#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for MRCOOL DIY 18,000 BTU 1.5-Ton 1-Zone 22 SEER Ductless Mini-Split AC and Heat Pump with 18K & 25ft Line

Internet #314675755

Model #DIY-18-HP-230C25

  • High efficiency ductless mini split system: 22 SEER
  • Easy DIY Mini Split Installation with Pre-Charged R410A Lines
  • 7-year Compressor warranty/5-year parts warranty

Customer Reviews

  • 4.4
    out of 605 reviews
  • 76% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 605 reviews
Go with Bryant
Fails within 2 years. Poor workmanship, assembly line product that no one takes care to check. Quality control is none.
by
Response from MR COOL TeamMay 14, 2024
We apologize for the issues you are having with our system. Please contact us directly with your concerns to pass along to our quality control team. You can email me directly at csmanager@mrcool.com. mrcool
    This was one of the easiest installs I've ever done as DIY project. The instructions were very straight forward and I was able to complete install all by myself. MRCOOL makes a great product and I would recommend it to anyone looking for simple cooling/heat solution. I installed this unit on a 450ft2 garage that I fully insulated and it is the perfect size and I am sure it can keep up with the Texas summer heat.
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    Poor Mrcool response
    error code pc 03 flashes when turned on, contacted mrcool tech support, was able to actually talk to tech after 4 days of contacting them, after several diagnostic steps was told system has leak, I followed all installation instructions, don’t know if system lost it’s charge before install but never found any leaks in system, tech’s advice was to call a hvac company to come fix it. Returning system to home depot along with 4 zone system that wasn’t installed yet
    by
    Response from MR COOL TeamMay 10, 2024
    We do apologize for the issue you are having with your system. Please email me directly at csmanager@mrcool.com. mrcool
      1 found this review helpful
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      MrCool mini split
      This is my second unit that i have purchased,easy to install,works great
      by
      Response from MR COOL TeamMay 13, 2024
      We are glad you enjoy the install and the equipment! Thank you for the review! mrcool
        • Recommended
        1 found this review helpful
        So far, this product has met my needs. Unfortunately, it isn’t cold enough to assess the heating capabilities nor warm enough to assess how well it’ll cool. Got my fingers crossed. ?
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        Rating is for the poor packaging that required rejecting the delivery. Never had a chance to install, had to be returned. Unit ships as 2 different shipments as the indoor and outdoor ship separately. Indoor unit arrived in great condition. Outdoor unit was not even delivered, it was held at UPS because of extensive packaging damage. I went to the local UPS hub to view the damage for myself. I refused the package. This lead to having to return the indoor unit as the credit needs to be given against the order. HD did provide the return label so there was no cost incurred. Have not reordered as of this writing.
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        Relatively easy install. The unit has been a game changer in my 720ft detached garage.
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        Bad quality and bad customer service
        My mother and I have both had multiple problems with our units. First, my computer board died, then I found a pinhole in the coil. My mother has gone through 2 units now in 2 years. I don’t have enough room in the review to tell the whole story but buyer beware. These units are poorly made and customer service will require so much of you before they do anything, you’re better off paying a company that provides a real warranty and stands behind it. You’ll spend less money in the long run.
        by
        Response from MR COOL TeamApr 17, 2024
        We do apologize for the inconvenience you have had to deal with. Please contact me directly at csmanager@mrcool.com. mrcool
          • Recommended
          2 found this review helpful
          Easier to install than I expected, 4 hrs! Once in operation, almost noiseless, maintains a steady even heat, even down the hall to a separate bedroom. Love it!
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          Very disappointed that Home Depot would not honor their price guarantee when I submitted a link for the same product that was over $400 less. I was told by customer service to just return it. It was too heavy for me to return and no one would help me get it back to the store for a return.
          by
          Response from MR COOL TeamApr 12, 2024
          We do apologize for the trouble this has caused you. If there is anything we can assist you with, please reach out to us directly at support@mrcool.com or 270-366-0457. mrcool
          • Verified Purchase
          1 found this review helpful
          It was as easy as one , two, three. Instructions was very easy to follow. Unit works great. Would recommend it. Would buy again
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          Directions were easy to follow. Step by step with illustrations as you go along. The install took 2 days. Also took a few hours to create concrete pad. I was very concerned about kinking the charged lines but they worked out fine. Only wish they could have been manipulated easier. Overall, a great product. Works well and surprisingly very quiet when running both inside and outside as well.
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          I returned it without installing. Too large for my place. Installed 18000 btu and it works great.
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          MIA
          May never know if is a good unit- never got it. Shipping keeps updating but it never goes anywhere. Be aware- it may take months and months to get this item
          by
          Response from MR COOL TeamApr 2, 2024
          For missing items, you may need to contact Home Depot directly to start a claim for the lost package. mrcool
            • Recommended
            This unit will meet our HVAC needs for the upstairs loft area of our home. Unit is DIY friendly.
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            Quick delivery easy to set up, then,,
            Nice looking unit, bought in Oct 21, compressor failed this last Dec, of 23, nearly three months of emails then they want $550 shipping for new warranty repair part, I had to get another heat source in the mean time. Endless complaints at BBB, and it did not significantly lower my heat bills. I do recommend you look into BBB before buying from Mr Cool. It was easy to set up!
            by
            Response from MR COOL TeamMar 28, 2024
            We are glad it was an easy set up for you! We do apologize for any inconvenience you have had to deal with. If you need anything else, please reach out to us directly at support@mrcool.com or 270-366-0457. mrcool
              2 found this review helpful
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              Love it.a life saver. Going to expand on it in the future.
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              Very straightforward to install, great instructions, all needed parts included (outside of electrical line and some spray foam to seal the penetration). Works great above 5 degrees F. Below 5 degrees, you will need a replacement heat source. Have only had installed during winter months, so other than initial testing, haven't used the AC function, but the 12k unit heats my small 500 sf home well.
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              DIY is so easy
              This unit came in 4 business days. Took me only 6 hours to install (would have been less but I have an 8 inch block and stucco house). Started working as soon as I connected power.
              by
                • Recommended
                Mr. Cool DIY units are amazing. Very easy to install for anyone with basic home maintenance skills and tools. I have installed 3 so far and they all work great. Also very efficient. Depending on what part of the country you are in you may want to oversize the unit for heating. It can keep up with sub zero temps in a properly insulated space but must be enough BTU to keep up.
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                1 found this review helpful
                This thing will die fairly quickly
                Bought in August 2023. App goes out of sync with the unit quite regularly. Could only use the remote control. By October 2023 we couldn't feel hot or cold air coming out of the unit. Troubleshooted and no leaks. Warranty is non-existent. It's very likely that the refrigerant is going to have to be recharged after < 2 months of install time and only a few days of actual use. Guess what isn't covered :) Have to pay an AC person to fix. Learn from my mistake, spend 1-2k more for something reliable.
                by
                Response from MR COOL TeamJan 24, 2024
                Please email me directly at csmanager@mrcool.com. mrcool
                  1 found this review helpful
                  Initially disappointed - Will update
                  I received this exact kit. The signal wire I believe is a true 25', I think the line set is slightly shorter. Product seems to be solid, fairly easy to install, but I can't test it yet because the line set is too short. WARNING - They advertise that if you need a longer line you can buy additional line set and a coupler. Do your homework. The 1/4 1/2 coupler isn't available for purchase by itself ANYWHERE. You can buy it with included signal wire for over $300. Support will not help you.
                  by
                    1 found this review helpful
                    STAY AWAY
                    First, I am a review leaving machine. I leave mainly good reviews. I am fair. Stay away from this product. Zero customer service. First unit, would not blow any air. Took weeks to get resolved and they sent another one. Just over a year on the 2nd unit. Major POP and unit is dead. WIll not power on. Took days to get an emai saying I have to pay for troubleshooting my unit. No one services these unit within 2 hours. They refuse to call to work with me. Maybe I can do it, I am handy. Sent me an email that makes no sense. I do not work on AC units. I asked for a call from a supervisor, refused to call again, stating I own the problem and let them know. Asked for a manager to call and speak to a voice, a person, another email, saying, nothing we can do. Unit works great, when it works, but fair warning, STAY AWAY
                    by
                    Response from MR COOL TeamJan 24, 2024
                    We apologize for any inconvenience. Please email me directly at csmanager@mrcool.com. mrcool
                      1 found this review helpful
                      by
                      • Verified Purchase
                      Awesome Unit!
                      Awesome unit!! Easy to install and works perfect!
                      by
                        • Recommended
                        by
                        • Verified Purchase
                        Very easy to install and working very well. Will be ordering more for other installations.
                        by
                        • Verified Purchase
                        I have installed 3 MRCOOL DIY for me and family all are working fine.
                        by
                        • Verified Purchase
                        1 found this review helpful
                        Showing 1-30 of 605 reviews

                        Frequently Bought Together

                        Top Rated
                        +
                        +
                        Price:
                        $2156.00

                        Compare Similar Items