#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for Henry 885 Tropi-Cool Wet Patch White 100% Silicone Roof Leak Repair Sealant 0.90 gal.

Internet #206030020

Model #HE885142

Store SKU #1001374972

  • STOPS LEAKS INSTANTLY - On wet or dry surfaces
  • VERSATILE - Works underwater and in driving rain
  • APPLICATION – Temperature 35°F to 120°F

Customer Reviews

  • 4.5
    out of 236 reviews
  • 84% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 236 reviews
Excellent workability
by
Response from Henry CompanyOct 2, 2023
Henry 885 TropiCool 100% silicone roof repair and leak sealant really is very easy to use. Henry 885 is about as thick as butter and spreads easily with a trowel or a brush. Henry 885 forms a chemical bond to the surface that is much stronger than the normal physical bond that other products form. The best thing though is that Henry 885 will last a lifetime. Thank you for putting your trust in the Henry Co and the Home Depot.
  • Verified Purchase
Very good sealant and easy to apply. Expensive at $119.00 per gallon.
by
Response from Henry CompanyOct 4, 2023
Dug, Henry 885 TropiCool 100% Silicone Roof Leak Repair Sealant is a terrific repair and sealing product. Henry 885 has a lifetime warranty which means that you never have to purchase the sealant again. When you think in terms of the length of the warranty the retail cost of Henry 885 is actually cheaper than almost any other repair sealant. Thank you for putting your trust in the Henry Co and the Home Depot.
  • Verified Purchase
by
  • Verified Purchase
This is a great product when needing to seal seams. I use on my sunroom roof which is aluminum. Seals perfectly. Use small trowel to get product out of can and larger trowel to spread. Wear latex gloves and old clothes. It is messy.
by
Response from Henry CompanyAug 30, 2023
dangdeal, we agree with you that Henry 885 is perfect to seal the seams on an aluminum roof. Henry 885 is simple to use since it has the consistency of cake frosting and can even be applied with a brush. Henry 885 will also last a lifetime on your roof. Thank you for putting your trust in the Henry Co and the Home Depot.
  • Verified Purchase
by
  • Verified Purchase
by
  • Verified Purchase
by
  • Verified Purchase
Works great . I put it on with a trowel. It goes on easy it spreads nicely. It seal the leak instantly on the flat roof..
by
Response from Henry CompanyJul 20, 2023
Phil007, thanks for the review. Henry 885 is truly a smooth product to use for roof patching. Its extremely easy to use compared to traditional patches and it comes with a LIFETIME warranty. Thank you for trusting in Henry Co and Home Depot
  • Verified Purchase
This sealant is more dense and gooey than most roof sealants such as elastomeric, so it takes more muscular effort to smear it on. For comparisons, this is almost as dense as peanut butter, and elastomeric is a little denser than paint. I needed to put this on with a small putty knife trowel. A paint brush or roller cannot spread this well. It is also more expensive. When the rains start in a few months, then I will find out if it prevents leaks better or not. If it completely prevents leaks, then it would be worth the effort and money.
by
Response from Henry CompanyJul 20, 2023
Bob, you may have purchased the Henry 885 Tropi-Cool Wet Patch Seam and Repair. This is designed to be a thicker "peanut butter grade" material that replaces a traditional roof cement as a leak stopper for troublesome areas like cracked seams and around vertical penetrations. The comparable to an elastomeric coating would be Henry 887 Tropi-Cool which is commonly used with a roller and/or paint brush to coat a roof. Much less labor intensive. The way you did it will work it just may have given you an extra workout otherwise. Thank you for putting your trust in Henry Co and Home Depot.
  • Verified Purchase
This is a good product, just a little pricey
by
Response from Henry CompanyJul 13, 2023
Hud, Henry 885 is a "good product" because it is waterproof, easy to apply and lasts a lifetime. With the buying power of the Home Depot, Henry 885 is offered at the lowest price possible given the challenges the supply chain has had to endure over the last two years. The real cost of a product is determined by dividing the retail cost into the length of the warranty. Since Henry 885 has a lifetime warranty the net retail cost is actually very low.
  • Verified Purchase
Stupid expensive Conditions must be ideal for good results but when ideal works great.
by
Response from Henry CompanyJul 12, 2023
Vomer, Henry 885 100% Silicone Seam and Repair Roof Sealant is ponding water resistant, tough and versatile, has excellent adhesion, won't harden or crack, and is mold and mildew resistant. Another great feature of Henry 885 is that you can use it in temperatures as low as 35 degrees and now you can use it in the rain as a wet patch. Thank you for putting your trust in the Henry Co and the Home Depot.
  • Verified Purchase
The product was not cheap but it did work very well. I used it on my RV roof to ensure it is sealed and secure from water damage, and for the hope it will help keep it cooler in the summer.
by
Response from Henry CompanyJul 10, 2023
AM, you are exactly correct. Protects from water and will absolutely help keep your RV cooler this summer with its reflective properties.
  • Verified Purchase
by
  • Verified Purchase
There is no one at the store to help.. Inspite if asking for help.. it takes 35 minutes for someone to show up and then they don’t know where anything is
by
Response from Henry CompanyJun 29, 2023
Nita, we are very sorry that you couldn't get the help that you wanted at the store to find the right Henry products. We know that all retail stores have been challenged with finding enough staffing in the last year or so. Your best course of action would be to speak to a manager in the store and inform them of you issues.
  • Verified Purchase
by
  • Verified Purchase
by
  • Verified Purchase
by
  • Verified Purchase
Easy to apply and clean up to....
Easy to apply and clean up to.
by
Response from Henry CompanyMay 25, 2023
Woody, we most certainly agree that Henry 885 TropiCool 100% Silicone Seam and Repair Roof Sealant is easy to apply. Henry 885 is like applying cake frosting so it tools easily with a putty knife or even a brush so it is easy to seal around pipes, splits, cracks, holes or seams. Not only does it apply easily but it is super strong and will last a lifetime. Thank you for putting your trust in the Henry Co and the Home Depot.
  • Verified Purchase
by
  • Verified Purchase
The product was really easy to apply had a...
The product was really easy to apply had a fast drying time and sealed the areas I needed ! Had a hard rain the next day and I did not have any leaks !
by
Response from Henry CompanyMar 29, 2023
Leebuilders, you left some really nice comments. Henry 885 is a butter grade sealant that spreads easily, can be used in driving rain and even underwater. Henry 885 is very unique since it can be used to stop leaks on EPDM, TPO and other substrates while it is raining. Thank you for putting your trust in the Henry Co and the Home Depot.
  • Verified Purchase
by
  • Verified Purchase
Was given a discount cause can was rusty and beat...
Was given a discount cause can was rusty and beat up top1 1/2 in had gone hand the rest was very hard to put on started to thicken got what I needed to do done
by
Response from Henry CompanyMar 16, 2023
We are sorry to hear about the can of Henry 885 that you used. It appears that the can had been opened previously and air was allowed to contact the product and start the curing process. We would appreciate it if you could reach out to us directly at jszymanski@henry.com so that we can determine the location of your purchase. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
  • Verified Purchase
This product is stiff enough to fill in the low...
This product is stiff enough to fill in the low depressions in my foam roof and stay there. If need be,I will use it again. The Henry 887 is a very good final coating product. I'm very please.
by
Response from Henry CompanyMar 5, 2023
RichardsWoodWorking, such great comments about our Henry Silicone products. Henry TropiCool 885 is a very strong patching product that now even works as a Wet Patch. Henry 885 can now patch leaks in the rain on regular roofs, TPO and even EPDM roofs. Thank you for putting your trust in the Henry Co and the Home Depot.
  • Verified Purchase
Roof patching material
Great material that's easy to use and works great.
by
Response from Henry CompanyJan 26, 2023
Big W, it looks like Henry 885 TropiCool 100% Silicone Seam and Repair Roof sealant did the job you needed it to do. Henry 885 is so simple to use, it spreads like butter and cures to form a lifetime repair. Thank you for putting your trust in the Henry Co and the Home Depot.
  • Verified Purchase
  • Recommended
Good product…but waaaay overpriced!!!! I purchased it because it...
Good product…but waaaay overpriced!!!! I purchased it because it was the only thing close to what I needed to use on a flat roof to patch a few holes caused by golf balls.
by
Response from Henry CompanyJan 12, 2023
We are happy that Henry 885 TropiCool 100% Silicone Seam and Roof Sealant did the job you needed it to do to seal the holes on your roof. Henry 885 is made of super high-quality ingredients that also have a high acquisition cost. When you think about it, the true cost of a roof coating or a patching material is the cost of the product divided by the years of warranty. With Henry 885, the warranty is a lifetime. Thank you for putting your trust in the Henry Co and the Home Depot.
  • Verified Purchase
Sealed quickly. Though, applying it wasnt as smooth as other...
Sealed quickly. Though, applying it wasnt as smooth as other silicones used in the past.
by
Response from Henry CompanyDec 15, 2022
We are glad to see that Henry 885 TropiCool 100% Silicone Seam and Repair Roof Sealant sealed your potential leaks quickly. Henry 885 goes on smoothly with a trowel or a brush and cures by pulling moisture molecules from the air. Henry 885 forms a very tough bond to your roof that will last a lifetime. Thank you for putting your trust in the Henry Co and the Home Depot.
  • Verified Purchase
Thick - you trowel it on. Forget the brush...
Thick - you trowel it on. Forget the brush except for final smoothing and you better hurry. Put on a RV fiberglass roof.
by
Response from Henry CompanyNov 30, 2022
RV owner, great comments about Henry 885 Silicone Seam and Repair Roof Sealant. Henry 885 is the consistency of cake frosting and is usually applied with a trowel but allows you to use a brush to work the product in around vent stacks and pipes that penetrate the roof. Another great benefit of Henry 885 is that it will last a lifetime. Thank you for putting your trust in the Henry Co and the Home Depot.
  • Verified Purchase
Emergency Patch and it worked great! Roof no longer leaking!...
Emergency Patch and it worked great! Roof no longer leaking!
by
Response from Henry CompanyNov 28, 2022
We are happy to hear that your roof leak was fixed. Henry 885 Silicone Seam and Repair Sealant is really a great product. Henry 885 forms a strong chemical bond to the surface and will last a lifetime. Thank you for putting your trust in the Henry Co and the Home Depot.
  • Verified Purchase
This is what you want to use
A gallon of silicone putty you can trowel on. Under my cooler, which is upslope of a near flat roof on the north side. After cutting away they layers of saturated acrylic and wire wheeling the steel, I layed on the Henry's. I have total confidence in the repair with this. Water-based products just can't handle being constantly wet from rain, dew, and snow. Of course you'll have to coat your roof in Henry's silicone after using this patch, but that stuff is amazing as well.
by
Response from Henry CompanyNov 2, 2022
DesertBob, great comments from you about Henry 885 TropiCool 100% Silicone. You are absolutely right that acrylic coatings cannot stand up to ponding water. Acrylic coatings are vapor permeable so water moves at the molecular level through the cured coating. Eventually the water molecules will get under the coating and make it release. Henry 885 is a moisture cure product that is permanently ponding water resistant. Thank you for putting your trust in the Henry Co and the Home Depot.
    • Recommended
    1 found this review helpful
    Great product work perfect Easy to use After No...
    Great product work perfect Easy to use After No water leaking
    by
    Response from Henry CompanyOct 27, 2022
    Henry 885 Seam and Repair Sealant that is 100% silicone. Henry 885 creates an unusually strong chemical bond to the roof surface and lasts a lifetime. Henry 885 is UV resistant, won't harden, chalk, or crack and is mold and mildew resistant. Thank you for putting your trust in the Henry Co and the Home Depot.
    • Verified Purchase
    Showing 1-30 of 236 reviews

    Frequently Bought Together

    Top Rated
    +
    +
    Price:
    $135.00