#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for Olympic Elite 1 Gal. Kona Brown Woodland Oil Transparent Advanced Exterior Stain and Sealant in One

Internet #305230197

Model #80104-01

Store SKU #1003334860

  • Advanced, premium stain + sealer with rich color clarity
  • 4 season protection for cedar, redwood and pressure treated wood
  • Ideal for deck, fence & other exterior wood projects

Customer Reviews

  • 4.4
    out of 1,076 reviews
  • 81% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 1,076 reviews
260 linear feet of fence later.... This product is great and looks better! See for yourself... Ma...
260 linear feet of fence later.... This product is great and looks better! See for yourself... Make certain to prep your surface properly....
by
  • Verified Purchase
  • Recommended
Product was very easy to use and work out just fine with beautiful once it was put on the deck g...
Product was very easy to use and work out just fine with beautiful once it was put on the deck great product
by
  • Verified Purchase
  • Recommended
Looks amazing on my new deck. Color is exactly what I expected and it was a smooth process. 1 coa...
Looks amazing on my new deck. Color is exactly what I expected and it was a smooth process. 1 coat was perfectly sufficient as package claimed.
by
  • Verified Purchase
  • Recommended
Elite Olympic stain
We purchased the Elite Olympic Mountain Cedar we have a new deck and we reached the different compaines and their deck stain. We were pleased with the review for Elite Olympic. We selected Mountain Cedar stain based on the photo available. This stain color is completely different from the photo. The color is very, very dark, I am very unhappy and dissatified with the color on my deck. We have a large deck 10X10 lower and 16x16 upper deck; we only finished the lower deck and part of the rails for the upper deck. We purchsed 6 gallons of the stain, I am a very unhappy customer. The stain does working in protecting the rain from water, however that is the only thing I am satified with. We spent several thousand dollars for this new deck looking forward to a beautiful stain and time to enjoy our deck. Very unhappy I don’t want to seat on the deck, this color makes the deck look very small in size. Help
by
Response from Olympic TeamJul 8, 2019
Hi there, we're sorry to hear your experience with our product wasn't what you expected. We are here to further discuss and provide solutions, so please give us a call at 1-800-426-6306 between 8am-5pm ET. OlympicPaint
    • Recommended
    2 found this review helpful
    Kona Brown is horrible
    I bought Kona Brown and it came out looking red. This was on bare wood and I also tested it on 2 other pieces of wood.....same result. Not even close to the color that they claim it produces. Horrible product
    by
    Response from OlympicPaintsStainsJun 25, 2019
    Hi there, thank you for your feedback. If you have any questions or concerns, feel free to give us a call at 1-800-426-6306 between 8am-5pm ET.
      Our fence looks great. So happy we chose this guaranteed-for-life product. Highly recommend. H...
      Our fence looks great. So happy we chose this guaranteed-for-life product. Highly recommend. Have plenty of tarps ready & consider ordering a bit more than anticipated so your project doesn’t come to a halt while waiting for another delivery. Home Depot cheerfully accepts unopened cans.
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      • Recommended
      Great Product Easy Application
      I had finished building my deck 4 months ago and it sits in full sun all day. I followed the steps cleaning with Olympic Deck cleaner letting it dry 24 hours then applied 2 coats following the drying times on the label. It’s beautiful and rain beads up like a freshly waxed car. It’s been 2 months now and color has evenly settled in and matches the color I wanted exactly. It did take a few days to fully settle into the wood but oil based products take awhile.
      by
        • Recommended
        Does a very nice job in covering the wood and stains well for a really great color.
        Does a very nice job in covering the wood and stains well for a really great color.
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        • Recommended
        1 found this review helpful
        This stuff is just what the Doctor ordered! It went on easily and it was clear. But it brought ou...
        This stuff is just what the Doctor ordered! It went on easily and it was clear. But it brought out the natural wood color of my deck.
        by
          • Recommended
          Very disappointed in this product. Followed directions to the "T" when applying this stain as I ...
          Very disappointed in this product. Followed directions to the "T" when applying this stain as I rebuilt my cedar deck last year. Within 3 weeks, the stain was showing serious signs of wear. Contacted PPG, they have come out to look at it and agree that it should not be wearing like this. They seem to be hoping that I will just go away. To date, nothing has been resolved with PPG or Home Depot. Do not buy this product. You will be disappointed.
          by
          Response from PPG PaintsOct 26, 2018
          Hi there, we're sorry to hear the stain isn't holding up as expected. There could be numerous factors involved in the reason why, like prep and the condition of the deck. We'd like to help earn your trust back. Feel free to call us at 1-800-441-9695 between 8 am - 5 pm EST. ppgtimeless
            1 found this review helpful
            Great Product
            Very impressed with the ease of application, coverage and drying time. Transformed my outdoor dining set - looks brand new now after 10 years of use. Highly recommend
            by
              • Recommended
              1 found this review helpful
              When exploring my different stain options, a Home Depot employee recommended the PPG Timeless Nat...
              When exploring my different stain options, a Home Depot employee recommended the PPG Timeless Natural Transparent Stain. He said it was about $ 10 more per gallon but was a really good stain. I said I don't mind paying a little more as long as I am getting a quality product. He assured me that he had worked with stains before and this was their best. So I purchased a gallon to put it through the test as I needed to stain the wood deck railings. I love this stain. It goes on very easily and looks beautiful. Some of the wood that I stained looked like furniture when I was done. It contains just a small amount of color so is very close to being neutral but really looks beautiful. Our cottage is right on the water so the deck dries out quickly due to the salty environment so I'm anxious to see how it holds up. I used both a roller and brush to apply it. I tried a Mitt glove but because the wood was not entirely smooth, it would pull off pieces of the mitt and was too messy to stayed with the roller and brush. I have attached a before and after picture so you can see the results of the railings. The deck platform was stained with a different darker stain as I wanted a contrast. You will not be disappointed with this stain.
              by
              • DIY
              • Verified Purchase
              • Recommended
              3 found this review helpful
              Disappointing
              I bought the Woodland Oil in May of 2017. It took two cans, but I was okay with that because I bought the best quality stain available. Before applying this stain, I sanded down the entire deck. The wood on the deck is generally in good shape. It was easy to apply, but as others have said, it did not seem to look as uniform as I would have liked, even after multiple attempts to mix the product. The real issue came this spring (2018) when the stain started flaking off in certain spots on the deck. So, I would have to say this product is no better or worse than any average stain. I was hoping to not redo the deck this spring, but it looks like I will.
              by
              Response from Customer ServiceMay 1, 2018
              Hi Marco, Sorry to hear that your deck is flaking off. When you sanded down the deck, did you clean your deck and was your wooden surface weathered enough? We would like to hear more about your project so we can figure out why your stain is flaking, and find you the best solution. Please call us at 1-800-426-6306 between 8am-5pm EST.
                I used one gallon of PPG, instead of the Olympic brand, just to try it out, and loved it!!! I en...
                I used one gallon of PPG, instead of the Olympic brand, just to try it out, and loved it!!! I ended up buying 7 gallons total, to stain a 1000sq ft dock!! I applied it with a paint mitt glove, and long handled rollers. I love the Natural, and will buy 2 more gallons to finish the dock, and stain a birdhouse!!
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                • Recommended
                1 found this review helpful
                I used this on my shed which is covered with T1-11 panels and wood trim and it worked great. I'd ...
                I used this on my shed which is covered with T1-11 panels and wood trim and it worked great. I'd used Thompson's waterproofer about five years ago and I'd noticed some small surface cracks and a successful hole drilled by a carpenter bee. Note that this is messy stuff. It can be runny and collect in corners, and it splashes around if you brush it on too fast, but it soaks in well and looks really good, and I'm hoping that with the lifetime guarantee I won't have to do this again... or at least for a very long time. Also, clean up with warm soapy water was a breeze, for the bucket, the brushes and myself. It cleans up much easier than latex paint. My first picture shows the supplies that you'll need. Definitely the hat and rubber gloves. I'd use a natural bristle brush. I also worked with a couple of smaller Trylon brushes, but they did not hold the wood oil as well. The next picture shows the oil stain in the bucket that I was carrying. Notice that it is not really transparent. It did tint the wood, but we didn't mind. The last two pictures show shed before and after staining and I think that you'll agree that it looks excellent. I'd do it again.
                by
                • Recommended
                I used this natural transparent penetrating wood oil exterior stain on my front porch. As you can...
                I used this natural transparent penetrating wood oil exterior stain on my front porch. As you can see in the pictures the deck was turning a grayish color and was beginning to look dried out and tired. I really wanted to seal it with something to help prolong it's life. I had used a solid dark colored stain on a different deck and didn't want to use that because it made the surface area very hot to walk on with bare feet so I decided to try a more natural look. You can see in the after pictures what a difference only one coat made! The porch looks great and it came back to life!! I love this stain and now wish I had used it on our other deck! Not only does it look great but it was really easy to apply. I simply brushed it on with a paint brush. It dried very quickly and really looks great. A few days later it rained and the water that once soaked right into the porch is now sitting on top of this stain! Not sure how it is going to hold up over time but I love it so far!
                by
                • Recommended
                3 found this review helpful
                Kona Brown
                [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Used woodland oil Elite on my fence and gazebo. Love the deep rich color, was easy to clean up with soap and water, and had amazing coverage. The product really penetrated the wood to provide the protection that is needed.
                by
                  • Recommended
                  olympic elite woodland 0il...natural
                  [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I ABSOLUTLY will never use anything else on my decks and privacy fences. I had a bad experience in the begining on one deck with another brand, had to sand it all off after the first winter...I decided to try olympic elite woodland oil after that. yes it cost a little more than the other, but was worth twice what I paid for it from the results. im on 3 years with my decks and 2 with my 400 ft of privacy fence, they all still look as though id just done them..the coverage was good, and useing a pump sprayer even better..olympic made a believer outta me......Bob....
                  by
                    • Recommended
                    PPG NATURAL TRANSPARENT PENETRATING WOOD OIL
                    “PPG’s Natural Transparent Penetrating Wood Oil” is a product used for protecting and staining raw wood. I recently used this product to seal our outdoor deck which is a pressure treated (pine) lumber deck. We used the transparent natural variety to protect our wooden deck from water and to stain the deck while preserving the natural grain patterns in the wood. In addition to protecting the deck from water, the product also provides mildew resistance and UV (sun) damage protection. It should be noted that when treating pressure treated products, it is a good idea to allow a pressure treated wood product sufficient time to dry from the pressure treating process before applying any type of additional coating. Our deck was allowed to dry or “cure” for about six months prior to applying the PPG’s Natural Transparent Penetrating Wood Oil product. You can brush it on, wipe it on, spray or roll it on. Our deck is approximately 250 sq. ft. and I used approximately two gallons to cover the entire deck with very good coverage. I pressure washed the deck and allowed it to dry for 48 hours. I then simply mixed the product and used a paint roller with a long handle extension to apply the product. The application was very easy. The transparent penetrating wood oil appears to be light brown when mixing and applying, but dries to a durable transparent coating highlighting the woods natural grain (see pictures attached). The product is dry enough to walk on in about 2-3 hours. Personally I would recommend waiting a full 24 hours before allowing any heavy foot traffic or before replacing any furniture. In my opinion, this is a very good product and at a little over $40 per gallon, it is well worth the price to protect your costly investment from the elements. I would definitely use this product again and would recommend it highly.
                    by
                    • Recommended
                    1 found this review helpful
                    Mahogany Blaze
                    [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Color looks great; however I would recommend using a wood stir stick like you would use to stir paint in order to really mix up the stain. I only shook our cans and after getting down to less than 1/4 full, the stain became extremely dark due to residue or sediment at the bottom of the can. This caused the stain to appear darker on the fence. You'll see in the photo the darker section vs. the surrounding section. Note: The wood was cleaned prior to staining as suggested/recommended.
                    by
                      • Recommended
                      I really like this!
                      This is a "transparent" stain, meaning it will show the grain of the wood through it, however it will cover a lot of the wear and tear. Unfortunately, I did not take a picture of my deck from afar, so my first picture is kind of a close up of how weather beaten my deck was. I washed it with oxy-clean (DIY mixture) and a power washer then let it dry for 48 hours. I then applied this stain, not realizing that it was tinted slightly. It's got a very light tan color to it, while allowing the grain to show. I applied two coats (48 hours between coats). This made the color a bit richer without getting too dark. Both coats were easy to apply (I used an airless power sprayer) but I did back brush the second coat. I like how this came out.
                      by
                      • Recommended
                      2 found this review helpful
                      PPG Penetrating Wood Oil Stain
                      I decided on this natural transparent wood oil stain because of a previous failure of a solid latex stain. I've only got to test a small area of a very large deck using this stain because I'm still attempting to remove some of the previous latex stain. What I've found so far to my liking is the consistency of this PPG Wood Oil Stain. I applied using a pump up sprayer, and back rolled the heavy saturated areas with a roller attached to a extension pole (saves the back). I really like this stain does not set up (dry/cure out) like latex I used before. Keep in mind a 24 hour wait time is recommended before applying another coat. This stain will cover at depending on how porous the material is between 250-300 square feet. This stain also repeals water, which you can see the water beads up when the surface becomes wet after applying. Clean up shows it to be water/soap. I did use liquid laundry detergent along with warm water to run through the sprayer when I was done. I did attempt to spray water through the sprayer a couple days later, and it was fine with no blockage. Hopefully I will be able to update my review with a finished photo. However, since it's going to be an actual project to get the old stain removed, I do not see an update happening in the near future. This is a highly recommended product from my use thus far.
                      by
                      • Recommended
                      1 found this review helpful
                      oak
                      [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] As a glass and wood artist I always use this brand and have always been happy with the results. Well worth the money. Never a second choice. I will always use this brand
                      by
                        • Recommended
                        Aspargus
                        [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I paint for fun all the time and the only paint I use is Olympic. The coverage and Quality are great,Im very very happy to use your product.
                        by
                          • Recommended
                          Woodland Oil Natural
                          I used this on a new swing set. It was so easy to apply with a brush. One coat covered evenly. No brush marks. Was dry the next day. The treated surface feels smoother than it did prior to application.
                          by
                            • Recommended
                            Mountain Cedar, Avalanche White
                            [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Both colored stains were true to color, easily applied, and required only one coat. Please note that two coats are not recommended by the manufacturer. Stain was totally absorbed by the wood surface. I am very pleased with the final product by using Olympic stains. Painting a whole house is a huge time and cost project that you want to know you are using the right product.
                            by
                            Response from Online Customer ServiceAug 12, 2016
                            WOW! Your home looks great! Thank you for taking the time to share your Olympic experience with us! We're glad to hear you enjoyed using our stain for your project.
                              • Recommended
                              Mountain Cedar
                              I recently Purchased Mountain Cedar and the color is wrong. It is completely dark brown, almost black. Color is not even close. I am very disappointed.
                              by
                              Response from Online Customer ServiceNov 16, 2015
                              Hi Sean, We're sorry to hear that and we would like to help. Please call us at 1-800-426-6306 or email us at techservice@ppg.com. Our technical specialists will be able to assist in identifying the source of the problem you've experienced with our stain. We hope to speak to you soon. Sincerely, The Olympic Team
                                Kona Brown
                                Easy to apply, love the color. Hope that it is durable and lasts more than one season.
                                by
                                Response from Online Customer ServiceSep 14, 2015
                                Thank you for sharing your experience with us we love when customers share images of their projects with us!
                                  • Recommended
                                  Mahogany Blaze
                                  We just completed an "unconventional" project using Olympic Elite Woodland Oil . The stain worked so well that we decided to share some pictures! The project was a complete renovation of a late 19th Century horse drawn racing sulky, manufactured by the WS Frazier Co, Aurora Ill. Now we are proud to say that this sulky would be a show piece for any collector or small museum. The natural wood is now paint free and the Olympic Elite Woodland Oil Stain highlights the natural wood grain. We believe that the high quality oil finish will last another Century if kept indoors! The wood on the sulky is primarily oak and ash. Over 200 hours went into the removal of all paint and the wood was sanded to 320 grit. This sulky is impeccably restored right down to the buggy whip!
                                  by
                                    • Recommended
                                    First time user
                                    We bought the Mountain Cedar.stain and sealer .I pressured washed all the fence and let dry a few days. Put on with pump sprayer and it looks great. Very happy with color and coverage .
                                    by
                                    Response from Online Customer ServiceSep 8, 2015
                                    Wow! You did a great job using OLYMPIC®  for your fence! Thank you for choosing OLYMPIC® for your home Tobi!
                                      • Recommended
                                      Showing 1-30 of 1,076 reviews

                                      Frequently Bought Together

                                      +
                                      +
                                      Price:
                                      $4998

                                      Compare Similar Exterior Wood Stains

                                      current product
                                      Elite 1 Gal. Kona Brown Woodland Oil Transparent Advanced Exterior Stain and Sealant in One
                                      Maximum 1 gal. Cedar Natural Tone Semi-Transparent Exterior Stain and Sealant in One Low VOCElite 1 Gal. Natural Woodland Oil Transparent Advanced Exterior Stain and Sealant in OneElite 1 Gal. Mountain Cedar Woodland Oil Transparent Advanced Exterior Stain and Sealant in One
                                      BrandOlympicOlympicOlympicOlympic
                                      NameElite 1 Gal. Kona Brown Woodland Oil Transparent Advanced Exterior Stain and Sealant in OneMaximum 1 gal. Cedar Natural Tone Semi-Transparent Exterior Stain and Sealant in One Low VOCElite 1 Gal. Natural Woodland Oil Transparent Advanced Exterior Stain and Sealant in OneElite 1 Gal. Mountain Cedar Woodland Oil Transparent Advanced Exterior Stain and Sealant in One
                                      Price
                                      $4998
                                      $4498
                                      /gallon
                                      $4998
                                      $4998
                                      Ratings
                                      (1076)
                                      (970)
                                      (1076)
                                      (1076)
                                      Container Size1 Gallon1 Gallon1 Gallon1 Gallon
                                      TransparencyTransparentSemi-TransparentTransparentTransparent
                                      Paint/Stain FeaturesAlgae Resistant, Mildew Resistant, Moisture Resistant, Mold Resistant, One Coat Coverage, UV/Fade Resistant, Uniform Spray Sheen, Washable, WaterproofLow Odor, Low Temperature, Mildew Resistant, Moisture Resistant, One Coat Coverage, UV/Fade Resistant, Washable, WaterproofAlgae Resistant, Mildew Resistant, Moisture Resistant, Mold Resistant, One Coat Coverage, UV/Fade Resistant, Uniform Spray Sheen, Washable, WaterproofAlgae Resistant, Mildew Resistant, Moisture Resistant, Mold Resistant, One Coat Coverage, UV/Fade Resistant, Uniform Spray Sheen, Washable, Waterproof
                                      Stain & Sealer In OneYesYesYesYes
                                      Base MaterialOil BasedWater BasedOil BasedOil Based
                                      Surface LocationDeck, Fence, PatioDeck, PatioDeck, Fence, PatioDeck, Fence, Patio
                                      Coverage Area (sq. ft.)350 sq ft350 sq ft350 sq ft350 sq ft
                                      View ProductView ProductView ProductView Product