#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for OSI QUAD Advanced Formula 10 fl. oz. Gray #551 Exterior Window, Door, and Siding Sealant (12-Pack)

Internet #203800126

Model #1637260

Store SKU #1000168676

  • All-weather, self-tooling, permanently flexible formula sealant
  • Designed for diverse window, door, siding and trim applications
  • Resists dirt, dust and bonds without primer to common substrates

Customer Reviews

  • 4.5
    out of 1,622 reviews
  • 83% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 1,622 reviews
POORLY Labeled for Exterior use only. Paintable??
The Home Depot rep pushed this product out of all the others when I asked for an interior gray calk. Labeling should prominently show that it is NOT for Interior use. And nowhere could I find anything about Paintability.
by
Response from OSI - Henkel CorporationMay 20, 2024
Thank you for sharing your feedback. We're sorry to hear about your experience with OSI QUAD Window, Door & Siding Sealant. This sealant is designed for exterior use and should not be used in interior applications. This product is paintable with latex paint or primer once it is fully cured in 7-14 days. Keep in mind it is the users responsibility to read all labels and the product technical data sheet prior to using a product. If you ever need more information on our products, please visit www.ositough.com and review the product's Technical Data Sheet or call our technical team at 1-800-624-7767. OSI
    • Recommended
    Caulk and tube failed totally
    I bought this as recommended to bond glass and PVC lumber and the same advice said to avoid silicone for that purpose. While beading the caulk onto the PVC it failed to adhere at all and seemed to repel, and the seal at bottom of the tube totally failed and may have ruined my caulk gun. Cleanup of my window and gun was and is a nightmare. I went back to my original preference of GE Supreme Silicone and it does a fantastic job.
    by
    Response from OSI - Henkel CorporationJul 6, 2022
    We’re sorry to hear our product didn’t work as you expected. OSI QUAD Window, Door & Siding Sealant is one of our best-selling sealants over the last 35 years and is used primarily by professionals in the siding, window, and door industry. As long as your PVC was properly cleaned and prepared, OSI QUAD should adhere to it. Based on the description you provided, it sounds like the product you purchased may have been expired or defective. Lot code information can be found on the cartridge. As with all items sold through retailers, a product exhibiting an issue should be returned to the place of purchase for exchange or refund. OSI
      6 found this review helpful
      Tube split and ruined caulk gun.
      Had a tube split and thought it was because it was old caulk. Bought two new tubes and started to apply in dry, 80 degree weather. First tube split the length and filled gun with sealant. Spent more time cleaning gun than job should have taken and still have to replace the caulk gun, rod bent and barely advances even at high speed setting. Where do I send the bill for reimbursement? Have applied hundreds of feet of different caulks without any problems until this caulk.
      by
      Response from OSI - Henkel CorporationJun 27, 2022
      We're so sorry you had this experience with our product. What you described isn't characteristic of OSI QUAD when the nozzle opening is cut large enough and the inner foil seal has been properly punctured. If you ever need assistance with our products, feel free to reach out to our team at 1-800-624-7767. OSI
        3 found this review helpful
        Good product but messy.
        After I had a 2nd tube burst/leak I decided to leave a review.
        by
        Response from OSI - Henkel CorporationJun 23, 2022
        Thank you for choosing OSI for your project. If you ever need help using our product, feel free to reach us at 1-800-624-7767. OSI
          • Recommended
          2 found this review helpful
          Painter
          It is of very good quality
          by
          Response from OSI - Henkel CorporationSep 22, 2021
          Thank you for taking time to post your feedback. We are glad that OSI QUAD Sealant was up to your standards. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance. -The Henkel/OSI Team, 1800-624-776 OSI
          • Verified Purchase
          • Recommended
          3 found this review helpful
          Works grate but it burnt up in my truck on...
          Works grate but it burnt up in my truck on the side of the I 20 hwy
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          4 found this review helpful
          I've had this in place for about 2 weeks. This was recommended by a high end window installer wit...
          I've had this in place for about 2 weeks. This was recommended by a high end window installer with the highest recommendations. I'd rather pay a little more and get better lifetime coverage, than to keep reapplying every few years. This is really tough stuff and awesome to apply. Does not shrink or peel, which is very important to say the least. Another good feature is that it has a self puncturing seal, so you don't have to insert a tool to puncture the seal initially. I'd recommend wearing vinyl gloves, once this dries on your hands it's very tough to get off.
          by
          • DIY
          • Verified Purchase
          • Recommended
          11 found this review helpful
          I used it to install glass trim around some time together it is easy to work with and bonded inst...
          I used it to install glass trim around some time together it is easy to work with and bonded instantly. Great product!
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          • Recommended
          3 found this review helpful
          The sealant was very effective and flowed from the tube very evenly. I provided the coverage tha...
          The sealant was very effective and flowed from the tube very evenly. I provided the coverage that I needed. I would chose this brand again for future projects.
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          • Recommended
          4 found this review helpful
          Very viscous consistency straight out of the tube. At first I thought I had purchased some old ca...
          Very viscous consistency straight out of the tube. At first I thought I had purchased some old caulk but after reading other reviews I believe this product is just normally very stiff. I bought this for sealing under the mounting flanges of new windows but it is so stiff that it causes the flange to buckle between nails. Pushing on the flange helps the caulk to spread but I still ended up with a "wavy" flange. It probably would work great for applications where compression isn't necessary. It cures to a flexible, rubbery seal.
          by
            6 found this review helpful
            Used this to seal around some stained wood. The color is definitely not brown but more grey. As a...
            Used this to seal around some stained wood. The color is definitely not brown but more grey. As a sealant it's great, but the color is not as advertised.
            by
              9 found this review helpful
              Very good caulking
              Excellent product. Make sure you allow plenty of cure time before you want to paint, minimum required is 7 days. Use mineral spirits to clean up, the only thing that works.
              by
              • DIY
              • Verified Purchase
              • Recommended
              10 found this review helpful
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              OSI QUAD Advanced Formula 10 fl. oz. White #001 Exterior Window, Door, and Siding Sealant VOC. Is a very good sealant. I applied this sealant over 15 years ago and is still adhering very well, is difficult to remove, and easy to apply.
              by
              Response from OSI - Henkel CorporationMay 23, 2024
              We're glad you're happy with our product's performance. OSI
              • Verified Purchase
              Drys to fast. Did not like that. Hard to clean up after.
              by
              Response from OSI - Henkel CorporationMay 22, 2024
              Thank you for sharing your feedback. If you ever need help using our product, feel free to reach us at 1-800-624-7767. OSI
              • Verified Purchase
              Someone recommended for roofing around the chimney
              by
              Response from OSI - Henkel CorporationMay 16, 2024
              Thank you for choosing OSI for your project. OSI
              • Verified Purchase
              Had to re-seal a new AC line on the exterior of the house. I only use quad. It is a great sealant very strong and holds up great.
              by
              Response from OSI - Henkel CorporationMay 16, 2024
              We're happy our product worked well for your application. OSI
              • Verified Purchase
              The rating is a guess on the basis that it will perform well over time. It was very difficult to work with; very hard, did not spread well, quickly gobbed up, leaving a series of boogers that took hours to remove. It's a use-only-as-needed product.
              by
              Response from OSI - Henkel CorporationMay 13, 2024
              Thank you for sharing your feedback. OSI QUAD Sealant is not designed to be spread out or tooled beyond the joint edges. If you ever need help using our product, feel free to reach out to us at 1-800-624-7767. OSI
              • Verified Purchase
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              Works for the intended purpose of patching siding dmaged by landscaping crew. Color matches perfectly to the siding and is undetectable from a distance.
              by
              Response from OSI - Henkel CorporationMay 9, 2024
              We are glad that you are happy with the performance of our product. OSI
              • Verified Purchase
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              Excellent product.
              By far the QUAD product outlasts all other manufactures outdoor sealants. The slightly higher price is well worth it. This product was used on my house siding and gutter project 21 years ago and I have had no cracking, peeling or fading. It was used on my window replacement project 15 years ago and I am completely satisfied. The sealant used prior the house siding, gutter and window project only lasted about 8 years before it started drying out, cracking, peeling and fading. Great product.
              by
              Response from OSI - Henkel CorporationMay 6, 2024
              We are pleased to hear that you are satisfied with your experience using our product. OSI
                • Recommended
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                Showing 1-30 of 1,622 reviews