#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for Brinly-Hardy 40 in. Pull-Behind Spike Aerator with 3D Galvanized Stars for Lawn Tractors and Zero-Turn Mowers

Internet #320008930

Model #SA-401BH

Store SKU #1007574885

  • 40 in. width ensures you have maximum ground coverage
  • Includes 10 sharp stars in rust-resistant galvanized steel
  • Weight tray holds 110 lbs. of extra weight for maximum aeration

Customer Reviews

  • 4.3
    out of 103 reviews
  • 89% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 103 reviews
great behind mower
Had to add lots of weight and strap down. If you dont strap the pavers, they will bounce off. Did the trick for 5 acres.
by
    • Recommended
    Straight lines only
    This was easy to assemble. If there is a rock under the grass the tines bend. It worked great when you go in a straight line, but as soon as you turn to go the other direction the end panels collapsed.
    by
    Response from BrinlyCustomerServiceMay 1, 2023
    -David, Thank you for your review. All our products are manufactured to exceed our customers’ expectations. Each of our products comes with a Warranty. We want you to have a better customer experience. Please reach out to our Customer Service Team for assistance in resolving the issues you have. David, you can call us at 877-728-8224 or email: customerservice@brinly.com Brinly
    • Verified Purchase
    1 found this review helpful
    Great
    Works great , but the frame is lite so I put the times on my yarn grader for weight
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    • Recommended
    Good concept needs minor modification
    Purchased a month ago, easy to assemble, easy to attach to ZTR mower. Used it for our almost 2 acre yard, and found the end caps had bent. Made the pictured modification, and works great!
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    • Recommended
    Good product
    I decided that it was time to start aeration on my lawn. I always use a de thacher in the spring but a landscaper came to look at doing some work and recommend aeration as well. This unit was fairly simple to assemble. Instructions were clear. I found the hardware fine. Once assembled, its very easy to move around prior to adding weight. Definitely wear protective gloves while assembling tines,they are sharp. I added2 standard concrete building blocks and hitched up to my tractor. Drove slowly and let it do its job.
    by
    Response from BrinlyCustomerServiceApr 10, 2023
    Dear DaveB, Thank you for taking the time to share a review on your new 40 in. Pull Behind Spike Aerator. We are very glad to hear that you are happy with the ease of use and assembly of the aerator. For warranty information, parts or service, please don’t hesitate to reach out to our Customer Service team at 877-728-8224 or at customerservice@brinly.com. You may also want to check out www.Brinly.com, our YouTube channel, or connect with us on Facebook for helpful resources and videos. Thank you again for your feedback! Brinly
    • Verified Purchase
    • Recommended
    It works!
    Aerator works as advertised. I live near the coast so my soil is somewhat sandy. I fabricated fold up wheels that work really well. I just remove the wing nuts and wells fold back. Tip; wait until after it rains a lot. The spikes didn’t penetrate as I hoped until after it rained.
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    • Recommended
    Spiked aerator
    [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] This is my first time using a spiked aerator although I know it will get easier in the future I must say it made my lawn preparation this year a breeze compared to the past years. I am looking forward to getting more experienced with my new lawn equipment in the coming years.
    by
      • Recommended
      Easy to assemble
      [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I got this lawn aireator must say it is easy to assemble. Made good and Saturday material. The spikes well and thick. You can add 8inch block on top for more weight for harder ground. Tried on my lawn and must say it did a great job
      by
        Brinly - 40″ Spike Aerator
        [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] The Brinly 40' Spike Aerator,has been a great tool for my lawn.It hitches to the back of my rider mower and it provides my lawn with essential air ,an nutrients it needs to stay healthy and promotes long lasting beautiful grass.The Brinly Aerator is easy to attach and it has galvanized steel time stars that resist rust and penetrate the soil up to 2in deep.Thats essential for a beautiful lawn,it has a steel tray for added weight to achieve the max level of penetration of the soil. I like that I can choose how deep I want to aerate my lawn. I recommend Brinly Aerator a must have for a little awn that will get noticed.
        by
          • Recommended
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          Have used it twice, first time with about 15lbs it did not cut into ground like I thought it should. Second time i put a thirty five pounds and a full 8 inch CC block and it cut deeper. Seems like it pulled fine and no bending of the side plates.
          by
          Response from BrinlyCustomerServiceApr 2, 2024
          Dear David, thank you for taking the time to share a review on your new 40in Pull-Behind Spike Aerator. We are very glad to hear that you are happy with the quality of your new aerator. For warranty information, parts or service, please don’t hesitate to reach out to our Customer Service team at 877-728-8224 or at customerservice@brinly.com. You may also want to check out www.Brinly.com, our YouTube channel, or connect with us on Facebook for helpful resources and videos. Thank you again for your feedback! Brinly
          • Verified Purchase
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          Good for ninja throwing stars, and maybe wind chimes but that’s all
          by
          Response from BrinlyCustomerServiceMar 22, 2024
          ANDREW, Thank you for your review. We want to do better! A 1-star review with little description doesn't point us in any direction of improvement. Please help! What could we have done better? Please provide some comments or contact our Customer Service Team for assistance in resolving your issues. You can call us at 877-728-8224 or email: customerservice@brinly.com Brinly
          • Verified Purchase
          Works great just have trouble sometimes keeping the brick on for wright
          by
          Response from BrinlyCustomerServiceMar 21, 2024
          Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with our team. Brinly
          • Verified Purchase
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          Just used for the first time last week. Assembly was NOT hard. Follow the instructions. WEAR GLOVES! The tines ARE VERY SHARP! Have to wait and see the results. It definitely helped break up the soil in the bare spots of my yard before I over seeded. Time will tell if it truly helps my yard. For the price, it was worth a shot! I'm sure that a core aerator would work better, but this left no mess at all. It just pokes holes!
          by
          Response from BrinlyCustomerServiceMar 6, 2024
          Dear BinNC, thank you for taking the time to share a review on your new 40 in. Pull-Behind Spike Aerator. We are very glad to hear that you are happy with the quality of your new aerator. For warranty information, parts or service, please don’t hesitate to reach out to our Customer Service team at 877-728-8224 or at customerservice@brinly.com. You may also want to check out www.Brinly.com, our YouTube channel, or connect with us on Facebook for helpful resources and videos. Thank you again for your feedback! Brinly
          • Verified Purchase
          works well behind the kuboto
          used this unit last year on the airport grass runway, will purchase another and rig a dual hitch so I can cover 80 inches
          by
            • Recommended
            Took a little while to assemble Once together it has done what I wanted it to do
            by
            Response from BrinlyCustomerServiceFeb 12, 2024
            Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with our team. Brinly
            • Verified Purchase
            Spiker
            Easy to assemble and works as advertised & expected
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            • Recommended
            Aerator tow-Behind
            Works extremely well, I have about a acre and I was so impressed with this guy, planted seed the next day in three weeks my yard looked like a golf course…
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            • Recommended
            Works fine once you figure out the instructions.
            Works fine and seems to do a good job on my lawn, but the instructions and pictures are very vague on the last half of the instructions. And I am very mechanical and do most of my home repairs and car repairs. But be careful if you have to backup, these jack knife very easy if your not good at backing up a trailer. Other than that I would recommend this to anyone.
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            • Recommended
            it’s hard to notice under healthy grass compared to a plug style aerator. But it’s is definitely putting decent holes into the ground, plug style aerator works “better” but this works good enough for me.
            by
            Response from BrinlyCustomerServiceNov 2, 2023
            Dear S, thank you for taking the time to share a review on your new 40 in. Pull-Behind Spike Aerator. We are very glad to hear that you are happy with the quality of your new aerator. For warranty information, parts or service, please don’t hesitate to reach out to our Customer Service team at 877-728-8224 or at customerservice@brinly.com. You may also want to check out www.Brinly.com, our YouTube channel, or connect with us on Facebook for helpful resources and videos. Thank you again for your feedback! Brinly
            • Verified Purchase
            Kinda weak
            I bought it two years ago and used for one season , worked fine, this seasons though it axle failed . It is 40 inch wide and with no axle support on the middle and it weakest part of this thing.
            by
              Complete lawn renovation prep
              The Brinly, 40" star tooth spike aerator was a great help in my recent new lawn renovation. After plug aeration to break up the extremely hard compacted soil I then ran the Brinly 40" over the soil to breakup the soil providing a good seed bed. after seeding I ran the Brinly 40" again to cover the new seed working it into the seed bed as I didn't cover the seed with straw in one week I had seed germination and sprouting using Johnathan Green Black beauty seed, Thanks to the The Brinly, 40" star tooth spike aerator.
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              • Recommended
              It was easy to Assemble. Directions were not super clear but easy to figure out. Worked great in the yard
              by
              Response from BrinlyCustomerServiceOct 13, 2023
              Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with our team. Brinly
              • Verified Purchase
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              Must have Product
              I bought this earlier this month and was in dire need of an aerator to fix my yard. The grass was turning yellow and dying off. With this aerator i am beyond amazed at how well this helped my yard. I recommend investing in this product. Trustworthy brand and glad to have it in yard maintenance routine.
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              • Recommended
              Showing 1-30 of 103 reviews

              Frequently Bought Together

              Best Seller
              +
              +
              Price:
              $169.00