#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for BEHR PREMIUM PLUS 1 gal. Ultra Pure White Ceiling Flat Interior Paint

Internet #100206081

Model #55801

Store SKU #633313

  • Minimizes surface imperfections and provides great touch-up
  • Spatter-resistant formula that is tintable to light colors
  • Maintains the original acoustical properties of your ceiling

Customer Reviews

  • 4.4
    out of 10,754 reviews
  • 79% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 10,754 reviews
Did a great job covering a hundred year old ceiling!...
Did a great job covering a hundred year old ceiling!
by
  • Verified Purchase
Chantilly lace Problem?
Great paint to use as a base when you have a Chantilly lace color request
by
  • Verified Purchase
  • Recommended
Nice product at a reasonable price
Nice product at a reasonable price
by
  • Verified Purchase
  • Recommended
3rd gallon didn’t match at all
We bought this paint to update our beige ceilings to white. Ceilings are hard to paint anyway (in my opinion) and white on white to get nice coverage is a pain. When we ran out of paint again (it’s not a large area) I purchased a 3rd gallon- straight off shelf white paint. This time the paint is not the same color meaning I’ve to paint the entire area again! I’m so frustrated.
by
Response from BehrOct 21, 2022
Hello there, thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that the third gallon you purchased did not match the color of the previous containers. That is not typical, and I can understand your frustration. Customer satisfaction is important to us, so we appreciate your feedback. Please feel free to reach out to us directly so we can learn more about your project and assist. We look forward to hearing from you! -Lina Behr
    1 found this review helpful
    Not happy
    I was going over a white ceiling paint. Put a coat of Zinnser 123 primer . Rolled 3 coats of white ceiling paint. Still looks bad. Second coat looked better than third coat. I even changed directions. North to south, to east and west rolls. Used a Home Depot best roller. Always had a wet edge never dry. I’m a 30 year painter. So not happy. I know a quality paint stores paint wouldn’t do that. Two color coats should always be enough. Especially covering the same color. Now I’m buying a better paint for the fourth coat.
    by
    Response from BehrOct 7, 2022
    Hi AM619, thanks for your review. I'm sorry to hear your ceiling looks bad after using our Premium Plus Ceiling paint. Customer satisfaction is very important to us, so feel free to reach out to our Customer Care team directly for further assistance. They are always happy to help. Enjoy the rest of your day. -Christina Behr
      2 found this review helpful
      Do not buy this!
      This paint is garbage. I don’t know how it’s getting good reviews unless people are putting it over an exactly matching color. I used 5 coats of this over a primer to cover a dark ceiling. That’s 5 cans of this stuff, and at the point where my hand has gone completely numb, I went to a paint store for quality paint, and covered the ceiling flawlessly in one coat. I wasted 3 days!!! Do yourself a favor, buy the can of quality paint and finish your project in less than a month!
      by
      Response from BehrSep 6, 2022
      Hi there, thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that you did not get the coverage you expected. Typically, our Premium Plus Ceiling Paint will cover in two coats, while darker colors and porous surfaces may require additional coats. Customer satisfaction is important to us, and we appreciate your feedback. Please reach out to us directly if you need further assistance; our customer care team is happy to help you! -Ronald Behr
        7 found this review helpful
        Truly flat matte paint finish for ceiling
        I have tried MARQUEE AND BEHR PAINT AND PRIMER the ones are more expensive ones and i had to repaint it over with this one cheaper version and thinner paint because this one leaves a truly flat look on my smooth ceiling, other ones was leaving uneven sheen or streaks that are visible at semi-shaded time during the day
        by
          • Recommended
          1 found this review helpful
          Horrible
          Horrible product, does not have any impregnation at all, tried to even the paint with the roller change to a different roll ,the paint just came right off , same results with the finishing brush. Terrible texture and waste of time . Behr should invest time on trying the product on actual and real jobs .
          by
          Response from BehrAug 23, 2022
          Hi Tonny, thanks for taking the time to review our Premium Plus Ceiling Paint. I'm sorry to hear you didn't get the coverage you expected and that the paint came off when you changed rollers; this isn't the experience we want our customers to have. Our Premium Plus paint is self-priming, so the first coat acts as a primer while additional coats provide coverage. And if you see some areas that need to be touched up, I recommend waiting until the recoat time has passed to prevent the paint from peeling itself off. Customer satisfaction is very important to us, so feel free to reach out to our Customer Care team directly for further assistance. They are always happy to help. Enjoy the rest of your day. -Christina Behr
            3 found this review helpful
            Very Disappointed
            Ceiling was new drywall primed with a USG product. It looked good after the primer; white and smooth. 1st coat of Behr looked blotchy and inconsistent in color and texture. Applied a 2nd coat hoping it would look better; it didn’t. Coverage was 230 sq ft so I bought a 2nd 2 gallon pail of paint. 3rd coat went on like before except this paint was leaving paint chips on the ceiling. I had to stop painting to strain the brand new pail of paint. 3rd coat looked even worse than previous coats.
            by
            Response from BehrJun 29, 2022
            Hi RayT, thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear about the blotchy finish and chips in the paint. This is not the experience we want for our customers and I understand your disappointment. Our Premium Plus Ceiling Paint will typically cover in two coats. Customer satisfaction is important to us, and we appreciate your feedback. Please reach out to us directly if you need further assistance. Our customer care team is happy to help you! -Giovanna Behr
              1 found this review helpful
              Looks terrible / started over with better paint
              Unfortunately this was recommended by the paint department and we picked it up. 2-3 coats later and 8 hours waisted. Started over with a better paint. Terrible product and unfortunately it’s being recommended, do not buy unless you want to waist time and money. Employees should not be recommending this when you have much better options at the same price point with features like pink that dries white for easy application and actual one coat compared to giving up after never ending coats of behr
              by
              Response from BehrJun 28, 2022
              Hi Jeff, thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that you did not get the coverage you expected. Typically, our Premium Plus Ceiling Paint will cover in two coats, while darker colors and porous surfaces may require additional coats. Customer satisfaction is important to us, and we appreciate your feedback. Please reach out to us directly if you need further assistance; our customer care team is happy to help you! -Ronald Behr
                1 found this review helpful
                Awesome product
                This paint was amazing. One coat and thays it.
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                1 found this review helpful
                Does really good coverage. Good quality...
                Does really good coverage. Good quality
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                1 found this review helpful
                Nice an bright
                Went on smoothly, wasnt thick, and was nice and bright
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                • Recommended
                Good product
                Nice and easy to installed!
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                • Recommended
                Poor Coverage
                I have been painting all of my life, professionally for almost 10 years and for myself and others for an additional 30 years. This paint was average to fair. My major complaint is that it did not cover well, even though the ceiling had previously been painted four years ago and was still in great condition. I have never had much luck with Behr paint products and try to avoid them whenever possible.
                by
                  4 found this review helpful
                  Painters tape will peel paint
                  Be careful taping edges with this paint. I painted the whole room one color and waited at least a month before painting the trim another color. When I peeled the tape off the edges it peeled the first color off the wall so now I've got a ton of touch up work to do.
                  by
                    Thought I'd covered well it had the right flow. Pretty...
                    Thought I'd covered well it had the right flow. Pretty much satisfied with the product but the lids are hard to open. I like the look at the ceiling after I'm done using this product.
                    by
                    • Verified Purchase
                    Nicotine Gone!
                    I couldn't wait to get off the ladder to write this review. I painted the suspended ceiling in my Lanai with this paint. The Lanai is our smoking room so the ceiling was nicotine stained and this paint covered it, in one coat. I couldn't believe it. I didn't pre-wash the grid work or anything, I just started painting. The picture shows part of the painted & unpainted metal grid. The part of the ceiling tile you see, is already painted. Another plus is no splatter & low odor...highly recommend!
                    by
                      • Recommended
                      Waist of time and money .
                      After four coats this paint still shoes bad . Avoid this product ..
                      by
                      Response from BehrFeb 3, 2022
                      Hi Ccharle1, thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear about the poor coverage. Typically, our Premium Plus Ceiling Paint will cover in two coats, while porous surfaces may require additional coats. Customer satisfaction is important to us, and we appreciate your feedback. Please reach out to us directly if you need further assistance; our customer care team is happy to help you! -Giovanna Behr
                        1 found this review helpful
                        What a difference a new color makes
                        I really like all the color that i purchased and got alot of compliments on how beautiful it came out.
                        by
                        • Verified Purchase
                        The absolute WORST
                        Bought this paint to do a small kitchen, five coats deep and it keeps looking worse. This is with 2 coats of primer. It actually looked much better with just the primer coat. Terrible product. Behr should be ashamed. They lost a customer for life.
                        by
                        Response from BehrNov 1, 2021
                        Hi Nothappy, thank you for writing in. I'm so sorry to hear after two coats of primer and five coats of paint that your project is looking worse. Since this problem is so unusual, please feel free to reach out to us directly so we can learn more about your project and assist. We look forward to hearing from you. -Michael Behr
                          2 found this review helpful
                          BEHR pure white ceiling paint
                          True money saver because 2 coatings project done
                          by
                          • Verified Purchase
                          • Recommended
                          Dont waste your time
                          They shouldnt even label this as white ceiling paint. Its pretty much white colored water. Coverage was terrible after multiple coats. Dont waste your time painting your ceiling with this like I did
                          by
                          Response from BehrSep 8, 2021
                          Hello Mgomes4673, thank you for your review. I’m so sorry the paint was like water and didn’t cover after multiple coats. I recommend stirring the paint in the can to see if it goes back to a creamy consistency. If not, it’s best to use a new container and recoat if only 2 coats have been applied so far. If 3 or more coats have been applied, I recommend recoating with our regular Premium Plus Interior Flat Paint No. 1050 instead. This should help provide better coverage for your ceiling. Customer satisfaction is important to us, and we appreciate your feedback. Please feel free to reach out to our Customer Care team directly for further assistance. Our team is happy to help you! -Joni Behr
                            4 found this review helpful
                            Doing a garage project wanted to paint ceilings white to make it brighter have used Behr ceiling ...
                            Doing a garage project wanted to paint ceilings white to make it brighter have used Behr ceiling paint before and had good results. One coat coverage on freshly taped drywall works great
                            by
                            • DIY
                            • Verified Purchase
                            • Recommended
                            No coverage
                            Bought Behr paint for the first time because everyone says its the best paint available but that's false. We painted our ceiling with three coats and still no coverage. shows every roller mark. What a waste of money and time
                            by
                            Response from BehrJul 21, 2021
                            Hi Fadi - Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear about the lack of coverage and roller marks on your ceiling! At this point, I recommend allowing your last coat to dry for at least 24 hours as the extra dry time may allow the finish to even itself out. If the coverage and roller marks are still visible after 24 hours, I recommend applying a new coat to your ceiling with our Premium Plus Interior Flat for a uniform finish. For further assistance with your project, please feel free to reach out to us directly. We'd be happy to help. - Sara Behr
                              Left a terrible texture
                              To be fair we have a harsh environment because of how the light from the windows is cast across the ceiling and because our ceiling is perfectly flat. Painted the ceiling and this left really deep texture where each row overlapped. It seemed like the paint was drying too fast but it needed another coat anyway because of show through. Painted again with a different technique, same issue. Sanded the whole thing and painted again with yet another technique, same issue. Contacted Behr Paint Support. Sanded the ceiling again and painted with Behr Marquee Ceiling Flat, which did not have the same issue but had it's own issue with inconsistent sheen (none of it flat). Sanded it down and painted with paint from a different vendor and it looks perfect, except faint spots where you can still see texture issues from the first three coats despite having sanded it twice since then. I wish I had never used this paint because my ceiling would look better if I hadn't. On the plus side, Behr Paint Support was very pleasant to work with.
                              by
                              Response from BehrJul 8, 2021
                              Hello Luke, thank you for your review. I’m so sorry the paint left a texture and dried too fast. To remove any remaining texture, I recommend lightly sanding the affected areas smooth with 180-240 grit sandpaper, cleaning the surface and letting it dry, then touching up with paint. And I’m sorry to hear that you had an inconsistent sheen with our Marquee Ceiling Paint as well. Customer satisfaction is important to us, and we appreciate your feedback. Please feel free to reach out to our Customer Care team again directly so we can learn more and assist you further. Our team is happy to help you! -Joni Behr
                                1 found this review helpful
                                2 gal bucket
                                I read reviews were totally mixed, from good to bad . But i still brought it wasnt too bad,covered niced in 2 coats. The first a lil heavy. The secone was a light coat where the paint did stick as much. Also still have more then enough for my common areas ( living , dining etc .
                                by
                                  • Recommended
                                  1 found this review helpful
                                  Covered well...
                                  Covered well
                                  by
                                  • Verified Purchase
                                  Decent ceiling paint
                                  I used a paint sprayer to spray the ceiling paint. The paint isn't the best but it's good for the price. To me, it appeared to be watery and separates within a day. It's best to have it shaken, used right away, or else you'll need to really stir it up well before each use.
                                  by
                                    • Recommended
                                    4 found this review helpful
                                    my ceiling is white and this doesn't match.. this id light a bright white
                                    my ceiling is white and this doesn't match.. this id light a bright white
                                    by
                                    Response from BehrMar 8, 2021
                                    Hi paint, thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that the color did not match your previous ceiling color. Customer satisfaction is important to us, and we appreciate your feedback. Please reach out to us directly to learn more about your project and assist. Our customer care team is happy to help you! -Giovanna Behr
                                    • Verified Purchase
                                    1 found this review helpful
                                    Showing 1-30 of 10,754 reviews

                                    Frequently Bought Together

                                    +
                                    +
                                    Price:
                                    $28.98