#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for Olympic Elite 1 Gal. Kona Brown Woodland Oil Transparent Advanced Exterior Stain and Sealant in One

Internet #305230197

Model #80104-01

Store SKU #1003334860

  • Advanced, premium stain + sealer with rich color clarity
  • 4 season protection for cedar, redwood and pressure treated wood
  • Ideal for deck, fence & other exterior wood projects

Customer Reviews

  • 4.4
    out of 1,080 reviews
  • 81% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 1,080 reviews
Too dark, too little coverage
This was just ok. It turned out MUCH darker than I expected. Perhaps it would be lighter on treated decking wood, but my cedar fence absorbed a lot of stain. I don't care for dark colors, so I think it looks a bit depressing. The project required twice the amount estimated by the label on the bucket, which was more expensive than I'd initially expected as well. Finally, I cannot see how you could apply this to a fence without a spray gun. I tried hand painting a couple panels and it was very splotchy. The one good thing I can say is that it cleaned up pretty easily with goof off (though that's also related to it being water based, so it may turn out to negatively affect the longevity).
by
Response from Olympic TeamSep 4, 2020
Hi Christie, we're sorry to hear that the color of the stain wasn't as expected. We are here to further discuss and provide solutions, so please give us a call at 1-800-426-6306 between 8am-5pm ET. OlympicPaint
    High Quality Oil
    I used a mix of Natural and Mt Cedar to make just the right color. I used this mix on cedar siding and a cedar deck. The oil is easy to apply even. Two coats are needed for best coverage. The color is great and has lasted. Water on the deck beads up. I highly recommend this oil (High VOC version).
    by
      • Recommended
      1 found this review helpful
      The color is not as advertised
      I picked this because I wanted a light color to avoid a hot deck The actual color is a reddish brown even on planks put down a couple of months ago Im done with Home Depot and their crappy quality control
      by
      Response from Olympic TeamAug 19, 2020
      We're sorry to hear this. Please give us a call at 1-800-426-6306 between 8am-5pm ET so we can discuss potential solutions and help make this right. OlympicPaint
        • Recommended
        This stain turned out much darker than the brochure suggested, and even than it had looked on a t...
        This stain turned out much darker than the brochure suggested, and even than it had looked on a test piece of wood. It also soaked into the wood unevenly, leaving a splotchy appearance behind. I realize some of that is the nature of the rough cedar to which I was applying it, but I have to wonder if it would’ve gone on better if it were truly oil based rather than water. I will say it cleaned up well.
        by
        Response from Olympic TeamAug 19, 2020
        We're sorry to hear this. Please give us a call at 1-800-426-6306 between 8am-5pm ET so we can discuss potential solutions and help make this right. OlympicPaint
        • Verified Purchase
        This Olympic stain and sealermsealer my old deck boards look great!
        This Olympic stain and sealermsealer my old deck boards look great!
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        • Recommended
        It was not the color I saw on chart
        It was not the color I saw on chart
        by
        Response from Olympic TeamJul 13, 2020
        We are sorry to hear this. Please give us a call at 1-800-426-6306 between 8am-5pm ET so we can help make this right. Thank you for your feedback. OlympicPaint
        • Verified Purchase
        Darker than what’s in the pic, but we like it....
        Darker than what’s in the pic, but we like it. If you’re not familiar with this kind of product, expect to “flick” it everywhere with every stroke of your brush. My husband rubbed me down with mineral spirits when we were done...lol. Jk. On the 2nd deck, we put large pieces of cardboard next to the house and around the cement, not as much clean up then, & worked good.
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        way different color
        way darker and red. looks like mahogany. after the first (very light) application, could tell this was a very dark stain. after putting on the second coat it was nowhere near the color on the sample. we wanted a light color for our brand new deck that wouldnt get as hot in the summertime. this was not it
        by
        Response from Olympic TeamJul 6, 2020
        We are sorry to hear that you had a poor experience with our product. Please give us a call at 1-800-426-6306 between 8am-5pm ET so we can discuss potential solutions and help make this right. OlympicPaint
          Olympic elite gives great quality...
          Olympic elite gives great quality
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          This was the perfect color and easy application. Only wish...
          This was the perfect color and easy application. Only wish is created a thick barrier to prevent my dog’s nails from scratching up the deck right afterwards!
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          I used this product 18 years ago and just re-stained my fence with the same product I used last t...
          I used this product 18 years ago and just re-stained my fence with the same product I used last time. Looks like a professional job and the water really beads again on the wood when it gets wet . Very happy with the color and protection.
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          • Recommended
          Does not hold up to abuse
          I purchased this product for a new covered deck. The deck wood was allowed to dry for 2 years prior to application. The product did go on nice smooth although brush marks were hard to eliminate. When completed it looked really great the problem was anywhere it was exposed to the weather at all it completely wore off. Areas not exposed it held up nice. It finally started to look so terrible I re stained the deck with a different companied product. give it 2 stars because in areas where it's covered it did hold up.
          by
          Response from Olympic TeamJun 18, 2020
          We're sorry to hear this. Please give us a call at 1-800-426-6306 between 8am-5pm ET so we can discuss potential solutions and help make this right. OlympicPaint
            Used this to restain a swing set, great coverage but...
            Used this to restain a swing set, great coverage but the color was much darker than expected
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            Love this stain for my deck. It has oil...
            Love this stain for my deck. It has oil in it to protect the wood from moisture. It looks pretty dark the first day or two after applying, but by the third day it is perfect. Left side of image is before, Right side of image is after applying this stain.
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            Applies easy. Good color. Almost transparent but has some darkening with Woodland Oil. Last very ...
            Applies easy. Good color. Almost transparent but has some darkening with Woodland Oil. Last very good in the sun. Prior stain I used only lasted one year.
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            • Recommended
            1 found this review helpful
            Doesn't hold up to daily usage.
            I used this stain on my new deck in 2015. The deck was clean and allowed to dry 18 months before the application. I will say the stain went on nice and looked great after applied. The problem is it didn't hold up at all. Now I purchased the Elite because it was the best and supposed to be lifetime. Within 18 months it started to show definite wear. The product wore off wherever it was exposed to water and by 2018 there were few areas of the deck not showing a worn out surface. I reported this and customer service indicated they couldn't help me without my receipt which after 3 years I no longer had. So I re-applied a different product. For the cost, I do not recommend.
            by
            Response from Olympic TeamJun 1, 2020
            We are sorry to hear that you are disappointed in the durability. Please give us a call so we can help provide potential solutions at 1-800-426-6306 between 8am-5pm ET OlympicPaint
              Product works, but color definitely doesn’t match
              The product applies well and definitely seals the wood as evidenced by the beads of water on the table after a rain storm. Unfortunately the shade is definitely very far off from what was described and shown on the can as “Mountain Cedar”.
              by
                • Recommended
                1 found this review helpful
                Not quality
                I applied this thing to my deck five years ago it when I nice but did not hold up at all the areas where it’s exposed to horizontal areas floor the railings came off and look awful I have to redo the entire deck the The vertical areas such as the posts held up OK. I would not recommend us nor would I spend money on it again making a lot of needless work for me.
                by
                Response from Olympic TeamMay 15, 2020
                Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear about this. Transparent stains are typically not designed to hold up for 5 years. Please give us a call at 1-800-426-6306 between 8am-5pm ET so we can discuss possible solutions. OlympicPaint
                  Great coverage, rich finished look, durable.
                  Great coverage, rich finished look, durable.
                  by
                  • Verified Purchase
                  • Recommended
                  Love the color Love the stain!
                  We used Olympic Elite All in one stain in the Kona Brown color and are extremely pleased with the results. We are very happy with color finish and ease of staining. We applied the stain with a oil brush and then used a rag to smooth out the finish. One of our "stay home" project consisted of replacing the vinyl ceiling on our front porch with 1 x 6 x 8 white pine wood tongue and groove boards which we also bought from Home Depot. The naturals waves, knots and features of these boards were enhanced beautifully by this stain. The combination of the two left us amazed at how the overall project came out. BTW the Home Depot representative we worked with was very helpful and influential in making our decision. He recommended we also add M-1 JoMaps Products 1.5 oz. Advanced Mildewcide Paint Additive to the can to further help resist mildew. We live in Florida and the stain was used outdoors. Highly recommend this stain. Can't say enough!
                  by
                    • Recommended
                    2 found this review helpful
                    Great stain, long lasting. Use this brand for all of my staining projects.
                    Great stain, long lasting. Use this brand for all of my staining projects.
                    by
                    • Verified Purchase
                    • Recommended
                    2 found this review helpful
                    Make sure to mix often to get repeatable results. Really pleased with the outcome ....
                    Make sure to mix often to get repeatable results. Really pleased with the outcome ....
                    by
                    • Verified Purchase
                    • Recommended
                    great product, love the color
                    Product goes on great, looks like a red or orange, but when it dries it dries a nice brown.
                    by
                      • Recommended
                      3 found this review helpful
                      Really good just the color is distinct than the image.
                      Really good just the color is distinct than the image.
                      by
                      • Verified Purchase
                      • Recommended
                      This color was used for a deck to match the color of logs on our log home. Very, very nice match...
                      This color was used for a deck to match the color of logs on our log home. Very, very nice match. It's a reddish brown color, great match.
                      by
                      • Verified Purchase
                      • Recommended
                      Great look, needed 2 coats, omg runs are the worst
                      We spent 3 days staining the deck over the course of two weekends. We found that unless you are working with another person opposite you to ensure there are no runs. you will get... runs. Hah! On floorboards and other places, where the stain was _thoroughly_ brushed out before moving on (in case of drip), when we came back in to stain properly, there was no noticeable overlap. Failing to do so... and overlap marks! Also Hah! Sigh. The first coat was done by hand everywhere, including the entire floor of the deck. The second coat on the deck was done 2 planks at a time by the roller-person, while the brush person came back and brushed it out so no bubbles occurred. This led to an amazing cedar look in our opinion.
                      by
                        • Recommended
                        Three cans, two totally different colors.
                        Bought three cans to do the deck. We started with the stairs. Then the next day did the deck. As we got closer, we realized the deck was more red, the stairs more brown. Thought maybe it would dry closer to the same color. Nope. Checking the remnants of the first can, we did a color match side by side on a board (see pic). Not even close. Now I have brown stairs and reddish deck. With spindles, will take at least 6-8 hours to strip, sand and re-stain. I expect some color variation between cans, but nothing this extreme.
                        by
                        Response from OlympicPaintsStainsDec 27, 2019
                        Hi there, we're sorry to hear this. We are here to further discuss, so please call us at 1-800-426-6306 between 8am-5pm ET.
                          Went on easy and looks great....
                          Went on easy and looks great.
                          by
                          • Verified Purchase
                          I liked it
                          I liked it
                          by
                          • Verified Purchase
                          • Recommended
                          So far, all we've done is spread it on. Like to review again in a year. I could have done more sa...
                          So far, all we've done is spread it on. Like to review again in a year. I could have done more sanding before application to get a more even result. Glossy parts in the photos were about 2 hours old. Application was very easy with a pad and brush, Cleanup was quick with mineral spirits. Coverage was 260 sq. ft. with a little over a gallon. I notice from the few low reviews that reviewers have had trouble with peeling. The proper application of stain is to apply it evenly, let it soak into the surface and wipe the excess off evenly within a minute or two. There should be no wet pools of stain on the wood, after application. Pools will peel later. Our deck is on the north side of the house, now in the shade after about 9 AM. It is taking all of 48 hours to dry, as described on the can. One application is sufficient, but I might re-apply next spring to ehance the water protection. I recommend this product.
                          by
                          • Verified Purchase
                          Showing 1-30 of 1,080 reviews

                          Frequently Bought Together

                          +
                          +
                          Price:
                          $4998

                          Compare Similar Exterior Wood Stains

                          current product
                          Elite 1 Gal. Kona Brown Woodland Oil Transparent Advanced Exterior Stain and Sealant in One
                          Maximum 1 gal. Canyon Brown Exterior Stain and Sealant in One Low VOCTop RatedElite 1 gal. Natural Woodland Oil Transparent Stain and Sealant in One Low VOCTop RatedElite 1 Gal. Kona Brown Woodland Oil Transparent Stain and Sealant in One Low VOC
                          BrandOlympicOlympicOlympicOlympic
                          NameElite 1 Gal. Kona Brown Woodland Oil Transparent Advanced Exterior Stain and Sealant in OneMaximum 1 gal. Canyon Brown Exterior Stain and Sealant in One Low VOCElite 1 gal. Natural Woodland Oil Transparent Stain and Sealant in One Low VOCElite 1 Gal. Kona Brown Woodland Oil Transparent Stain and Sealant in One Low VOC
                          Price
                          $4998
                          $4398
                          /gallon
                          $4998
                          /gallon
                          $4998
                          /gallon
                          Ratings
                          (1077)
                          (2573)
                          (900)
                          (900)
                          TransparencyTransparentTransparentTransparentTransparent
                          Container Size1 Gallon1 Gallon1 Gallon1 Gallon
                          Paint/Stain FeaturesAlgae Resistant, Mildew Resistant, Moisture Resistant, Mold Resistant, One Coat Coverage, UV/Fade Resistant, Uniform Spray Sheen, Washable, WaterproofLow Temperature, Mildew Resistant, Moisture Resistant, UV/Fade Resistant, WaterproofAlgae Resistant, Low Odor, Mildew Resistant, Mold Resistant, UV/Fade Resistant, Uniform Spray Sheen, Washable, WaterproofAlgae Resistant, Low Odor, Mildew Resistant, Mold Resistant, UV/Fade Resistant, Uniform Spray Sheen, Washable, Waterproof
                          Stain & Sealer In OneYesYesYesYes
                          Base MaterialOil BasedWater BasedWater BasedWater Based
                          Surface LocationDeck, Fence, PatioDeckDeck, Fence, PatioDeck, Fence, Patio
                          Coverage Area (sq. ft.)350 sq ft350 sq ft350 sq ft350
                          View ProductView ProductView ProductView Product