#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for BEHR PREMIUM PLUS 1 gal. Ultra Pure White Ceiling Flat Interior Paint

Internet #100206081

Model #55801

Store SKU #633313

  • Minimizes surface imperfections and provides great touch-up
  • Spatter-resistant formula that is tintable to light colors
  • Maintains the original acoustical properties of your ceiling

Customer Reviews

  • 4.4
    out of 10,753 reviews
  • 79% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 10,753 reviews
I used this on a textured ceiling and it came out great
by
  • Verified Purchase
I hate this Paint
I'm on my 5th coat and this paint still looks crap. Every layer leaves a mark and uneven coverage. Tried brush, good rollers, and spray. Money wasted! Overall rating: 0 star!
by
Response from BehrJun 11, 2024
Hi PaintJedi, thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear about the uneven coverage after five coats. That's not normal, and I can understand your disappointment. I recommend allowing the surface to dry for a couple of days, as you have a lot of coat applied. The finish might even out as the paint continues to dry and cure. If it still doesn't look right, I recommend applying another coat using the Premium Plus Interior Flat Paint No. 1050 which will have more solids and provide better coverage. Please reach out to us directly for further assistance. Our Customer Care team is happy to help! -Giovanna Behr
    Not match with my original color
    by
    Response from BehrJun 7, 2024
    Hi Jim, thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that the color didn't turn out as expected. Typically, the room's lighting and surroundings influence how the color will turn out. It is a great idea to sample colors first. Customer satisfaction is important to us, and we appreciate your feedback. Please reach out to us directly if you need further assistance; our customer care team is happy to help you! - Randy Behr
    • Verified Purchase
    Horrible Coverage
    I have used Behr paint for as long as I can remember and have always had great results, that is until recently. I have painted two coats of ceiling paint and used two gallons on a 600 sq foot area and it looks worse than when I started. I have done two major renovations in the last couple months and used the Premium Plus for it all (bought it all before using, had I known would of only gotten the 1 gallon not 6) all of them have been garbage. almost 3 coats to go from a light gray wall to paint a same color family. 3 coats for my almost white shiplap wall to be painted white, and 3 coats for a light gray wall to blank canvas color. The formula clearly has changed and seems more watered down than previously. I bought two gallons of the Ultra for my ceiling and if that doesn't cover better I will definitely be done purchasing Behr going forward.
    by
    Response from BehrApr 1, 2024
    Hi Randee, thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear you didn't get the coverage you expected. The Premium Plus Ceiling Flat Paint should cover in about two coats when applied to horizontal surfaces such as ceilings. However, this paint is not recommended for vertical surfaces such as walls. To fix this, I recommend using the Premium Plus Interior Flat Paint No. 1050. Customer satisfaction is important to us, and we appreciate your feedback. Please reach out to us directly if you need further assistance. Our customer care team is happy to help you! - Randy Behr
      Buyer Beware! Using this paint broke me.
      I consider myself a good painter. Most clients are repeat customers. was recently hired to paint a 1012 sq ft apartment with exposed brick throughout, so less to paint. This paint has been a nightmare. 15 gallons for just the walls. The client informed me that the paint job looks "unfinished" and I agree. You can still see the roller marks. I have one wall where I'm up to 8 coats - unacceptable. This experience has broken me financially, physically and mentally. Not worth the headache.
      by
      Response from BehrMar 18, 2024
      Hi DavidNYC, thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear you experienced roller marks and that you didn't get the coverage you expected. The Premium Plus Ceiling Paint typically covers in two coats, while porous surfaces may require additional coats. However, this paint is not recommended to be applied to vertical surfaces, such as masonry walls. To fix this, we recommend using a coating designed for this type of surface, such as our interior wall paints, and applying another coat in columns. Reload your roller after each column for the best coverage. Customer satisfaction is important to us, and we appreciate your feedback. Please reach out to us directly if you need further assistance. Our customer care team is happy to help you! - Randy Behr
        Good Coverage & Nice White Color
        I have used other Ceiling paint in the past that was off-white when it dried and did not spread evenly on the surface, stubborn to paint with. This was very smooth to work with and covered the area very well. I had one area that I had to go over twice, but that is because I did not do the best job prepping that area. But going over a small area was not an issue with blending with this paint.
        by
          • Recommended
          1 found this review helpful
          Don’t Use This Paint
          I’ve always used Behr ceiling paint. I’ve painted countless ceilings. This time the Behr ceiling paint was horrible! It left every roll marks and bad splotches everywhere! They must have changed the formula. After two coats in opposite direction it’s still a mess! It’s garbage!
          by
          Response from BehrMar 12, 2024
          Hi Carrie, thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear about the issues with the Ceiling Paint. We have not changed the formula in any way that it would create more roller marks or splotches. I recommend applying another coat to even out the finish. We appreciate your feedback, and if you need further assistance, please reach out to us directly. Our Customer Care team is happy to help! -Giovanna Behr
            2 found this review helpful
            Why does it take 4 coats for painted ceiling?
            This BEHR ceiling paint was challenging as it required multiple coats for adequate coverage. They say there's primer added... but despite applying 4 coats, the roller lines remain visible when it drys, which is disappointing, especially when painting over a white base. It's sad to see a decline in the quality of Bear paints based on this experience. No problem with their wall paint.
            by
            Response from BehrJan 16, 2024
            Hi Nick, thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that it took four coats of paint on your ceiling. Typically, our Premium Plus Ceiling Paint will cover in two coats while darker colors and porous surfaces may require additional coats. I can understand your disappointment since the paint didn't cover as expected. Customer satisfaction is important to us, and we appreciate your feedback. Please reach out to us directly if you need further assistance; our customer care team is happy to help you! -Ronald Behr
              I only use BEHR paints. They are the best!
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              This paint is amazing it gives my home a brightness that is so refreshing. I did buy a flat paint and if I had to do it again I would use the flat only for my ceilings and a gloss paint for my walls. Overall the price color and brightness made me want to paint every room in my home. I'm on my 34rd bucket ??‍??
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              I wish I had read these reviews before I started this project. I have used Behr paint for 30 years and NEVER been disappointed until now! I put primer on new sheetrock, and now 5 coats of this paint later on my ceiling, it still looks terrible. I sprayed, sprayed and rolled, just rolled, switched directions, sanded between coats, and it still looks terrible! I don't even know what to do at this point as I have completely wasted hundreds of dollars and it looked better after primer, before the first coat of paint! My gut tells me to get the paint and primer that I've always used on my walls with NO problems and 2 coat coverage max!! But after wasting sooooo much time and money already, I'm tempted to switch brands completely at this point. I have an entire new house to paint-ceilings, walls, cabinets, trim! so this is a real setback on deciding what kind of paint to get to finish this! I'll update this when I decide how to fix this!
              by
              Response from BehrOct 6, 2023
              Hi there, thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that you're unable to get a good finish on your ceiling with our Ultra Ceiling Paint, I can understand your disappointment, especially with the time and expense you have put into painting your ceiling. Customer satisfaction is very important, and our Customer Care team is on standby and ready to help. Please contact us directly so we can further assist you with a resolution. In the meantime, to fix the issue, I'd recommend applying a coat of our Ultra Scuff-Defense Flat Paint on your ceiling. The wall paint will have better coverage than the ceiling paint and should give you the desired finish. Again, our Customer Care team would like to hear from you to see how we can help. -Ronald Behr
              • Verified Purchase
              2 found this review helpful
              Ruined my ceiling!
              The first pass/roll was okay BUT every subsequent roll, when it touched an edge or over a rolled section that was JUST ROLLED came out tacky and looks like snake skin!!!
              by
              Response from BehrSep 12, 2023
              Hi there, thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear about the trouble you've experienced with our Premium Plus Ceiling Paint. That is not typical, so I can understand your disappointment. To help avoid this, we recommend turning off any fans or AC during the application and avoiding going over the same area multiple times. You can also add up to 4oz. of water per gallon to extend the working time of the paint. If the coating left any texture, I recommend letting it dry for 24 hours before sanding the surface smooth. Make sure the area is clean and dry before touching up or recoating the surface. Customer satisfaction is important to us, and we appreciate your feedback. Please reach out to us directly if you need further assistance; our Customer Care team is happy to help! -Lina Behr
                2 found this review helpful
                Looks a lot brighter in my bathroom but it’s beautiful
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                absolutely NOT what I expected to happen
                I wanted to paint my ceiling downstairs so i bought what i thought would be the best one coat paint out there, it even says on label of can “Ceiling Paint” i started with 2gals for three connected rooms ceilings, ensuring a generous coat when i applied, kepted application all same direction. So very disappointed when i discovered that you cam see roler lines when i went out of the way to prevent that. I let completely dry 2 days to see if they would disappear. THEY DID NOT! Had to buy a third gallon, applied second coat in one of the rooms and let dry. I couldn’t believe that you can still see lines after a second coat of paint that is made for the exact purpose im using it for. I would NOT recommend Bear Ceiling Paint. You will be better off going with something else or even a different brand. I have wasted hours n hours or labor, im out $150-$200 dollars in paint an supplies, i will have to redo it again. Im so disappointed with Bear paint that i will go with a different brand of paint. I was looking for is to do the ceiling with one good coat with no line’s visible and had gotten the exact opposite of what i was looking for considering it says on lable ceiling paint you would of thought that this was the good stuff, IT IS NOT!!!!!!
                by
                  3 found this review helpful
                  Flecks like a blizzard
                  The HD paint guy said this paint would not drip, but not only does in drip it flecks like crazy all over the place. There has to be a better option.
                  by
                  Response from BehrAug 16, 2023
                  Hi there, thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that the paint had an issue with dripping and splattering all over the place. I can understand your disappointment that the paint didn't perform as expected. Customer satisfaction is very important, and our Customer Care team is on standby and ready to help. Please contact us directly so we can further assist you with a resolution. We look forward to hearing from you. -Ronald Behr
                    by
                    • Verified Purchase
                    by
                    • Verified Purchase
                    Terrible
                    I have been painting for 30 years I can’t begin to understand these great reviews!. The hallowing/lap marks we’re absolutely horrible. I haven’t had this since my first job 30 yrs ago. 4 coats, gave up, repainted all 4 ceilings with my usual Benjamin Moore. This involved tons of cut ins, 4 fans and about 20 can lights! Yes, I know what I’m doing. I have ALL 5 star reviews and I typically paint houses $500,000.00, $1M+. This is a mystery I’ll Nvr get over.
                    by
                    Response from BehrJun 9, 2023
                    Hi Realpainter, thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear about the issues you experienced. Customer satisfaction is important to us, and we appreciate your feedback. Please reach out to us directly if you need further assistance; our customer care team is happy to help you! -Giovanna Behr
                      2 found this review helpful
                      Did not cover well...
                      Did not cover well
                      by
                      Response from BehrMay 18, 2023
                      Hello, thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear your paint did not provide the coverage you expected. Customer satisfaction is important to us, and we appreciate your feedback. Please feel free to reach out to us directly so we can learn more about your project and assist. We look forward to hearing from you! -Lina Behr
                      • Verified Purchase
                      Bad paint like a return of the money that I spend Home Depot manager not responsible for the quality of paint need to go directly to the manufacturer
                      The paint must be defective different shades
                      by
                      Response from BehrApr 27, 2023
                      Hello, thank you for your review. Customer satisfaction is important to us, and we appreciate your feedback. Please feel free to reach out to us directly so we can learn more about your project and assist. We look forward to hearing from you! -Lina Behr
                      • Verified Purchase
                      1 found this review helpful
                      The Behr products are of high quality paints, i use...
                      The Behr products are of high quality paints, i use this product constantly on jobs Price is gd , coverage is excellent and its white, unlike other ceiling paints!
                      by
                      • Verified Purchase
                      Easy fresh one time deal works every time...
                      Easy fresh one time deal works every time
                      by
                      • Verified Purchase
                      1 found this review helpful
                      Handy Hunk handyman service
                      This is amazing stuff..highly recommend...it covers really nice..don't forget your primer!!
                      by
                      • Verified Purchase
                      • Recommended
                      1 found this review helpful
                      I I purchased bear scuff defense for high traffic areas I've already completed two bedrooms and I'm on my third one now very satisfied with the results
                      I believe it's quality paint that does what it's advertised
                      by
                      • Verified Purchase
                      His zero stains after 3-4 coats
                      Yellow drywall spots still showing after 3-4 coats of paint and old water stains. It is super thin paint and I'm on a time crunch and cant give this another week of my life. I hate I bought so much that has been used and u can't get my money back. This photo was after 3-4 coats that were given days to dry in between paint applications
                      by
                      Response from BehrFeb 24, 2023
                      Hi ETA4, thanks for your review. I'm sorry to hear the water stains are showing through the paint after 3-4 coats. I can understand your frustration, and I want to help. To fix this, I recommend priming with our Multi-Surface Primer to block the yellow water stains. Then, you can apply our Premium Plus Interior Flat paint No. 1050, which has more paint soiids to provide better coverage. Customer satisfaction is very important to us, so feel free to reach out to our Customer Care team directly for further assistance. They are always happy to help. Enjoy the rest of your day. -Christina Behr
                        1 found this review helpful
                        Horrible
                        Very streaky. I have a striped ceiling now! Now I have to buy different paint and repaint!
                        by
                        Response from BehrFeb 21, 2023
                        Hi Lynn, thank you for your review. Sorry to hear that the paint was very streaky. I'd recommend applying another coat of paint perpendicular to how it was last applied. Also, when applying the paint you want to make sure that you keep a wet edge and be careful to not overwork the paint. Customer satisfaction is important to us, and we appreciate your feedback. Please reach out to us directly if you need further assistance; our customer care team is happy to help you! -Ronald Behr
                        • Verified Purchase
                        1 found this review helpful
                        Covered bad job
                        Got paint from a competitor, and it left streaks and lap marks. Two coats of this paint and it covered and left a nearly flawless finish. Mixed with a 5 gallon paint mixer.
                        by
                          • Recommended
                          Paint project
                          Paint easy to apply and looks great
                          by
                          • Verified Purchase
                          • Recommended
                          Pro Painter Review
                          Best ceiling paint on the market. We started using Behr after our other supplier ran out of stock. So glad I did, coverage is great, it’s a great true bright white, and it’s thick enough to avoid splatter (as long as you know how to paint). Thanks Behr, keep up the excellent work! -ProSharp Painting STL
                          by
                            • Recommended
                            Did a great job covering a hundred year old ceiling!...
                            Did a great job covering a hundred year old ceiling!
                            by
                            • Verified Purchase
                            Showing 1-30 of 10,753 reviews

                            Frequently Bought Together

                            +
                            +
                            Price:
                            $28.98