#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for Olympic Elite 1 Gal. Base 1 Solid Advanced Exterior Stain and Sealant in One

Internet #305230159

Model #80301-01

Store SKU #1003201869

  • Advanced, premium stain + sealer with rich color clarity
  • 4 season protection for cedar, redwood and pressure treated wood
  • Ideal for deck, fence & other exterior wood projects

Customer Reviews

  • 3.9
    out of 243 reviews
  • 70% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 243 reviews
Poor product
I just put this product on followed all prep steps including sanding And this product is already popping up I can’t believe it the old Olympics stain that I used to use lasted for at least a year or so this one doesn’t even last a week
by
Response from Olympic TeamJun 30, 2023
Hello, we’re sorry to hear that you’ve had a negative experience. We would very much like to speak with you about your project so that we can understand more about the problem you're experiencing. Please contact one of our technical specialists at techservicerequests@ppg.com or 1-800-441-9695 between 8am-5pm ET. OlympicPaint
    ELITE solid stain for pressure treated deck
    Staining in November in the northeast can be tricky due to cooler temperatures and frequent overnight frost/heavy morning dew. I waited to apply the elite solid stain on a day where Daytime temps were in the 60's and 50's overnight. I waited until the dew point was about 20 degrees below ambient before starting, applied 2 coats to railing caps and stairs about 2 hours apart and very happy that there were no curing issues even with rain after 36 hours. Product is easy to apply and covers well with roller and backbrushing. I gave 4 stars because I just finished applying and do not know how well it holds up over winter. If it performs well over winter, I will apply same to all the 20 year old floorboards in the spring.
    by
      Olympic Elite Solid - Highly Recommended
      I typically don't write reviews but I was surprised by how well the stain held up. See the attached picture after applying the stain 5 years ago. I have used a variety of stains and that is how it typically looks after 2 years. I won't have to restain any verticals just the horizontal surfaces.
      by
        Color nowhere close to chart
        When applied, the Beige Gray looks like either the Soapstone or White Sand. I cleaned, power washed and even sanded the deck surface in preparation, so it has nothing to do with my deck color prior to painting. This paint, on wood, is so different from the pamphlet, I originally thought they mixed the wrong color. After verifying the paint color on the label, I thought that it must darken as it dries. It doesn’t. Beige Gray on wood is almost a light cream color.
        by
        Response from Olympic TeamJun 27, 2022
        Hi Thomas, we're sorry to hear that the color of the stain wasn't as expected and thank you for providing this feedback. We are here to further discuss and provide solutions, so please give us a call at 1-800-441-9695 between 8am-5pm ET. OlympicPaint
          Fantastic Results
          Photos don't lie, made my 20-year-old deck look new. The Fawn color is nice shade of Tan. Stain goes really far, used a gallon and a half on 12 x 12 deck. Used a 6 in. roller made specifically for decks. Two coats on deck floor covered all the chipped off old paint. I have no doubt that this Olympic Solid Stain and Sealer will live up to its superior reputation.
          by
            • Recommended
            The best stain on the market
            I re-stained my deck the last application lasted 8 years.
            by
              • Recommended
              Had a can of this elite Stain and sealant from last year. I ordered the same paint by matching #...
              Had a can of this elite Stain and sealant from last year. I ordered the same paint by matching # on back of my old can and this new can was the match. Color of new can super white and I had to return can and barely finished my deck w what I originally had left. Super disappointed and another ride back to HD to return
              by
              Response from Olympic TeamApr 23, 2021
              Hi Eva, we're sorry to hear your experience with our stain wasn't what you expected. We are here to further discuss and provide solutions, so please give us a call at 1-800-426-6306 between 8am-5pm ET. OlympicPaint
              • Verified Purchase
              1 found this review helpful
              Very disappointed!
              After allowing my new deck to cure for a After slowing my new deck to cure a year... I applied Olympic Elite last August. It already peeled and needed to be sanded off so I can have it restrained. Very expensive to have a painter do this for me.
              by
              Response from Client CareApr 16, 2021
              Hey there, we're sorry to hear your experience with our stain wasn't what you expected. We are here to further discuss and provide solutions, so please give us a call at 1-800-426-6306 between 8am-5pm ET.
                Chestnut brown color does not match color chart or Semi-solid
                This stain covers well but the Chestnut Brown color does not match the Olympic chart or the same color in the semi-solid. Tried multiple gallons. The store checked the mix several times and each time it came out the same wrong color. Contacted Olympic and got no response. The bottom color in the picture is the semi-solid and is the correct color. The top color is the solid and is clearly wrong. I now have a mud brown deck and gallons of worthless stain.
                by
                Response from Olympic TeamJul 27, 2020
                Please give us a call at 1-800-426-6306 between 8am-5pm ET so we can discuss potential solutions and help make this right. Thank you for your feedback. OlympicPaint
                  1 found this review helpful
                  Happy customer!
                  We purchased this solid stain in Chestnut Brown to refinish our deck after using the Olympic Deck Cleaner. Coverage on the product said “350-500 sq ft per gallon”. We bought 3 gallons to cover a little over 1000 sq ft. One coat was all that was needed and we still had a tiny bit left over. It was easy to work with and cleaned up easily off the paint brushes, etc. A little pricey, but it did the job well!
                  by
                    • Recommended
                    1 found this review helpful
                    Color not as pictured!
                    Had deck stained 3 days ago in Rustic Cedar. Color is much lighter than pictured and does not dry well. After 3 days, it is still sticky with bare feet. Note, pic is taken in shade.
                    by
                      Terrible product
                      Bought Olympic Elite stain because had good experience with other Olympic products. Sanded, washed and made sure deck was totally dry before applying. After one winter this is what it looks like. Not sure what to do.
                      by
                        Do not recommend
                        I just stained my deck in the fall before it got cold & this is how it looks 6 months later. It didn’t even last through 1 winter and we only had snow 1 time which melted the same day.
                        by
                        Response from OlympicPaintsStainsApr 7, 2020
                        Hi there, we're sorry to hear your experience with our stain wasn't what you expected. We are here to further discuss and provide solutions, so please give us a call at 1-800-426-6306 between 8am-5pm ET.
                          Waist of money
                          DOESN'T COVER IN ONE COAT. The one coat product is a rip off. $50. a gallon. DON'T BUY THESE PRODUCTS
                          by
                          Response from Olympic TeamFeb 7, 2020
                          Hi there, we're sorry to hear that the coverage wasn't as expected. We are here to discuss further and provide solutions, so please give us a call at 1-800-426-6306 between 8am-5pm ET at your convenience. OlympicPaint
                            Best stain I have ever used! Looks great year after year!
                            Best stain I have ever used! Looks great year after year!
                            by
                              • Recommended
                              2 found this review helpful
                              I chose drift color solid stain to cover an existing brown on my deck. It covered beautifully and...
                              I chose drift color solid stain to cover an existing brown on my deck. It covered beautifully and looks amazing. Such a nice change and it will be cooler this summer.
                              by
                              • Verified Purchase
                              • Recommended
                              1 found this review helpful
                              I put this product on my deck and it did not even last through one winter. I had used Behr previ...
                              I put this product on my deck and it did not even last through one winter. I had used Behr previously and it would last at least two years here in Alaska. It is like the PPG stain softened the Behr and made it loose its adhesion. Now I'm looking at a lot of scraping or sanding. I have put this on two large decks and now I have lots of work to correct this. This failure appears to be worse in the high traffic areas. I will also add that the PPG Timeless Solid Color Deck Stain was applied according to directions with the proper air temperature. I am not happy at all with this product, as I have a lot of work ahead of me to repaint or restain.
                              by
                              Response from PPG PaintsJun 7, 2019
                              Hi there. We're sorry to hear about your experience with our stain. Please call us at 1-800-441-9695 between 8am-5pm ET so we can provide solutions and earn back your trust. ppgtimeless
                                TERRIBLE! Wish I could choose zero stars!
                                After one fall and one winter (where it received no traffic or shovelling) almost all of the stain is flaking off or gone off of my deck.
                                by
                                Response from Olympic StainsApr 8, 2019
                                Hi there, we're sorry to hear your experience with our stain wasn't what you expected. We are here to further discuss and provide solutions, so please give us a call at 1-800-426-6306 between 8am-5pm ET.
                                  Terrible product and service
                                  I purchased this product 3 years ago and applied it as instructed to a covered 2 year old deck. The finish was fine for a year when where it was exposed to weather it showed signs of extreme wear. Within 18 months it completely wore off. It looks terrible. I don’t recommend this product.
                                  by
                                  Response from Customer ServiceOct 16, 2018
                                  hi there, So sorry that you had a negative experience with our stain. We'd like to hear more about your project so we can figure out why this happened and then find you a solution. Please call us at 1-800-426-6306 between 8am-5pm ET.
                                    Squirrels love it - Beware!
                                    I bought this stain for our large deck and stairs outside. It provided good coverage and quality BUT squirrels love it. (We used the brown base stain) They literally started eating/gnawing and scratching our deck immediately and we have been fighting for weeks to catch/eliminate the squirrels because they do not stop. We likely will have to replace some rungs of our stairs because the damage is deep. Just beware.
                                    by
                                    Response from Customer ServiceAug 21, 2018
                                    Hi Debbie, Glad to hear you (and squirrels) love our stain, but sorry to see that your deck stairs got ruined. Please give us a call us at 1-800-426-6306 between 8am-5pm EST for further assistance.
                                      Great Product - Great Look !
                                      The finished result has been excellent for our 15+ year old deck that had 2 coats of solid stain previously applied before we bought this house 3 years ago, 2nd coat was peeling away from 1st coat that was also peeling away. The key to my success was the prep before apply the solid stain, spent 10 hours on both a Saturday and Sunday sanding with a deck sander rented from HD with 20 grit sanding sheets, using deck stripper on what was left, scrapping the softened stain on my hands and knees, thoroughly rinsing the stripper, sanding again after it dried and then washing with a deck cleaner. I then let deck dry for 48 hours and applied 1st coat of the Elite solid stain with 5" brush, really soaked into the old PT decking. after 24 hours I applied a 2nd coat again with the 5" brush. As you can see it looks great ! The adhesion of the stain appears to be very strong and after 48 hours of drying the surface is hard to the touch which I hope leads to durability. This was a lot of work but cheaper than putting down new PT or a composite material.
                                      by
                                        • Recommended
                                        I painted my deck a grey color about a month ago and it came out beautiful. My deck was in good ...
                                        I painted my deck a grey color about a month ago and it came out beautiful. My deck was in good condition, part of it was only about 1 year old. But it gets filthy. Any time someone walks on it or it rains, it leaves dirt and footprints. I've been mopping it off, but it just keeps getting dirty. These pictures are about a week after I mopped it and cleaned it. It's embarrassing and I'm thinking I have to sand the whole thing down and buy another brand of paint. I'm very disappointed, the paint was expensive and it was a big job to paint it.
                                        by
                                        Response from PPG PaintsJul 16, 2018
                                        Hi Laura, Sorry to hear that you aren't pleased with our stain. Lighter colors can show more dirt, especially if you get heavy foot traffic. We're here to further assist you so please give us a call at 1-800-441-9695 between 8am-5pm EST. ppgtimeless
                                          3 found this review helpful
                                          Used it for my dock that had sections of old wood and new wood post hurricane. Smooth applicatio...
                                          Used it for my dock that had sections of old wood and new wood post hurricane. Smooth application and great finish.
                                          by
                                          • Verified Purchase
                                          • Recommended
                                          1 found this review helpful
                                          Royal Mahogany
                                          [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I've used this product on my back deck the past 5 years. It is 20+ years old and I've restained every 2-3 years. Seattle wet winters and dry summers take a toll on decks. This year we removed and replaced the deck boards. Then I stained it - by myself. And, I'm 74 y/o.
                                          by
                                            • Recommended
                                            Solid color stain Cedar
                                            [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I painted our home with Olympic back I believe in 2003 , it still looks great after all these years , I am so impressed . I do little touch ups if something gets messed up during the year but all in all has lasted very well . We had company last week end and when they drove up our hill to our home they told us it still looked just as good as the day we first did it and that means so much to us .
                                            by
                                              • Recommended
                                              Not on the container, close to Desert Sand
                                              HORRIBLE!! Worked very hard prepping the deck and staining the deck only to have it peel/wear away over the winter. It didnt even hold up for 2 summers. Looks awful now. Total Waste Of Time!
                                              by
                                              Response from Customer ServiceJun 1, 2017
                                              Hi there, So sorry to hear about this. We want to make this better for you so please call us at 1-800-426-6306 between 8am-5pm EST.
                                                Elite Mahagany Blaze
                                                [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I used the Mahogany Blaze on my fence about two weeks ago with outstanding results.This stain has excellent one coat coverage saving time and money.Definitely would recommend.
                                                by
                                                  • Recommended
                                                  Nice looking product but starts peeling right away
                                                  I purchased this product in September. I purchased the top of line product in hopes that it would be durable and that I would to worry about re-staining the deck for at least a few years. It was applied to a year old deck. I sanded the rough parts of the deck and used the Olympic Deck Cleaner to prepare the surface. The deck was dry when installed, it didn't rain until about a week after applying. I was able apply to the stain without any problems and put on two layers. I used paint brushes to apply. The surface was sticky for a while after installation but it looked great. I used the semi-solid olivewood color. The problem was that it started peeling after a couple of weeks. It started with a few spots that I re-stained but after a couple of months the deck started peeling everywhere (see pictures). Now I have to redo the deck and I am afraid to go on it because I think that it will cause more peeling. I bought this product because it was supposed to be the best, but it has been a major disappoint. Now I have to invest more time and money to get my deck to look decent again. Very disappointed in this product and would not recommend it.
                                                  by
                                                  Response from Online Customer ServiceFeb 8, 2016
                                                  We hear you Mike. Our team wants to help. When you’re unhappy, we’re unhappy, and we’d like to talk about your issue continue the discussion with you. Please reach out to our technical services team directly for solutions specific to your issue at 1-800-426-6306 between 9am-5pm EST Monday-Friday.  Sincerely, The Olympic Team
                                                    Rusted Ore
                                                    Well, we are often quick to write a review about a product that didn't meet expectations, but this product far exceeded any expectation I had. First of all, the support from the 800# was great and the advice helped in my project. For me, this was not a small project, but with the last few days being very nice weather-wise I decided to take it on. Cleaned the deck with Olympic Deck Cleaner, let it dry, and then proceeded to do the deck. At first, my thought was just to stain the main deck area, but after seeing how beautiful that looked, (and how ugly the rest looked in comparison), just went the extra mile and made it all happen. Lots of work, but so far so good. It looks so nice with one coat, I called and asked if another coat is actually needed. They said yes, because after it dries small pinholes open and later on would be a problem with peeling. So, going to give it another thin coat as soon as I get some good weather and a little energy back. Anyway, I highly recommend it. Another thing as well is that the color seemed to match perfectly with the transparent stain I put on the deck 3 years ago.
                                                    by
                                                    Response from Online Customer ServiceOct 12, 2015
                                                    Your deck looks amazing! We're glad you decided to share your experience with us! Thank you for choosing Olympic Paints & Stains! We appreciate seeing pictures of customers using our products. Sincerely, The Olympic Team
                                                      • Recommended
                                                      Chestnut Brown, Hemp
                                                      I usually don't get excited about staining or painting until I used your Olympic Elite Advanced stain. I met a contractor at a garage sale and he recommended your stain. I can't thank him enough for recommending Olympic as I was about to purchase another brand. Olympic Elite Advanced Stain goes on very smoothly and I hardly used much to cover my fence and deck. I was really amazed how little I use as my deck and fence are rather large. I gave them all two coats except for the part I am still working on. I really like the solid color so much. I feel most people have no idea what these colors can do to the value of your home. My deck was so mildewed and ugly until I cleaned it and stained it with Olympic and now it's absolutely beautiful. My neighbors can't believe how the color simply made it look like a new deck. Awesome!! I have another area on my deck to complete and then my neighbors want me to help them with there's so I'm sure I'll be purchasing some more Olympic Elite Advanced Stain. I really can't say enough about the quality, durablity and how well Olympic Elite Advanced Stain enhances my deck. Thank you for making my staining a pleasure!! Pamela
                                                      by
                                                      Response from Online Customer ServiceSep 3, 2015
                                                      Wow! You did a great job using OLYMPIC®  for your deck Pamela! Thank you for choosing OLYMPIC® and for sharing your experience with us. We enjoy seeing our customers' projects. Sincerely, The Olympic Team
                                                        • Recommended
                                                        Showing 1-30 of 243 reviews

                                                        Frequently Bought Together

                                                        +
                                                        +
                                                        Price:
                                                        $53.98

                                                        Compare Similar Items

                                                        current item

                                                        Container Size

                                                        1 Gallon

                                                        1 Gallon

                                                        1 Gallon

                                                        1 Gallon

                                                        Transparency

                                                        Solid

                                                        Solid

                                                        Solid

                                                        Solid

                                                        Paint/Stain Features

                                                        Fast Drying, Low Odor, Low Temperature, Mildew Resistant, Moisture Resistant, Paint & Primer in One, UV/Fade Resistant, Washable, Waterproof

                                                        Fast Drying, Low Odor, Low Temperature, Mildew Resistant, Moisture Resistant, Paint & Primer in One, UV/Fade Resistant, Washable, Waterproof

                                                        Fast Drying, Low Odor, Low Temperature, Mildew Resistant, Moisture Resistant, Paint & Primer in One, UV/Fade Resistant, Washable, Waterproof

                                                        Fast Drying, Low Odor, Low Temperature, Mildew Resistant, Moisture Resistant, Paint & Primer in One, UV/Fade Resistant, Washable, Waterproof

                                                        Stain & Sealer In One

                                                        Yes

                                                        Yes

                                                        Yes

                                                        Yes

                                                        Base Material

                                                        Water Based

                                                        Water Based

                                                        Water Based

                                                        Water Based