#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for Brinly-Hardy 40 in. Pull-Behind Spike Aerator with 3D Galvanized Stars for Lawn Tractors and Zero-Turn Mowers

Internet #320008930

Model #SA-401BH

Store SKU #1007574885

  • 40 in. width ensures you have maximum ground coverage
  • Includes 10 sharp stars in rust-resistant galvanized steel
  • Weight tray holds 110 lbs. of extra weight for maximum aeration

Customer Reviews

  • 4.3
    out of 92 reviews
  • 88% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 92 reviews
Nice
This equipment works great
by
Response from BrinlyCustomerServiceAug 2, 2022
Dear Kelvin, On behalf of everyone on the Brinly team, thank you for your review! We appreciate you sharing your experience, and are happy to hear you are pleased with your new Brinly-Hardy 40 in. Tow-Behind Spike Aerator with 3D Galvanized Stars.
For warranty, service parts or for help at any time, please don’t hesitate to reach out to our Customer Service team at 877-728-8224 or at customerservice@brinly.com Brinly
  • Verified Purchase
  • Recommended
Works Perfectly
Received this aerator a couple weeks ago. Unbox it and was super easy to assemble. (Careful those tines are super sharp). Hooked it up to my lawn tractor, added 3 large building bricks to weigh it down. Used bungees to secure bricks...and off I went. Very pleased how it worked. Went over entire lawn twice. Plan on using it quarterly. Well made product that really works. A+ .
by
  • Verified Purchase
  • Recommended
Exactly what I was looking for
[This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Used twice this season and worked great! Lawn looks greener and fuller as a result of aeration
by
  • Verified Purchase
  • Recommended
Great low cost aerator
[This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I have a lot of clay soil. Now I can aerate before I put down fertilizers. Now my yard is looking good even with this early heat
by
  • Verified Purchase
  • Recommended
Spike aireator
[This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Got this for Christmas was easy to assemble,great to use did what I needed it to do.easy to use and pull behind my lawn tractor.
by
  • Verified Purchase
  • Recommended
spikes aren’t big enough. it puts tiny holes in the...
spikes aren’t big enough. it puts tiny holes in the ground when weighted down. need to buy different unit. seems like a baby toy.
by
Response from BrinlyCustomerServiceJun 21, 2022
Hello Chris and thank you for your comments. The 3-D galvanized steel tines will penetrant 2.5 inches into the soil when the conditions are good. We recommend the best time to aerate is a couple of days after a rain episode has occurred. This will allow for maximum soil penetration and aerification of the soil. Please reach out to us so we can better understand the issue and environment you may be dealing with. You can reach us at 877-728-8224, or email us at customerservice@brinly.com. We look forward to helping you! Brinly
  • Verified Purchase
Quality product
Quality product made from quality material. Enough said.
by
  • Verified Purchase
  • Recommended
works well so far
I have used the aerator several times and very pleased. I dropped some fertilizer and was very pleased. I do wish the axle bolts were stronger, when the hopper is loaded I could see the wheels spread outward. This could be a weak point, otherwise very happy.
by
  • Verified Purchase
  • Recommended
by
  • Verified Purchase
Do NOT waste your money on this
The biggest piece of junk out there. 2nd attempt at using it and the whole thing just falls apart.
by
Response from BrinlyCustomerServiceMay 25, 2022
Hello Jason. We were very sorry to hear of this experience. We would like to understand what happened and help you get your aerator into top shape. Your unit is under warranty and any faulty parts can be replaced. We can also troubleshoot any assembly issues. Please reach out to our customer service team for assistance. You can reach us at customerservice@brinly.com or 877-728-8224. We look forward to helping you! Brinly
    Great piece of equipment easy to use an easy to...
    Great piece of equipment easy to use an easy to assemble rate 10
    by
    Response from BrinlyCustomerServiceMay 13, 2022
    Dear Leggs,
    Thank you for taking the time to share a review on your new Brinly-Hardy 40 in. Tow-Behind Spike Aerator with 3D Galvanized Stars. We are very glad to hear that you are happy with the assembly and ease of use.

    For warranty information, parts or service, please don’t hesitate to reach out to our Customer Service team at 877-728-8224 or at customerservice@brinly.com. You may also want to check out www.Brinly.
    com, our YouTube channel, or connect with us on Facebook for helpful resources and videos. Thank you again for your feedback! Brinly
    • Verified Purchase
    Easy to operate
    Recently I bought the above and started using it yesterday: Installation - easy Operation - easy to connect to lawn mower. We added one hollow block on top and pull it behind while cutting the grass. Did not affect the grass mower exercise. However when I try to reverse the lawn mower, the aerator moved at an angle and almost puncture the rear tire of the lawn mower. The aerator had to be in straight line with the lawn mower. This is the only problem we faced. How effective? We have to wait and see!
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    • Recommended
    Broke
    The grommet? That hooks the rod to the bracket wouldn't fit into hole properly. Broke and bent the bracket. I returned it to the store. The dethatcher we bought is great so far.
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    Aerator
    Nice piece of equipment easy to put together & works as advertised would buy it again
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    • Recommended
    Easy to assemble
    Only took about 20 minutes to assemble. Towed behind my yard tractor and it did the job I expected.
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    • Recommended
    Is a nice piece of equipment and worked well in...
    Is a nice piece of equipment and worked well in my yard ahead of planting grass.
    by
    Response from BrinlyCustomerServiceApr 8, 2022
    Dear Bruce, On behalf of everyone on the Brinly team, thank you for your review! We appreciate you sharing your experience, and are happy to hear you are pleased with your new Brinly-Hardy 40 in. Tow-Behind Spike Aerator with 3D Galvanized Stars.
    For warranty, service parts or for help at any time, please don’t hesitate to reach out to our Customer Service team at 877-728-8224 or at customerservice@brinly.com Brinly
    • Verified Purchase
    Best aerator for the money! Just weight it down with...
    Best aerator for the money! Just weight it down with about 100lbs and it will put the tines into the hardest of turf.
    by
    Response from BrinlyCustomerServiceApr 1, 2022
    Dear Big Poppa, On behalf of everyone on the Brinly team, thank you for your review! We appreciate you sharing your experience, and are happy to hear you are pleased with your new Brinly-Hardy 40 in. Tow-Behind Spike Aerator with 3D Galvanized Stars.
    For warranty, service parts or for help at any time, please don’t hesitate to reach out to our Customer Service team at 877-728-8224 or at customerservice@brinly.com Brinly
    • Verified Purchase
    Great
    Great little machine! It worked like a charm for me and my neighbor.
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    • Recommended
    just bought
    Easy self assembly . Cheaply made.. Screws together ,not bolted. Flemsy ..It does a lot of flexing and bowing but did function. Guessing it will be a short lifespan product. Does not like surface tree roots.
    by
    Response from BrinlyCustomerServiceMar 22, 2022
    Hello Matt and thank you for your comment. We think you will find that your aerator functions very well and for many years. The aerator is all steel; flexing in this case is a good thing as it prevents breakage. Regardless, you aerator is covered by a two year warranty, so let us know if that's not the case. You can call us at 877-728-8224, email us at customerservice@brinly.com, or live chat with us on www.brinly.com. We look forward to helping you! Brinly
      40 Inch Spike Aerator
      Very good medium duty Aerator. Good price and works well for me
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      • Recommended
      great tool.
      Purchased just over a week ago. Used it twice so far and am very pleased with it so far.
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      • Recommended
      Easy set up and gets the job done
      [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] 40 in. Tow-Behind Spike Aerator with 3D Galvanized Stars yes it gets the tough jobs done. The 40 inch tow -behind spike aerator is large enough to get the job done faster than others. I have used it in the past. It fits all models with rear hitch plate and easy to install. Weight can be easily add to it. This allows seed and fertilizer to get down to the roots. It is very durable and looks to last for years.
      by
        works great
        I bought this because I notice water on my lawn was not goin down the ground. It did improve the soil. I would highly recommended. I wish they would sell a safe cover for the spike when storing. Have to always keep an eye out when kids go in storage.
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        • Recommended
        Waiting for summer
        Purchase in December, waiting for the thaw to evaluate value, durability and effectiveness
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        • Recommended
        Easy to put together, easy to use
        Super easy to assemble, even easier to use. I used 4 cinder blocks one mine, but prob could have worked just as fine with 3. Well made and should hold up for years.
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        • Recommended
        Spike Aerator
        I used it twice this month and I see some improvement on my lawn.
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        • Recommended
        Does what it’s supposed to.
        I bought this not sure if it would do what I needed. It works perfectly.
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        • Recommended
        Great costumer service
        I had an issue with my aerator and they took care of it for me quickly.
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        • Recommended
        Perfect for the job
        Brought this for doing some of my lawns. We had a long dry spell n lots of brown grass area after. We been turning the brown grass into green grass using this as they forecast rain. Thanks
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        • Recommended
        Solid product Made in the USA
        I discovered the Brinly name while searching lawn care products online and I'm glad I did. Assembly was a breeze and I was working in no time. The 3D spikes are strong and believe me I gave them a workout. Looking forward to using this product for many years.
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        • Recommended
        Showing 1-30 of 92 reviews

        Frequently Bought Together

        Best Seller
        +
        +
        Price:
        $16900

        Compare Similar Spike Aerators

        current product
        Best Seller40 in. Pull-Behind Spike Aerator with 3D Galvanized Stars for Lawn Tractors and Zero-Turn Mowers
        Brinly 18 in. Push Spike Aerator with 3D Steel Tines and Weight Tray40 in. Tow Behind Spike Aerator with Galvanized Steel Tines, Outdoor Durable Lawn Aerator Soil Penetrator Spikes Tractor40 in. Tow Spike Aerator
        BrandBrinly-HardyBrinly-Hardy Agri-Fab
        Name40 in. Pull-Behind Spike Aerator with 3D Galvanized Stars for Lawn Tractors and Zero-Turn MowersBrinly 18 in. Push Spike Aerator with 3D Steel Tines and Weight Tray40 in. Tow Behind Spike Aerator with Galvanized Steel Tines, Outdoor Durable Lawn Aerator Soil Penetrator Spikes Tractor40 in. Tow Spike Aerator
        Price
        $16900
        $18900
        $19999
        /box
        Add to Cart to See Price
        Ratings
        (92)
        (4)
        (6)
        (142)
        View ProductView ProductView ProductView Product