • Solar-powered LED lights for a well-lit ambiance
  • Manual tilt and the crank-lift system allow easy setup
  • Polyester-Olefin blend and aluminum pole ensure durability

Customer Reviews

  • 4.4
    out of 5,367 reviews
  • 73% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 5,367 reviews
The lights don’t work at night.
Here I am sitting Memorial Day in the middle of the day and my umbrella is up and and lights are on. Why I need them in the sun, I’m not sure. But as soon as the sun goes down, our lights turn off. Perplexing- It’s why we bought a $600 umbrella- for the lights. The umbrella is big, it feels sturdy and it hasn’t faded yet (only had it for 3 weeks) but the darn lights. What a disappointment.
by
Response from Product ManufacturerJun 3, 2021
Dear valued customer, thank you for taking the time to review our product. It is apparent in your review that you were not completely satisfied with our product, and we apologize for the inconvenience you have been experiencing. We are appreciative of your comments because it allows us to see and improve our shortcomings. We can only hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you. If you have any questions, comments, or concerns, please give us a call at (866) 602-1800, so that we can assist you.
    4 found this review helpful
    Canopy fades and shreds
    Purchased 2019 for Florida backyard. Outside of fabric almost Grey now instead of brick red original and is shredding along every rib line even though canopy is lowered and secured for inclement weather. It is apparently impossible to purchase a replacement canopy from either HD or Hampton Bay. Waste of a lot of money!!!! Review will not upload earlier image of damage in spite of several attempts...must allow HD to access camera and take new pix.
    by
    Response from Product ManufacturerJun 3, 2021
    Dear valued customer, we would like to thank you for taking the time to review this product. As the manufacturer, our highest goal is to ensure our customer’s satisfaction. Yet, the issues you have had are certainly not reflective of the high standards we have in our products and we sincerely apologize for those shortcomings. It is in our sincere hope that you will restore your faith in our products and if you encounter any issues in the future, we would like to have the opportunity to satisfy you with our products and services.
      5 found this review helpful
      great umbrella but metal rusts
      I was so excited when we bought this umbrella. I got the tan color bc all the reviews about fading for the other colors. I had no issues with the umbrella itself. for some weird reason the bottom part of the base rusted and eventually broke. luckily I was still within warranty and they will send me replacement parts. I'm just concerned that if I'm two yrs the same will happen again.
      by
      Response from Product ManufacturerJun 2, 2021
      Dear valued customer, thank you for taking the time to review our product. It is apparent in your review that you were not completely satisfied with our product, and we apologize for the inconvenience you are experiencing. Please know that we are very much appreciative of your comments, so that we may improve our shortcomings. We can only hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you. If you have any questions, comments, or concerns, please give us a call at (866) 602-1800, so that we can assist you.
        1 found this review helpful
        second One
        This is my second umbrella. The first one i bought three years ago was amazing. We sat under it in snow and rain and sunshine with no issues. I left it open one day in a hurricane and it blew over and snapped. It lasted three good years prior to that. I recently bought this one and its not waterproof?? It started to rain ans EVERYTHING underneath it is soaked. I am furious. How is an umbrella not waterproof? I do not recdomend this to anyone. I never write reviews but i had to with this one bc it is absurd.
        by
        Response from Product ManufacturerJun 2, 2021
        Dear valued customer, thank you for sharing your concerns with us. As the manufacturer, we aim to provide you with our utmost customer service for your satisfaction with the product you purchased. Please note that this is a sunshade parasol umbrella and not the kind that prevents water from seeping through the fabric. Therefore, this umbrella does not protect against water. For any questions, comments, or concerns, please give us a call at (866) 602-1800, so that we can further assist you.
          5 found this review helpful
          DOES NOT LAST, FADED VERY EASILY
          I purchased this umbrella 2 years ago, if you look at it, you would think it's 10 years old. The umbrella faded very easily even though the company states "Olefin fabric for a durable canopy" and "Weather resistant fabric resists fading". Even though I am past the standard 1 year warranty, the fabric should not fade this bad as the umbrella is not in full sun all day and outside about 5 months out of the year, after that it is stored indoors for the winter. I contact the company, they tell me send them photos which I did, then they tell me they will send me an email. Over a week later and no email with no replies to my sent emails--horrible customer service. So basically, don't waste your $500 on this like I did, find a better more durable umbrella for your patio.
          by
          Response from Product ManufacturerMay 27, 2021
          Dear valued customer, thank you for taking the time to review our product. It is apparent in your review that you were not completely satisfied with our product and we apologize for the inconvenience you are experiencing. Please know that we are very much appreciative of your comments, so that we may improve our shortcomings. We can only hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you. If you have any questions, comments, or concerns, please give us a call at (866) 602-1800, so that we can assist you.
            5 found this review helpful
            The size of umbrella is amazing and the lighting adds...
            The size of umbrella is amazing and the lighting adds a special touch!
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            1 found this review helpful
            Absolutely Beautiful
            LUV my new umbrella and the patio set. Thank you Home Depot!!
            by
              • Recommended
              2 found this review helpful
              didnt last...
              Had this umbrella under a year. The rope broke rendering the umbrella useless! Waste of $500. Dont know if we can fix or even return. Very disappointed!
              by
              Response from Product ManufacturerApr 27, 2021
              Dear valued customer, thank you for taking the time to review our product. It is apparent in your review that you were not completely satisfied with our product and we apologize for the inconvenience you are experiencing. Please know that we are very much appreciative of your comments, so that we may improve our shortcomings. We can only hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you. If you have any questions, comments, or concerns, please give us a call at (866) 602-1800, so that we can assist you.
                • Recommended
                6 found this review helpful
                Saved my house! Only lasted a few months! Would buy again!
                I dearly loved sitting under this umbrella. Free moments at home found me on the deck enjoying the shade this umbrella provided by day and the soft glow of the LEDs at night. My family would sit around the table at night playing cards or board games. We enjoyed each other's company under this umbrella's gentle shade. Early mornings, I would sit under its out stretched limbs sipping hot coffee and reading. Then, on August 10, 2020, a storm blew through the midwest. A derecho - an inland hurricane - hit our state. The storm winds at my office were unlike anything I'd seen before. A panicked call from my daughter who was home alone told me there was trouble. She'd taken shelter in the basement but heard a thunderous boom. After the storm died down, she went outside to survey the damage while I made my way home. She called again. She said the maple in the backyard had split and was on the roof and had broken the deck railing. My heart sank and my gut stirred. I could only imagine the nightmare ahead. Home damaged. Insurance claims and denials. Fear the contractors would do a quick shoddy job. A 30 minutes trip took nearly two hours. Trees down everywhere. Cars stalled alongside the road. Semi-trucks flipped like children's toys. I stewed with worry every inch of that trip. With the amount of rain, surely the water had gotten into the house and damaged the interior, too. I got home and with help of some friends we took the tree trunk off the house. Except it NEVER was on the house. It NEVER touched the roof at all. Between the deck railing and this umbrella, my roof didn't get a scratch! My beloved umbrella was crushed, mangled like a McDonald's drinking straw wrapper in the hands of a wrathful toddler. It gave its life to save my home. Thank you dear 11 foot LED chili red cantilever umbrella by Hampton Bay available exclusively at Home Depot! You saved my home!
                by
                  • Recommended
                  15 found this review helpful
                  lasted one season
                  We live in a very mild temperature. Second season, the pockets were ripped off that held the frame. Wind caught it a couple weeks in to spring snd turned it inside out. horrible waste of money. Never stayed still, blew all over all the time. The button broke through the solar part. I would never have bought this if I knew it would only last one summer
                  by
                  Response from Product ManufacturerApr 9, 2021
                  Dear valued customer, thank you for taking the time to review our product. It is apparent in your review that you were not completely satisfied with our product and we apologize for the inconvenience you have been experiencing. We are appreciative of your comments because it allows us to see and improve our shortcomings. We can only hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you. If you have any questions, comments, or concerns, please give us a call at (866) 602-1800, so that we can assist you.
                    • Recommended
                    10 found this review helpful
                    After a just over a year the umbrella broke
                    I called customer service and was told that I was out of the 1 year warranty. As you can tell by the other reviews it's a big problem. They have to extend the 1 year warranty on the umbrella.
                    by
                    Response from Product ManufacturerApr 6, 2021
                    Dear valued customer, thank you for taking the time to review our product. It is apparent in your review that you were not completely satisfied with our product and we apologize for the inconvenience you are experiencing. Please know that we are very much appreciative of your comments, so that we may improve our shortcomings. We can only hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you. If you have any questions, comments, or concerns, please give us a call at (866) 602-1800, so that we can assist you.
                      7 found this review helpful
                      Fabric deteriorated
                      Bought on close-out late spring 2020 in South Carolina. Umbrella has been outside for around 8 months. LED lights failed within first month but due to the price paid and fact it wasn't a feature we needed, just shrugged it off. However, this winter the side of the umbrella facing the house (corner actually, so it was protected from the wind), developed multiple areas that resemble plastic melting. The wooden deck shows no sign of chemical or burning ember damage, so we are at a loss is the cause of this damage.
                      by
                      Response from Product ManufacturerMar 12, 2021
                      Dear valued customer, thank you for taking the time to review our product. It is apparent in your review that you were not completely satisfied with our product and we apologize for the inconvenience you are experiencing. Please know that we are very much appreciative of your comments, so that we may improve our shortcomings. We can only hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you. If you have any questions, comments, or concerns, please give us a call at (866) 602-1800, so that we can assist you.
                        7 found this review helpful
                        umbrella structure rusted and broke in 2.5 or so years
                        Disappointed that the umbrella is ruined. I cannot find a replacement umbrella amywhere. It’s a large heavy metal stand that now is useless.
                        by
                        Response from Product ManufacturerDec 16, 2020
                        Dear Valued Home Depot Customer, to better answer your question, please contact our HD.com customer service department at 800-430-3376 call any day between 6 a.m. and 2 a.m. EST, or call your local store; they can either answer your question or transfer you to your local store to answer your specific question.
                          • Recommended
                          12 found this review helpful
                          Bad quality and poor design - Do not buy
                          I had this umbrella for 2 year and the string broke, I bought a stronger string thinking I can replace the string. After threading the new string, discovered that one end of string is molded to the end cap and cannot be removed. What a stupid design!!!.. Don't waste your money, do not buy this piece of garage.
                          by
                          Response from Product ManufacturerOct 16, 2020
                          Dear valued customer, thank you for taking the time to review our product. It is apparent in your review that you were not completely satisfied with our product and we apologize for the inconvenience you are experiencing. Please know that we are very much appreciative of your comments, so that we may improve our shortcomings. We can only hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you. If you have any questions, comments, or concerns, please give us a call at (866) 602-1800, so that we can assist you.
                          • DIY
                          14 found this review helpful
                          It's a 50/50
                          We bought this item and loved it at first. We have had this item 4 to 5 years now. We live in the USVI where it's summer practically year round and humid with the tradewinds. The quality of the metal frame holding the umbrella is great. The base we filled with rocks instead and added extra weight on top of the base. The umbrella kept falling over just filling the bag that came with it and even with all the rocks inside that we added. The solar lights were nice, but little by little some of the tracts stopped working over time. Some till work till today. However , the material for the umbrella itself is disappointing. It is not waterproof. The color fadding started by 1 year. The tearing and holes started last year. We always took the umbrella down for storms and hurricanes. My overall comment is that it's a great piece to have and we did enjoy many days and evenings under this product, but not for long. For an umbrella to fade so fast, have the lights falling, keep tipping over and due to the fading start to tear....the price is too high. I am not sure if the option to only replace the umbrella part is available.
                          by
                          Response from Product ManufacturerSep 29, 2020
                          Dear Valued Home Depot Customer, to better answer your question, please contact our HD.com customer service department at 800-430-3376 call any day between 6 a.m. and 2 a.m. EST, or call your local store; they can either answer your question or transfer you to your local store to answer your specific question.
                            • Recommended
                            13 found this review helpful
                            One gust of wind
                            Disappointed!! You’d thing for $600 and over 220 pounds of stand it would be able to stand up to one random gust of wind on a sunny day. Metal pole bent like plastic. Would not recommend. Didn’t even last one summer. I doubt this is covered under the warranty either. I wouldn’t buy this piece of junk unless you have absolutely no wind on your patio.
                            by
                            Response from Product ManufacturerAug 24, 2020
                            Dear valued customer, thank you for taking the time to review our product. It is apparent in your review that you were not completely satisfied with our product and we apologize for the inconvenience you are experiencing. Please know that we are very much appreciative of your comments, so that we may improve our shortcomings. We can only hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you. If you have any questions, comments, or concerns, please give us a call at (866) 602-1800, so that we can assist you.
                              14 found this review helpful
                              Highly Disappointed
                              I purchased in June preparing for a big 4th of July barbecue. The umbrella was to be the centerpiece with the LED lights but it never came on. When I set it up a few days earlier it can on on its own. But never again. My husband finally got around to opening it up and checking the batteries and they all work fine and fully charged so I have no idea what is the problem. Jut a waste of money gets g the more expensive one with the light and it did not work. So disappointed.
                              by
                              Response from Product ManufacturerAug 17, 2020
                              Dear valued customer, thank you for taking the time to review our product. It is apparent in your review that you were not completely satisfied with our product and we apologize for the inconvenience you are experiencing. Please know that we are very much appreciative of your comments, so that we may improve our shortcomings. We can only hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you. If you have any questions, comments, or concerns, please give us a call at (866) 602-1800, so that we can assist you.
                                9 found this review helpful
                                Patio Umbrella
                                Reasonable price and it was very easy to assembled. The ambience from the LED definitely set mood for relaxation. The only pitfall I have it’s very shaky the slightest wind blow it would move around a lot, otherwise from that it’s a awesome product.
                                by
                                  • Recommended
                                  3 found this review helpful
                                  I love the look of the umbrella and the solar lights but after only 8 or so uses over a year the ...
                                  I love the look of the umbrella and the solar lights but after only 8 or so uses over a year the connector that secures the umbrella when open no longer fits properly. Is there a way to replacement the part shown in the photo?
                                  by
                                  Response from Product ManufacturerAug 6, 2020
                                  Dear valued customer, thank you for taking the time to review our product. It is apparent in your review that you were not completely satisfied with our product and we apologize for the inconvenience you are experiencing. Please know that we are very much appreciative of your comments, so that we may improve our shortcomings. We can only hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you. If you have any questions, comments, or concerns, please give us a call at (866) 602-1800, so that we can assist you.
                                    5 found this review helpful
                                    Fast shipping, arrived in good conditions. Love it. Very good quality, exceed our expectations.
                                    Fast shipping, arrived in good conditions. Love it. Very good quality, exceed our expectations.
                                    by
                                    • Verified Purchase
                                    • Recommended
                                    Poor design
                                    This is a beautiful umbrella with a major design flaw! I have bought 2 in three years and won't be making the same mistake a third time. The umbrella is held together by a piece of sting that snaps. I have no idea why a company would design a product like this. Enjoy it for the 1-2 years that it holds up!
                                    by
                                    Response from Product ManufacturerAug 3, 2020
                                    Dear valued customer, thank you for taking the time to review our product. It is apparent in your review that you were not completely satisfied with our product and we apologize for the inconvenience you have been experiencing. We are appreciative of your comments because it allows us to see and improve our shortcomings. We can only hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you. If you have any questions, comments, or concerns, please give us a call at (866) 602-1800, so that we can assist you.
                                      13 found this review helpful
                                      So far a nice addition to our deck. Large enough to cover our outdoor table & chairs. Love how yo...
                                      So far a nice addition to our deck. Large enough to cover our outdoor table & chairs. Love how you can lift, rotate & tilt easily unlike a stick umbrella. I am hoping it will last for many years & not fade with all the direct sun we get daily!
                                      by
                                      • Verified Purchase
                                      • Recommended
                                      1 found this review helpful
                                      Great for Sun, Not for Rain
                                      I have been searching weeks (maybe months) for a Patio umbrella. I wanted LED lights and offset / Cantilever. It does both. I put it together myself Without help. The 2nd day it was up, we were using it for shade for the sun and to cover a television. Then it started sprinkling... then pouring. Water immediately started coming through the entire umbrella. It did not hold up to rain whatsoever. Do not buy this umbrella if you want protection from rain.
                                      by
                                      Response from Product ManufacturerJul 28, 2020
                                      Dear valued customer, thank you for taking the time to review our product. It is apparent in your review that you were not completely satisfied with our product and we apologize for the inconvenience you have been experiencing. We are appreciative of your comments because it allows us to see and improve our shortcomings. We can only hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you. If you have any questions, comments, or concerns, please give us a call at (866) 602-1800, so that we can assist you.
                                        • Recommended
                                        2 found this review helpful
                                        This was simple to put together it's very durable you do need the sandbags to hold the base down,...
                                        This was simple to put together it's very durable you do need the sandbags to hold the base down, is a beautiful umbrella and it provides plenty of shade very good quality I would suggest anyone to buy this
                                        by
                                        • Verified Purchase
                                        • Recommended
                                        1 found this review helpful
                                        Plan on babysitting it if any breeze comes.
                                        Here is ours after 2 weeks. We will try to get it replaced tomorrow
                                        by
                                        Response from Product ManufacturerJul 20, 2020
                                        Dear valued customer, thank you for taking the time to review our product. It is apparent in your review that you were not completely satisfied with our product and we apologize for the inconvenience you have been experiencing. We are appreciative of your comments because it allows us to see and improve our shortcomings. We can only hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you. If you have any questions, comments, or concerns, please give us a call at (866) 602-1800, so that we can assist you.
                                          6 found this review helpful
                                          Very happy with purchase. Great Quality
                                          Very happy with purchase. Great Quality
                                          by
                                          • Verified Purchase
                                          • Recommended
                                          It’s beautiful. It was easy to assemble! The lights are absolutely breathtaking.
                                          It’s beautiful. It was easy to assemble! The lights are absolutely breathtaking.
                                          by
                                          • Verified Purchase
                                          • Recommended
                                          1 found this review helpful
                                          It's very big but it looks great on my patio. Love the LED lightening underneath the umbrella par...
                                          It's very big but it looks great on my patio. Love the LED lightening underneath the umbrella part. Would definitely recommend this product.
                                          by
                                          • Verified Purchase
                                          • Recommended
                                          Easy to set up and use....
                                          Easy to set up and use.
                                          by
                                          • Verified Purchase
                                          Easy to build, recommend using all thr sand necessary or it flies away. Its maybe not so easy to ...
                                          Easy to build, recommend using all thr sand necessary or it flies away. Its maybe not so easy to open. You need to push on that handle up hard for it to work. Everything else works lovely. Lights are mood lites. Not bright enough to light up much but nice mood lighting.
                                          by
                                          • Verified Purchase
                                          • Recommended
                                          4 found this review helpful
                                          Showing 1-30 of 5,367 reviews

                                          Frequently Bought Together

                                          Top Rated
                                          ++
                                          Price:
                                          $59900

                                          Compare Similar Cantilever Umbrellas

                                          current product
                                          Top Rated11 ft. Aluminum and Steel Cantilever Solar LED Offset Outdoor Patio Umbrella in Midnight Navy Blue
                                          Top Rated11 ft. Cantilever Solar LED Offset Outdoor Patio Umbrella in Chili RedExclusive10 ft. Commercial Aluminum Cantilever Square Offset Patio Umbrella in Cafe Tan with Base Included12 ft. Octagon High-Quality Wood Pattern Aluminum Cantilever Polyester Patio Umbrella with Base Plate, Navy Blue
                                          BrandHampton BayHampton BayHampton BayPURPLE LEAF
                                          Name11 ft. Aluminum and Steel Cantilever Solar LED Offset Outdoor Patio Umbrella in Midnight Navy Blue11 ft. Cantilever Solar LED Offset Outdoor Patio Umbrella in Chili Red10 ft. Commercial Aluminum Cantilever Square Offset Patio Umbrella in Cafe Tan with Base Included12 ft. Octagon High-Quality Wood Pattern Aluminum Cantilever Polyester Patio Umbrella with Base Plate, Navy Blue
                                          Price
                                          $59900
                                          $59900
                                          $62910
                                          $83998
                                          /set
                                          Ratings
                                          (5361)
                                          (5361)
                                          (12)
                                          (0)
                                          Umbrella Canopy Diameter (ft.)11 ft.11 ft.10 ft.12 ft.
                                          Canopy ShapeOctagonRoundSquareOctagon
                                          Umbrella StandWith StandWith StandWith StandWith Stand
                                          Patio Furniture FeaturesFade Resistant, Rust Resistant, Solar Lighted, UV Protected, Weather ResistantRust Resistant, Solar LightedCanopy Included, Fade Resistant, Rust Resistant, Weather ResistantFade Resistant, Tiltable, UV Protected
                                          TiltNo TiltNo TiltManual TiltRotational
                                          Opening MechanismCrank lift systemCrank lift systemCrank lift systemCrank lift system
                                          Pole MaterialSteelSteelAluminumAluminum
                                          PatternSolidSolidSolidSolid
                                          View ProductView ProductView ProductView Product