#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for BEHR PREMIUM PLUS 1 gal. Ultra Pure White Ceiling Flat Interior Paint

Internet #100206081

Model #55801

Store SKU #633313

  • Minimizes surface imperfections and provides great touch-up
  • Spatter-resistant formula that is tintable to light colors
  • Maintains the original acoustical properties of your ceiling

Customer Reviews

  • 4.4
    out of 10,738 reviews
  • 79% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 10,738 reviews
Not Good
I've painted many ceilings and walls in my home over the last 20 years and I've never had such a negative experience with paint. I've purchased three gallons of this paint to apply on my kitchen / family room ceilings and it's still has not covered. There are roller streaks and dark patches and it looks awful. I don't feel like an investing more money to see if a fourth coat will work. I will not be buying Behr paint anymore.
by
Response from BehrJan 7, 2021
Hello Jflo, thank you for sharing your feedback. We're sorry to hear you're not getting the coverage you expected on your ceiling, and that after three coats there are still visible marks; that's not the experience we want our customers to have with our products. To get your project back on track, we'd recommend recoating your ceiling (per the labels recommended spread rate). To avoid marks, be sure to blend all start and stop points with a well-saturated application tool, while maintaining a wet edge. Customer satisfaction is important to us. Please feel free to reach out to our Customer Care team directly for additional assistance or if you have any questions. Have a great rest of your day. –Joanna Behr
    1 found this review helpful
    Does not cover square footage claimed.
    I was having trouble finding very bright white on a budget. The home depot paint specialist pointed me to this paint. I was thinking i can do most of my 900 sq ft apt just on this 2 gal since my ceiling is already white and this claims it covers up to 800 sq ft no need of primer if ceiling is already white flat. Well....I liked the bright white but after painting with a professional 18inch roller, I noticed I had to go over the same spot several times to truly cover . Before I know it the 2 gallons were gone before I was even finished with my living room area which is only 325 sq ft. Less than half of the proclaimed coverage area : /
    by
      5 found this review helpful
      worst paint I've ever used
      Finished painting last night, next morning found paint cracking in small patches everywhere. Now I have to remove flaking paint off, mud and feather then repaint again. Definitely will stay away from this paint 100%. Waste of my money and time.
      by
      Response from BehrSep 14, 2020
      Hi dynapl, thank you for your review, and I am sorry to hear you experienced some cracking. From what you've described, it sounds like you know how to fix the issue. However, to help turn this experience around, please reach out to us directly; we'd love the opportunity to make things right. -Edith Behr
        5 found this review helpful
        great value
        bought this to paint all.my ceilings on my new house. it hoes on smooth and the value is amazing. i do not regret this purchase at all. krispclean cielings. i love it!
        by
          OK for Price... Super Bright White.
          Not bad for the price. I like that its super bright white and nice and thick. However, it did peel when I removed painter's tape from it whereas another brand's did not. I would use again if on sale and knowing i wouldn't put tape on it.
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          Absolutely terrible ceiling paint
          I am amazed at how poorly this paint performs. I primed my new ceilings and applied two coats in alternating directions and still had horrible dark patches and minimal covering. I then hired a painter to come in and spray the paint thinking it was my fault. After the spraying, it hardly looks any better due to the minimal coverage. I then tried once more another layer with the roller and still dark patches where it didn't cover. That's FOUR LAYERS and still not covering. I think i'd be better off painting it with vitamin D milk.
          by
          Response from BehrJul 24, 2020
          Hi Isaac - Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear about the dark patches and poor coverage on your ceiling! This product will typically cover primed ceilings in 1-2 coats. If the finish still doesn't look right after your second coat, we recommend allowing the paint to dry for 48 hours as the extra dry time may allow the coverage to correct itself. Since you already have 4 coats on your ceiling, we recommend recoating with our Premium Plus Interior Flat which has a higher solid count. So we can assist you with this further, please feel free to reach out to us directly. We hope to hear from you. - Sara Behr
            9 found this review helpful
            Always covers in 2 coats. Really brightens a room.
            Always covers in 2 coats. Really brightens a room.
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            • Recommended
            Very disappointed with the finish
            Painted two coats of it but still see patches on the ceiling. I wouldn't recommend this product.
            by
            Response from BehrJul 14, 2020
            Hi Raghu, thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear about the patches that you can still see. Our Ceiling Paint will typically cover in two coats, while porous surfaces may require additional coats. I recommend applying another coat to even out the finish. Customer satisfaction is important to us, and we appreciate your feedback. Please reach out to us directly if you need further assistance, our customer care team is happy to help you! -Giovanna Behr
              9 found this review helpful
              One was good on my ceiling.
              One was good on my ceiling.
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              • Recommended
              1 found this review helpful
              Product was just an average ceiling paint
              Product was just an average ceiling paint
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              • Recommended
              1 found this review helpful
              Horrible, it has taken 3 coats so far. Small room but on 2 gallons and I quart . Terrible to use ...
              Horrible, it has taken 3 coats so far. Small room but on 2 gallons and I quart . Terrible to use drips excessively. I tried to call to say how bad but the corporate number hangs up on you. Almost started over with different paint half way through. I'm on day nine. Other home depot paint used excellent, not this formula. It just never ends.
              by
              Response from BehrJul 7, 2020
              Hi Wendy, thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that you're not getting good coverage and that the paint drips. Typically, our Premium Plus Paint will cover in two coats, while darker colors and porous surfaces may require additional coats. Customer satisfaction is important to us, and we appreciate your feedback. Please reach out to us directly if you need further assistance, our customer care team is happy to help you! -Giovanna Behr
              • Verified Purchase
              5 found this review helpful
              2 coat product and performs well
              2 coat product and performs well
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              • Recommended
              It needs to be one coat but it's not
              It needs to be one coat but it's not
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              • Recommended
              3 found this review helpful
              Great product, one coat and done. Easy application with roller...
              Great product, one coat and done. Easy application with roller and easy clean up with warm water.Highly recommend!
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              1 found this review helpful
              This is garbage
              So far I have tried three coats on a 15 x 17 ceiling. Hiding was abysmal. With a brush, leveling was terrible. Roller marks all over. Never had this result with any paint before. Just a waste of time, money and the pain of Overhead painting. Two of the coats were on high humidity rainy days and it certainly did not dry too fast. Never will I buy Behr paint again. A simple weekend project now well into two weeks. Whatever happened to Home Depot?
              by
              Response from BehrMay 7, 2020
              HI IndianaDav,

              Thank you for reviewing our paint. I'm sorry to hear about the roller marks on your ceiling after 3 coats! To fix, we recommend allowing your last coat to dry for at least 2-4 hours as more time to dry can help even out the finish. If the roller marks are still visible, we recommend applying an additional coat of ceiling paint from one side of the ceiling to the opposite end, perpendicular from the direction of the last coat. Alternatively, you can apply another coat with our Premium Plus Interior Flat which has a higher solid count. For further assistance with this, please feel free to reach out to us directly. - Sara Behr
                8 found this review helpful
                Inexpensive compared paint store prices but requires two coats even covering white ceiling.
                Inexpensive compared paint store prices but requires two coats even covering white ceiling.
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                • Recommended
                2 found this review helpful
                Easily spread, even coverage, and minimal dripping
                I decided to give my garage ceiling a fresh coat of paint to cover the old almond color. Took 2 coats ( almost 2 gallons) to cover the whole ceiling. I was worried about the paint color abd quality from the 1 star reviews, however, the ceiling turned out fine and smooth. Couldn't complain for the price.
                by
                  • Recommended
                  1 found this review helpful
                  As thin as water and drips like it
                  Got two 2 gallon pails for a large ceiling area. The ceiling I’m painting is angled above the walls and as high as 12 feet, so it is already challenging. I am going white over white. Now to make matters worse finishing the first coat there are roller streaks all over. Then the rest of my time is spent wiping up paint splatter. Either the paint is too thin on the roller I don’t get any coverage or there is too much paint and I get too much splatter. Would not recommend
                  by
                  Response from BehrApr 20, 2020
                  Hi Andrew, thank you for your review, and I am sorry to hear you got roller streaks all over and that you're getting splatter. It's hard to tell what could have been the issue as there are many factors involved. However, it sounds like you may need a fresh coat to get a uniform finish. To help with this, please reach out to us directly; we'd love the opportunity to help in any way we can. -Edith Behr
                    • Recommended
                    3 found this review helpful
                    I discovered this was Home Depots mid range ceiling flat. It comes in the Marquee brand, but I ha...
                    I discovered this was Home Depots mid range ceiling flat. It comes in the Marquee brand, but I have used 4 gallons of this product after scraping my popcorn off and It worked like a dream. Covered all the Spackle on the ceiling and its sheen is flat so it dries uniform with no flashing.
                    by
                    • Verified Purchase
                    • Recommended
                    We love Behr paint. It is excellent coverage and doesn't splatter around like some cheaper paints...
                    We love Behr paint. It is excellent coverage and doesn't splatter around like some cheaper paints. We never use anything other than Behr!
                    by
                    • Verified Purchase
                    • Recommended
                    I read good review about this paint but also some bad about roller marks so I decided to spray as...
                    I read good review about this paint but also some bad about roller marks so I decided to spray as I have 1500 sq ft basement to paint. I bought airless sprayer and sprayed 2 coats of primer and then sprayed 2 coatsBEHR PREMIUM PLUS 5 gal. Ultra Pure White Ceiling Flat Interior Paint. All sounds good but after week of hard work as I was working alone I got poor result and was not expecting wavy sprayed lined. I thought I may have missed some parts and spray is easy to touch up so I spot sprayed at some area but no change. See the pictures. Can I get whats covered in life time warranty. I am not even sure if I do 3 or 4 coats then it will be resolve or not.
                    by
                    Response from BehrApr 15, 2020
                    Hi al,

                    Thank you for your review, and I am sorry to hear you got the sprayer marks, even after applying two coats of primer. Also, thank you for including photos; they were helpful to see. I'd recommend applying a fresh coat all over; make sure to backroll after spraying to get a uniform finish. Additionally, for large projects, it would be best to have a second person helping; one would spray and the second person would immediately backroll before the coating got a chance to dry. We can certainly help with the warranty if you reach out to us directly; we look forward to hearing from you. -Edith Behr
                      Using a paint sprayer, this ceiling paint took 2 coats to completely cover the prior off-white pa...
                      Using a paint sprayer, this ceiling paint took 2 coats to completely cover the prior off-white paint. Had only 1 coat been required, I would have given it 5 stars. It flows well and looks nice when it's done.
                      by
                      • Pro
                      • Verified Purchase
                      • Recommended
                      1 found this review helpful
                      Good product turned out good...
                      Good product turned out good
                      by
                      • Verified Purchase
                      Does not cover well.
                      Bought 5 gallons to paint ceilings in a new construction after ceiling had been primed beforehand. Very streaky and not easy to work with, shows lots of overlapping and streaks. Going to have to put a second coat on my ceiling but definitely will not be using this paint again. I don’t want to take the chance of having to put a third coat like some of the others have had to do. This paint seems very thin compared to other ceiling paints I have used in the past. It had quite a bit of splatter also. Not a fan.
                      by
                      Response from BehrFeb 28, 2020
                      Hello Blummus,
                      Thanks for taking the time to review the Interior Ceiling Flat Interior Paint. I’m sorry to hear it was streaky and not easy to work with. I can assure you this isn’t the experience we want any of our customers to have. To fix, I recommend allowing the last coat to dry for about 2-4 hours as this can allow the coating to even out. Apply another coat from one side of the ceiling to the opposite end, perpendicular from the direction of the 1st coat. It’s important to avoid applying too much pressure and overworking the product while maintaining a wet edge. For further assistance, please feel free to reach out directly to our customer care team. Best, Roxana N. Behr
                        2 found this review helpful
                        Awful
                        I’ve used behr marquee one coat ceiling and behr ceiling flat both are junk, I’ve coated the ceiling 4 times and there are roll streaks all over and patchy spots.My ceiling was professionally done 4 years ago and it was nice but decided to freshen it up before painting walls and it has just been a nightmare.One coat coverage for marquee is a joke and it’s not a flat, there is a sheen. Behr 23.00 ceiling flat paint is awful as well. I’ve painted many many ceilings in my time and have never had such a difficult experience or headache. Please don’t say you’re sorry Behr, as you do in all of your complaints, how about you refund the good money consumers spend on this product. You have many complaints and I'm surprised no one has taken a class action out on you.
                        by
                        Response from BehrFeb 26, 2020
                        Hello Elle,
                        Thanks for taking the time to review the White Ceiling Flat Interior Paint. I can understand your disappointment, especially after trying out two products and having roll streaks and patchy spots. I can assure you this isn’t the experience we want any of our customers to have. Please rest assured we warrant the product and stand behind our customers. For further assistance, please feel free to reach out directly to our customer care team. Best, Roxana N. Behr
                          2 found this review helpful
                          Worked out great, I actually got it and used it to cover walls that had been painted really brigh...
                          Worked out great, I actually got it and used it to cover walls that had been painted really brightly. [Kids room]. The product worked perfectly for this application and left me enough to paint the entire ceiling that was the same to a final finish. Behr is a premium product and I highly recommend it to al my customers, freinds and family. Pamela, my Home Depot (4141) Behr Representative is truly a great person. She is extremely helpful in all my needs. She always directs me to the entire product line. I find this helpful because I get the correct product for the project. It's a one stop shop, one application, project and the results have been great. Thank you Pam.
                          by
                          • Verified Purchase
                          • Recommended
                          Again, another excellent paint from Behr. I added a second...
                          Again, another excellent paint from Behr. I added a second coat over new primed drywall and I really don’t think I needed to. Looks great.
                          by
                          • Verified Purchase
                          Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
                          Rating provided by a verified purchaser
                          by
                          • Verified Purchase
                          Great quality paint. It went on very easily and the finish looks great!
                          Great quality paint. It went on very easily and the finish looks great!
                          by
                          • Verified Purchase
                          • Recommended
                          I have been using this paint for the past 3 years and i love it.
                          I have been using this paint for the past 3 years and i love it.
                          by
                          • Verified Purchase
                          • Recommended
                          Showing 1-30 of 10,738 reviews

                          Frequently Bought Together

                          +
                          +
                          Price:
                          $28.98