#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for Korky QuietFILL Platinum Valve and Flapper Kit

Internet #205616927

Model #818MCM

Store SKU #1002504936

  • Includes the two most commonly replaced toilet parts
  • Fixes: Running, noisy, slow refill and weak flushing toilets
  • Fill valve & standard 2" flapper are easy & quick to install

Customer Reviews

  • 4.4
    out of 1,668 reviews
  • 86% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 1,668 reviews
Advertised as. Universal replacement … not true. The flapper does not have the center ring to mount on to the vertical tube in the toilet. I have to buy a separate flapper to accommodate the older tube .. an extra $6.
by
Response from Korky Toilet GeniusSep 4, 2023
We apologize for this inconvenience. Are you able to contact our Technical Support team? We can help you determine what model is compatible with your toilet. Please call 262-763-2434 or email Sales@Lavelle.com. We are available Monday through Friday,7:30AM to 5:00PM CST. Korky
  • Verified Purchase
Only full kit with large flapper, worked great
Did the job where others didn't fit, this is the only kit with the larger flapper i could find. Relatively easy installation, do suggest you watch the install video to help it go smoothly. Hardly needed to look at the included instructions after watching install video, just a few times for reference. Adjusted easily and quickly to match my tank needs.
by
  • Verified Purchase
  • Recommended
Lots of control over your toilet water levels
I have a low toilet and this worked wonderfully. I like the adjustment that the fill valve has to control how much water goes into the bowl after the flapper has closed. The flapper also is adjustable as to how long it stays open. The only issue I had was after about a week it started to make noise towards the end when it was filling up. I read on YouTube that other people had the same problem and the fix was to close the supply valve a little to reduce the water pressure a little. I did that and it seems fine now. No more holding the handle down for a good flush.
by
  • Verified Purchase
  • Recommended
The flapper was too small and the filler tube not...
The flapper was too small and the filler tube not positioned properly but I used a combination of old parts with the new ones and got it working just fine.
by
  • Verified Purchase
2 found this review helpful
Waste of Money
I bought two for my bathrooms. Installed one and it would either flush twice or for a very long time. It was noisy also. Threw that one out and plan to return the other
by
Response from Korky Toilet GeniusAug 20, 2020
We’d be happy to offer some suggestions for improving performance. Please consider calling our Technical Support team at 800-528-3553 or email us at sales@lavelle.com. We are available Monday through Friday, 7:30 AM to 5:00 PM CST. This kit is backed by a 5 year warranty and we want to ensure your complete satisfaction. Korky
    • Recommended
    6 found this review helpful
    $2,800 water bill you tell me!!!
    Installed at my inlaws in her 80’s batroom not even a year agoz i got so mad i just replaed the tolet.
    by
    Response from Korky Toilet GeniusJul 15, 2020
    We're sorry for the frustration. We would like to learn a little more about the toilet and what happened. Please consider calling our Technical Support team at 800-528-3553 or email us at sales@lavelle.com. We are available Monday through Friday, 7:30 AM to 5:00 PM CST. This kit is backed by a 5 year warranty and we want to ensure your complete satisfaction. Korky
      • Recommended
      2 found this review helpful
      Installation is easy and straight forward. Took less than 15 minutes to remove and install. Adj...
      Installation is easy and straight forward. Took less than 15 minutes to remove and install. Adjusting water level is a bit tricky. Take few times to get it right. No more water noise and leaking.
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      • Recommended
      I have purchased this product many times and I think I will now stop. Close to the end of the fil...
      I have purchased this product many times and I think I will now stop. Close to the end of the fill cycle, it cycles on and off 2 seconds on, then 2 seconds off several cycles. I have had it resonate the pipe in the wall as well. I was able to eliminate this by turning the water inlet valve closed a little more. It is very easy to install.
      by
      Response from Korky Toilet GeniusApr 29, 2020
      We apologize for the inconvenience. It sounds like there might be some dirt clogging things up inside the valve. The Korky valves can be maintained by going through a quick process involving pulling a few pieces off and rinsing. For more information please consider calling our Technical Support team at 800-528-3553 or email us at sales@lavelle.com. We are available Monday through Friday, 7:30 AM to 5:00 PM CST. Your kit is backed by a 5 year warranty and we want to ensure your complete satisfaction. Korky
      • Verified Purchase
      The kit replaced an original 30 year old float system and it's doing a great job. Compared the ...
      The kit replaced an original 30 year old float system and it's doing a great job. Compared the installation method of the Fluidmaster and this unit. The process looked very easy. Bought the Korky and gave it to my inexperienced 19 year old to install. He followed the instructions & easily installed it. It's been in over two weeks & happy with the unit. If my other toilets fail, this will my go to product. I've installed the competition and Korkys installation method wins!
      by
      • DIY
      • Verified Purchase
      • Recommended
      3 found this review helpful
      I have an older house with an older toilet. The kit worked fine and was as easy as anytime I hav...
      I have an older house with an older toilet. The kit worked fine and was as easy as anytime I have had to fix toilets. With having many friends and family members that don't know a wrench from a screwdriver... that has been a whole lot of toilet repairs. The pieces lined up easily too. No messing around getting the chain just right. Don't forget the thread tape!
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      • Recommended
      Had an issue with my first Korky QuietFill. Did not want to disassemble and down the toilet, to t...
      Had an issue with my first Korky QuietFill. Did not want to disassemble and down the toilet, to take it back to Home Depot for an exchange. Contacted the Korky company directly. They immediately responded and sent me a new replacement at zero expense to me. Install was easy and went without any problems. (Disclaimer: My Korky kit was without a flapper. Just the replacement valve.)
      by
        • Recommended
        3 found this review helpful
        We purchased four of these for our bathrooms. Originally, I had a plumber come out to give us an ...
        We purchased four of these for our bathrooms. Originally, I had a plumber come out to give us an estimate for replacing the four old flappers with these new ones. After reeling from the ridiculously high estimate ($600+), my daughter and I tried to undertake this venture by ourselves. We are not DIYers or plumbers, but we succeeded with all four installations. The instructions and You Tube installation videos were very helpful. If we could do this, I think almost anyone could. Oh, yes, we are very pleased with this product and would not hesitate purchasing another if the need arises.
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        • Recommended
        10 found this review helpful
        Bought one of these a long time ago. Don't really remember installing that one and don't remember...
        Bought one of these a long time ago. Don't really remember installing that one and don't remember it being as easy as this one went in. I have RA and I dread tying my shoes, let alone doing plumbing work. I have to tell the truth, I was not looking forward to doing this toilet as it is parked tight in a corner and the sink on the other side with no room to work. I spent more time cleaning the tank out of sand, rust, and years of hard well water. Install was so easy, just take out the old, add the new. Taking my shoes/boots off are hard that installing this. Just follow the directions. You can adjust the valve to fit your tank and water level. Then you can adjust the water that flows into the toilet bowl itself. I just turn this setting down all the way to minimize the water that flows to the septic. I did not have to use the flapper kit, but will save for later when needed, and I will some day.
        by
        • DIY
        • Verified Purchase
        2 found this review helpful
        Great Product!
        Great Product!
        by
        • DIY
        • Verified Purchase
        • Recommended
        Easy to assemble and silent, adequate size
        Easy to assemble and silent, adequate size
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        • Recommended
        This product is a must have replacement for the generic tank float. It is height adjustable and a...
        This product is a must have replacement for the generic tank float. It is height adjustable and all of the parts fit perfect.
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        • Recommended
        So far so good!!
        So far so good!!
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        • Recommended
        Works very well on our toilet. It was relatively easy to install, even with a counter-top running...
        Works very well on our toilet. It was relatively easy to install, even with a counter-top running over our toilet tank. The instructions are a little over-complicated, but eventually you get the idea. All the parts are provided for changing out the valve, flap, and water-level in the tank. It does not include the hose from the house to the tank (nor does it say it does). We really like the flap - instead of a hard rubber, this one was very soft and easy to install. Which is extra important in our tank because it sits under a counter-top, and is thus difficult to reach. Plus you cannot see what you are doing because of the counter, so easy installation of the flat was a bonus. It takes a little trial and error to get the water level just right. It might be our hard-to-reach tank, but it can be hard to spot the fill line mark on the valve assembly. Fortunately, adjusting the fill line is very easy after installation so you can play around with it to find the right depth for your flushing needs. We plan on trying to move it down to see if we can save a little water each flush. It was pretty difficult to install the clip into the pipe for the water-fill. (see photos). We ended up having to use pliers and a hair dryer to heat-up the pipe. Before heating it up, my wife got cut trying to get the clip into the pipe. This is exacerbated because you may have to insert the clip several times as you adjust the length for the fill space. The packaging talks about it being a quieter device, but I didn’t notice it being any quieter than the older model we had before. Granted we had a bulb-less upgrade already. It's definitely quieter than the very old bulb type tank sensors. If that’s an important feature, you may want to invest in something else. Otherwise, it has been working great for the past few week, no complaints.
        by
        • Recommended
        2 found this review helpful
        This has both good and bad. I'll start with the bad: I actually took the time to read the direct...
        This has both good and bad. I'll start with the bad: I actually took the time to read the directions and it has an adjustable flapper valve. It has multiple holes in the valve that rotate so it changes how long the valve stays open. For this to work there are two parts you have to turn. The smaller one was quite easy to turn but the larger was really impossible. It comes not lined up and you have to rotate it so it does line up. I admit I have a 'dad bod' but I still have forearms like Popeye and this did NOT want to move! I ended up breaking the smaller adjuster before I got the first to move. In the picture, you can see the second adjuster is broken off. I didn't get the first hole even partially lined up until after the second adjuster was broken. The good, the rest of the install was easy. Works as promised. All the needed parts were there. I didn't need any tools to install it and it was quite simple. I went ahead and mounted it since my old flapper valve was leaking. The new flapper doesn't leak, but since the adjuster is broken off, the holes aren't like they should be it closes quickly. Works fine for #1 but #2 is likely to require the operator to hold the handle down for decent flushing action... This will work for now though. Closing quickly is better than staying open too long I suppose and at least the toilet won't run all night now. I appreciate the idea and effort that went the design as this would allow the installer to set how long the flapper valve stays open and therefore how much water the toilet uses. But the first ring is too tightly held in place to rotate. It's plastic, so I didn't want to grab it with pliers.
        by
        Response from Korky Toilet GeniusJan 10, 2018
        This is not normal for our kit - Let us help you get this fixed! We apologize for the inconvenience this has caused you. Would you be willing to contact our customer service team? We would like to work with you to resolve this issue. Please dial 1-800-528-3553 or email us at sales@lavelle.com. We are available Monday through Friday, 7:30 AM to 5:00 PM CST. Your kit is backed by a 5 year warranty and we want to ensure your 100% satisfaction. Korky
        1 found this review helpful
        I am very impressed with this product from the ease of installation to the multiple adjustments f...
        I am very impressed with this product from the ease of installation to the multiple adjustments for water conservation. The installation instructions are fairly straightforward and easy to follow even for the novice DIY’er. There are no specialty tools required other than perhaps pliers to remove the valve mounting nut if it can’t be loosened by hand and scissors to trim the bowl refill tube if necessary. In addition to the standard adjustment for the tank maximum water level (which is very easy with this product by using a “lock” feature for the correct length of the valve prior to install), it also has an adjustable flapper allowing you to set the point at which the flapper closes after the flush based on the minimum water level of the tank. In my opinion, the most beneficial water conservation adjustment is the “refill adjuster dial” which gives you the ability to synchronize the point at which both the refill of the tank and bowl is completed. Often the bowl reaches its maximum refill level before the tank meaning any additional water flowing to the bowl is wasted and simply runs down the sewer drain - this adjustment corrects that problem.
        by
        • Recommended
        5 found this review helpful
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        It’s not really quiet & it takes a long time to fill! Not thrilled so far but it will do.
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        Really cheaply built this valve leaked water from places it is not supposed to but I does fill the tank. I will not be buying this item again. Did not return it because I refused to take it apart once it was installed but I know it won’t last
        by
        Response from Korky Toilet GeniusFeb 29, 2024
        Let us help! Are you able to contact our Technical Support team? Is it leaking during the fill only? If so, it is normal, as long as its during the fill. We can further discuss this, because we want to ensure your complete satisfaction. Please call 262-763-2434 or email Sales@Lavelle.com. We are available Monday through Friday, 7:30AM to 5:00PM CST. Korky
        • Verified Purchase
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        Showing 1-30 of 1,668 reviews

        Frequently Bought Together

        +
        +
        Price:
        $1647

        Compare Similar Toilet Repair Kits

        current product
        QuietFILL Platinum Valve and Flapper Kit
        PerforMAX Universal High Performance Toilet Fill Valve and 3 in. Adjustable Toilet Flapper Repair KitQuietFILL Platinum Complete Universal Toilet Repair Kit2 in. Toilet Tank Repair Kit
        BrandKorkyFluidmasterKorkyKEENEY
        NameQuietFILL Platinum Valve and Flapper KitPerforMAX Universal High Performance Toilet Fill Valve and 3 in. Adjustable Toilet Flapper Repair KitQuietFILL Platinum Complete Universal Toilet Repair Kit2 in. Toilet Tank Repair Kit
        Price
        $1647
        $2098
        $2798
        $2959
        Ratings
        (1663)
        (261)
        (2043)
        (22)
        Toilet Repair Kit TypeFill Valve and Flapper Repair KitsFill Valve and Flapper Repair KitsComplete Toilet Repair KitsFill Valve and Flapper Repair Kits
        ApplicationToiletToiletToiletToilet
        IncludedHardware IncludedHardware IncludedHardware IncludedHardware Included
        View ProductView ProductView ProductView Product