#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for Varathane 11.25 oz. Clear Semi-Gloss Water-Based Interior Polyurethane Spray Paint

Internet #100131610

Model #200181

Store SKU #279774

  • Easy to spray superior poly protection for interior wood surfaces
  • Durable top coat protects the surface with a crystal clear finish
  • Fast dry poly does not yellow over time, covers up to 25 sq. ft.

Customer Reviews

  • 3.4
    out of 231 reviews
  • 40% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 231 reviews
The spray nozzle kept clogging and spraying out blotches
by
Response from Rust-OleumSupportOct 20, 2023
Oh no, this is not what we expect to hear from our Rust-Oleum Varathane Water-Based Polyurethane Spray. To prevent clogging and sputtering, we suggest you shake the can vigorously for at least 1 minute before applying, as well as throughout the application process. This will evenly mix the polyurethane and allow for easy passage through the drip tube and nozzle.
-Rust-Oleum Product Support 14 Rustoleum
  • Verified Purchase
The coating dried orange and I had to sand and repaint my project. It was a waste of time & money
by
Response from Rust-OleumSupportOct 5, 2023
That's not what we expect to hear, and we need to gather more details to get to the bottom of this! Please give us a call at 800-901-0411 for further assistance with your application of Rust-Oleum Varathane Water-Based Ultimate Polyurethane Spray Paint.
- Rust-Oleum Product Support 3 Rustoleum
  • Verified Purchase
Deft brand clear finish sprays and finishes so much better, but apparently California will not allow it to be sold in the state. I do not know of an alternative that works as well as Deft.
by
Response from Rust-OleumSupportSep 28, 2023
We apprecaite you reaching out and sharing your feedback with Rust-Oleum Varathane Water-Based Ultimate Polyurethane Spray.
- Rust-Oleum Product Support 3 Rustoleum
  • Verified Purchase
by
  • Verified Purchase
Before anything i must say this was the first time i have used a water based Polyurethane. This product does not spray on evenly and required me to use a brush after each coat to get an even spread. Very different compared to other Polyurethane spray cans i've used before. It could be all water based options are like this but i cant say for certain. It did however get the job done and looked really nice afterwards just applying it was a bit annoying.
by
  • Verified Purchase
Very unhappy with this product! The spray comes out milky white, lots of drops/blobs, NOT a fine mist like all other varathanes, spray paints that I have used in the past. I would NOT purchase this product again!!
by
Response from Rust-OleumSupportAug 31, 2023
That's not what we expect to hear! Prior to application, it is essential that Rust-Oleum Varathane Water-Based Ultimate Polyurethane Spray is thoroughly shaken before each use and shaken often during application. Please keep in mind, this product may look milky when first applied, but should dry clear if applied within the recommended temperatures and humidity.
- Rust-Oleum Product Support 3 Rustoleum
  • Verified Purchase
Adheres very well to surfaces. Used it for rod iron sign and wall plate covers.
by
  • Verified Purchase
I had hoped to have a great experience with the product, however that did not happen. The manufacturer should be checking not only the product in the can.... but also the application. My rating is due to the nozzles. I followed the instructs of application on 2 new cans and the results were the same. No mist....no spray....just gobblets like that fake snow you spray on your Christmas trees. Wasted my time and money.
by
Response from Rust-OleumSupportAug 30, 2023
We want to gather more details to get to the bottom of this! Please give us a call at 800-901-0411 for further assistance. When calling, please have your cans of Rust-Oleum Varathane Water-Based Ultimate Polyurethane Spray nearby, so we can collect the batch codes from them.
- Rust-Oleum Product Support 3 Rustoleum
  • Verified Purchase
The new cans all spray terrible. Spits, sputters, leaves spots on your work. When the can is 1/2 empty is when it finally starts to spray uniformly.
by
Response from Rust-OleumSupportAug 17, 2023
This is never what we expect to hear! We need to know more to understand what may have gone wrong! Can you please give us a call at 800-901-0411, and we would be happy to assist you further?
-Rust-Oleum Product Support 14 Rustoleum
  • Verified Purchase
Avoid spray and stick to regular poly
I have worked on numerous wood projects and have always used liquid poly. I tried this spray for the first time and followed the directions exactly as stated in the back of the can. Shake for more than a minute, let coat dry for at least an hour before applying next coat- and still had white smudge marks on the piece of furniture. I would not recommend this product.
by
Response from Rust-OleumSupportAug 7, 2023
Oh no, this is not what we like to hear! Rust-Oleum Varathane Crystal Clear Polyurethane appears milky when wet but dries to a crystal clear finish. Please give us a call at (800) 901-0411, so we can hear more about your application and try to get to the bottom of this! Please have your can nearby when calling, sow we can collect the batch code information.

-Rust-Oleum Product Support 13 Rustoleum
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    Should have read the reviews
    Going to repeat what everyone else has already said. It spits, it doesn't spray evenly. I shook it well for over a minute. Same outcome. It's already late and Home Depot is closed now. I hoped to complete my project tonight, so now I'm wasting part of tomorrow as well.
    by
    Response from Rust-OleumSupportJul 17, 2023
    Thank you for reaching out and sharing your experinece, Joseph. For further assistance with your can of Rust-Oleum Varathane Water-Based Ultimate Polyurethane Spray, please give us a call at 800-901-0411. When calling, please have your can nearby, so we can collect the batch codes from it.
    - Rust-Oleum Product Support 3 Rustoleum
      Easy cleanup and provided a nice sheen.
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      Spray didn’t come out smooth, but instead in droplets requiring sanding to smooth out
      by
      Response from Rust-OleumSupportJul 7, 2023
      Oh no, not something we like to hear. Give us a call at 800-901-0411, so we can hear more about your experience using Varathane Water Based Polyurethane Spray. We want to try to make things right.
      - Rust-Oleum Product Support 6 Rustoleum
      • Verified Purchase
      This products was a great asset to complete my project... Easy to use with a great finish!!!
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      Nozzle does not properly atomize, a bit of orange peel texture. Short drying time is nice but went back to finer finish with the solvent based urethanes.
      by
      Response from Rust-OleumSupportJul 6, 2023
      Oh no, not something we like to hear. Give us a call at 800-901-0411, so we can hear more about your experience using Varathane Water Based Polyurethane Spray. We want to try to make things right.
      - Rust-Oleum Product Support 6 Rustoleum
      • Verified Purchase
      The spray nozzle does allow for even coating. Came out in splatters.
      by
      Response from Rust-OleumSupportJun 29, 2023
      We don't like to hear that! Certainly, it is important to thoroughly shake Rust-Oleum Varathane Water-Based Ultimate Polyurethane Spray prior to use, and occasionally during use as well. The can should be shaken for no less than one minute before each use. This ensures that the product is mixed well, and prevents larger particles from being sprayed through the nozzle. Applying several light coats a few minutes apart will also provide for a better finish than trying to achieve full coverage with one coat.
      - Rust-Oleum Product Support 3 Rustoleum
      • Verified Purchase
      Product was foaming up and had to make too many...
      Product was foaming up and had to make too many coats to get a semi gloss finish.
      by
      Response from Rust-OleumSupportJun 22, 2023
      That's odd and not what we expect to hear! Thoroughly shaking the can prior to each use is the best way to ensure the proper consistency of Rust-Oleum Varathane Water-Based Ultimate Polyurethane Spray. The nozzle cal also be wiped down with mineral spirits to help clean it. You can also spray the can upside down for 5 seconds to help clear it. A minimum of 4 full coats are needed for full durability, but additional coats may be needed if lighter coats are applied or if applying to bare wood.
      - Rust-Oleum Product Support 3 Rustoleum
      • Verified Purchase
      Doesn't spray - it spits. Inferior to Minwax in every way....
      Doesn't spray - it spits. Inferior to Minwax in every way.
      by
      Response from Rust-OleumSupportJun 22, 2023
      We don't like to hear that, Jeff! Certainly, it is important to thoroughly shake Rust-Oleum Varathane Water-Based Ultimate Polyurethane Spray prior to use, and occasionally during use as well. The can should be shaken for no less than one minute before each use. This ensures that the product is mixed well, and prevents larger particles from being sprayed through the nozzle.
      You also want to make sure the finger that presses down on the nozzle stays clean and free of any paint. It is important to have your index finger centered on the nozzle itself. If your finger is too forward, it can cause some blocking of the spray mist as it comes out of the can, which can cause sputtering or larger drops to be sprayed on the surface.
      - Rust-Oleum Product Support 3 Rustoleum
      • Verified Purchase
      The spray does not atomize like every other spray can...
      The spray does not atomize like every other spray can I’ve used. It comes out in large particles that leave a very uneven coating. It dries better than it initially looks, but still leaves an uneven finish.
      by
      Response from Rust-OleumSupportJun 5, 2023
      Oh no, not something we like to hear. Give us a call at 800-901-0411, so we can hear about your experience using Varathane Water Based Polyurethane Spray. We want to try to make things right.
      - Rust-Oleum Product Support 6 Rustoleum
      • Verified Purchase
      Not an even spray
      Cans do not spray a very even mist but it does level out and can easily sand off the texture
      by
      Response from Rust-OleumSupportJun 5, 2023
      Oh no, not something we like to hear, Jim. Give us a call at 800-901-0411, so we can hear more about your experience using Varathane Water Based Polyurethane Spray. We want to try to make things right.
      - Rust-Oleum Product Support 6 Rustoleum
      • Verified Purchase
      Get the Pint
      You're better off buying a pint and brush. I wasted the money for 2 cans of this to spray and most of it was wasted not even coming out of the can. When it did come out it spattered instead of sprayed and I had to brush it on still. Seriously, save yourself the time and money and get the pint.
      by
      Response from Rust-OleumSupportMay 30, 2023
      Oh no, not something we like to hear, Vinnie. Give us a call at 800-901-0411, so we can hear more about your experience using Varathane Water Based Polyurethane Spray. We would like the opportunity to make things right.
      - Rust-Oleum Product Support 6 Rustoleum
        Atrocious spray pattern
        Fries very fast, which is nice. The spray pattern is horrible, no matter how much one shakes the can or cleans the nozzle, large droplets are visible with any spray speed or distance. As this product dries very fast, it's very hard to get them to level out without flooding the workpiece. Even then, the result is not very smooth.
        by
        Response from Rust-OleumSupportMay 23, 2023
        Oh no, not something we like to hear. Give us a call at 800-901-0411 so can hear more about your experience using Varathane Water Based Polyurethane Spray. We want to try to make things right.
        - Rust-Oleum Product Support 6 Rustoleum
          Did not cover as I expected and I followed the...
          Did not cover as I expected and I followed the instructions to the letter. When it sprayed... bubble-like large drops sprayed from the can that required me to brush the surface as well to coat my project evenly.
          by
          Response from Rust-OleumSupportMay 18, 2023
          This is not what we expect to hear, and we want to try to make things right with you! Please give us a call at 800-901-0411 to talk with us further. When calling, please have your can of Rust-Oleum Varathane Water-Based Ultimate Polyurethane Spray nearby, so we can collect the batch codes from it.
          - Rust-Oleum Product Support 3 Rustoleum
          • Verified Purchase
          Use it often but have had a couple cans that...
          Use it often but have had a couple cans that don't spray properly, just shooting out globs not a nice spray.
          by
          Response from Rust-OleumSupportMay 3, 2023
          Oh no, not something we like to hear. Give us a call at 800-901-0411 so we can hear more about your experience using Varathane Water Based Polyurethane Spray. We want to try to make things right.
          - Rust-Oleum Product Support 6 Rustoleum
          • Verified Purchase
          Varathane water based poly not spraying well.
          I had to exchange cans twice because the poly sprayed out in globs, not a finely atomized spray.
          by
          Response from Rust-OleumSupportMay 2, 2023
          That is certainly not what we would expect, Roger! It is important to ensure that the can is shaken for a full minute before each use and often during the application. This will ensure the coating is well mixed, and remains evenly suspended in the can. Wipe the nozzle after each use to ensure it remains clear.
          - Rust-Oleum Product Support 8 Rustoleum
          • Verified Purchase
          Avoid
          I bought the spray because I didn't want to have to brush the poly into every spot of the chairs I'm refinishing. Unfortunately, this comes out in big globules that would leave the surface all bumpy so I ended up having to brush it on anyway.
          by
          Response from Rust-OleumSupportMay 3, 2023
          Oh no, not something we like to hear. Give us a call at 800-901-0411, so we can hear more about your experience using Varathane Water Based Polyurethane Spray. We want to try to make things right.
          - Rust-Oleum Product Support 6 Rustoleum
            Showing 1-30 of 231 reviews

            Frequently Bought Together

            +
            +
            Price:

            Compare Similar Items

            current item

            Container Size

            11.25 Ounce

            1 Quart

            1 Quart

            1 Quart

            Sheen

            Semi-Gloss

            Semi-Gloss

            Satin

            Gloss

            Base Material

            Water Based

            Water Based

            Water Based

            Water Based

            Application Method

            Aerosol

            Brush

            Brush

            Brush

            Paint/Stain Features

            Dries Clear

            Sealer

            Sealer

            Sealer