#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for Olympic Elite 1 Gal. Kona Brown Woodland Oil Transparent Advanced Exterior Stain and Sealant in One

Internet #305230197

Model #80104-01

Store SKU #1003334860

  • Advanced, premium stain + sealer with rich color clarity
  • 4 season protection for cedar, redwood and pressure treated wood
  • Ideal for deck, fence & other exterior wood projects

Customer Reviews

  • 4.4
    out of 1,088 reviews
  • 81% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 1,088 reviews
Olympic Elite Kona Stain 1 gal
Kona is a very nice stain color. 1 gallon covered one side of my 34’11” fence, and then both sides of my 7’6” gate. I made sure to use it generously…I even got it all over the place! Yes I was a lil sloppy. BUT, 1 gallon covered my project! Very happy! I’ve used this stain before (over a year ago) and it’s still looking good!
by
    • Recommended
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    Kona Brown!
    Omg!! We were on the verge of getting a new fence but decided to try staining just to see if it would made a difference and wow.
    by
      • Recommended
      Great product, not color
      I gave 3 stars because to me it's not a transparent?? natural color. It's a yellow brown. Wish I went with clear instead. Otherwise bring a sealer and stain in 1 is great.
      by
        • Recommended
        1 found this review helpful
        So upset- will have to strip fence, color is DARK
        I sampled this on the same lot of wood as my fence. Perfect tone. I mixed 4 gallons of Mahogany in a 5 gallon bucket, including the gallon I sampled. It was different tones on different sections of the fence. The fence was prepped the same way, newer pressure treated pine. I mixed it well and stirred throughout the application. It's deep brown. Maybe the dark sludge on the bottom caused this or it was old, but now I'm out of hundreds of dollars and will have to completely remove it.
        by
        Response from Olympic TeamJul 14, 2023
        Hi, we're sorry to hear the stain didn't cover as expected. We are here to further discuss, so please call us at 1-800-441-9695 between 8am-5pm ET" OlympicPaint
          I have ordered a total of 24 gallons over the last couple months. I order 4 gallons at a time. I have 3 different colors on my fence. I am having to put multiple coats on some sections of my fence to get the color of 1 coat of a different batch. This has cost me more money and time. I am not pleased at all with the consistency of this product. I have used the same application, a roller, on all of the sections.
          by
          Response from Olympic TeamJul 31, 2023
          Hello, we’re sorry to hear that you’ve had a negative experience. We would very much like to speak with you about your project so that we can understand more about the problem you're experiencing. Please contact one of our technical specialists at techservicerequests@ppg.com or 1-800-441-9695 between 8am-5pm ET. OlympicPaint
          • Verified Purchase
          1 found this review helpful
          BEAUTIFUL Kona Brown!
          Kona Brown Elite Stain is a beautifully rich color. My fence is 2 years old and needed some TLC. I didn’t prep the fence at all. Maybe I should have??? But I didn’t! I just popped open the can and went to work. I’m very happy!!!
          by
            • Recommended
            Easy to use and looks great on the deck!
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            Gorgeous color!
            I researched a bunch of stains trying to find the perfect color. I decided on Kona Brown and I’m so happy I did. The color is absolutely gorgeous! Just look at the transformation! It brought this old and weathered grey deck back to life and it looks beautiful against light gray siding!
            by
              • Recommended
              Best stain for your deck!
              I have a deck around my pool for over 35 years. I've tried all different waterproofing and stains. The past 5 years I started using Olympic Elite. It is simply the best. I do it on all my decks. Love it!
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              • Recommended
              3 found this review helpful
              Sierra color on cedar shed
              Last year built a cedar shed from a kit. Had the weather been better I would have stained it before assembling it, but it was too wet. Over the year some trim pieces came loose and got stashed inside, so they faded less than others. I chose not to bleach clean any of it. I used a different product for the lighter trim. The rough cedar really soaked it up and ended up darker than in pictures but I expected that. The doors I did flat, the structure standing. It went on easily.
              by
                • Recommended
                2 found this review helpful
                Stained a new fence beautifully
                I tried for months to find the perfect color stain to compliment our new fence. The brick front house, and the clay that would likely stain the bottom over time and I'm so glad I did. We opted to do this ourselves which midway through we vowed to never do again. It took 2 people 3 days to stain a 300 linear foot fence. The color turned out beautiful but what I will say is their recommendations on the amount of product you would need were off. We ended up using 20 gallons. Hoping it holds up!
                by
                  • Recommended
                  Beware of color
                  Nice color; but was not as pictured on can. Was much darker, but after a few day in sunlight, color soaked in and lightened up.
                  by
                  • Verified Purchase
                  1 found this review helpful
                  Great Stain for Cedar Shutters
                  The stain worked great to stain 3 sets of cedar shutters to install on my house. The color wasn't too light or dark after one coat with a staining rag. I have a new 4 lite Mahogany front door on the way that will be stained to match.I would highly recommend.
                  by
                    • Recommended
                    10 Yr. Deck Remodel
                    10 Yr. Old Deck Remodel came out awesome. Took a little time, but good prep was well worth it,
                    by
                    • Verified Purchase
                    • Recommended
                    This stain covered a thirsty deck in one coat
                    Olympic has outdone themselves, this rehabilitated my deck in one count. Easy to put down, cured evenly, no complaints.
                    by
                    • Verified Purchase
                    • Recommended
                    Goes on Easy, Dries Fast, Looks beautiful
                    Used another brand for many years - 1st year trying this Olympic Elite Woodland Oil; will never go back. The Oil in the name thru me as I didn't want an oil stain; but this one cleaned up easily in soap & water. Love the Transparency & Color & how it beads up nicely in the rain - providing a great protectant for the wood. My deck - thru the years had many different colors - even down to the bare wood from snow throwing; this covered the bare spots and brought uniformity overall.
                    by
                      • Recommended
                      Beautiful color and coverage and it truly seals the wood...
                      Beautiful color and coverage and it truly seals the wood as you can see in the picture.
                      by
                      • Verified Purchase
                      Great color and long lasting
                      We used this for our deck ~5 years ago and it has lasted longer than others that we used in the past so we stained our pavillion also... love the color!
                      by
                        • Recommended
                        Olympic Elite, Great stain
                        Easy to used, great coverage
                        by
                        • Verified Purchase
                        • Recommended
                        NOT brown!!!
                        I was very disappointed in the color. it did not come out brown at all. my deck looks like your classic picnic bench red. doesnt kona mean coffee??
                        by
                        Response from Olympic TeamSep 3, 2021
                        Hi there, we're sorry to hear that the color of the stain wasn't as expected. We would very much like to speak to you about this issue and provide further solutions, please give us a call at 1-800-426-6306 between 8am-5pm ET. OlympicPaint
                          1 found this review helpful
                          It was awesome for redoing my deck!...
                          It was awesome for redoing my deck!
                          by
                            dont do what it says
                            I applied two coats on my bamboo fence as instructed said resiste against mildew mold an alagae well witin a week there is black mold on top of the posts
                            by
                            Response from Olympic TeamJul 7, 2021
                            Hi there, please give us a call at 1-800-426-6306 between 8am-5pm ET so we can learn more about your project and further assist you. OlympicPaint
                              • Recommended
                              Bright orange
                              On pressure treated pine, it’s a glaring bright orange nothing like what was advertised. Glad I used a test piece first and have only wasted the cost of the product. May be a good product, but looks nothing like expected.
                              by
                              Response from Olympic TeamJul 1, 2021
                              Thanks for reaching out to Olympic! We're sorry to hear that the color of the stain wasn't as expected. We are here to further discuss and provide solutions, so please give us a call at 1-800-426-6306 between 8am-5pm ET. OlympicPaint
                                Orange not brown porch
                                We have yellow pine porch railing and thought Kona would be a nice color to match our house. Extremely disappointed in the actually color. This is not brown at all and now we have to stain our railings all over again. Why call it brown if it’s orange?? Labeling and color brochure is misleading. And doesn’t “turn brown “ when it dries.
                                by
                                Response from Olympic TeamMay 27, 2021
                                Hi there, we're sorry to hear that the color of the stain wasn't as expected. Depending on the type of wood, something the color looks different in the brochure. We are here to further discuss and provide solutions, so please give us a call at 1-800-426-6306 between 8am-5pm ET. OlympicPaint
                                  Kona Brown is an excellent product
                                  I bought the Kona brown. I put this on my pergola. Love the color. I put this on pressure treated pine. One coat covered it. I had about 3 days of nice warm sunshine for it to cure then a week of storms. This stain is doing great. The water just beads off. Its a better product than i expected. Would definitly recommend and i am purchasing more to finish off the bar im building.
                                  by
                                    • Recommended
                                    Easy to apply, quick drying, true color of the stain to the label
                                    Easy to apply, quick drying, true color of the stain to the label
                                    by
                                    • Verified Purchase
                                    • Recommended
                                    When compared to similar products, this item is a little more forgiving in terms of environmental...
                                    When compared to similar products, this item is a little more forgiving in terms of environmental considerations during application and during the curing process, which was a big draw for me. Application was easy - just be sure to closely follow the instructions on the can. The finished appearance will largely depend on attention to surface preparation/condition and what material you are staining, however I can say that it is generally much more red than advertised. Performance thus far has been as expected and I am not unhappy or disappointed in the level of protection it will afford my deck. Time will tell if it will deliver on the guaranteed 4 full season lifecycle. Decking & posts in the included photos are pressure treated pine and the sidewalls are rough cedar. 5 year old deck which I pressure washed and sanded before application. Applied the stain with a brush.
                                    by
                                    • Verified Purchase
                                    • Recommended
                                    1 found this review helpful
                                    Color inaccurate
                                    This is a COMPLETELY different color than what any of the pictures show. Very disappointed.
                                    by
                                    Response from Olympic TeamJan 13, 2021
                                    Hi there, we're sorry to hear that the color of the stain wasn't as expected. We are here to further discuss and provide solutions, so please give us a call at 1-800-426-6306 between 8am-5pm ET. OlympicPaint
                                      Not the Color displayed :(
                                      I was looking for a light color for my wood fence...looked around and went by the color displayed on the pictures...to my surprise...the color is darker than expected...i only used it in a pole to test...and spent $45. + for the gallon at Home Depot...not happy...
                                      by
                                      Response from Olympic TeamDec 1, 2020
                                      Hi there, we're sorry to hear that the color of the stain wasn't as expected. We are here to further discuss and provide solutions, so please give us a call at 1-800-426-6306 between 8am-5pm ET. OlympicPaint
                                        Showing 1-30 of 1,088 reviews

                                        Compare Similar Items

                                        current item

                                        Container Size

                                        1 Gallon

                                        1 Gallon

                                        1 Gallon

                                        5 Gallon

                                        Transparency

                                        Transparent

                                        Transparent

                                        Transparent

                                        Clear

                                        Paint/Stain Features

                                        Algae Resistant, Mildew Resistant, Moisture Resistant, Mold Resistant, One Coat Coverage, UV/Fade Resistant, Uniform Spray Sheen, Washable, Waterproof

                                        Low Temperature, Mildew Resistant, Moisture Resistant, UV/Fade Resistant, Waterproof

                                        Algae Resistant, Low Odor, Mildew Resistant, Mold Resistant, UV/Fade Resistant, Uniform Spray Sheen, Washable, Waterproof

                                        Dries Clear, Mildew Resistant, UV/Fade Resistant, Waterproof

                                        Stain & Sealer In One

                                        Yes

                                        Yes

                                        Yes

                                        Yes

                                        Base Material

                                        Oil Based

                                        Water Based

                                        Water Based

                                        Water Based