#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for BEHR DYNASTY 1 gal. #PR-W13 Crystal Cut Matte Interior Stain-Blocking Paint & Primer

Internet #315793261

Model #165001

Store SKU #1006019568

  • Advanced durability helps guards painted surface from daily wear
  • Exceptional cleanability, simply wash messes and mishaps away
  • Tack-free and doesn’t stick on painted surfaces within four hours

Customer Reviews

  • 4.6
    out of 739 reviews
  • 88% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 739 reviews
This is fantastic paint with true one-coat performance. I repainted my interior in light gray, over a fairly dark beige color. I had concerns that the darker brown would show through or affect the color of the new paint. Not an issue at all. This paint goes on beautifully - thick and syrupy - with fantastic coverage and flow of the brush or roller. Matt has the subtlest of sheens (versus “flat”), so it can show drywall imperfections if you are switching from a flat paint. But without a doubt, this is very fairly priced at about $60/gallon. You could pay 1/3 less for cheaper paint, but if you have to paint it twice, you spend more than doing it once with the higher grade.
by
  • Verified Purchase
Cracked Pepper Matte
Very good product Wasn’t sure if I was going to like. But I luv it
by
    • Recommended
    wrong color
    When i get home almoat an hour away i start to paint a wall and color is completely differant from the color i asked him to mix!! Tbis paint has way way too much blue in it than the color “watery.” This was expensive to say the least and then there is my time and my gas and i cant even finish my project. Im so not happy. And i better be able ro retirn it!!
    by
    Response from BehrJan 3, 2024
    Hi Liisa, thank you for your review. I’m sorry to hear that the color didn’t turn out as expected. Typically, the lighting and the surroundings in the room influence how the color will turn out. Customer satisfaction is important to us, and we appreciate your feedback. Please reach out to us directly if you need further assistance; our customer care team is happy to help you! -Ronald Behr
      • Recommended
      I purchased Behr Dynasty matte finish in the color Brooklyn (N440-6) to paint over a medium tone bamboo green and also a bright white in a satin finish. The paint truly has one coat coverage and the results are beautiful! There is absolutely no difference in color from covering the bright white or the green portions of the room. There were a few stains on the wall that also covered beautifully with no additional prep. If you don’t want to prime or paint multiple coats, this paint is for you!
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      Best paint on the market. Covers well with one coat. The color is vibrant and the finish is smooth
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      Kitchen
      First of all I purchased the Diamond flat for the cabinets says one coat, took 3 coats cover, went back to the Homedepot, paint associate sold me the new Behr Dynasty, told me the paint would cover only one coat, well it didn’t happen, went back to the store talk with manager on duty he just walked away, no service, went to Sherwin Williams they have experience in paint.
      by
      Response from BehrApr 3, 2023
      Hi Russ, thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that you're not getting good coverage. Our Dynasty Paint should cover in one coat when tinted to one of the one-coat colors and applied over a previously painted or primed surface. Customer satisfaction is important to us, and we appreciate your feedback. Please reach out to us directly if you need further assistance. Our customer care team is happy to help you! -Giovanna Behr
        Too expensive also it takes 2 coats
        This paint is way overpriced thought I would try it being it's supposed to be a one coat application but that's not true at all. I paid extra at home Depot being it's one coat I think in store it is 68.99 I would have went with another brand if I knew it would still take 2 coats and some spots 3. Don't waste ur money on this thinking it's a 1 coat in and out job. Might as wells save money and buy a cheaper brand
        by
        Response from BehrApr 3, 2023
        Hi Bear, thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that you did not get good coverage. Our Dynasty Paint should cover in one coat when tinted to one of the one-coat colors and applied over a previously painted or primed surface. Customer satisfaction is important to us, and we appreciate your feedback. Please reach out to us directly if you need further assistance. Our customer care team is happy to help you! -Giovanna Behr
          1 found this review helpful
          Dynasty Paint is not good
          Dynasty paint does NOT work. I’m very disappointed I have to use 2-3 coats for coverage. Would not recommend to anyone!
          by
          Response from BehrMar 15, 2023
          Thank you for your review. I'm very sorry to hear your paint did not cover in one coat. Our Dynasty Paint should cover in one coat when tinted to a One-Coat Color and applied over a previously coated surface. However, colors outside the One-Coat Collection may require additional coats for uniformity. Customer satisfaction is important to us, and we appreciate your feedback. Please reach out to us directly if you need further assistance; our Customer Care team is happy to help! -Lina Behr
            1 found this review helpful
            No good
            Need to come back to do third coat
            by
            Response from BehrFeb 8, 2023
            Hi there, thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear you're not getting good coverage. Our Dynasty Paint should cover in one coat when tinted to a One-Coat Color and applied over a previously coated surface. Customer satisfaction is important to us, and we appreciate your feedback. Please reach out to us directly if you need further assistance; our Customer Care team is happy to help! -Lina Behr
            • Verified Purchase
            1 found this review helpful
            Once again, total waste of money!!!
            I told myself I wasn't going to buy Behr paint again after using the deck and fence stain that was pure white water. But I figured this paint is $60+, it's gotta be the best. I unfortunately decided to waste my money again. I used to be a strictly Behr paint user. And hadn't had any problems with their products until after COVID. Everything has gone downhill in quality and coverage. I purchased white paint to go over light gray paint. So far I am on coat 3! Don't buy it!!
            by
            Response from BehrJan 11, 2023
            Hi Jhoch22, thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear you didn't get the coverage you expected. Our Dynasty paint should cover in one coat when tinted to one of our One-Coat Colors and applied over a previously painted or primed surface. Customer satisfaction is important to us, and we appreciate your feedback. Don't hesitate to get in touch with us directly if you need further assistance; our Customer Care team is happy to help you! -Christina Behr
              3 found this review helpful
              I went with two coats but it was lush at one
              Really a lovely paint. Come to think of it, I don’t think I smelled paint once! I guess the smell is minimal. I chose the Vine Leaf in a matte finish for a longer bathroom cabinet. This cabinet is builder grade circa 1976. This superior paint buys me a few extra years until I replace them. Or more time! With the extra paint in the gallon, I will be painting the inside of my front door. I am a true believer in buying the best paint you can buy. It makes a difference. This is that paint.
              by
                • Recommended
                Never again
                Wasnt thrilled about how expensive this paint is,but I wanted something that would last. I was planning on doing my kitchen cabinets. Thank God I started with my kitchen island. At first I thought wow this is so thick. I just bought it so the paint was mixed. My cabinets were all cleaned ,sanded and prepped. What a nightmare. Once you brush that first stroke theres no going over it or it will stick and streak. That's bull only one coat. But there was no turning back. My project was started. I ended up using 2 gallons on a kitchen island. I also did my wooden bar stools. 3 coats. I let dry in between but paint still chipped off. I'm so upset about this. What a nightmare
                by
                  The color turned out exactly how I wanted!
                  I originally purchased this without doing a color test. I just knew I wanted a beige gray for our bedrooms. The night before I was suppose to put it on our room I read the only other review which was bad and I was a little worried. I went ahead and followed my gut and still applied the color. I am so glad I did! It turned out PERFECT. I’m not sure if the other person just got a bad can but I had 4 (1 gallon) cans and all went on great!
                  by
                    • Recommended
                    1 found this review helpful
                    Easy enough for an amateur to use; beautiful color
                    This paint goes on so well. I’ve never painted anything before and I’m completely new to home improvements. The color is beautiful, deep, sophisticated, but different from the typical wall colors you see in most homes. It changed the whole vibe of the room. The pictures included are shown one with inside lighting and the other with natural light from the window. It is a blue/green color, but a warm blue so it doesn’t make the room seem dreary. More of an inviting feel.
                    by
                      • Recommended
                      Dynasty is Neither a Paint Nor Primer
                      I sanded, primed, and did 3 coats sanding between each. Even sanding smooth I couldn’t roll over it twice without pulling; there was large clots in the paint can; it is Paint and Primer but even using an additional actual primer it hasn’t covered the original color. Be sure to pour out the minimum amount in your tray before starting because it WILL dry before you can use an average amount for other paints. $60 thrown on paint + cost of supplies + new double entry doors. Thanks Behr!
                      by
                      Response from BehrFeb 18, 2022
                      Hi LizBeth - Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear about the clots in the paint can, lack of coverage, and how the paint is drying too fast! Our Dynasty paint line should have a smooth and creamy consistency once it's been stirred for a few minutes before use, and will cover your previously painted or primed surfaces in one coat when tinted to a One-Coat Color. If stirring the paint doesn't break up the clots, I recommend continuing your project with a new can. Up to 4 oz. of water per gallon can also be added to your paint before you recoat which will help slow down the dry time. Please don't hesitate to reach out to us directly so we can assist you with this further. We hope to hear from you soon! - Sara Behr
                        not one coat
                        bought this for one coat coverage. does not cover in one coat. for the cost it should cover in one coat
                        by
                        Response from BehrDec 20, 2021
                        Hi vandy, thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that you didn't get good coverage. Our Dynasty paint should cover in one coat when tinted to one of the one-coat colors and applied over a previously painted or primed surface. Customer satisfaction is important to us, and we appreciate your feedback. Please reach out to us directly if you need further assistance; our customer care team is happy to help you! -Giovanna Behr
                          Used the flat finish for an in home theater. The coverage is beautiful! We love how it came out.
                          Worth every penny as it truly was a one coat paint!
                          by
                          • Verified Purchase
                          • Recommended
                          Loved it! Great paint.
                          I love the smooth matte finish. When its dirty it will be easy to clean without the sheen. It applied well and was thick enough to avoid drips. I probably could have gotten one coat coverage if I had better lighting. The coverage was surprising and I still have a substantial amount left over, time to find more things to paint! The brush strokes leveled out and smoothed well. Wet paper towel cleaned up spills easily and the brush cleaned out easily also. There weren't any fumes or bad odors with this paint and it has held up to dog paws and traffic pretty well so far.
                          by
                          • Recommended
                          Quality paint, better lid, limited finishes
                          This paint does cover dark colors fully with just one coat. The surface is quite tough. I can abuse it like crazy with no affect. But what I like best about it is the new gallon lid design and all plastic can. Finally, no more rust ruining stored paint! The lid has a small hole with its own screw cap and screw-on spout. I love that! The spout has notches in the narrow opening/top that fit over the small cap’s handle to provide leverage to open the tight or stuck cap. For trim work, you can open the full lid to stir, but then close that and open the small hole to insert the brush. It fits up to a 2 in. brush and keeps the paint from drying out too much. Screw on the spout and it provides cleaner pouring into a roller tray. The spout top also makes a nice raised rest for a brush or stirrer. I’d describe the ‘Jojoba’ color in matte finish as a frosty light sage; very easy on the eyes. Matte finish has a slight sheen- less than eggshell but NOT FLAT- just enough to show any imperfections in the brush or roller stroke. True flat paint is better for amateur painters and walls that are any less than flawless (most!). Just know that. It is extremely unfortunate that DYNASTY paint is NOT AVAILABLE IN (true) FLAT or (full) GLOSS finishes. For that I drop a star!
                          by
                          • Recommended
                          2 found this review helpful
                          great paint
                          I got this paint for different project but this came up a screen room I am adding on and I had bronze screen rails I though this paint would look great for under the rails and it will look great and against the dark grey siding too. Covered in one coat over pressure treated wood which is pretty amazing and it look great. I never use any other kind of paint but Behr the best paint ever for any project.
                          by
                          • Recommended
                          1 found this review helpful
                          A new color palette for a new house
                          I ordered this particular paint after having excellent results with the Behr Premium line. We’re still in the process of getting situated/unpacking in a new house nevertheless the interior designer (wife) is already choosing interior colors and finishes. Neutral gray and putty colors were utilized in the house we just sold. Not so in this one! My first paint project will be painting a windowless hallway and laundry room with Behr’s Matte finish Back to Nature a pleasant light green-with-yellow undertone paint. I have used Behr’s paint and primer in one products with great success in our old home and chose this Dynasty product as a result. I like the all plastic container (no can rust if a touch up is needed down the road) and the convenience of a built in pour spout capability. I anticipate no issues with coverage odor or hiding based on my past experiences and will try to provide an update ‘if necessary’ after I’ve completed the job.
                          by
                          • Recommended
                          Excellent paint
                          BEHR DYNASTY 1 gal. #N390-3 Jojoba One-Coat Hide Matte Interior Stain-Blocking This is some quality paint. It features advanced stain repellency and unmatched scuff resistance and fast-drying technology with one-coat hide. One gallon will cover up to 400 sq ft. The Jojoba color is very nice looking and apparently was just recently chosen as the color of the month so I'd say on trend. It's a nice earthy pastel color with a warm green hue that isn't too dark or too light. Very clean and calming look to it. I haven't had it up long to attest to the durability of the stain and scuff resistance, but it seems like some quality paint.
                          by
                          • Recommended
                          Swiss Coffee soft and warm
                          I bought Dynasty in a matte finish because I wanted a sheen that would hide imperfections and is safe to use in a bathroom. Vikki at the Madison Heights Home Depot told me about the ability of this product to go in a bathroom, so I tried it. I love the finish and I can't believe how good it looks! Super excited to be able to use a low sheen because I have a really old house.
                          by
                            • Recommended
                            2 found this review helpful
                            Possibly the best paint I've ever used!
                            This is my second time using the new BEHR Dynasty paint. We just used it in our dining room and it was fantastic in there. Now we have used it in a bedroom as an accent wall and it looks fabulous in there also. This paint rolls on very smoothly and dries very quickly. The coverage is excellent also. I was able to dismantle our room, paint the wall and put it all back together in the same day. This was my 2nd time using a flat paint inside my house. The minimum sheen I usually use is eggshell but after using the interior flat I like it even better. BEHR Dynasty will be my new paint going forward anytime I can use it. Also I have never had paint shipped to me before but it came in perfect condition with no problems. They even include a screw on pour spout and cap so it makes pouring out the paint and storing the paint super easy. I'm so used to paint going down the side of the can that it seems odd to not have to take a paint brush to the side of the can for drips but those days appear to be gone for good now. If you haven't tried the new BEHR Dynasty paint I would positively give it a try. It's fantastic!
                            by
                            Great coverage with the new BEHR Dynasty paint
                            We've been wanting to paint our dining room for a while now but we keep putting it off. Today we received our new BEHR Dynasty paint and we decided to give it a go to see how well it would cover and boy are we glad we did. This new BEHR Dynasty paint is by far the best paint I have ever used. It went on the walls extremely smoothly and covered perfectly in just one coat. We were able to remove all the decorations in the room along with the mirrors and drapes, paint it all and re-hang everything all in just one day. This is my first time using an interior matte paint. In the past we have always used at least egg shell paint as a minimum. This matte paint went on the walls with no roller marks and pattern separation and there wasn't a "holiday" in the paint to be seen. This BEHR Dynasty paint will be the only paint I use going forward. I have always been a big fan of the BEHR paints but this new Dynasty paint is their best yet.
                            by
                            • Recommended
                            BEHR DYNASTY - BEHR DYNASTY 1 gal. #S340-4 Back to Nature One-Coat Hide Matte Interior Stain-Blocking Paint & Primer
                            The BEHR DYNASTY 1 gal. #S340-4 Back to Nature One-Coat Hide Matte Interior Stain-Blocking Paint & Primer is a great paint to use. One coat did an excellent job for me. I really like the application and the final results. I like the can and lid cover makes it easy to pore the paint out the can into a paint tray and then store the paint if you don't use all the paint. The coverage area of the paint was within the expected results I was looking for with the one gallon can.
                            by
                            • Recommended
                            Great paint with easy coverage
                            I was not even aware what an accent wall was but my wife informed me that we had one and we needed to paint it. My wife chose this Behr Dynasty 1 gal. #PPU18-05 French Silver One-Coat Hide Matte Interior Stain-Blocking Paint & Primer to paint the accent wall. Because we have grandchildren who tend to touch everything, a big selling point with this paint was the fact that it is marketed as being the most stain repelling and scuff resistant. Another selling point is that it is paint and primer so there is no need to do a separate coat of primer. This paint comes in a can with a plastic lid which is nice so it won’t rust if it gets damp. The paint seemed very smooth and mixes easily with a mixing stick and is a nice, matte silver color. The paint went on smoothly and it did in fact cover with one coat but the existing color was reasonably similar. I think a true test of coverage would be if it was covering a very different color but that was not the case. I’ve only had the paint for a short time so I’m not yet aware how it will tolerate scuffs and stains but as of now, I am very happy with this paint.
                            by
                            • Recommended
                            Good Paint Coverage
                            This Behr paint was just what I needed to paint the walls in my spare room. The Dynasty is new to me as an upgraded version of the other Behr paints used. The one coat is a great choice even if it takes some touch up. It still covers much better than one without primer. It covers new unpainted and previously painted surfaces in one coat. This matte interior paint dries to the touch in one hour. It is stain blocking, scuff, antimicrobial and mildew resistant. There was no paint smell as it is low VOC. This paint had a nice consistency and went on smooth with the roller with very little drip. This natural grey is a soothing color for the room with the matte finish. The lid of the can has a better pouring option. There is a hole to open and a spout to make pouring in a tray less messier than opening the whole can top.
                            by
                            • Recommended
                            3 found this review helpful
                            Behr Dynasty Paint
                            We were looking for paint to create an accent wall for our living room. We found the BEHR DYNASTY 1 gal. #PPU18-05 French Silver One-Coat Hide Matte Interior Stain-Blocking Paint & Primer. We were pleased to see that the primer/paint accomplish a one coat paint experience and the color does what we wanted and provide depth to a small room. We would recommend this brand and especially the Dynasty quality paint/primer.
                            by
                            • Recommended
                            Dynasty is a superior paint
                            BEHR DYNASTY 1 gal. Black One-Coat Hide Matte Interior Stain-Blocking Paint & Primer This is a superior paint. It covered purple in one shot. We often have to use a black base for specialty projects. We had some pecky cypress that we repurposed for paneling. Pecky in some cases has holes all the way through If you paint the background back they do not show up. We also use black for art projects and for covering shelves that were cheaply made. There is nothing worse than a partly used can of paint that has rusted. That happens quickly in Florida. This type of container is by far the best development in paint cans in the last 30 years. Makes it easy to save that last little bit for touch-ups in the future. This paint is as good or better than most brand names for value
                            by
                            • Recommended
                            1 found this review helpful
                            Showing 1-30 of 739 reviews

                            Frequently Bought Together

                            +
                            +
                            Price:
                            $5998