#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for Varathane 1 qt. Dark Walnut Classic Interior Wood Stain (2-Pack)

Internet #305518224

Model #339720

Store SKU #1003235429

  • Timeless color in a penetrating wood wiping stain
  • Classic wood finish - layer coats to achieve rich, natural color
  • Wood stain recoats in 2 hours and covers 150 sq. ft. per quart

Customer Reviews

  • 4.4
    out of 4,353 reviews
  • 79% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 4,353 reviews
Used this recently on a set of 4 TV stands I made for new TV's in the house. Works great and even better with the pre-stain.
by
  • Verified Purchase
Definitely not for indoor use!
The stain was somewhat darker than the label, but nothing I can can't live with. The real problem is the long-lasting and horrible smell. It took 2 weeks for the smell to become somewhat manageable. If your project requires indoor use, you've be warned.
by
Response from Rust-OleumSupportMar 15, 2024
This is not what we expect to hear! When applying Rust-Oleum Varathane Classic Wood Stain, it is essential that all excess stain is wiped away from the surface shortly after application. This will allow for the best color and ensure proper drying. This product also must be applied in a space with proper air circulation and ventilation as well. If needed, once the stain is fully dry, the surface can be wiped down with a clean rag, and some mild soap and water to remove any lingering odors on the surface.
- Rust-Oleum Product Support 3 Rustoleum
    The color is a beautiful brown.
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    Nice product work better than normal shellac
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    Easy to work with and beautiful color
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    Horrible DO NOT USE INDOORS
    Horrible ! Never dries. It been over 24 hours floors are still super tacky! The smell OMG! IS EVER LASTLY HAVE ALL MY WINDOWS OPEN AND IT STILL SMELLS! DO NOT USE THIS PRODUCT GUYS YOU WILL REGRET IT!
    by
    Response from Rust-OleumSupportNov 27, 2023
    Let's talk about this! To ensure proper drying with Rust-Oleum Varathane Classic Wood Stain, all excess stain must be wiped away from the surface shortly after application. Tacky product on the surface after a day tends to indicate that not all the excess stain was removed. To help remove the tacky product, we recommend wiping the surface down with clean rags and some mineral spirits.
    - Rust-Oleum Product Support 3 Rustoleum
      2 found this review helpful
      I appreciate the ease of use and product consistency. If I run out in the middle of a project I know I can get an additional can and it will blend in perfectly.
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      1 found this review helpful
      BEWARE: this is a HORRIBLE color
      This color isn’t even close to what it is shown in pictures. First warning; it’s very grey, and very streaky and horrible looking. We sanded down my client’s original hardwood floors, and applied 2 coats of this stain. The first coat was a tad grey, but not terrible, but the second coat was horrible. So streaky, so grey, and just very dirty looking. A horrible product, my clients floors could have been completely ruined and it added multiple days on to our project trying to salavage them.
      by
      Response from Rust-OleumSupportNov 13, 2023
      That is not what we like to hear! Our Varathane Classic Wood Stains are shown applied to Red Oak, and color may vary slightly depending on the wood species, number of coats, and how long the stain is allowed to penetrate the wood prior to the excess stain being removed. Please also note we do not recommend applying this floor surfaces as the high foot traffic can cause the finish to fade and peel over time.
      -Rust-Oleum Product Support 14 Rustoleum
        1 found this review helpful
        Nothing like it looks on the can
        Garbage brand. Home Depot Please find better than this
        by
        Response from Rust-OleumSupportNov 3, 2023
        That is not what we like to hear, Mike! There are several variables that can impact the color of wood stain, such as the wood species, number of coats, and how long the stain is allowed to penetrate before the excess stain is removed. We recommend testing on a small area or scrap piece prior to beginning your project, to ensure the desired color is achieved. Please give us a call at 800-901-0411, we will be happy to help. - Rust-Oleum Product Support 2 Rustoleum
          1 found this review helpful
          Color not accurate AT ALL
          The color weathered oak advertised on the can is not even close to what comes out. It is literally the greyest grey I’ve ever seen. I did a test run on the bottom side of my accent table and immediately with the slightest amount of stain I could already tell the color was way off. Very disappointed.
          by
          Response from Rust-OleumSupportOct 30, 2023
          This is never what we like to hear! Please note our Varathane Classic Wood Stains are shown applied to Red Oak, and color may vary slightly depending on the wood species, number of coats, and how long the stain is allowed to penetrate the wood prior to the excess stain being removed.
          -Rust-Oleum Product Support 14 Rustoleum
            1 found this review helpful
            Love
            Used this for our floors. Turned out better than expected.
            by
              • Recommended
              2 found this review helpful
              covers well looks nice
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              Perfect red color as I was custom mixing with a cherry stain.
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              1 found this review helpful
              I shook the product for a long time, thought this was enough. When I stained my product, but was then getting to the bottom. The thick, unmixed stain on the bottom started leaving a dark stain. Bad outcome. The product is fine, but know that shacking isn’t enough. Open it and stir it well.
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              I used this on a very weathered entry door. It made a dramatic difference in the appearance. Looks great now.
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              Excellent product. I usually use minwax
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              Classic Black Stain
              I used this on my patio table and it made it look brand new and it was so easy to do! I literally just finished painting it that’s why I don’t have a better after photo!
              by
                • Recommended
                I absolutely loved the color. Also, the product went to...
                I absolutely loved the color. Also, the product went to a long way and it kept everything nice and shiny with minimal need for sending.
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                1 found this review helpful
                Best stain out there on the markwt
                Excellent product. It made my bench come alive and gave it a wonderful seal, sheen and protection. I got so many compliments on it. It was easy to use and looks like a professional did it.
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                • Recommended
                Review for Varathane 1 gal. Early American Classic Wood Interior Stain Varathane 1 gal. Early A...
                This was the perfect product for my home remodel. I'm restaining all of my wood trim and the color match is perfect. It goes on very easy, looks great and easy clean up.
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                • Recommended
                1 found this review helpful
                My wife's shelf! FANTASTIC!
                Worked Great ! The only can they had left . It looked liked it had been dropped off a building but it was sealed and worked Great for my wife's project!
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                The color is very nicely on my project I have...
                The color is very nicely on my project I have done.
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                I loveeed it, used it to stain my build-ins ...
                I loveeed it, used it to stain my build-ins shelves
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                1 found this review helpful
                Does what it says on the can, not what it shows
                As soon as I opened the can, I knew the color on it wasn't going to be accurate. "Weathered oak" read pure gray, with not a hint of the reds or browns, and that's what ended up on the wood when I tested it on a piece of oak (after lightly sanding with 120 and 220 grit). Looks the same way on my stir stick. It actually does look "weathered", in the sense that my oak board now looks moldy, but that's not what I'm going for.
                by
                Response from Rust-OleumSupportMar 22, 2023
                Thank you for sharing your experience using our Varathane Classic Wood Stain, Mike. Keep in mind that there are several factors that can impact the color of wood stain, such as the species of wood, and how long the stain is allowed to penetrate the wood prior to wiping the excess stain. The longer the stain is allowed to remain on the wood prior to wiping, the darker the color will become. We recommend testing the stain on a scrap piece of wood, or a test spot prior to applying to ensure the desired color is achieved.
                - Rust-Oleum Product Support 6 Rustoleum
                  1 found this review helpful
                  Not even close to the finish they advertise
                  As others have stated the finish on sanded pine is not even close to the color they claim on the can, web and in-store display. Attached is the sanded scrap pine I tested this junk out on and as you can see both the Weathered Oak and Hazelwood stains come out grey, not brown. If they were true to color then it would have matched our flooring (also shown)... and per-conditioning only helps with eliminating blotching on soft woods, not bad color.
                  by
                  Response from Rust-OleumSupportMar 20, 2023
                  We need to gather more details to get to the bottom of this, Dave! Please give us a call at 800-901-0411 to talk with us further. When calling, please have your can of Rust-Oleum Classic Wood Stain nearby, so we can collect the batch information from it. Please keep in mind, the wood type and its condition will affect the final color of the stain. This is why we recommend applying in a test area first or on a scrap piece from the project
                  - Rust-Oleum Product Support 3 Rustoleum
                    2 found this review helpful
                    Highly recommend!!
                    Excellent product! Easy to use. We stained 1600 sq ft of white pine boards with a little over 1 gallon of stain. I read online I would need 7 gallons so I bought 8. Ended up returning 6 because I didn’t need them.
                    by
                    • Verified Purchase
                    • Recommended
                    6 found this review helpful
                    Good quality and even coverage
                    Consistent color and coverage. Ive been skeptical about moving away from Minwax products, but this seemed to work fine. I used it on a pine door i.built.
                    by
                    • Verified Purchase
                    • Recommended
                    Weathered Oak is definitely gray
                    Weathered oak looks nothing like what’s on the can. We stirred and applied evenly and it’s gray and streaky.
                    by
                    Response from Rust-OleumSupportFeb 14, 2023
                    We appreciate you reaching out and sharing your experience! Since the wood species used for the application will affect the final color, it is essential that Rust-Oleum Varathane Classic Wood Stain is applied in a test area first. The wood also needs to be sanded to open up the pores, and all excess stain needs to be wiped away. Please keep in mind, if staining a softer wood, a wood conditioner may be needed for the best finish.
                    - Rust-Oleum Product Support 3 Rustoleum
                      2 found this review helpful
                      "Classic Gray" is truly gray. Picture on can is not gray.
                      The product is good, and dries pretty fast. Classic Gray is truly a gray stain. The reason for only 4 stars is the picture on the can is not even close to the gray of the finished product on pine.
                      by
                      • Verified Purchase
                      • Recommended
                      1 found this review helpful
                      Perfect!
                      Bought this stain in Early American to stain tongue & groove ceiling. Wanted a color that was lighter than our floors but would still match. Love how they are turning out! Online I read that I would need 7 gallons to do 1600 sq ft, I have stained about 900 sq ft so far & haven’t even used a whole gallon yet!
                      by
                        • Recommended
                        1 found this review helpful
                        Showing 1-30 of 4,353 reviews

                        Frequently Bought Together

                        +
                        +
                        Price:
                        $23.96

                        Compare Similar Items

                        current item

                        Container Size

                        1 Quart

                        1 Quart

                        1 Quart

                        1 Quart

                        Paint/Stain Features

                        No additional features

                        No additional features

                        No additional features

                        No additional features

                        Base Material

                        Oil Based

                        Oil Based

                        Oil Based

                        Oil Based

                        Product Form

                        Liquid

                        Liquid

                        Liquid

                        Liquid