#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for Varathane 11.25 oz. Clear Semi-Gloss Water-Based Interior Polyurethane Spray Paint

Internet #100131610

Model #200181

Store SKU #279774

  • Easy to spray superior poly protection for interior wood surfaces
  • Durable top coat protects the surface with a crystal clear finish
  • Fast dry poly does not yellow over time, covers up to 25 sq. ft.

Customer Reviews

  • 3.4
    out of 231 reviews
  • 40% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 231 reviews
After ample shaking, the spray came out in blobs, instead...
After ample shaking, the spray came out in blobs, instead of a spray. We tried a second can from the store, same issue. So, the coverage on the wood was blotchy and sometimes runny.
by
Response from Rust-OleumSupportApr 12, 2023
Oh no, not something we like to hear. Give us a call at 800-901-0411 so we can hear more about your experience using Varathane Water Base Polyurethane Spray. We want to try to make things right.
- Rust-Oleum Product Support 6 Rustoleum
  • Verified Purchase
by
  • Verified Purchase
does not spray- it spits
Spray nozzle is a PO#. It does not fog or fine mist but spits blobs that does not cover but leaves blobs and not a film.
by
Response from Rust-OleumSupportApr 6, 2023
That's not what we expect to hear! To ensure the best spray consistency, it is essential that Rust-Oleum Varathane Water-Based Ultimate Polyurethane Spray is thoroughly shaken before each use and often during your application. This will ensure the resin is properly mixed and prevent larger drops.
- Rust-Oleum Product Support 3 Rustoleum
  • Verified Purchase
by
  • Verified Purchase
not sure why, but spray refused to fully atomize, came...
not sure why, but spray refused to fully atomize, came out very bubbly and in spurts. I tried clearing the nozzle by soraying upside down until it cleared to no avail
by
Response from Rust-OleumSupportMar 30, 2023
That's odd and not what we expect to hear! For the best results, it is essential that Rust-Oleum Varathane Water-Based Ultimate Polyurethane Spray is fully shaken before each use and shaken often during application. If needing further assistance, please give us a call at 800-901-0411 to talk with us. When calling, please have your can nearby, so we can collect the batch info from it!
- Rust-Oleum Product Support 3 Rustoleum
  • Verified Purchase
by
  • Verified Purchase
Garbage for more than $15
It didn’t work? Came out sputtering no matter what is did. Buy oil base.
by
Response from Rust-OleumSupportMar 23, 2023
We want to try to help, Tom! Prior to each use, it is essential that Rust-Oleum Varathane Water-Based Ultimate Polyurethane Spray is shaken for a full minute. The can also needs to be shaken often during your application to ensure a consistent spray and finish. Several light coats should also be applied a few minutes apart, verses trying to achieve full coverage in one heavy coat.
- Rust-Oleum Product Support 3 Rustoleum
  • Verified Purchase
The spray nozzle broke during the first use. Not sure...
The spray nozzle broke during the first use. Not sure how to fix it.
by
Response from Rust-OleumSupportMar 23, 2023
We need to know more to get to the bottom of this. Give us a call at 800-901-0411 so we can hear more about your experience using Varathane Water Based Polyurethane Spray. We want to try to make things right.
- Rust-Oleum Product Support 6 Rustoleum
  • Verified Purchase
Disappointing
Dry's quickly, but after 3 coats, not much shine, and coverage didn't seem like it would be thick enough to protect.
by
Response from Rust-OleumSupportFeb 16, 2023
Let's see what we can figure out. For best results using Varathane Water Based Polyurethane Spray, be sure to shake thoroughly before and during use, then apply light mist coats, holding the can 10-12” from the surface and spray with a smooth sweeping motion to avoid runs and sags. Several light coats will provider a better finish than one heavy coat. For maximum durability, a minimum of 4 coats are recommended. Give us a call at 800-901-0411, so we can hear more about your application and try to make things right.
- Rust-Oleum Product Support 6 Rustoleum
  • Verified Purchase
Did not spray evenly. Trash....
Did not spray evenly. Trash.
by
Response from Rust-OleumSupportFeb 15, 2023
Oh no, not something we like to hear. Give us a call at 800-901-0411, so we can hear more about your experience using Varathane Water Based Polyurethane Spray. We want to try to make things right.
- Rust-Oleum Product Support 6 Rustoleum
  • Verified Purchase
This clear varnish turned my white paint yellow. Will not...
This clear varnish turned my white paint yellow. Will not use again.
by
Response from Rust-OleumSupportFeb 9, 2023
Oh no, not something we like to hear. For best results using Varathane Water Based Polyurethane Spray, test in an inconspicuous area before beginning. As noted on the label, testing is particularly important when applying over paints or stains as the appearance of these products may change slightly when a water-based finish is applied. Give us a call at 800-9010-0411, so we can hear more about your application and try to make things right.
- Rust-Oleum Product Support 6 Rustoleum
  • Verified Purchase
Works ok
This stuff works ok but goes on like spray starch. It comes out of the spray tip really clumpy and uneven, but soaks into the surface so it looks even. There is very little odor and it dries fast, so it did what i needed it to do since my wife is sensitive to heavy scents/ solvents.
by
Response from Rust-OleumSupportFeb 8, 2023
Thanks for sharing your experience. After vigorously shaking Varathane Water Based Polyurethane Spray before and during use, the spray is typically excellent. Give us a call at 800-901-0411 so we can hear more about your application and try to make things right.
- Rust-Oleum Product Support 6 Rustoleum
  • Verified Purchase
Spits does not spray
Horrible the product spat out instead of spraying out. Shook for several minutes still spat out. Sprayed upside down and still spitted out. Ruined a piece of artwork I was doing.
by
Response from Rust-OleumSupportFeb 2, 2023
We don't like to hear that! Certainly, it is important to thoroughly shake Rust-Oleum Varathane Water-Based Ultimate Polyurethane Spray prior to use, and occasionally during use as well. The can should be shaken for no less than one minute after the mixing ball in the can begins to rattle. This ensures that the product is mixed well, and prevents larger particles from being sprayed through the nozzle.
You also want to make sure the finger that presses down on the nozzle stays clean and free of any paint. It is important to have your index finger centered on the nozzle itself. If your finger is too forward, it can cause some blocking of the spray mist as it comes out of the can, which can cause sputtering or larger drops to be sprayed on the surface.
- Rust-Oleum Product Support 3 Rustoleum
  • Verified Purchase
unsatisfied
not a fan! spray nozzle has no consistent spray. product like a garden hose using your thumb as the sprayer
by
Response from Rust-OleumSupportJun 30, 2022
We appreciate you reaching out, Chris, and sharing your experience. We will be sure to pass your feedback about the nozzles used with Rust-Oleum Varathane Water-Based Ultimate Polyurethane Spray. If needing further assistance, please give us a call at 800-901-0411 to talk with us.
- Rust-Oleum Product Support 3 Rustoleum
    Works well as a pre-painting and post-painting sealer on wood...
    Works well as a pre-painting and post-painting sealer on wood carvings. Dries quickly.
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    Good looking finish
    Comes out in a nice even spray. Dries very fast. Has a very nice finish look to it.
    by
      • Recommended
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
      Rating provided by a verified purchaser
      by
        by
          Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
          Rating provided by a verified purchaser
          by
            This is some good product to use....
            This is some good product to use.
            by
              by
                Great
                Dries fast. Great finish.
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                I use this on hand painted sings. works great for interior use.
                I use this on hand painted sings. works great for interior use.
                by
                • DIY
                • Verified Purchase
                • Recommended
                Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
                Rating provided by a verified purchaser
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                Went on easy and dried quickly
                Went on easy and dried quickly
                by
                • DIY
                • Verified Purchase
                • Recommended
                Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
                Rating provided by a verified purchaser
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                Showing 1-30 of 231 reviews

                Frequently Bought Together

                +
                +
                Price: