#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for Olympic Waterguard 5 gal. Clear Wood Sealer

Internet #305542043

Model #55260XI-05

Store SKU #1003317183

  • Clear, ready to use fomula
  • Provides Waterproofing Protection
  • Good for decks and other outdoor wood projects

Customer Reviews

  • 4
    out of 1,515 reviews
  • 63% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 1,515 reviews
Tacky finish
I applied this to my new grill table more than 24 hours ago and it is still very tacky. It seems to repel the water I sprayed on it, but I hate the sticky texture.
by
    7 found this review helpful
    Worked perfect on my wife's potting table !!!...
    Worked perfect on my wife's potting table !!!
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    Went on easily
    We used a Scotts 14 dollar sprayer used for weeds or whatever, we sprayed a thick layer on each board and followed up with a wide brush to apply evening. It came out amazing. The color was more red than we wanted but as it drys it is becoming less red. We will do the back yard in Maple Brown to hopefully avoid the red.
    by
      • Recommended
      2 found this review helpful
      Does Not Spray!!!
      I bought a can of this, followed the instructions, shook it well, sprayed for about 3 seconds, then nothing. I figured, defective can, o well. But having one big swipe of red across my piece, figured I would go get another can and try again to keep it consistent. Second can, same thing. If you pull out the nozzle, push it back in slightly sideways and twisting, it sort of almost works for about a half second. If you remove the nozzle and push in with a nail, it discharges fine. This is a nozzle design flaw. It appears to be pinching off the inner discharge port when you push down on the can nozzle. I managed to get two sides of four sprayed before throwing the can across the yard. I'm going to sand this stuff off and buy another brand.
      by
      Response from Olympic TeamApr 20, 2020
      Hi there, we're sorry to hear this. We are here to further discuss, so please call us at 1-800-426-6306 between 8am-5pm ET. OlympicPaint
        Caused mildew on rafters
        We applied the Waterguard clear wood sealer to our new gazebo. Now after 5 months and past the heavy rains we have mildew on the rafters. We read that this product would prevent this. We follow the directions as stated on the container.
        by
        Response from OlympicPaintsStainsFeb 27, 2020
        Hey there, we're sorry to hear your experience with our Waterguard wasn't what you expected. We are here to further discuss and provide solutions, so please give us a call at 1-800-426-6306 between 8am-5pm ET.
          Clean application. Absorption rate was perfect. Color looks amazing. Very...
          Clean application. Absorption rate was perfect. Color looks amazing. Very happy we used this Olympic Waterguard stain on our deck!
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          2 found this review helpful
          Easy to use!
          [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] We built an enclosed raised bed garden structure this year. A lot of hard work and am so happy to have tried this product! It looks milky (not clear) when it comes out of the can but it does dry clear. It is easy to apply, we mostly used brushes due to the size wood we had. But I'm going to use it on our deck too hopefully and I think we will try to roll it on the floor. We've had extreme weather this year - torrential rains for a month, then drought and high heat, so we've only had this on for about 2 weeks. So far, it looks great! The Garden sits out in the open ...so it will get a lot of weather! Rains, snow and sun!
          by
            • Recommended
            Overall good sealant
            [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I treated my three year old deck made of pressure treated wood. It goes on milky, but does dry to clear. It dried very rapidly as well. I tested the seal with some water the next day and was happy with the difference between treated and untreated. Cleanup was also very easy. Overall a good product.
            by
              • Recommended
              No good for red wood
              I applied 3 coats to a beautiful hand made red wood swing built by my father. After 1 month outside it did not protect the color of the wood whatsoever ever I have attached before and after photos Very heart breaking and do not recommend this product at all !!!
              by
              Response from OlympicPaintsStainsSep 16, 2019
              Hi there, we're sorry to hear this. We are here to further discuss and provide solutions, so please call us at 1-800-426-6306 between 8am-5pm ET.
                Enhances wood beauty and adds protection!
                [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Olympic WaterGuard® for Wood Waterproofing Sealant Clear is a good wood protector and sealer that can be applied with a brush, roller, or sprayed on. I choose long handle and rolled mine on our fence. The sealer is a milky white color when applied but dried clears up after it dries.. After a few hours I checked the fence and the milky white had cleared and there was a nice waterproof sheen to the wood. It protects from water and sun damage. Yes, I would not hesitate to use again to protect my fence from harsh elements.
                by
                  • Recommended
                  Water beads right off
                  [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I like the waterproof sealer because it doesn’t actually change the color of the wood it just sheds off the water. I also find this works better than paint or stain on my deck. The stain and paint always seem to peel off. It is also very easy to apply. I used this clear wood sealer on my wooden deck and it looks amazing. I would definitely recommend it.
                  by
                    • Recommended
                    Revived my fence
                    [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Applied Olympic WaterGuard for wood Waterproofing Sealant Clear to my 10 year old fence after I pressure washed it. It really brings out the beauty of the wood. I included a before and after picture of the results. I expect to repeat the process every two years. But it isn’t all that bad. Used a brush to apply.
                    by
                      • Recommended
                      There aren't many choices of stain in a spray can. I bought it to stain a weathered wooden horse ...
                      There aren't many choices of stain in a spray can. I bought it to stain a weathered wooden horse walk through gate in a horse pasture. Using a spray made it much faster on the rough and split wood surfaces. I was impressed that the spray can came out smoothly even when held at different angles (until it was almost empty). Its also much more of a red tint then a brown. I dont know how long the waterproofing will last since I just sprayed it. So far I'm very happy with it.
                      by
                      • Verified Purchase
                      • Recommended
                      Olympic Water Guard
                      It is more orange than I expected. But the product works very well. I saw some complaints sbout it taking a while to dry. You dont have to cake it on. Go light and give that first coat 20 minutes to dry. You don’t have to go so heavy. Come back and add another coat as needed.
                      by
                        • Recommended
                        2 found this review helpful
                        So far, this stain looks great. It's only been on the fence for less than 1 week. I applied the s...
                        So far, this stain looks great. It's only been on the fence for less than 1 week. I applied the stain with only a brush, a stain bristle brush. The color is exactly what I wanted. Direct sunlight really makes this stain looks great. This stain exceeds my expectations. The price was very reasonable, it was basically half the price of a comparable 5 gallon stain. I will be purchasing this again for my next fence project.
                        by
                        • Verified Purchase
                        • Recommended
                        2 found this review helpful
                        easy to apply, easy to clean, great color, great coverage!!
                        easy to apply, easy to clean, great color, great coverage!!
                        by
                        • Verified Purchase
                        • Recommended
                        This product was easy to use, looks great, and water beads up on it beautifully, letting me know ...
                        This product was easy to use, looks great, and water beads up on it beautifully, letting me know my finished project is protected.
                        by
                        • Verified Purchase
                        • Recommended
                        If you are considering Olympic Waterguard are a wood protectant, I highly recomend you don't buy ...
                        If you are considering Olympic Waterguard are a wood protectant, I highly recomend you don't buy it. It has very poor penetration qualities, causing it to be extremely time consuming to apply. It simply beads up on the surface and drys out. If you plan on applying it to a vertical surface like a fence, I suspect if will simply drip off before soaking in. I'll be taking mine back and asking for a refund.
                        by
                        Response from Olympic TeamMay 13, 2019
                        Hi there, we are sorry to hear your experience with our product wasn't what you expected. We recommend doing a water test before applying our sealers by pouring water on the surface you're working on, and seeing if the water penetrates the surface. If the water penetrates the surface completely, this means that the wood will accept the sealant. If you find that the water didn't penetrate the wood, further prepping needs to be done to make sure the product works correctly (cleaning, sanding, etc). Feel free to reach out to us so we can learn more about your project and further assist you, you can call us at 1-800-426-6306 between 8am-5pm ET. OlympicPaint
                        • Verified Purchase
                        7 found this review helpful
                        Works real well
                        Works real well
                        by
                        • Verified Purchase
                        • Recommended
                        2 found this review helpful
                        Olympic Waterguard Honey Gold
                        After years of using Thompson's Waterseal, I decided to try another name brand, Olympic. I liked the 2.5 gallon container, and that it came in the "honey" color that I love. What a waste of 6 hours of my time. My husband and I are veteran deck sealers who have done this chore about 10 times or more over the years. After applying two coats to our deck (with dry time in between), I was anxious to see the rain bead on top of our newly sealed deck. After 4 days it has rained...what a disappointment. The rain has soaked into the wood, even though this product claims to be a water "repellent". Don't waste your money, or time, on this product if you are looking for a product to seal your deck from water. I will be doing this chore again, in the late spring using Thompson's Waterseal. What really makes me mad is the planning that goes into a chore like this. You have to find the right day (right temperature during the day...and night, no rain for at least 2 days after application) to apply it. So, after finding the perfect fall weekend to do it... only to see that it didn't even work.... so very frustrating.
                        by
                        Response from Online Customer ServiceSep 30, 2015
                        Hello Holly, We're sad to hear you're unhappy with our product. Our team wants to help. Please call our technical services team at 1-800-426-6306 between 9am-5pm EST. They have the knowledge and resources available to resolve the product issue. Sincerely, The Olympic Team
                          Olympic Waterguard
                          I used this product in a metal container for years. I believe it was oil (linseed?) based. I purchased it last year and the container is now a plastic container. They have re-formulated this product. The previous version of this product was FAR superior. I used it to freshen and protect our stained front porch. I would apply it 2x year and it would revitalize the floor to almost new, even after brutal Chicago winters. This new product does not! Look for a different product now?
                          by
                          Response from Customer ServiceJun 13, 2014
                          HI Ruban, We're sorry to hear that you've had a negative experience. Please contact one of our technical specialists at 1-800-426-6306 between 9am-5pm EST. We really appreciate you choosing Olympic Paints and Stains and we look forward to the opportunity to earn back your trust.
                            clear
                            We've used this deck treatment every year for many years & have been very pleased. However, last August when we bought the sealant we noticed it was in a different container (plastic). After using it, the water didn't bead up on the deck as before. After going through the winter, our deck is nearly ruined now because the sealant didn't keep the water from soaking into it. The old oil-based product was far superior. We're hoping we won't have to replace our entire deck now & are going to try another brand of product that is oil-based in an attempt to salvage it. We won't be using this product again. We tried using what was left over a few days ago to touch up areas, but found it had separated so was not usable.
                            by
                            Response from Customer ServiceMay 28, 2014
                            We’re sorry to hear that you’ve had a negative experience. We would very much like to speak with you about your project so that we can understand more about the problem you're experiencing. Please contact one of our technical specialists at 1-800-426-6306 between 9am-5pm EST. We really appreciate you choosing Olympic Paints and Stains and we look forward to the opportunity to earn back your trust.
                              This product works great and I'm using it to seal the surfaces of my pressure-treated deck boards, all cuts and buried ends of posts.
                              by
                              • Verified Purchase
                              Great product. Waterproofed my underlayment board.
                              by
                              • Verified Purchase
                              by
                              • Verified Purchase
                              by
                              • Verified Purchase
                              by
                              • Verified Purchase
                              by
                              • Verified Purchase
                              by
                              • Verified Purchase
                              by
                              • Verified Purchase
                              Showing 1-30 of 1,515 reviews

                              Frequently Bought Together

                              +
                              +
                              Price:
                              $8897

                              Compare Similar Exterior Wood Stains

                              current product
                              Waterguard 5 gal. Clear Wood Sealer
                              WaterGuard 5 gal. Woodland Cedar Transparent Wood Stain and SealerMaximum 5 gal. Cedar Exterior Stain and Sealant in One Low VOCMaximum 5 gal. Redwood Naturaltone Exterior Stain and Sealant in One
                              BrandOlympicOlympicOlympicOlympic
                              NameWaterguard 5 gal. Clear Wood SealerWaterGuard 5 gal. Woodland Cedar Transparent Wood Stain and SealerMaximum 5 gal. Cedar Exterior Stain and Sealant in One Low VOCMaximum 5 gal. Redwood Naturaltone Exterior Stain and Sealant in One
                              Price
                              $9498
                              $12500
                              $19400
                              $20200
                              Ratings
                              (1515)
                              (1461)
                              (2570)
                              (2570)
                              TransparencyClearTransparentTransparentTransparent
                              Container Size5 Gallon5 Gallon5 Gallon5 Gallon
                              Paint/Stain FeaturesDries Clear, Mildew Resistant, UV/Fade Resistant, WaterproofDries Clear, Mildew Resistant, Moisture Resistant, UV/Fade Resistant, WaterproofLow Temperature, Mildew Resistant, Moisture Resistant, UV/Fade Resistant, WaterproofMildew Resistant, Moisture Resistant, UV/Fade Resistant, Waterproof
                              Stain & Sealer In OneYesYesYesYes
                              Base MaterialWater BasedWater BasedWater BasedOil Based
                              Surface LocationPool DeckPool DeckDeckDeck
                              Coverage Area (sq. ft.)1750 sq ft1750 sq ft1750 sq ft1750 sq ft
                              View ProductView ProductView ProductView Product