#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for Rust-Oleum Specialty 10.25 oz. Midnight Black Glitter Spray Paint (6-Pack)

Internet #207157189

Model #299424

Store SKU #1001844702

  • Strong sparkle finish with intense shimmer, interior use only
  • Multi purpose, decorative spray paint provides a fun, custom look
  • Glitter paint covers up to 5 sq. ft. per can over like base coat

Customer Reviews

  • 2.6
    out of 1,312 reviews
  • 47% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 1,312 reviews
For the price to be so high on this it’s not wroth 1cents. You can. Not tell that you have spray the glitter on what your putting it on. The glitter do not stick on either what your spraying bad product not worth money are your time.
by
Response from Rust-OleumSupportNov 9, 2023
Thank you for sharing your feedback, Richie. For the best coverage, we do recommend applying Rust-Oleum Specialty Glitter Spray over a similar color base coat. We also recommend applying several light coats a few minutes apart to build the coverage.
- Rust-Oleum Product Support 3 Rustoleum
  • Verified Purchase
Glam finish
I love the shine gives to my projects. Its perfect
by
  • Verified Purchase
  • Recommended
1 found this review helpful
Very elegant touch
I bought this to add some shimmer/sparkle to my trims and baseboards. It worked beautifully and added the elegance and glamour I was looking for.
by
  • Verified Purchase
  • Recommended
Great for craft projects!
[This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I got the Rust-oleum Glitter spray paint for my craft projects. It’s very easy to use and gives a nice translucent finish with lots of glittery sparkles. It’s really great around the holidays. I use it on jars and lids to add the translucent look, but have also used it to add sparkle to dark glass or items I have painted. What a great way to recycle!
by
    • Recommended
    Perfectly glittery crafts
    [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I have really enjoyed using this gold glitter spray paint! I find myself looking for things to spray with the gold glitter. My favorite project so far is my gold glitter tree. I had to use a couple coats to fully cover the tree so it just looks covered in glitter. I think if I painted it gold or a dark color. The glitter would really make it pop. It is easy to spray and dries fairly quick.
    by
      • Recommended
      Is what it is….
      Since I knew this wasn’t a “traditional” spray paint, I wasn’t sure how this was going to go. I used the Bright Pink on a PC case for my daughter. I’m super happy with the final result. Due to the glitter, it creates a rough texture, which I negated with a couple coats of Rust-Oleum 2X Clear. If having a smooth finish isn’t important to you, don’t bother with that step. Keep in mind, it took four cans to get an optimal, even finish on a medium size PC case.
      by
        • Recommended
        All the debris, none of the sparkle.
        Even though I was hesitant when I read that the effects were questionable and the cans were often defective, I wanted to try them out. I bought the Multi Color Purple and the Pear White. To test it, I sanded and primed the handle of my vinyl hammer. Several coats of the glitter spray were required to get any substantial coverage. Still hardly an Intense Shimmer Mist. I then gave it several coats of Rusteum Clear Gloss. I have to say that I am less than impressed. There’s no sparkle. It looks more like speckles. Kindnn be of full, even. Oh well. On to the white. I take off the cap and see a bigcc BBC solid blob of clear on the nozzle. I clean it off and push down. Nothing. I switch it with the working nozzle from the other can. Nothing. Classic.
        by
        Response from Rust-OleumSupportSep 10, 2021
        We appreciate you sharing your experience. For the best coverage with Rust-Oleum Specialty Glitter Spray Paint, we do recommend applying over a similar color base coat. If the sealer is used, several light coats are recommended. If needing further assistance with the can, please give us a call at (800) 481-4785!
        - Rust-Oleum Product Support 3 Rustoleum
          2 found this review helpful
          Too much spray...not enough color
          I do steampunk lamp projects and this paint looks really cool...but...you need too much of it.. I primed the objects(plastic lamp housings), and shook at least 2 minutes..upside down..rightside up..sideways...when it comes out, it seems to work Problem seems to be the product in the can...splurts out color..not constant..more of clear finish coming out.. Definitely seal with glitter clear to keep product as it chips off very very easily. Luv the idea but somebody has to re-engineer product dispersal on this. I spent over $60 to complete 2 projects for my grandsons..
          by
          Response from Rust-OleumSupportMay 18, 2021
          Oh no, this is not what we like to hear. After all that shaking, Rust-Oleum Specialty Glitter Spray Paint typically has excellent spray. Give us a call at 800-481-4785 so we can hear more about your application and work to make things right.
          - Rust-Oleum Product Support 6 Rustoleum
            4 found this review helpful
            Great paint.
            After all the reviews I’ve read, I still decided to try it myself & love it. I’m painting plastic 3 drawer containers to use in my granddaughter’s Frozen theme room. Though the colors in Frozen r basically blue, she loves Pink. So, the 1st thing Im doing is painting it candy pink. I painted the entire container, using several coats before the can was done. I also bought & used glitter red & never once did it clog up & looks great The only problem is, it goes on strong & covered all the pink. So I had to re-paint the pink over the glitter red. My only complaint but for most people, not a complaint, is, they don’t have the glitter pink in stock & I don’t like ordering anything.
            by
              • Recommended
              Terrible adhesion, little coverage
              I’ve sprayed a lot of things in my life but this is hands down the worst coverage I’ve gotten out of a can. Glitter and paint sometimes comes out and sometimes it comes out clear, despite shaking the can like a mad man. I blew through the entire can and could not cover what I needed. I covered the same area with a quarter can of primer.
              by
              Response from Rust-OleumSupportApr 26, 2021
              Oh no, we can help, Jay. For the best coverage with the Rust-Oleum Specialty Glitter Spray, we recommend applying a base coat of a similar color first. You'll need to apply multiple coats of the Glitter paint to build up the glitter finish. - Rust-Oleum Product Support 5 Rustoleum
                2 found this review helpful
                Spray basecoat first - Would not recommend
                The cap made it look like this beautiful white pearl. I was painting some trailer wheels and expected much more than the outcome. The instructions state nothing about a basecoat and make it sound like this is white paint with glitter. I saw no evidence of white paint and pears merely as high pressure glitter be sprayed out. So basically without a white basecoat it only appears as though it's my base gray primer covered in glitter. Very disappointed...
                by
                Response from Rust-OleumSupportApr 7, 2021
                Hi Timmy, keep in mind that our Rust-Oleum Specialty Glitter Sprays are designed and recommended for interior use only, and will not work properly for this application. - Rust-Oleum Product Support 2 Rustoleum
                  2 found this review helpful
                  Nozzle Fail
                  The Nozzle sprayed for about 2 seconds then clogged up My husband and I Tried to unclog but Nothing Worked , So I just threw $$$ in the garage. I paid cash and lost receipt.
                  by
                  Response from Rust-OleumSupportFeb 22, 2021
                  Oh no, not something we like to hear! Rust-Oleum Specialty Glitter Spray Paint contains a lot of pigment and glitter, for that reason is it important to shake the can vigorously for at least one minute once the mixing ball begins to rattle. During the painting process is it just as important to shake vigorously to ensure the pigment and glitter remain blending in the can. All this shaking will result in a good, consistent spray. Give us a call at 800-481-4785 so we can hear more about your experience and work to make things right.
                  - Rust-Oleum Product Support 6 Rustoleum
                    3 found this review helpful
                    This spray paint is cool and all, but the can doesn't nearly go far enough. I spray painted my da...
                    This spray paint is cool and all, but the can doesn't nearly go far enough. I spray painted my daughters power wheels jeep with this stuff. I used the silver for the wheels and the the purple one for the body. It took nearly 5 cans of the purple and 1 full cans for the wheels. PRO: Looks awesome when finished. CON: Uses wayyyy too much spray paint.
                    by
                    • Verified Purchase
                    • Recommended
                    1 found this review helpful
                    Great glitter paint, it is more of a clear coat with silver glitter with a very small amount of b...
                    Great glitter paint, it is more of a clear coat with silver glitter with a very small amount of blue, needs a solid base coat of white or black in you want it to look super dense and sparkly. The tip will clog, follow instructions and it clears right up, really good paint. You can dust glitter or lay it on thick.
                    by
                    • Verified Purchase
                    • Recommended
                    2 found this review helpful
                    Nozzle Failured 2x and Counting
                    My daughter picked this paint for a table top. First can did not work. We got a tiny spurt and no more. The second can failed the same way after about 20 seconds of spraying. It's for my daughter so I have a 2 more attempts before I suffer the wrath of a six year old! Trying another color. Both cans remain 99% full and useless.
                    by
                    Response from Rust-OleumSupportOct 29, 2020
                    That's not what we like to hear, Jesse! To help alleviate clogging, we recommend removing the nozzle and soaking it in mineral spirits. Rust-Oleum Specialty Glitter Spray can also be held upside down and sprayed for a few moments to clear any lodged pigment in the can.
                    - Rust-Oleum Product Support 3 Rustoleum
                      • Recommended
                      3 found this review helpful
                      Kelly Green Glitter Spray Paint
                      After reading earlier reviews, we almost bailed on buying this and using it. We are so glad we went through with it. The project was a book cart that we sanded and painted using a green spray paint from Rust-oleum. We then used the glitter on top before two coats of polyurethane for longevity and a final spray with a Rust-oleum top coat. We bought mineral spirits in case the nozzle gunked up. But I can say we had zero issues. Even after I dropped a brand new can and the nozzle flew off, I was able to reattach the nozzle and it still worked like a charm. Awesome glitter coverage. Totally worth it.
                      by
                        • Recommended
                        4 found this review helpful
                        The glitter spray is good when you can get it to work. I can't keep this spray once before the gl...
                        The glitter spray is good when you can get it to work. I can't keep this spray once before the glitter gets stuck in the nozzle. I have had to return the product several times. I use it for crafts and I need this particular style often but its inconvenient. I have had times where I never even sprayed it that it clogged. The issue is the product.
                        by
                        Response from Rust-OleumSupportSep 3, 2020
                        That is not what we like to hear! Our Rust-Oleum Imagine Glitter Spray Paints contain larger glitter pigments, and shaking is especially important prior to pressing the spray nozzle for the first time. If a clog has occurred, you can try spraying the can upside down to clear the nozzle, however, if the can has clogged inside, there is unfortunately no way to clear the clog. Please give us a call at 800-481-4785, we want to try to make things right! - Rust-Oleum Product Support 2 Rustoleum
                        • Verified Purchase
                        11 found this review helpful
                        We used this to paint a decoration for Christmas. We ended up needing two cans as it seems like t...
                        We used this to paint a decoration for Christmas. We ended up needing two cans as it seems like this can does not have as much paint in it as a non-metallic can of paint does. What we painted was a smooth metal surface (horseshoes) and it adhered well. It looks good but didn’t seem to cover as well as I would have expected.
                        by
                        Response from Rust-OleumSupportAug 17, 2020
                        Thank you for sharing your experience! Please keep in mind that the condition or type of surface can affect the coverage rate of Rust-Oleum Specialty Glitter Spray. Previously painted surfaces, the number of coats, and the thickness of the coats can affect the coverage as well. To maximize coverage, hold the can upright 10 to 16 inches from the surface and spray in a steady back-and-forth motion, slightly overlapping each stroke. Make sure to keep the can the same distance from the surface and in motion while spraying. Apply 2 or more light coats a few minutes apart to avoid drips and runs. - Rust-Oleum Product Support 5 Rustoleum
                        • DIY
                        • Recommended
                        2 found this review helpful
                        The color is amazing but cap is capped too soon. And I cant use all the bottle..
                        The color is amazing but cap is capped too soon. And I cant use all the bottle..
                        by
                        Response from Rust-OleumSupportJul 6, 2020
                        Oh no, not something we like to hear! Rust-Oleum Specialty Glitter Spray Paint contains a lot of pigment and glitter, for that reason is it important to shake the can vigorously for at least one minute once the mixing ball begins to rattle. During the painting process is it just as important to shake vigorously to ensure the pigment and glitter remain blending in the can. All this shaking will result in a good, consistent spray.
                        - Rust-Oleum Product Support 6 Rustoleum
                        • Verified Purchase
                        • Recommended
                        1 found this review helpful
                        I'm sooo disappointed!!
                        To be honest, I DID read the bad reviews. But I thought I'd just overbuy...and allow for 1 or 2 cans that were defective. Well the joke's on me....cause ALL EIGHT (8) cans didn't work. They all clogged, even after I followed the instructions of the label precisely. I initially bought 4 cans, then took them back (cause the didnt work) and bought 4 new ones....SAME RESULT....THEY DON'T WORK! Now I've fallen behind on my deadline and I'm completely frustrated.
                        by
                        Response from Rust-OleumSupportJun 24, 2020
                        Oh no, that's not what we expect! Please keep in mind, the nozzles can be removed and soaked in a solvent to help try to clear any lodged pigment. Rust-Oleum Specialty Glitter Spray can also be held upside down and sprayed out for a few seconds to help with clogging. If those do not help, please give us a call at 800-481-4785 to talk with us.
                        - Rust-Oleum Product Support 3 Rustoleum
                          8 found this review helpful
                          Beautiful. Used a gray base first. Used on a guitar,...
                          Beautiful. Used a gray base first. Used on a guitar, then clear coated for max sparkle.
                          by
                          • Verified Purchase
                          2 found this review helpful
                          Not glittery
                          The front of the bottle says “high shimmer finish” which is so misleading. I got the pearl white and I was going for a snowy sparkly look. I tried it over clear glass bottles and white bottles. This is literally a matte finish with some glitter thrown in. I had to hold it 6” from my face to tell there was actually glitter in it! It also had little white bits which I think were supposed to be white sparkles as well as the pearly sparkles but the white “sparkles” just looked like sand. If you want a “high shimmer finish” then go with a different brand.
                          by
                            1 found this review helpful
                            Coverage was not good. I used an entire can trying to paint an 18" globe. At this rate it will ...
                            Coverage was not good. I used an entire can trying to paint an 18" globe. At this rate it will take 3 or 4 more cans to get the job done.
                            by
                            Response from Rust-OleumSupportSep 30, 2019
                            This is not what we like to hear! Rust-Oleum Specialty Glitter Spray Paint contains a glitter flake pigment that provides an intense shimmer finish. Shaking vigorously prior to use and frequently during use ensures the glitter is thoroughly dispersed in the can throughout the painting process. Since the pigment is glitter it will have a lower coverage rate then standard spray paint.
                            - Rust-Oleum Product Support 6 Rustoleum
                            • DIY
                            • Verified Purchase
                            6 found this review helpful
                            Was disappointed the spray did not come out like the can top like most their products, but went b...
                            Was disappointed the spray did not come out like the can top like most their products, but went back and read the can and saw it was suppose to go over a base coat. I am doing hundreds of this Christmas project and I just don’t need to be adding in another step. Will use what I have, but doubt if I will buy this again.
                            by
                            Response from Rust-OleumSupportJul 16, 2019
                            Thank you for providing this feedback on our Rust-Oleum Specialty Glitter Spray. A base or primer coat is not required prior to applying the glitter spray paint. The label mentions specifically that use of a primer will provide superior adhesion and hiding, and is especially recommended for bare wood and metal. Another great way to increase coverage and hiding is to paint the object in a similar color prior to applying the glitter spray, although this is not a mandatory step either. - Rust-Oleum Product Support 2 Rustoleum
                              • Recommended
                              4 found this review helpful
                              Great coverage! Worked great for the craft project we did. Highly recommend.
                              Great coverage! Worked great for the craft project we did. Highly recommend.
                              by
                              • Verified Purchase
                              • Recommended
                              My wife was very happy with the results after I finished the task. Beautiful color.
                              My wife was very happy with the results after I finished the task. Beautiful color.
                              by
                              • Verified Purchase
                              • Recommended
                              It is really nice finish but the can clogs up alot
                              It is really nice finish but the can clogs up alot
                              by
                              Response from Rust-OleumSupportJan 17, 2019
                              To ensure a constant flow with Rust-Oleum Specialty Glitter Spray, it is essential that the can is thoroughly shaken before each use and often during application. The nozzle can also be removed and soaked in mineral spirits to help clear any lodged pigment in the nozzle.
                              - Rust-Oleum Product Support 3 Rustoleum
                              • Verified Purchase
                              • Recommended
                              This was used to paint a Christmas decoration and the Sparkle effect was nice but it did take a f...
                              This was used to paint a Christmas decoration and the Sparkle effect was nice but it did take a few coats to cover.
                              by
                              • Verified Purchase
                              • Recommended
                              the white cross i made out of 4 x 4 wood and painted white then used the clear coat with glitter ...
                              the white cross i made out of 4 x 4 wood and painted white then used the clear coat with glitter looks better
                              by
                              • Verified Purchase
                              • Recommended
                              1 found this review helpful
                              It's good but I wouldn't recommend using it without priming your piece first. I didn't prime it a...
                              It's good but I wouldn't recommend using it without priming your piece first. I didn't prime it and had to use 2 cans for what shouldn't have taken 1 can. Primer first and ur great!
                              by
                              • Verified Purchase
                              • Recommended
                              Showing 1-30 of 1,312 reviews

                              Frequently Bought Together

                              +
                              +
                              Price:
                              $5379