#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for Pleasant Hearth Bradford 34 in. x 19.69 in. Square Steel Wood Fire Pit in Slate

Internet #203139453

Model #OFW104SC

  • Mosaic surround adds an elegant style
  • Includes a cooking grid for grilling
  • A steel lid allows you to use it as a decorative table

Customer Reviews

  • 3.6
    out of 182 reviews
  • 73% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 182 reviews
Enjoyable evenings!!
We enjoy many evenings in front of our fire pit! It’s easy to use and maintain!!
by
  • Verified Purchase
  • Recommended
Worth the price
Works amazing to keep you warm outside and keep the bugs away. Easy to clean and does not take up too much space.
by
  • Verified Purchase
  • Recommended
Not suitable for Canadian Winters. Falls apart
I purchased this item last fall. It came with a few tiles falling off which made assembly difficult as they ask you to turn upside down. However it is not suited for canadian winters at all as the mortar disintegrated and all the tiles fell loose. Some of the tiles also disintegrated. Further it is leaving rust stains on my patio. Needs to be completely re-designed.
by
Response from GHP Group Inc. SupportJun 17, 2020
Please contact our Customer Service Team for assistance with this unit at 1-847-324-5900 or email at http://www.ghpgroupinc.com/CTUS.html -GHP Group Customer Support ghpgroupinc
    FALLS APART
    I got this fire pit back in November, used it only twice, now /February/ all the tiles are falling apart.
    by
    Response from GHP Group Inc. SupportFeb 25, 2020
    We are sorry to see you had issues with this unit. Please contact our Customer Service Team for support at 877-447-4768 or email at http://www.ghpgroupinc.com/CTUS.html -GHP Group Customer Support ghpgroupinc
      The fire pit was broken in several places and the tile around the pit was severely damaged. I ca...
      The fire pit was broken in several places and the tile around the pit was severely damaged. I called the manufacturer to see if the could send me new parts and that was a waste of time.
      by
      Response from GHP Group Inc. SupportMar 14, 2019
      I'm sorry to hear your fire pit was damaged and our customer support team didn't help you to your satisfaction. If there's something we can do, please give us another try at (847) 324-5900. ghpgroupinc
      • DIY
      ordered twice - both came broken
      I first thought the packing was poor as two of these came with all tiles and grout broken, but then realized the grout used is so poor that is not glueing thos litle tiles properly. Soon it will break from heat and sun as it is poorly manufactured. Spyrofoam packing is too thin and it will dent the metal or break the tiles before it make it to your house
      by
      Response from GHP Group Inc. SupportNov 14, 2018
      Hello FEVD, we're terribly sorry to hear you received damaged components to this fire pit. Although quality control is tight, shipping can be rough and as the manufacturer we are happy to rectify the issue. We are more than happy to stand behind the quality and performance of our fire pits. Just reach out by phone at 877-447-4768 or email here: http://www.ghpgroupinc.com/CTUS.html - GHP Group Customer Support ghpgroupinc
        • Recommended
        It was easy to assemble and is beautiful with all the different tiles. Just what we needed for o...
        It was easy to assemble and is beautiful with all the different tiles. Just what we needed for our lanai. Can't wait for the colder weather to use the fire pit.
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        • Recommended
        1 found this review helpful
        First fire pit - LOVE IT! I've had this for 2 weeks, have used it about 5 times so far and it's g...
        First fire pit - LOVE IT! I've had this for 2 weeks, have used it about 5 times so far and it's great. It looks great on my patio and we've received tons of compliments from friends and family. It was delivered within a week, pieces were in perfect condition (no loose tiles, missing bolts, etc.) and I put it together in about 30 minutes using the wrench that was provided. Love this fire pit!
        by
          • Recommended
          Tiles loose again. This is the second one. The grout...
          Tiles loose again. This is the second one. The grout broke and there is tiles out of place. Very disappointed! We have to try to fix it ourselves dupe to the fact we don't have time to keep sending back and reordering. We already had to pay 20.00 more for return and reorder,because there was a price
          by
          Response from GHP Group Inc. SupportMay 17, 2017
          Hello CB, we are sorry to hear that you experienced trouble with this fire pit. We are more than happy to back the one-year manufacturer's warranty for cases such as these and there is no charge! Just reach out here: http://www.ghpgroupinc.com/CTUS.html
          -GHP Group Customer Support ghpgroupinc
          • Verified Purchase
          Loved it Then and Love It Now
          I bought this fire pit 2 years ago. I am very proud to say that I was able to assemble this fire pit myself with the wrench that was included. I have enjoyed relaxing around the fire on cool summer rights and crisp autumn evenings over the past. 2 years. It has been rained on, snowed on and used extensively. I have received many compliments from guests who have enjoyed sitting around the fire out on my patio. This fire pit has withstood the test of time fairly well with the exception of 2 small rust holes in the metal insert. I cannot find a replacement insert anywhere on the Home Depot or Hampton Bay websites. This fire pit still looks like new (see photo) and works fine. I have brainstormed every way I. can think of to fix the holes. This fire pit has cost me $85/year so far and to me that is a worthwhile investment.
          by
          • DIY
          • Recommended
          9 found this review helpful
          Not Bad.
          I've seen reviews on this and have to agree with most. It's not a super quality fire pit but for the price it's a great value. Assembly was very easy and it even comes with a wrench. Like others, a couple of tiles came loose but were glued back in place after assembly in about 30 seconds and some glue. I like the table cover option but was hoping for a vinyl cover as well but it doesn't come with one. Ive seen some for $20 so again nothing major. If I get a few years out of it before it rusts out I will be more than satisfied.
          by
          Response from GHP Group Inc. SupportMay 26, 2015
          Hey there,

          We can definitely replace any damaged parts on your unit. Please give us a call at 877-447-4768 and have your model # & serial # ready. Thank you.

          - GHP Group Customer Service Team ghpgroupinc
            • Recommended
            7 found this review helpful
            LOVE it!!
            Very easy to assemble...beautiful and am very happy with it. My chickens love it too!
            by
            • DIY
            • Verified Purchase
            • Recommended
            5 found this review helpful
            Great for the price, better with gas
            This is a great firepit I found in Huntington Beach. There's a couple things that could be better. The tiles are glued in, so no uniform, they are uneven, and usually a crack or two. Also the legs are very thin metal, really need to be careful not to knock over and spill your firey ambers. I may try to make the legs more sturdy. I converted my firepit to LP gas and added fire glass. Love that it comes with a lid, fully functional table during the day and lift the lid and light, no smoke.. My family really enjoys it.
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            • Recommended
            15 found this review helpful
            NIce, attractive and versatile
            This pit is light weight and can be moved easily around my patio beside being attractive and functional (you can grill on it too). Be careful not to lift or pull it from the mesh panels as they can bend easily.
            by
              • Recommended
              12 found this review helpful
              Overall, not bad-not great.
              I am someone that relies heavily on information in customer reviews so I will do my best to fully explain why I have graded this fire pit as I did. First of all, none of the lower price point fire pits I checked out looked like they were very heavy duty well made. They are what they are- pieces of thin formed metal to hold a fire. So expectations were rather low until I came upon this one on sale. Note: Anytime an item is on sale almost 1/3 less, mentally it feels like you're getting a steal. In reality sometimes it just means it wasn't selling at the original price point so they cut the price to sell. I think this is the latter of the two. This one is probably in line with other fire pits at the $100 ballpark level I've seen in stores. The tiles do add a nice touch in comparison to the standard black round metal fire pits, though undoubtedly there were a few cosmetic cracks in the grout. The packaging arrived without issue (I have read numerous complaints about damage to fire pits during shipping-tiles chipping out and metal being bent etc.). Upon assembly (no problems with assembly) I was rather surprised, as the specs online state assembled height to be 18.75 inches. I thought it would be a bargain considering standard seat height is 18" and it comes with a metal lid to convert into a table when not in use. I had not taken into account that was including the mesh dome lid placed on top. The base height of the pit itself is really only about 10-11 inches tall, which to me looks rather unsubstantial considering all the slate tile and lattice siding. It really wouldn't have cost much for them to make the legs a few inches taller. My girlfriend doesn't mind the height, and at night when you can only see the fire, I guess I can agree when sitting and looking down into the fire- it's just during the day it looks kind of puny to me like you chopped its legs out from under it. My biggest complaint is that upon completion of assembly, I found that the main metal insert that holds the wood was almost a 1/2" too small and did not securely fit the opening of the frame. If you push it the wrong way it can wobble and tilt right through to the ground which is obviously NOT what you want to have happen with a fire. Faced with the decision to tear down, repackage and haul a 74 lb. beast back to Home Depot, for which I didn't even have truck to do, we decided to keep it and attempt ways to get around the issue. As of two fires now, it has not fallen through. Only time will tell as to durability and whether the grouted tiles will hold up to conditions, but it looks nicer than the plain black metal pits. At it's listed $169 price tag I would have definitely found a way to return it. With it being on sale and seeing the competition at that price, we're ok with it. Also, this is great for little ambient fires, just don't expect to build much with logs AND keep the mesh lid on- it is rather shallow overall in comparison to other pit styles designed to have a mini bonfire and produce heat. This is more for looks than substance-which is not necessarily a bad thing, just depends on what purpose you want it for. Overall, not bad-not great.
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              99 found this review helpful
              Poor quality.
              The table top is extremely heavy and I have trouble moving myself. The legs and wire grates connecting the legs are extremely flimsy and light. It's not a good combination and has caused some issues even though I just bought it.
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              Portable fire-pit
              Awesome, so happy with this. Looks nice, easy to move around. The ledge is great to put your feet up!
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              useful and good looking
              My order shipped and arrived very promptly. The lid arrived somewhat bent and missing a little paint on the corners (fixable with pliers and black paint). The table top is sturdy. The legs seemed weak; but once screwed in place, the whole thing is solid. The table top is solid and attractive. The fire pit is large enough for a fire that warms us. Having both a lid and a screen is good; one keeps most of the rain out, and the other keep embers in. All in all, after about 2 months, we very much enjoy the look and usefulness of this fire pit.
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              • Recommended
              Not recommended
              Unhappy to say our second fire pit from this company is not up to the quality of the first. Cheaper materials. Started rusting right away. Multiple design flaws. We do not recommend.
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              poor quality
              I bought this outdoor firepit exactly one year ago. It was used one single time and it stayed in my backyard waiting for the next cold weather to be used. It is all damaged, the finishes are coming out and it is all rusty. I don't believe I have to put it inside when it is not being used and if a cover was indispensable to keep in good condition, then it should have a warning on the manual.
              by
              Response from Digital CommunicationsSep 23, 2020
              We are sorry to see you had issues with this pit. We advise a cover and to keep it stored when not in use. Please contact our Customer Service Team if there is anything we can do at 1-847-324-5900 or email at http://www.ghpgroupinc.com/CTUS.html -GHP Group Customer Support
                Rust
                It started to rust after only a month, and its to big to return.
                by
                Response from GHP Group Inc. SupportAug 3, 2020
                We're sorry to hear you are dissatisfied with this product. If there is anything we can assist you with just reach out by phone at 1-847-324-5900 or email on our website. -GHP Group Customer Support ghpgroupinc
                • Verified Purchase
                Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
                Rating provided by a verified purchaser
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                It's a beautiful fire place that also serves as a...
                It's a beautiful fire place that also serves as a table.
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                Cool if you like Rust
                It looks really nice but I docked a couple stars because the metal pieces will rust right the eff up if you don't keep it out of the rain.
                by
                Response from GHP Group Inc. SupportSep 23, 2019
                We are sorry to see you were not completely satisfied with this fire pit. If you would like some maintenance procedures or need additional help, please contact Our Customer 877-447-4768 or email here: http://www.ghpgroupinc.com/CTUS.html -GHP Group Customer Support ghpgroupinc
                • Verified Purchase
                Good unit but rusting
                It is a great unit and is easy to setup and use but after 3 weeks it is starting to rust ? This is supposed to be an outdoor unit made for all weather types so should not rust so easily. Not sure what recourse or action there is to take for this bit of hassle to try and return such a large unit.
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                Amazing
                Easy to assemble, sturdy, has a cooking grate, love, love, love it
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                Great fire pit
                Easy to assemble. Works great as fire pit or charcoal bbq
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                • Recommended
                Nice product! Looks good as a table as well.
                Nice product! Looks good as a table as well.
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                • Recommended
                5 Star Review
                Rating provided by a verified purchaser
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                4 Star Review
                Rating provided by a verified purchaser
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                Showing 1-30 of 182 reviews

                Compare Similar Items

                current item

                Fire Pit Shape

                Square

                Square

                Square

                Features

                360 Fire View, Portable, Screen Included

                360 Fire View, Cover Included, Portable, Screen Included

                360 Fire View, Screen Included

                Outdoor Living Product Type

                Fire Pit

                Fire Pit

                Fire Pit