#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for Vigoro 0.8 cu. ft. Black Bagged Recycled Rubber Mulch

Internet #203714945

Model #VGNG08BK96

Store SKU #767110

  • No annual mulching required. 12-Year Color Guarantee
  • Black rubber mulch for landscape or playground application
  • Eco-friendly recycled rubber mulch lasts for years without fading

Customer Reviews

  • 4.7
    out of 978 reviews
  • 88% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 978 reviews
Very simple to work with, the color is great, very happy, my neighbors love it too, it is perfect. Sad most of the people don’t think about expending a little more one time can save money in the future. Thank you
by
  • Verified Purchase
First time using rubber mulch. Mixed three different colors together which was pretty easy then laid it in specific sections of my flowerbed that were outlined with no dig edging. The flowerbed is on a pretty decent slope and the rubber mulch stayed in place very nicely. Also, it's very soft and cushy when stepping on it.
by
  • Verified Purchase
1 found this review helpful
Excellent product easy to use and long max we have used this rubber mulch since 2014 and while initially it’s a bit more expensive than traditional mulch it’s well worth the investment. It deters bugs and maintains its look and color.
by
  • Verified Purchase
1 found this review helpful
Love this mulch nice and black, looks very nice in the yard. Just wish the bags were bigger and it was a bit less expensive as I had to use about 50 bags.
by
  • Verified Purchase
1 found this review helpful
Worry Free Mulch
Remived all of the many layers of bark mulch my HOA puts down and replaced with it with this black rubber mulch and I am so glad I did. My flower beds look fantastic leading up to my front door. Highly Recommend .
by
    • Recommended
    1 found this review helpful
    I really wanted the blue rubber mulch but couldn’t purchase in the quantities I wanted. Overall it looks fantastic-Doesn’t Attract ants ! But in warmer days my house smells like a tire shop- which is a little unpleasant especially when sitting on porch
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    3 found this review helpful
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    Perfect selection for my landscaping projects!
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    Long lasting mulch
    Makes a great clean flower bed
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    • Recommended
    Nice mulch if you can afford to spend the extra $
    This stuff is really nice. I chose the black colored mulch because it covers the ground completely even in areas where the mulch might be thin. I initially smelled the rubber for a week or two but that has since went away. I haven't had any big issues with wind or rain washing the mulch out of the flower beds. Just a few pieces every now and then. Check the bag size when ordering online. I purchased a pallet online of 50 bags @ 1.5 cubic ft/bag. I figured it was cheaper buying the bigger 40 pound bags but it was actually cheaper buying them at my local Home Depot in the .8 cubic ft bags. Cost per cubic foot was cheaper in the smaller bags.
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    • Recommended
    1 found this review helpful
    Looks AMAZING
    We we’re pleasantly surprised at how great it looks! We saw mulch that you could still see the grey from the tire but this brand is all dyed black. It looks amazing and was perfect for our flower beds! Would be good for play areas too but the black dye transfers to the skin a little so just be careful if kids will be playing down in it. Also recommend a few extra bags from what the site shows. It recommended 10 bags and we needed 14 to fully cover the lining underneath.
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    • Recommended
    Never again
    I get that it’s rubber but it literally looks like I just cut up tires. You can see the tires tread and everything. It looks stupid.
    by
    Response from IMCTEApr 21, 2023
    We apologize you didn't like the appearance of the product. IMCTE
    • Verified Purchase
    1 found this review helpful
    highly recommend
    I recently purchased this mulch as I'm tired of the expense and time to replace wood mulch annually. I think it looks great, rich black color. I added a bunch of mulch to beds. I didn't notice any white writing as other reviewers have said.
    by
      Some Bags with Shredded Cloth Embedded Rubber
      I am following up on an earlier post. I purchased a total of 60 bags of Expresso Black. All were small black nuggets of rubber. I needed another 30 bags, so returned to my local HD. New pallet, same packaging, very different contents. It is as though "waste" material was packaged as shown in the attached photos. I now have to scrape up the bad stuff. I would say, out of the 8 bags I put down yesterday, 5 were full of the shredded rubber and cloth. Seems like a major quality control issue.
      by
      Response from IMCTEApr 22, 2022
      We are sorry to hear your disappointment with the material! Please contact our Customer Support team for further assistance at 866-936-8524. IMCTE
        2 found this review helpful
        50% gray with fiber from the tires
        Horrible product and even worse service. The bags arrived half black rubber and half threads and wires. Couldn't put it down because it looks so horrible. So I paid $80 for delivery and NOW I HAVE TO PAY ANOTHER $80 for them to come back and pick it up. I'll NEVER do business with Home Depot AGAIN!
        by
        Response from IMCTEApr 19, 2022
        We apologize for your dissatisfaction. For further assistance with this issue, please reach out to our customer service department at 866-936-8524. IMCTE
          2 found this review helpful
          String filled
          This rubber mulch was filled with white string. (See picture) I bought 40 bags and this was the case with every bag. Look before you purchase. I had to load then unload all 40 bags. Total waste of time.
          by
          Response from IMCTEApr 11, 2022
          We are sorry to hear about your dissatisfaction! Rubber is made from recycled tires. Tires do contain threads. With that being said, observing threads in the merchandise is a norm. The threads should not be white in color though. Please contact our Customer Support team at 866-936-8524 for further assistance. IMCTE
            3 found this review helpful
            It looks nice, the only problem is that the bag...
            It looks nice, the only problem is that the bag contains small amounts for the price,
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            looks amazing. just laid our down a few weeks ago but totally love the look.
            looks amazing. just laid our down a few weeks ago but totally love the look.
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            • Recommended
            Awesome stuff!
            Im a “one and done” person! For years I’ve spent countless hours landscaping our yard. This year i decided to add an entry focal point and tried the rubber mulch. Bought two pallets. Easy to spread. Easy to haul. Will eventually replace all my mulch to rubber!
            by
              • Recommended
              1 found this review helpful
              Working great for our dog gazebo...
              Working great for our dog gazebo
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              I’ve had the Vigoro down for about 2 weeks and...
              I’ve had the Vigoro down for about 2 weeks and am happy with the look! The color guarantee sold me as I’m prepping my home for sale. I wanted it mulched to look nice and this is what you can get in January in Ohio!
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              I’ve been using it the last 5 years and it always looks great. The color never fades so it always...
              I’ve been using it the last 5 years and it always looks great. The color never fades so it always looks great.
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              • Recommended
              I just finished installing 66 bags of Vigoro black mulch and it couldn’t have been any easier to ...
              I just finished installing 66 bags of Vigoro black mulch and it couldn’t have been any easier to install and it looks fantastic. Easy to handle the bags it comes in.
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              • Recommended
              3 found this review helpful
              We love it. Looks beautiful. Easy to use.
              We love it. Looks beautiful. Easy to use.
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              • Recommended
              mixed feelings about this product.
              We purchased a bulk amount of the black mulch for several newly established garden beds. The look was modern and we were extremly pleased. Now that we have had this in place for nearly two years, we are not happy with the look. It has faded, in fairness we live in sunny Florida. Now that area trees have dropped leaves, it looks horrible. The blower does not get rid of dropped leaves. The only thing to do is to pick up everything that drops. Check out the photo and see if you can deal with this look. The other concern has been the heat factor on my plantings with this black mulch. Will never buy this product again.
              by
                • Recommended
                5 found this review helpful
                Mulch is a little pricey, but it is worth it. Color lasts for many years. Quickly and easily impr...
                Mulch is a little pricey, but it is worth it. Color lasts for many years. Quickly and easily improve your landscaping!
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                • Recommended
                3 found this review helpful
                Vigora Blk Rubber Mulch
                I just finished with 105 bags easy to put down looks a lot cleaner that the wood with no mud or ants also this color blk is natural with no dyes it should last
                by
                  • Recommended
                  Not very attractive looking product but it fills a purpose. Price could be lower or more product...
                  Not very attractive looking product but it fills a purpose. Price could be lower or more product at it's current price.
                  by
                  • Verified Purchase
                  • Recommended
                  1 found this review helpful
                  Great stuff. Easy to lay down and adds a nice clean look. I do not have a green thumb at all, b...
                  Great stuff. Easy to lay down and adds a nice clean look. I do not have a green thumb at all, but this made the job super easy. No smell, no mess, and the bags are pretty light too. I like that I won't have to mulch every year also! I highly recommend it!
                  by
                    • Recommended
                    1 found this review helpful
                    This product looks great and does not look like rubber. I have shown a side by side photo from la...
                    This product looks great and does not look like rubber. I have shown a side by side photo from last year using wood mulch and this year with the Vigoro rubber so you can see for yourself. I also added a close up photo with the Vigoro mulch. It only covers about 1 third of the size that a normal bag of wood mulch would, but because it is rated to last longer I figured I would try it in a few of my areas. If I do not have to mulch every year, that will be a plus. The reviews I read stated that the Vigoro rubber mulch repels weeds better than traditional mulch, but I am not finding that aspect to be much different. You will notice in my photos that I actually have a few weeds that need to be pulled. Overall I am very happy with this product. It has been several months since I put this down and it still looks as good as new.
                    by
                    • Verified Purchase
                    • Recommended
                    2 found this review helpful
                    Showing 1-30 of 978 reviews

                    Frequently Bought Together

                    Top Rated
                    +
                    +
                    Price: